GMAT Club
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [579]
    Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
e-GMAT Course Reviews
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep brings together the world’s most advanced learning technologies and the world’s top most instructors to deliver a learning experience that goes above and beyond anything that you may have experienced in a physical classroom. You will never go back to a physical classroom once you experience our online classroom.
Save $300 on e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep + $250 Bonus savings

GMAT Course Review
25 out of 26 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Engr2012 2675 1728
Verified Score:

750

Q49

V44

Improvement:

100 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

eGMAT Verbal Live Prep was the reason why I was able to show 100 point increase over the course of my 3 attempts, going from V30 to V44 in 10 months. I did start my verbal live prep program on recommendations online and after trying it out for free, I was sure that this is a good investment. I gave my GMAT prep 1st CAT and scored very low in verbal and I could see that I needed help with verbal. As soon as I had enrolled in eGMAT Verbal Live Prep (VLP), I was provided with a very detailed and systematic study plan that I should follow. This plan kept me in check all throughout and made sure that the proper foundations were laid before advanced concepts were introduced. I have no qualms in accepting the fact that I could have obtained a good score in my 1st attempt itself had I not deviated from the methods taught by eGMAT. The tutors were very helpful be it moderating strategy sessions, providing lectures via pre recorded videos or answering to the questions posted on online forums and their own question forums. The articles covering various concepts in SC, CR and RC were very well written and have been appreciated by many online forum goers.
I started with SC and I was amazed to see how seemingly straightforward concepts such as subject verb agreement, modifier and parallelism could be used to make difficult questions. Herein lies eGMAT’s greatest strength: to break down seemingly impossible to understand SC prompts into smaller segments and then analyze in detail each component of the sentence. The videos started with simple concepts and then finally went onto more advanced concepts such as modifiers and parallelism. As a non-native English speaker with exposure to English from a very early age, I was confident with my grammar rules but I was proven wrong by the diagnostic GMATPREP CAT. eGMAT showed that there is a method and logic behind every step even in SC and that if you are systematic with your approach , you can tackle toughest of SC questions with absolute ease. The insistence on understanding the meaning of SC prompts removed my fear of completely underlined sentences and led me to high timed accuracy in OG,GPREP qbank and exam pack 1. I realized the importance of following a set method to tackle a particular question type only after my 1st attempt, until when I used to employ brute force methods. eGMAT showed me that there was elegance in the ways to tackle the different questions types and subtypes. The videos were very clear, I was able to play them on any media be it windows or iOS without any issues, pre and post assessment quizzes were of particular help in understanding what needs to be focused on. One of the most useful things in their videos was the ability to see the “summary” slide that will summarize the contents of the preceding video.
Once I got a grasp of SC, I moved onto CR, following their detailed schedule and again saw that there was set method to every CR question type. The focus on understanding the conclusion, how premises relate to the conclusion, “PRETHINKING”, “NEGATION TECHNIQUE” etc techniques were hugely helpful. The videos started with the topic at hand, followed by some very thoughtfully crafted question to cement what was covered in the videos. Prethinking enabled me to understand the scope of the question, the relationships between elements in the CR prompt and understand why the incorrect answer choices were incorrect. In GMAT, every incorrect question is wrong for a particular/solid reason. If you are eliminating a choice without that reason, you will end up choosing incorrect options. eGMAT CR provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Unless you understand how GMAT can give you incorrect options based on above reasons, you will not be confident in choosing an answer (my situation in the 1st attempt). Again, I only realized the importance of applying a set method just before my 2nd attempt. eGMAT’s focus on breaking down any argument into its respective elements, understanding the linkages and prethinking provided you 70% of the total work required for answering a question correctly. Rest 30% would come from POE of options provided. I was able to increase my accuracy in OG CR questions from 55% to 90%+ with eGMAT’s CR module.
The 3rd step was finishing the RC module which again taught a couple of useful tactics to be an active reader and to be involved with the passage. eGMAT RC also provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Once you became fully engrossed with the passage (by following eGMAT’s advice), finding the correct answer via POE became very straightforward.
Finally, VLP also included IR (for free) which is a nice gesture on eGMAT’s part. The IR module videos dealt with all the different question types and provided good practice with end of the video practices.
I don’t think this review will be complete without talking about this new tool that eGMAT has come out with and is included in eGMAT VLP (as of writing this review). It is called scholaranium and is an absolute must to complement verbal practice from OG and GMATPREP. Scholaranium comes with an “ability” evaluation technique that tells where exactly do you stand (percentile wise) for a particular section (SC or CR or RC) or verbal (all sections combined). This was a very useful tool for me as I was able to do targeted practice for areas I was faltering on. I used to use scholaranium to hone my skills via sectional quizzes and even sub sectional targeted practice. The collection of 600+ questions is an amazingly crafted collection consisting of questions from 3 difficulty levels. The explanations are very detailed and are provided for all the questions and you can even post your doubts and one of the eGMAT experts will respond to your doubts soon enough.
The live sessions were very useful starting from the strategy sessions with Rajat to content based SC/CR and RC sessions. These live sessions would be repeated every month, so if you missed out 1 recording, you could go back and review it under your account page. The questions cited, reviewed and discussed during these sessions were very demanding and thought provoking. These sessions complement very well the course content presented via SC, CR and RC modules.
As for pricing is concerned, I believe eGMAT is the best online course available that is total worth the money you spent. It is cheaper than the other course providers but is definitely not lacking in any quality of content. The quantity of questions should be close to 2500 and all are high quality questions. Additionally as VLP has a validity of 6 months, I had to renew it twice but was provided a discounted price by eGMAT and really appreciate this.
To summarize, eGMAT VLP is a definite buy for non native English speakers as they understand the needs of these non native speakers and have the course tailored for them.

