GMAT Club

Jeff Vollmer Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 16 reviews
August 16, 2021
nickstevens95

Joined: Aug 16, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
780 Q50 V51

Manhattan Prep Well Worth It & Jeff Volmer is THE MAN!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

First, I found that the Manhattan Prep 9-week course exceeded expectations. Looking for how to get started? For help with pace? A framework to set goals and stay organized? A wealth of resources, including a syllabus, practice problems, video solutions, practice exams, and more? If you need direction in your GMAT prep, Manhattan Prep will provide that and more. It gave me exactly the one-stop-shop I needed as I tried to balance GMAT prep with a busy work schedule.

Second, if you are wondering which instructor to target, whether for the 9-week course or for private tutoring, look no further than Jeff Volmer. Jeff is THE man. Absolute whiz intellectually? Check. Awesome communicator able to distill concepts and takeaways clearly? Check. Engaging presenter that blends lecture, examples, humor, and more in a way that captures and keeps your attention? Check. Dedicated teacher than seems to take a genuine interest in each pupil and is always willing to stay after class to help with an extra question or provide a quick response offline? Check. I could go on...but if this gets much longer, no one will read it :)

I really can't say enough about Jeff. I was incredibly lucky that he happened to be teaching the course I signed up for last-second. I'd strongly recommend anyone looking for guidance on their GMAT journey to not rely on the luck I had. Seek out Manhattan Prep, and seek out Jeff. You won't regret it.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 23, 2021
sqin12

Joined: Mar 14, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Jeff is the best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

I initially requested Jeff to be my tutor after I had attended one of his free online GMAT prep hours and saw that he was strong in Quant. I was convinced that Quant was my weakness since I had a lower percentile score in Quant than Verbal. Right off the bat, he showed me how percentiles lie and recommended that I primarily focus my efforts on Verbal. He taught me how to effectively deconstruct an argument in critical reasoning questions and corrected some grammar misconceptions I had in sentence correction (i.e., adverbial vs. noun modifiers, -ing words are not all present tense). With reading comprehension, I learned to stick very closely to the text, especially for inference questions. Do not assume anything in verbal without evidence from the passage to back your conclusion!

I had considered giving up on the GMAT and MBA applications this year after taking the exam multiple times and not getting the results I wanted. With Jeff’s guidance and expertise, I found the motivation and vigor to keep going. Not only did I get the score I wanted, but I also enjoyed the process of studying for the GMAT. Highly recommend Jeff as a tutor if you are new to the GMAT or stuck in a rut but determined to reach your goal!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 14, 2021
connorkikta

Joined: Feb 05, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
580 Q45 V24 (Online)

Manhattan Prep - You CAN Do It!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

MAN! Where to begin.. My GMAT journey took about 8 months from my first practice test. Initially, I struggled getting over the mental hump to really commit to studying for this test, which meant hanging up distractions for a bit. I took my first 'cold' GMAT in late October, 2020, and after scoring in the high 500's, I knew I needed outside help if I was going to get into my top schools. The first thing I did was go to my local Barnes and Noble store and picked up the latest GMAT Official Guide hoping I could get away with drilling practice questions over and over again. I did this for a while, an hour or two a day for a few weeks before I took my second Practice GMAT and scored LOWER! My quant scores were high, but my verbal scores fell, and I felt that is where I needed the most help. Feeling defeated, I ended up asking my peers of their methods, and that is when I started looking into Manhattan Prep. I would like to preface that my quant scores were strong, and I could manage a lot of 700+ level questions, but in contrast, my verbal needed a lot of work. What I was searching for was something that could sharpen my quant skills and possibly accelerate my timing, but most importantly, I needed a foundation for verbal.

I ended up enrolling in the 9-session Manhattan Prep course with Mr. Vollmer in November, and I got exactly that. The classes were fun, the classmates were engaging, and Mr. Vollmer made the whole experience really great. I was able to ask all the questions I wanted and I learned a lot from my classmates asking questions as well. I was very detailed in my note taking, and I concluded the course feeling very good about the foundation I had in verbal.

Immediately after the conclusion of the course, I took my first real Official GMAT Online. I do not recommend the online version, as my computer crashed while they were trying to send the test over and I ended up taking it 2 hours after my scheduled time and doing horribly. I took this hit as a growing experience because I knew that the computer issues were a huge reason for my poor mindset going into it. Obviously, this was probably an anomaly, and I am sure this is typically a great way to take the test; I just had some bad luck.

