GMAT Club

Mark Sullivan Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep GMAT


4.7 /5 Average Rating
Based on 26 reviews
January 14, 2020
Zack1317

Joined: Oct 01, 2019

Posts: 7

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q49 V42

Mark Sullivan was great!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Houston, TX USA

I worked with Mark Sullivan one on one to fine-tune a few skills after completing the Manhattan prep in-person/online nine-week course. Mark was great! He was extremely organized and helped me find out how to squeeze a few more points out of the test. His nightly homework assignments kept me super focused until test day, and his advice about how to prepare in the week/days leading up to the test truly helped me go into the test with the confidence that I would get the score that I was hoping for. Mark was a great instructor and I highly recommend him to students who are looking to further their GMAT studies.

Read More

January 03, 2020
soccerball1348

Joined: Jul 28, 2019

Posts: 17

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
730 Q48 V42

I finally did it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Online

I started my GMAT journey in the summer of 2019. I took a practice test and scored a 640-- I wasn't sweating it because I had been out of school for a few years and I knew I could brush up on the quant rather quickly (or so I thought). Just for reference, I have a masters degree in chemical engineering.
Kaplan
I signed up for private tutoring with Kaplan online 10 hour course. I watched some of the lessons, but quickly got bored. They were slow.. I did not feel my tutor was very helpful and about halfway through I started searching for alternatives. (I've had good luck with Kaplan for LSAT (scoring a 167) but this does not seem to be their strength).

In Person tutoring
I did two months of in-person tutoring and was able to increase from 640 practice tests to a 690 real GMAT test. I took the GMAT 3 times (690,Cancelled,690) and wasn't making much progress. I was having timing issues in the quant section (either too fast or too slow). I often panicked when I got to a quant problem that I felt I should know, but couldnt think how to solve. I was frustrated with this tutor (who also crossed some professional boundaries) because usually standardized tests are a strength of mine, but the GMAT was winning.

Manhattan Prep Advanced online course

This is where Mark comes in, after 3 attempts at the GMAT, I was willing to try something new. I signed up for the advanced online class through Manhattan prep. I typically stay away from online group study classes because it's easy for me to get distracted completely defeating the point..

Mark's advanced online class was excellent. It skips the basics and jumps right into how to increase your score. He keeps everyone engaged by "cold calling" which kept me from playing on my phone and I learned a lot from my classmates. What I learned especially on verbal was that while I may have gotten the right answer, it wasn't necessarily always for the right reasons!
I also challenged myself to make sure I did ALL the homework in between the lessons. I really enjoyed the Manhattan prep video lessons that they had on topics. I watched all of them multiple times. However, my mistake here was that I did not do all the practice tests. Therefore I still struggled with timing and test stress when I took my 4th GMAT a month after the class finished.
My score improved (finally!) to a 710 (Q44, V44). My verbal score benefited the most from the advanced online class and I went from a 40 to a 44.

Mark Sullivan Private Tutoring
I was happier with the 710, but still not satisfied. I really felt I had more I could do on the quant. I reached out to Mark to see if he was available to help me while I prep for my 5th and final GMAT about a month later. Luckily he was and we got started right away.
Working with Mark for private tutoring after the Advanced Online class was absolutely the right choice for me. I had the strong base (from doing all the homework) and I knew how he taught. We were able to build on that really quickly and I improved every tutoring session. He had me practice every day on timing and I did regular practice tests. The private tutoring was great because then we could really expand on my unique questions.

Thanks to Mark I had a 40 point improvement in my GMAT score!

Read More

September 06, 2019
jdy25

Joined: Jul 26, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V40

Advanced Course & Private Tutoring with Mark Sullivan

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I've been working with Mark ever since I enrolled in his Advanced Course back in October 2018. At that point, my sister had already taken a regular course with him and suggested that I enroll in the Advanced Course to see if I could raise my score to the 700+ level. I'm not a great test taker and I think timing in the GMAT is especially difficult, but - after his Advanced Course and several private tutoring sessions - Mark really helped me get to the 700+ I was hoping for.

