GMAT Club

Chris Gentry Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 12 reviews
October 11, 2021
BAJohnson1234

Joined: Oct 11, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V44

Chris Gentry made the difference

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Chris Gentry

Location Online

I began my GMAT studying in May 2020. After 2 test attempts, my highest score was a 640 and I felt like I had hit a plateau. In the past, I've always pushed through this kind of test roadblock, but this time was different. This time I needed help.

After some research, I chose Manhattan Prep and was paired with Chris Gentry. It's been incredible to work with someone as talented as Chris throughout my GMAT studying process. In addition to being really smart and skilled at the GMAT, Chris also has a great personality. But above all else, I've really appreciated Chris's flexibility and understanding. I always felt like Chris catered his lessons and plans to my strengths and tendencies, which allowed me to succeed in ways I could have never done myself.

After 4 months of prep, I was able to push through the plateau and score a 710. However, my time with Chris didn't end there. I also had plans to take the LSAT, and Chris again put me in the best position to succeed.

To master any standardized test is tough, even for the best test takers. But how hard is it to master two standardized tests, especially when they are applicable to separate fields? The obvious answer is really hard, but Chris was more than up to the task. With his help I walked into the 2021 October LSAT (just 4 months removed from my 710 GMAT) with more confidence than I could have ever imagined. While I won't know my LSAT score for a couple of weeks, I've seen success on a few practice test and feel confident that Chris has made the difference for me, again.

It should come then as no surprise that I heavily recommend having lessons with Chris, so that he can make the difference for you too!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 24, 2018
MBAshark77

Joined: Jun 19, 2018

Posts: 9

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
680 Q47 V35
710 Q48 V40

Chris Gentry - ATL (710 Q48 V40)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Chris Gentry

Location Atlanta (North), GA USA

Chris Gentry was a fantastic tutor and GMAT advisor. First of all, Chris is a verbal whiz, he was able to raise my verbal score from a measly 31 to a 40+ in just a few sessions. His sessions are carefully thought out and he does his best to personalize the experience. My problem with quant was more on the strategy side than the material. Chris helped me formulate a strategy that raised my score from a 44-46 to a consistent 48+. Additionally, Manhattan Prep offers fantastic quantitative prep work. Their questions are as challenging as can be and the best way to quickly improve your quant score.

All in all - fantastic tutor, fantastic material. I was able to raise my score from 580 to 710 in just a few weeks!

Read More

February 25, 2018
fb19a

Joined: Feb 24, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q48 V48

Great at helping structure basic approach

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the 9-week MPrep in-person course and found it helpful at establishing a basic structure around my preparation. The online videos, HW assignments, and in-person lectures are great to get you acquainted with the types of problems tested in the GMAT. However, its worth noting that the course alone is not sufficient in getting you a very high score. From my personal experience, my score only jumped 30 points at the end of the course (650 to 680), but studying for ~7 weeks on my own post-course helped get me in the 730+ range and eventually end up with 760 on the actual test.

I'd recommend the MPrep course (esp the Verbal material), but would caution that you'll still need to prep on your own for 1-2 months (daily) if you're shooting for a very high score. The website material is great and the answer explanations are decent -- they'll continue to come in handy after the end of the course.

I would definitely recommend my instructor Chris Gentry without any reservations.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 25, 2018
MPReview

Joined: Feb 25, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q45 V44

Manhattan Prep GMAT Course: Atlanta - Chris Gentry

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After hearing good things about Manhattan Prep's GMAT class from a friend, I decided to attend the free introductory class. I was considering just buying a few GMAT strategy books and doing some practice problems. However, I was impressed with the class's teacher Chris Gentry, and decided to sign up for the full course. Chris showed up each week prepared and excited to teach. My test score had improved significantly by the time I finished Chris's course and completed all of the practice material. I could not have made such huge improvements if not for Chris's help. Along with a great teacher, Manhattan Prep's strategy guides, practice tests, and example problems are all tip notch. The online account allows you to organize and track your preparation.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 22, 2017
komalsyed

Joined: Jul 22, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

640 to a 740! Here's my journey:

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I started with a 3-month class-style course with Manhattan prep. It was an online course with 4 hours of class per week. This was great as I managed to cover all the required topics and brush up on my skills. After completing this course I did the GMAT and scored a 640 (Q52, V76). I definitely wasn't happy with this score and knew I could do better!
MPrep offered a free post course assessment (PCA) (which I did prior to the test) and then they also offered a free post exam assessment (PEA). This PEA helped me tremendously by pointing out specific areas I should focus on to bring my score up to a 700. I went on to take 3 hours of private tutoring with the same instructor who did the PEA. I then did the test again 5 months after the first test and this time my score went up by 100 points to a 740!

The PEA and private tutoring were gold! I would seriously recommend them in order to be able to put all your energy and effort towards specific topics which can actually help bring your score up instead of wasting time on trying to get the 'high-hanging fruit'.