Although, I did select Payal under the "Instructor Name" but this shout out goes out to the entire eGMAT team. Keep up the great work you guys are doing.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
25 out of 26 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By anchalgulati22 1 0
Verified Score:

750

Q50

V41

Improvement:

40 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

I had given my GMAT more than a year ago (710- V34, Q50) and at that point of time I used to absolutely dread RCs. I found them really mundane and could never get myself to focus. While my quant was always strong, and CR and SC were average, RCs just didn't come to me naturally. And no, this does not mean that I'm weak at English in general. Infact, I'm among the most annoying grammar nazis that you may across. But each time I would come across an RC in the middle of my mocks, I would feel low and lose time and thereby end up rushing through my SC and CR questions as well.

Then, my friend introduced me to e-GMAT and I cannot thank him enough for having done that. After a year long break, I felt the need to go over SC and CR concepts as well and the videos provided by e-GMAT made them a whole lot of fun. I would stay up till late night, watching the videos, almost like I'd be watching a sitcom. They were light and helped me brush up my concepts very well. I had read someone's review about making handwritten notes while watching videos and then transferring those onto Evernote at the end of each day as that would not only help you revise, but also create a handy notebook for you to skim through while you're on the move. This tip helped me a lot and I would really recommend it to you all as well. I made my notes nice and colourful and added screenshots and links to them. Going over them later seemed fun because of all the colours I had added. (let me know if you want me to share them with you!)

The RC videos were really helpful as well. e-GMAT provides you a number of key strategies that you must keep in mind while reading through RCs. The one strategy that worked wonders for me was "to get immersed". I would literally tell myself at the beginning of each passage that "Oh! this sounds interesting, lets read what happens next!" I even used the note making approach during RCs quite regularly and was thereby able to get ALL my main point and structure questions right. These strategies seem very time consuming in the beginning, but within no time, you start to internalise them.

The other thing that I absolutely loved about the VLP was the scholaranium. Since I knew that RC was my weak point, I had decided to do atleast 4 passages every day, along with 20 SCs and 20 CRs. I used to create a lot of RC Ability quizzes and while I started with a 43% accuracy (with no time left to answer the last one), by the end I had 96% accuracy which was a great achievement for me. Infact, the day before my GMAT, when I sat down to give my RC ability test, I felt I was able to breeze through it easily. I wasn't spending to much time reading and even the answers were coming to me naturally.
When I submitted the test, I saw my score report in which I had just one (Hard) question wrong out of a total of 4 RC passages. This was my biggest confidence booster and I was sure that my GMAT would go well this time, which it did!

Infact, I finished by Quant section 18 minutes in advance and my Verbal section 15 minutes in advance and landed up with a V41, Q50 and a total of 750. I was literally shivering while answering my last few Verbal questions because the difficulty level had gone up which also meant my score was going up.

I wouldn't say that a V41 is a kickass score, but for someone like me who dreaded RCs to such a large extent, it was definitely an accomplishment, specially since I was now able to answer the questions so much faster.