Mark is a GMAT expert (he'll be able to walk you through the best way to solve any problem you throw at him), but he's also excellent at helping you maximize your study time -- he really makes an effort to identify the areas of improvement that will help you achieve the largest score improvement on the test. In particular, I think the private tutoring sessions were especially helpful because Mark and I were able to look into my weak areas much more closely (i.e. advanced absolute value, inequalities, or geometry concepts that I was too shy to ask in class). He was also able to show me quant problem shortcuts that were tailored to my specific weaknesses and create a personalized study plan that allowed me to efficiently tackle low-hanging fruit given my tight timeline. And while the private tutoring sessions are a little pricey, Mark is willing to work with whatever budget you may have. In the end, I'm extremely glad that I decided to work with Mark and I thought the Advanced Course/private tutoring sessions were absolutely worth it.

My GMAT journey was not an easy one for me (scoring a 670, then a 680 in which my verbal and quant scores essentially flipped), but I'm glad I didn't give up. Seeking the right kind of help can really make all the difference and I think Mark was key throughout my whole process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 21, 2019
jankster452

Joined: Jun 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q47 V44

Knowledge and Friendly Instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Mark was great to work with throughout my GMAT studying process. Not only is he just super smart and skilled at the GMAT, but he made the material digestible to everyone in our class even though we all had varying experience and skill with the test. He also was really approachable and helpful when I had questions throughout the class and even made himself available to help afterwards. Of course, at the end of the day you have to do the work to get a good GMAT score, but it sure is a whole lot easier when you feel like you have partner guiding you throughout the process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 09, 2019
CheddarBob23

Joined: Feb 19, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

Take This Course. Seriously.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up for this class at the beginning of 2019 after doing quite a bit of research on the course and the instructor, Mark Sullivan. Like many prospective GMAT takers, I had tried (and failed) the self-study route on multiple occasions. When I finally decided to get serious about taking the GMAT and going to business school, I knew that I needed professional guidance. What really sold me on Mark was the fact that according his Manhattan Prep bio, he was a self-confessed Seattle Mariners fan. As a Seattle native and long-suffering M's fan myself, I knew I had found my instructor.

All jokes aside, I realized shortly into the first in-person session that I had made the right choice. Mark has the unique ability to keep students engaged and excited about GMAT content throughout the 3-hour classes. It had been several years since I had been in a classroom environment; at first, the idea sitting through a session that long seemed daunting. But Mark breaks down each topic by using easy-to-digest examples and explanations, and I left every session feeling inspired to study on my own. My winter class had 7 students, and we were able to work with each other (without pressure) each week to tackle problems and collaborate on various subject areas.

I scored a 600 on my first practice test, which I took a week before the course started. It was demoralizing. However, Mark reassured me that my "stretch" target score of 730 was still attainable if I put in the effort. For me, the key was the way in which Mark guided our studying. Instead of assigning hundreds of practice problems, Mark showed the class how to focus on a particular set of problems and subsequently evaluate the strategies we used during the set. As a result, you learn how to identify problem types and solve them in a much more efficient manner, rather than blindly trying to solve as many questions as possible.

I never needed to cram for the test, nor did I ever feel like I was drowning in my GMAT studies. I studied for about an hour each day outside of the course--consistency is key, rather than trying to put in 4 to 6 hour days on the weekends. The course ended in early April, and I took the GMAT in mid-May. I highly recommend purchasing the add-on 1-on-1 "coaching sessions" with Mark, as those really helped me hyper-target areas of opportunity before my exam date.

In the end, I got a 740 on the GMAT, a full 140 points higher than my initial diagnostic test. Without Mark's wisdom and coaching, there's no way I would've reached my target score. For the sake of brevity, I'll finish my review by stating that this course opened up doors to MBA programs that I previously thought were closed. Thank you, Mark!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 26, 2019
Dreilly

Joined: Jul 28, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Advanced Live Online with Mark

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Online

This course is set up for 5 classes for students who have already achieved a 650 or higher and want to excel into the 700s. I suggest already being familiar with the Manhattan methods to some degree (self study the books or take their other classes), but it’s not 100% necessary as it is all covered in details.

This course was perfect for me. Extremely detailed step by step, problem by problem schedule. A complete roadmap for success. You have a main path to follow with plenty of optional work to fill in gaps. Trust in the program, forget everything you know and do the test the way they teach you and you’ll crush it.