I studied a few more weeks, and took the test in person, I ended up scoring in the low 600's, and this was my lowest point in this whole process. I had put in the time, I have taken the course, and I studied for weeks after the conclusion of the course only to score far less than what I expected of myself and what my practice tests suggested I could get to.

"Just one more time" is what I told myself. I studied relentlessly for an extra couple months, doing well over 1,000 practice questions between GMAT Practices tests, tests and questions provided by Manhattan Prep, and the Wiley site that you get access too if you have the Official GMAT Guide. FINALLY in the last week of April, I took my last test. I ended up scoring in the high 600's which was where I needed to be to get into my first choice program at UofM Ross. It was with a lot of perseverance, a killer application/essays, an excellent recommendation, and a GMAT score that fell within the school's range, I was able to be admitted.

In conclusion, I would not have scored as high as I did if it wasn't for Manhattan Prep and Mr. Vollmer helping me get the basics down for verbal. I would highly recommend them. What worked best for me is knowing what my strengths and weaknesses are before enrolling, and really focusing on where I needed help. Mr. Vollmer got me there and I am beyond thankful for the opportunity to pursue a Masters Degree at Ross, and I couldn't have done it without his engaging lessons!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 16, 2020
pfinny16

Joined: Aug 16, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q47 V47 (Online)

Couldn't be more pleased

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

I went into working with Jeff with very little context on the GMAT and a general assumption that if I had done well on past standardized exams, I could do well on the GMAT with minimal effort levels. Not only was I wrong, but I quite literally could not have gotten the score I received without Jeff's coaching, support, and the structure he provided. Jeff is without a doubt the most helpful tutor I've had and managed to provide an approach to my exam that helped me succeed beyond my own expectations. I would recommend Jeff and Manhattan Prep to any student looking to nail the GMAT and get over the hump.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 07, 2020
VicenteRubem

Joined: Jul 09, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q47 V47 (Online)

Great Support

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Manhattan was a great way to learn the necessary techniques to approach any GMAT Quant or Verbal problem. The class had to go online halfway through due to COVID-19, but Jeff did a wonderful job making sure that the class was just as effective as it would be had it had been in person.

Jeff did a great job of focusing on the most important strategies - Quant has always been a challenge for me but once I learned the key strategies and was able to recognize and execute the problems quickly, I saw huge improvement. One thing that also helped were the breaks during the course sessions -- they largely resembled the types of breaks you would get on the GMAT.

Finally, Jeff was very good at adapting to whatever the class wanted to review. If we felt we needed to do some extra Quant problems, he had them ready.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 07, 2020
rd1810

Joined: Jul 30, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Highly recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

The course itself was great, highlighting every skill one would want to refine before taking the GMAT in verbal and quant sections. Additionally, the resources provided by the course were easy to navigate and extraordinarily useful. Beyond that, Jeff specifically was always very available and helpful. Throughout the weekly 3hour classes, he instructed in a way that kept the group engaged and always hung around after class to go over any individual questions. He broke down questions very clearly and made sure everyone understood the various strategies that could be utilized to attack different questions. I'm very pleased I chose to do my GMAT prep with Manhattan Prep and Jeff.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 16, 2020
jessiegoldman18

Joined: Jul 16, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q44 V47

High praise for Jeff Vollmer & Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

If you are considering taking the GMAT, look no further than Manhattan Prep. The coursework is clear and thorough and the instructors are helpful and generous with their time. I also greatly appreciated how they focused on test-taking strategy, including how to set up your answer sheet. As the instructor, Jeff expertly walked through complex concepts and clarified points of confusion. Even though it was a multi-person class it at points felt extremely personal and tailored to our group's needs. Plus Jeff was super accessible outside of class hours. So glad I chose Jeff and Manhattan Prep for my GMAT course.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 26, 2020
mbaprospect23

Joined: Oct 06, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
740 Q48 V44

Online + Coaching Session Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 190 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

Jeff was my instructor for the 9-session online course and coaching sessions. I highly recommend Jeff as an instructor!