Thank you e-GMAT once again and thanks to all those who read my review till the very end. I hope I was able to motivate a few of you out there like me, who may have totally given up on RC.

All the best to you all !!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [5]
1 Commented by shanky9 on February 25, 2017
Awsome Anchal. :)
2 Commented by Kaal on March 21, 2017
very well written and congratulations on your score! It would be great if you would share your notes with me :)
3 Commented by aditsakaria on August 10, 2017
Thanks for the insight Anchal :)
can i get a copy of your notes?
4 Commented by bnilesh on August 14, 2017
Thanks for sharing Anchal. That's a great score !!
Could you please share your notes.
5 Commented by rupak007 on August 28, 2017
Thanks for sharing your valuable experience Anchal. Can you please share your notes ? TIA.
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By shasara 27 1
Self-reported Score:

240

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Krishna Chaitanya

I am a 2nd time retaker & about to give my test in next month. I feel e-gmat online veb prep is the best verbal course for anyone who are about to start their preparations. I have started with SC and the videos are amazing. They are simple enough,the course teaches you the logic of these questions based on the meaning of each. Each concepts has been explained well and every video is followed by a post assessment quiz, which immediately tells you your level of understanding. In CR strategies such as pre thinking and understanding the argument well drawing a logical structure is the key to mastering CR. Regarding RC I just started the first module & already liking it. Overall I would say e-gmat is a best online prep course & I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By yashwanthj 0 0
Self-reported Score:

750

Q50

V41

Improvement:

120 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Rajat Sadana

I have taken Magoosh gmat course, but my verbal score in mock tests never crossed 32. So, I have decided to move on with a other online prep course which would help me understand the verbal concepts at a granular level and I was glad I found e-gmat verbal live prep and online course. After taking the course, I felt really confidant as my score improved a lot. The best part of the online live prep course was not jus about the concepts, but about studying with a strategy and Rajat really helped me to decide on one. I would recommend the e-Gmat online live prep course to everyone who want to score more than 90 percentile not limited to just non-native english speakers.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By saurabhbhandari 0 0
Verified Score:

560

Q41

V27

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

I gave my gmat exam back in September 2016 and got a dismal score. I say this with utmost honesty, the moment I saw my verbal score (V27), I was ashamed. All my convent education and good communication skills came short of the mark. This incident hit me hard. I decided to prepare again but due to personal problems I had to take a break of 6-7 months before resuming my prep.
It was then that I got introduced to e-gmat. I started with the Online prep but something was missing. The missing link was the power that the Verbal Live Prep gives you. In a few days I understood that my entire approach towards the process was wrong. Verbal Live prep structured my prep in a way that I started understanding the questions better. For example, when I was introduced to Pre-thinking, I had a hard time understanding the logic and the time it takes seemed far fetched. Today when I am a few weeks away from the D day, I know how powerful a tool is Pre-thinking. Similar was the case with RC. Earlier I used to underline the RC passage in my OG, read it thoroughly, go back to the passage when I answered questions. We all know doing that on a gmat exam is not smart. Post the RC prep course, I saw a huge improvement in my understanding. Today I take 6 mins to solve a long RC passage with an accuracy of 90 %.

I see egmat as the one stop soln to the gmat puzzle.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By neeld1 3 0
Self-reported Score:

670

Q49

V32

Improvement:

50 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Krishna Chaitanya

My GMAT preparation began in Feb-17. I had already taken the GMAT in Sep-14 and scored a mere 620 - Q50 V25. Never in my mocks had I crossed a V27. I had read all the manhattan books multiple times and I was confident that my Sentence correction was strong. However, in the actual exam the level of questions was way harder than I had anticipated. I scored a mere V20 on the Verbal section for SC.

Then I read a review about e-GMAT and gave it a try. After watching the first 3-4 Video lectures, I was in love with the content. I could grasp the content much quicker and the content stayed longer in my head because of the Visual effects created by the company. I went through the recordings multiple times and solidified my concepts. The best part I liked about the course was the entire structure of the program. The course has various files such as concept files, application files and quiz files. This helps to solidify concepts even further. Lastly, after completing the pre-requisites, I attended the Live Sessions.