Mark specifically is very engaging. The online atmosphere quickly feels like you are in person. He is polite and very responsive to individual questions during class and after. Cannot tell you how impressed I was with an online class.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 12, 2018
anuragupta1

Joined: May 08, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

Advanced Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Online

My knowledge of the subject matter was rusty and I was having trouble concentrating for the 3 hr period. Apart from the content, I found the guidance regarding test-taking and attitude very helpful. It really helped me see this exam in a new light and treat it as a decision making test. I was nervous going into this preparation and my mock test was giving me <700 score.

Mark was very responsive to our questions - both in and outside the class. The class size was small and I was able to get all my questions answered (and I always had a lot!).
The online class gave structure to my preparation and regularity. The advice around timed sets helped with the timing issue. I felt within the short span of 5 weeks, Mark was able to capture the crux of the material that helped me push my score beyond 700.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 05, 2018
njessicaph

Joined: Nov 05, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q46 V41

Just do it, especially if you've been stuck on the same score

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Online

I had prepared on my own using the Manhattan Prep Interact (on demand) option for two months. However, I never really found improvement. I constantly got 650s on all of my practice tests and on the actual exam. However, I switched to the live online advanced course (to help those struggling to break the 700 barrier), and it was a tremendous help. My instructor, Mark, was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and offered great strategy and advice. It was a lot of fun going to class. At the end of the course, I took the GMAT again and was able to break the 700 barrier. Manhattan Prep is correctly referred to as the gold standard of GMAT Prep. It was such a big help. Definitely upgrade to the live online class

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 01, 2018
ottox284

Joined: Oct 15, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
730 Q47 V44

Manhattan Advanced Course & Mark Sullivan

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Eagan, MN USA

This review is for Mark Sullivan and the Manhattan Prep Advanced Course.

I started studying for the GMAT in October 2017 and used a variety self-study resources. I made my first GMAT attempt in February 2018 and scored a 700 (Q43/V42). I was slightly disappointed because my goal score was 720. But I figured I was close, so I hit the books again focusing solely on quant for another few months, and took the test again in May 2018. I scored a 680 (Q44/V39). I was incredibly frustrated and I was losing faith in myself. This is when I decided to call Manhattan Prep, looking for a private tutor.

While on the phone, they informed me of Mark Sullivan's Advanced Course, so I decided to give it a try. This was the best decision I could have made. I would highly recommend this course for anyone who needs help getting from the high 600's to the low/mid 700's.

Mark's approach was a complete game-changer for me. Quant problems had always really intimidated me, but after studying with Mark I felt like I could dismantle any problem. He taught me to focus on recognition of what the problem was testing, rather than just banging content into my head over and over again. In addition, I was already strong in Verbal, but Mark was able to help me develop consistency and speed better than ever before by teaching a rules-based approach that supplemented my ear.

I was calm and confident going into my third GMAT attempt, and I came out with a 730 (Q47,V44)!!!

After 10 months, 14 practice tests, and two real tests, my third and final GMAT attempt was a success thanks to Mark.

Read More

July 13, 2018
lcheng

Joined: Jul 13, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41

Helped a lot!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Through this class, I was able to hold myself to a schedule, follow a comprehensive learning curriculum, and gain tips on how to specifically ace the GMAT test format / CAT.

Materials - By going through the 10+ MP booklets and online videos, I was able to learn everything covered on the GMAT from the true basics to more challenging problem types. They offered a systematic way to identify and solve every type of problem so there was no mystery.


Teacher - Mark was great - he taught with succinctness / clarity and created a very comfortable classroom experience where every student felt compelled to ask any type of question and participate. You can truly tell he is a master of every part of the GMAT.

Classroom setting - I definitely gained more through self-studying afterwards than in class. The classes had people from all different backgrounds so we spent a lot of time covering really basic problems. However, the classes did help reiterate and cement some learnings.

Resources - Online portal was great, especially the Navigator tool that offered more detailed solutions to every single Official GMAT problem guide. The problem list was also good to target specific areas.

In the end I improved by 150 points and got above 700!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.