GMAT Club

Jeff Vollmer Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep GMAT


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 5 reviews
July 07, 2019
dknapp25

Joined: Jun 12, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V41

Had Jeff Vollmer as my instructor for an in-person Manhattan Prep GMAT class one day a week from 6-9 PM in Arlington, VA.

It was a great experience and I highly recommend having Jeff as an instructor. He was able to keep our post-work, 3 hours long classes interesting and exciting. He was very skilled at breaking down the different methods that could be used to solve each problem, and when each method was applicable. I also enjoyed how Jeff would put myself and other students in pressure situations that helped prepare us for the stress of the actual exam.

For background - I tried to study on my own for some time, but could never quite keep the consistency I needed, and really lacked the understanding of the strategy required for the test (v important!). This class really helped with both of these aspects and led to me gaining a score that I was very satisfied with.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 24, 2019
mmcget01

Joined: Jun 24, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q46 V45

I highly recommend Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jeff was incredibly knowledgeable on all things GMAT. While Manhattan Prep has a set curriculum, they also encourage you to determine and correct your weaknesses. Jeff helped me to delve further into topics that went beyond the level of the course material. As a result, I had the confidence I needed entering test day and got a great score (730). Jeff's responsiveness and clear and concise answers to my questions helped me to make my study time more efficient. Further, he helped me to simplify methods and develop test taking strategies that proved integral on test day. If you want a good GMAT score just remember the wise old peanut butter company motto "Choosy moms choose Jeff."

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 10, 2019
William6

Joined: Jan 21, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q37 V42

Great on test strategies and content review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the 9-week Manhattan Prep course with Jeffrey Volmer (in the D.C./Northern VA area) in winter 2018 and was very pleased with the experience. Jeff is an excellent and patient teacher who always made himself available outside of class hours to answer questions.

The Manhattan coursework and classroom format encouraged self-study. For someone who may not be motivated to study alone and profits from the pressure of having to keep pace with peers, this is a great option. In addition to reintroducing the grammar and math concepts that one will need to ace the test, the Manhattan curriculum emphasizes the strategies a test-taker must use to optimize his or her score under the time constraint and how to recognize and approach recurring “tricks” that the test throws at you. Jeff did a great job of giving equal currency to the test content and strategies.

I started studying for the GMAT without having taken a math course since high school (eight years prior). Given the intensity of the quant, this was my greatest weakness. But the Manhattan textbooks (especially Foundations of Math) provide an overview of the basics and ample drill exercises to help improve on that portion of the test.

I did not take the test for business school so I wasn’t trying my damnedest to break 700 (I didn’t). The programs I applied to also accepted the highest score in each category (Quant/Verbal/IR/Essay) from any test sitting, so I had different incentives from someone applying to an MBA program. If you struggle in one category, I would recommend supplementing the Manhattan coursework with a tutor as you get closer to test date. If you are in the D.C. area, I’m fairly certain Jeff offers tutoring and would make an excellent one-on-one teacher.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 18, 2019
allyl12

Joined: Dec 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Amazing Tutor — Jeff Vollmer

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jeff was wonderful. This was my second run at taking the GMAT — the first time I never actually took the test after my studying got derailed by my job, which has crazy hours and a lot of travel. Jeff was very patient with my schedule and non-judgmental when I would drop off the grid for weeks on end, even though that obviously didn't make me the dream student. He helped me hone in on the specific things I needed to improve and gave me concrete homework assignments and study methods to address it, which helped me fit in studying on days when I didn't have a lot of time. Timing on the test was a big issue for me, and he was really helpful with strategies to address that.

Most importantly, he was a really reassuring presence to be around as I studied for this — from the beginning he expressed confidence that we could get my score to where it needed to be, and he never wavered in that, even when I was pretty down in the dumps of how it would go. I ended up doing even better than I'd been aiming for.

I would recommend Jeff as a tutor to anyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 30, 2018
jennywolock

Joined: May 30, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q45 V37

Highly recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I could not recommend Manhattan Prep more. I did a 9-week online course, some solo studying, and then two private tutoring sessions with Jeff Vollmer before my exam.

1) The 9-week online course: Highly reccomend. This course got me on the right track in terms of studying and strategy, freshened up my rusty quant and verbal skills (haven't studies this content since high school aka 10+ years), and the teachers (Stacey Koprice and Liz Moliski) were great teachers. This course includes all study materials (about 9 books) which were super digestible and helpful throughout and after the course. Course also comes with a ton of online resources. Worth every penny.

2) Private tutoring: very helpful. After taking the course, I felt as though I was floating out in space alone. Jeff helped me identify some areas I needed to touch up on within the last two weeks before my exam which helped me gain a better understanding of important topics and improved my performance. Very grateful to him and would definitely reccomend.

Overall, I wouldn't do it any differently. Manhattan Prep instructors are enthusiastic teachers and you can tell they really care about their students' performance.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.