The Live sessions were extremely well organized, with questions covering various concepts. Moreover, the instructors are extremely patient and hats off to all of you to answer some of the most basic questions. The best part about the instructors is that they don't give out the answers too easily. They make you think, which aids to understand even better.

So after completing my SC section, I improved from a V20 to a V30 on my Sentence correction. I started solving the questions based on Sentence structure. I then moved on to my CR and RC sections. Having studied the Sentence Correction course, my reading improved drastically. I could understand the various pieces in a convoluted RC passage. The company uses "Verb-ing" and "Verb-ed" instead of the Traditional terms such as Gerunds/Infinitive/Appositive Clauses etc. This is key to remembering what each term is. Again, hats off to a well designed course and coming up with such easy to understand names.

Now without digressing any further, I took my first attempt in July -17. I got a 640 - Q49 v29. That's a 4 point improvement right off the bat. I was dejected and thought to give one more attempt. I went through all the files again and took another attempt in Sep-17. I scored a Q49 V32 - 670. I was delighted with the score because this was the first time I breached the V30 mark. I attribute this section largely to e-gmat. However, I hadn't done Scholarinium yet. I plan to take one more attempt in Oct-17 and practice on Scholarinium. I believe I can reach a v35.

In sum, had it not have been to e-gmat, I would always be lingering in the mid - 20s on my verbal section. This course provided me with a new path that the GMAT verbal is crack able. Persistence is the key and approach is necessary.

I hope you all give this course a whirl and see for yourself the improved self confidence you shall face while taking the actual exam.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
E- Gmat Verbal Revolution !
September 16 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By alexandros 0 0
Verified Score:

660

Q47

V34

Improvement:

70 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Krishna Chaitanya

I took the Gmat some months ago and scored a V34. Taking into consideration that i am a non native i had trouble with the verbal section. Almost disapointed with my performance i signed up for E-Gmat Verbal Live Prep and it was one of the best choices i made. Lacking focus and confidence the E gmat team asked me to trust them and do as they say and i would be able to score high. I score a V34 with only limited practice. I only practised with the OG and only a little with Scholaranium. I didnt use all the helpful parts of my course(eg i didnt use the verbal workshop ). I believe that if i had some more time to practise some more questions from the Scholaranium(and the other parts) i would be able to score much better.
Their Sentence correction is really amazing. They wont ask you to memorize 1000 idioms ; their strategy is based on meaning. My SC quickly became my strongest part on the whole Gmat.
Their Critical Reasoning is also commendable. Especially if you are a non native and you have never had a standardized critical reasoning test before this course is a must. They really help you with DETAILED explanations. Every question is broken down into pieces of a puzzle. Quickly you will learn what CR is about. Practise from the OG and Scholaranium to get a high score.
Their Reading Comprehension is mostly a set of strategies. If you are having trouble with RC they have very nice detailed videos to help you learn how the gmat wants us to read for it.
The Live courses are available for sometime so you can catch any batch your work schedule allows you. The live lessons are a good source of confidence and they provide classroom experience. You will be able to measure your performance in competition with other students. This is very nice if you are studying alone. You also be able to understand how much time you should normally spend on any section. The live lessons compel you to study harder to be ready for the next lesson. Interaction with the instructor is really helpful. At the end of each lesson they resolve all the special queries of the students. Thank you for being close Krishna and Egmat team. If you are having problem with your tests or practice quizzes they can provide personal help with no added cost.
The course architecture is helpful in helping you learn in the quickest possible way. The videos are elaborate and industrially designed (meticulously). They are very interactive and cool to watch with many colors and images that make you feel better about studying while other courses only have a dry video with some guy mumbling..
On the downside i can definetely say that the product support ( email support) could be better. I think that this part of the company is understaffed.
Overall, a very good experience and cheap course in terms of what they offer. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By javlon007 0 0
Verified Score:

530

Q42

V21

Improvement:

