GMAT Club

Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep Powered by Kaplan prepares students to excel on the GMAT and in business school. All of our teachers have scored in the 99th percentile on the GMAT and have a median of 8 years of experience teaching the GMAT. We don't just teach you the skills and strategies essential to achieving a high score on the test. We also teach you how to study, think logically and critically, make effective decisions...in short, we give you all the tools you need so that you're well equipped to succeed on the GMAT and in grad school.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan Prep courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
Manhattan Prep Deal Page

Manhattan Prep GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep MGMAT Interact
 $999  $199
Reviews
23
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$510
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Live Online
 $1599  $1599
Reviews
133
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$2450
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Bootcamp
$2599
Reviews
0
Average Rating
0
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$4600
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$6750
Reviews
88
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Manhattan Prep GMAT Instructors

Jamie Nelson
Reviews
39
Average Rating
5.0
Mark Sullivan
Reviews
31
Average Rating
4.7
Jonathan Schneider
Reviews
29
Average Rating
5.0
Keith Blume
Reviews
25
Average Rating
4.9
Avi Gutman
Reviews
24
Average Rating
4.8

Reviews:

696 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
September 29, 2015
2015GMATWRITER

Joined: Apr 13, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
740 Q48 V44

I took the 9 Week Manhattan GMAT Complete Course with Avi Gutman in Toronto this past spring. Manhattan’s course content is very well-structured, with weekly homework and online lessons that complement the in-class discussions. I was immensely impressed by the resources that I was provided with, and never felt the need for additional lessons or practice questions. While I do not have experience with other providers, I can’t imagine a more comprehensive course than that offered by Manhattan.

By far the best part of this course was its instructor, Avi Gutman. Avi is a brilliant teacher, and his knowledge of the GMAT is incredible. Avi follows the weekly content structure laid out by Manhattan, but does so in a way that adds significant value beyond what you can learn online or from a textbook. Avi emphasizes that the GMAT is a test of strategy and logic, not a test of your math or English skills. He teaches techniques and approaches to tackling problems that are not “textbook”, but are simple, intuitive and incredibly effective under the pressure of the GMAT. Avi is extremely patient and generous with his time. He is very responsive to emails, even on weekends and his days off, and is always happy to speak with students before or after class to answer any questions that they may have. Our class had a broad mixture of backgrounds and abilities, and Avi found a way to cater to the entire range of students.

Following the completion of the course, I scheduled several private tutoring sessions with Avi. I was struggling to get my Quant score to my target, and was beginning to panic as my GMAT date fast approached. After our first two hour session I was flooded with confidence. While Avi is a great teacher in a classroom setting, he truly shines on a one-on-one basis. He found a way to quickly relate to my struggles, breaking down problems that I found challenging into very simple, easy-to-approach methods. This gave me tremendous confidence moving forward.

After a number of private tutoring sessions, several more practice CATs and many practice Quant problems, I finally wrote my GMAT and scored a 740. Quite a leap from my initial CAT score of 630! I could not be more thrilled.

I would highly recommend Manhattan GMAT, and particularly Avi Gutman, to anyone. Over the past 6+ months Avi has been a great instructor and friend, and I will always be grateful for his help and guidance.

Read More

September 07, 2015
hodayazdani

Joined: Aug 04, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
610

Before studying for GMAT, I was advised by a couple of friends to consider taking a prep course with Manhattan Prep. As I wasn't sure about that decision yet, I decided to attend the first "free" class to see what it is about. I learned within that class that not only do I need to follow a good structure for my studying, I do need to take a course with Manhattan Prep and more specifically with Avi.

Avi showed to me throughout the course that there are techniques to do well in GMAT and those techniques are not easy to grasp unless someone who is well experienced in the field can show them to you. Manhattan Prep has a great curriculum for studying for GMAT, but I think having a creative, intelligent and experienced instructor/tutor is also a key. Avi showed us ways to solve problems that you won't necessary see them in any books. For taking GMAT, you need to know the shortcuts and creative and smart ways to solve problems. In all the class I attend, Avi never ceased to amaze me with his thought process and tricks to answer questions in such a short period of time.

I am very happy that I attended the first class to see things for myself and to make a wise decision about my goals of applying for business school. GMAT is not an exam that can easily be done well at by studying on your own.

Read More

August 05, 2015
lowcarbramennoodles

Joined: Aug 05, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V42

I had a tough time deciding whether or not to do private tutoring. On the one hand, it's expensive. Hundreds of bucks an hour. On the other hand, I wanted to push my score up from acceptable to above average for my target schools. I bit the bullet.

I took Manhattan GMAT's in-person class and had a great experience with the teacher, Ceilidh. She gave us great advice on when to take the test, how to prepare for it, and study habits (she's written tons of articles on it). She was traveling this summer, so I literally planned my test dates around her available.

We got together for 4.5 hours and really dissected everything, from my GMAT/MGMAT practices exams to specific problems or areas. She helped me use MGMAT's awesome online tool to find, target, and fix any deficiencies I had. She gave me more strategies on test day, including guessing. Who knew, but guessing twice really shot my score up.