My 3-month course instructors were Eric Garthoffner and Pedro Ledesma who were very thorough and kept me committed to a regular study schedule. My PEA and pvt tutoring instructor was Chris Gentry - he was phenomenal and continued to stay in touch much after my sessions ended and right up till the day I gave the second test with constant motivation and prep tips.

I would highly recommend Manhattan Prep as a resource to prepare for one's GMAT.

Good Luck!

-Komal
740 (Q77, V96)

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 21, 2016
pfinley12

Joined: Nov 28, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
780 Q50 V47

100 point jump to 780 in just one week

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Chris Gentry

Location Atlanta (South), GA USA

I got a 680 on my first GMAT exam in October, then proceeded to study as hard as I could in hopes of breaking the 700 barrier. After 4-5 straight practice exams getting a 680/690, I decided I needed professional. Chris was recommended to me buy a good friend (he helped her get a 730) and he did wonders in just a couple short sessions. He recognized SC as the quickest way to bump my score. We spent the majority of the time focusing on breaking down challenging SC questions that I struggled with during past practice exams and problem sets. At the very end, we touched on some CR strategy. Overall, I couldn't be happier with my score and the impact that he was able to make in such a short time. I will certainly be recommending him to anyone I know trying to increase their score ASAP.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 08, 2016
cp1989

Joined: Nov 27, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
710 Q45 V44

Phenomenal GMAT Tutor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Chris Gentry

Location Atlanta (North), GA USA

My score is testament to Chris' phenomenal talent as a tutor. I took his GMAT class in addition to private tutoring. Having a time and quant intensive job, he was quickly able to identify my weaknesses, teach me powerful test taking strategies, and was incredibly patient throughout the 8 months it took me to prepare for the GMAT. Furthermore, after a few tough practice tests, he was constantly thinking of ways to help me achieve my goals even when I was ready to give up. He consistently offered creative solutions and was always responsive. Overall, my score improved 100+ points from my first practice test and I am able to apply to all of my dream schools. I cannot recommend Chris highly enough.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 03, 2016
mhg212

Joined: Nov 30, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V41

Chris Gentry - The Michael Jordan of GMAT Tutors

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Chris Gentry

Location Brooklyn, NY USA

Before working with Chris, I took a GMAT course with Kaplan, and scored a mediocre 650 on the GMAT. I hit a wall and did not know how I was going to increase my score. My friend referred me to a private instructor, Chris, at Manhattan GMAT, and Chris turned out to be my savior.

Chris was easily able to identify my weaknesses (sentence correction, critical reasoning, and some of the challenging math questions). His different studying techniques and ways of approaching problems were something that I hadn't come across as I scoured the internet for GMAT study tips. Specifically, his methodology for approaching SC and CR problems was unparalleled, and Chris was actually able to turn my weaknesses into strengths. Another key differentiator for Chris, he was able to give me vital tips on how to manage my time during the stress filled quant section of the exam.

After spending the time with Chris, I was confident, and I knew that I had been prepared with the best tools to take on the exam. Exceeding my goal on the exam by scoring a 760 (50 Q 41V), I was ecstatic and now knew that my GMAT would be a strength in my MBA application process.

Thank you Chris, you are a legend!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 22, 2016
BostonStudent

Joined: Nov 16, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

Fantastic Tutor!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I used Chris ~2 hours each Sunday for 4 weeks leading up to my second GMAT. I had taken the GMAT once in July after studying for two months and received a lower score than anticipated. I realized that I was nervous and my timing was all off. I met with Chris and explained what I felt I needed (e.g., help with timing, some common frameworks to apply and just general cheerleading). He understood me and my learning style immediately and from the first lesson helped me focus on target areas and study smarter. He helped me figure out my study plan each week and set target dates and scores for CATs. I told him my goal was to break 700 but he felt I could aim higher. Two weeks before retaking the GMAT, I was already breaking 700 on the CATs. He showed me how to improve my timing and just made me feel much more confident in myself and my abilities. I took the GMAT a second time at the end of October and felt so much more confident and in control than I had the first time. Chris had confidence in me and told me that as long I felt well and was well rested I would break 700. I got a 730 and couldn't be happier. I can't recommend Chris enough - even minimal time with him can have a big impact.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 17, 2016
lps2118

Joined: Nov 17, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Manhattan Prep - Private Tutoring with Chris Gentry

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I would highly recommend using Chris Gentry as a private tutor for the GMAT!!

I had originally tried taking a structured course but fell behind on homework because of my work schedule and became frustrated / demotivated when my score did not improve.

Chris helped me assess my strengths and weaknesses and re-focus my study strategy in a much more efficient manner. Once we had gone over some of the math basics that I did not fully grasp, he helped me come up with test taking strategies and taught me how to save time on seemingly lengthy questions.

Most importantly, Chris helped me manage my study time and stay enthusiastic during the process. My score dropped after my second practice test which initially concerned me but he reassured me that that often happens when people start learning strategies but aren't experienced enough to apply them yet.

Thanks to Chris's patient coaching I was able to achieve my goal of breaking into the 700s and I'm excited to apply to the schools of my choice next year!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

1 Older and Non-Verified Review for Chris Gentry