80 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

I was very depressed when I saw my GMAT score in my first attempt for which I had prepared very hard. I got 530 with a verbal score 21. Then, I decided not to give up and realized that I should draw more attention on my verbal skills. I looked through all the GMAT courses at gmatclub.com and hypothesized that e-gmat would be optimal choice. The reason was quite simple; ranking, number of reviews and price, altogether, motivated me to taste its free online sessions and watch free verbal video lessons to evaluate potential of e-gmat verbal courses. It was so surprising for me to gain so many useful tips and knowledge from free trial and one little free live session of the e-gmat verbal live prep. So, I purchased the whole verbal prep course, verbal online and verbal live course, right away, and this was one of the decisions that I will never regret in my life.
As soon as I started the course, I acknowledged that before I was not in a right direction in my preparations for the exam. E-gmat verbal prep course has enabled me to enhance my learning experience and made the verbal part of GMAT with which I had been so uncomfortable, easily reachable. Moreover, because the instructors are so proficient in their job, it was very easy to grasp what they are trying to deliver. Verbal live prep became the course in which I learned a lot more than just watching videos and applying the theory on my own. It was invaluable when instructors navigate me through right path, explaining all the invisible pitfalls arisen along the way. Additionally, there is great opportunity to get instant vital answers for the questions worrying me mostly. I felt myself quite confident and empowered after each live prep session and highly inspired to attend next one. In addition, e-gmat has provided me with extremely important tools and key strategies that I had considered insignificant before. For instance, following 3 step method and the perseverance on understanding the meaning on SC questions have led me to tackle toughest SC questions in a high time manner. Pre-thinking each assumption, strengthen, weaken and evaluate questions has become the best tool in solving all CR questions. Furthermore, e-gmat verbal live course has showed me how to identify the correct answer with 70% probability without even looking at options through its valuable strategies. Also, the application tests after every session as well as scholoranium tests have helped me to keep track of where I am and of what should be strengthened.
Thus, I am very grateful for this course since it allowed me to be confident at any GMAT verbal question no matter how tough it is. Thanks to this course after a two-month preparation my verbal score on GMATprep mock exam has increased to 36 from 21. Therefore, I would highly recommend this course for those who seek for greater improvement in their verbal skills. This course provides you with the core elements in a very efficient and strategically right way.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Verbal course review
September 02 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by gmat club tests
     By rago822 0 0
Self-reported Score:

710

Q51

V40

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

I was very weak in the verbal concepts when I started preparing for GMAT. One of my friends suggested about the verbal live course of egmat. I have since then been a fan of it. The course covers indepth details of each verbal concepts and quizzes covering the concepts for each. I really found it useful to get the basics right before starting to practise on the scholaranium. I would recommend this to anyone who has issues with the basics of verbal concepts. I am myself recommending it to all my friends. Wish all the best to the egmat team! Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
A journey from V28 to V36
August 30 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By ajink25 0 0
Verified Score:

700

Q49

V36

Improvement:

50 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

I had given my GMAT last year in October and scored an abysmal V-28 which resulted in a poor overall score of 650 despite scoring a whooping Q-50. So for my next attempt the strategy was very clear - to concentrate predominantly on Verbal with some intermittent emphasis on the Quants section.
So the Verbal preparations began in full swing in January 2017. I read the entire Manhattan SC section and solved the enitre SC and CR sections from OG. But somehwere deep inside I was not convinced with the method of approaching the verbal question and was in search of a mentor to guide me . At this juncture a friend suggested me to try out E-GMAT . I wasted no time and immediately browsed through the free concept files on the same day. I was so impressed that I immediately bought the Verbal Online package on the very same day and it turned out to be the best decision with regards to the GMAT preparation. After about a month I upgraded the package to Verbal LIVE in order to access the Live Sessions which again proved to be really helpful. I think I can safely say that the entire 8 point improvement in my verbal score is all due to the E-GMAT course.

I would like to recommend the E-GMAT's Verbal course for the following reasons:

1) SC Course : I think the E-GMAT's 3 step process to solve the SC questions is a game changer. This approach helped me to improve my SC accuracy drastically. Also the concepts files especially that of 'Modifiers' and 'Comparisons' are really helpful.

2) CR - Prethinking Methodolgy : This enabled me to approach the CR questions in a new manner . Approaching the CR questions by this method really helps to improve the accuracy and at the same time to reduce the time spent on each question.

3) Scholaranium Platform : E-GMAT offers a wonderful portal to practise several questions. It helps to access the exact strengths and weaknesses and helps to strategize the study plan accordingly.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]



216 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
73 points
International Student Score Improvement
74 points
Verbal
97%
Most Reviewed e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
Payal Tandon [216]
    
Rajat Sadana [176]
    
Krishna Chaitanya [83]
    
Shraddha Jaiswal [79]
    
Japinder Kaur [38]
    
Save Up To $430
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$170 coupon code discount
+$260 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code