He was engaging and thorough. He's great at pushing you to use multiple methods to arrive at quant solutions and helping you identify key clues in SC and CR problems. Several times after getting problems wrong, I had "aha" moments as he explained what the questions were really asking.

I started the course having done no prior preparation and with no review of any quant concepts since I graduated 5 years ago. I scored a 550 on my first practice test but was confident that I could make big improvements based on methods presented in the first few classes and making shifts in the way I thought about problems.

The course really facilitated this by providing a structure to my studies and integrating nicely with the course materials. Jeff was also great at providing encouragement when I was getting discouraged after plateau-ing at 650-620. He was very helpful in analyzing my practice CATs and identifying subjects and areas to focus on. Jeff also helped me devise a practice CAT schedule with specific goals for each CAT in the weeks leading up to my exam that I was able to use to guide my studying.

I am extremely pleased with this course and with Jeff's tutoring. Would highly recommend!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 02, 2020
pat1hughes

Joined: Jan 02, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q42 V44

Manhattan Prep - Jeffrey Vollmer

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I found this course to be a worthwhile investment. I signed up primarily for accountability, but I also found the content and strategies very helpful. Jeff is a very good instructor - from a teaching perspective, as strong as any college professor I have experienced. To learn the test and stay motivated/accountable, this course is worth the cost and time commitment.

My quant did not improve significantly throughout the course but I owe this to a lack of studying on my part. Jeff provided us with intuitive explanations of tough math problems, but I did not invest the time on my own to master them. I think a bit more time could have been devoted in the course to reviewing the signals/triggers for certain patterns/tells in quant problems, but there is a certain point where you just need to teach yourself the content if it's been a while since you have memorized basic math.

The focus on timing and strategic approach to taking the test was very valuable. The "Yellow Pad" timing method is extremely helpful and I used it religiously during my exam. This course taught me that getting a handle on timing and the related nuances of an adaptive model is half the battle.

Overall, very pleased. Would recommend to a friend - particularly someone who is very committed to attending business school.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 10, 2019
ryank

Joined: Oct 10, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V41

Manhattan Prep In Person Course Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After about 5 years away from school and looking for a career shift, I chose to take the Manhattan Prep 9-class in person course in preparation for the GMAT. After graduating from school in 2014 I took the GMAT as a baseline with the anticipation that I may want to go to business school in the future: I scored a 630. For the next five years I spent zero time thinking about the GMAT, although I did work in a field that is fairly quant heavy. That should give a fair amount of background on where I stood going into the MP course. I chose to take the in person course based on the consideration that a set curriculum and a sense of accountability to show up to class each week would help me study more. I think this was the right choice for me.

The course itself was presented in a manner that made it comprehensible for anyone with even a minimal mathematics background. The structure of the course is such that it builds on itself week by week and homework is meant to introduce concepts that would be expounded upon in the next class. I found the course to be critical to my performance on the exam in such that all concepts for answering questions, strategies, and problem type were discussed at nearly all levels of difficulty in class. The course follows a basic outline: present a concept, work through an easy version of the problem as a class, work on a harder version alone, mix in that concept with others in a problem set. I found this manner of learning to be helpful and allowed time for recalling mathematical processes learned years ago.

As for the homework/workload, it is paced at a fair clip but not breakneck speed. I spent about 10 hours a week on homework and performed one 4 hour practice test every 2-4 weeks. The course uses a MP website to direct tasks, readings, problem sets, etc. This clearly set out study plan helped keep me on track and direct my studying. I found this program to be most useful in that it set foundations and built upon concepts learned earlier in the course. One final product that MP offers is interactice videos that explain different concepts/strategies. This was particularly helpful to review as a refresher after finishing the course and just before sitting for the exam.

Finally, my instructor, Jeff, was phenomenal for a variety of reasons. Principally, his presentation of concepts was articulate and easily understood by all members of the class. It was clear based on the variety of backgrounds of my classmates that we were not all starting at the same level. Jeff understood this and was skilled in presenting the material and answering questions in a manner everyone understood. Jeff was always available to help after class or through email. Many times I emailed Jeff with a problem or concept I was struggling on and would have a video back from him talking through the problem within 24 hours. I would recommend him to anyone.

I ended up taking the exam once and scored a 720 (48Q, 41V). I took this improvement from a 630 years ago in large part to be due to the MP curriculum and the instruction and availability of Jeff.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.