With Ceilidh's help, I was better prepared mentally and physically than I would have been otherwise. I can't thank her enough.

Read More

August 05, 2015
lowcarbramennoodles

Joined: Aug 05, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V42

Ceilidh isn't a great GMAT teacher; she's a great teacher. She naturally puts people at ease, challenges them, and creates an environment where we can learn from her and each other.

I took the in-person course at 6 pm on Thursdays. Everyone showed up chipper and ready to go. We engaged with Ceilidh and with each other, not just looking for an answer, but all the ways to get there.

The books and course were excellent at covering strategies and tactics, but also for learning the material. When I hit tough questions on the test, I was able to fall back on a really firm foundation.

I like Manhattan GMAT, but I think Ceilidh is aces. Her class is 100% worth your time, energy, and money.

Read More

July 27, 2015
jchoudh

Joined: Jan 11, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q48 V39

Jonathan Schneider is truly an amazing teacher. The 9-week 3-hour course helped me overcome so many of my fears of the GMAT. I took the GMAT once and received a 710 - quite a bump from my first practice score of 580.

Jonathan was always helpful in analyzing my strengths and weaknesses and in teaching the material. I loved how the class not only taught content but also frameworks/methodologies for thinking through the test.

From the class alone, my weaknesses in Data Sufficiency and Word Problems were very quickly strengthened. I ended up getting a 51 in Data Sufficiency (via the comprehensive score report) - which was much better than my expectations. In verbal, I was able to close the gap on my weaknesses in Sentence Correction through the class & follow on work.

This class in addition to the Manhattan Prep material is second to none. Jonathan has I highly recommended it to any serious GMAT taker

Read More

May 18, 2015
oa7

Joined: May 18, 2015

Posts: 19

Kudos: 4

Amazing course so far. A lot of materials are provided with excellent explanations on understanding key concepts to succeed on the GMAT. So far, both my instructors are explaining concepts on how to succeed on the GMAT with regards to time allocation. Dejan is spending a lot of time in answering questions and providing feedback on areas to focus on. For example, he said skipping every 3rd question on the GMAT is an effective strategy as you can still score in the 700s with completing all questions (making sure easy questions are not missed). Furthermore, they often have easy and hard (trap) examples and spend time explaining how a question that appears to be hard is actually easy if you re-organize the question.

Read More

March 11, 2015
enjayyy

Joined: Mar 11, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

I completed the 9-course prep class and then studied independently for 3 months. I needed the prep course because as I am still in college I didn't exactly understand what the GMAT was testing. If you're someone who needs structure or needs a study partner, its highly recommendable to take the course, otherwise I 100% recommend purchasing the books. I know I wouldn't of scored a 700 on my GMAT without them. I recommend learning the ins and outs of every one of their workbooks including the foundations. After you thoroughly understand the concepts, go through the official GMAT review books testing yourself with time constraints and referencing the Manhattan GMAT review books while reviewing problems. Everyday make sure to allocate time to not only quant but all aspects of the verbal because the verbal is something where practice makes perfect since its not as conceptual. For quant make sure to recognize where you can use the Manhattan GMAT shortcuts because they will save you a lot of time on game day.

Read More

March 05, 2015
al79philly

Joined: Sep 27, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Manhattan provided a great deal of value. I was able to score a 760 on my first attempt at the exam. Abby Berry was an excellent teacher and the timelines are laid out well. In addition to the classwork, you get access to the online interact sessions, which provide a second chance to review items where you need extra help. The books are well laid out and provide a lot of practice. GMAT Navigator is an excellent tool to track your progress against the official guide. I only took the test once, but I think they give you access to the materials for 18 months from when you sign up, which seems very fair. Customer support response time is excellent. I wanted access to their advanced quant book and sent an email on a Sunday afternoon. I received a response within an hour.

Read More

March 03, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Improvement 50 Points

Course Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Chris Brusznicki

Location Online

Manhattan Prep was the best decision I made. They give you so many resources to help improve your GMAT score. My online instructors were so nice and willing to help. They taught me strategies that helped me immensely on test day. I attribute my 710 total score to Manhattan Prep.

They really take the GMAT apart piece by piece. Not only do they review each section of the GMAT, but they even review how the test is scored. They dive deep into specific question types you will face. The instructors were extremely knowledgeable and very willing to answer any and all questions. If I had to do it all again, I would choose Manhattan Prep every time.

Read More

February 20, 2015
jmg2088

Joined: Feb 20, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Liz Moliski of Manhattan GMAT was one of the best overall instructors I have ever had. Unlike most people who have the ability to score 780+, Liz not only understands the topics tested but also has the ability to explain them to the basic levels. Additionally, Manhattan GMAT was one of the most comprehensive programs available. They provided the books, classroom instruction, online resources and even online interactive instruction to really give you bang for your buck (which, however, is on the higher end). All products were of the highest standards. I would highly recommend this fantastic program to anyone trying to get into the top schools.

Read More