GMAT Club
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [593]
    Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
e-GMAT Course Reviews
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep brings together the world’s most advanced learning technologies and the world’s top most instructors to deliver a learning experience that goes above and beyond anything that you may have experienced in a physical classroom. You will never go back to a physical classroom once you experience our online classroom.
Save $300 on e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep + $250 Bonus savings

GMAT Course Review
28 out of 29 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By anchalgulati22 1 0
Verified Score:

750

Q50

V41

Improvement:

40 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

I had given my GMAT more than a year ago (710- V34, Q50) and at that point of time I used to absolutely dread RCs. I found them really mundane and could never get myself to focus. While my quant was always strong, and CR and SC were average, RCs just didn't come to me naturally. And no, this does not mean that I'm weak at English in general. Infact, I'm among the most annoying grammar nazis that you may across. But each time I would come across an RC in the middle of my mocks, I would feel low and lose time and thereby end up rushing through my SC and CR questions as well.

Then, my friend introduced me to e-GMAT and I cannot thank him enough for having done that. After a year long break, I felt the need to go over SC and CR concepts as well and the videos provided by e-GMAT made them a whole lot of fun. I would stay up till late night, watching the videos, almost like I'd be watching a sitcom. They were light and helped me brush up my concepts very well. I had read someone's review about making handwritten notes while watching videos and then transferring those onto Evernote at the end of each day as that would not only help you revise, but also create a handy notebook for you to skim through while you're on the move. This tip helped me a lot and I would really recommend it to you all as well. I made my notes nice and colourful and added screenshots and links to them. Going over them later seemed fun because of all the colours I had added. (let me know if you want me to share them with you!)

The RC videos were really helpful as well. e-GMAT provides you a number of key strategies that you must keep in mind while reading through RCs. The one strategy that worked wonders for me was "to get immersed". I would literally tell myself at the beginning of each passage that "Oh! this sounds interesting, lets read what happens next!" I even used the note making approach during RCs quite regularly and was thereby able to get ALL my main point and structure questions right. These strategies seem very time consuming in the beginning, but within no time, you start to internalise them.

The other thing that I absolutely loved about the VLP was the scholaranium. Since I knew that RC was my weak point, I had decided to do atleast 4 passages every day, along with 20 SCs and 20 CRs. I used to create a lot of RC Ability quizzes and while I started with a 43% accuracy (with no time left to answer the last one), by the end I had 96% accuracy which was a great achievement for me. Infact, the day before my GMAT, when I sat down to give my RC ability test, I felt I was able to breeze through it easily. I wasn't spending to much time reading and even the answers were coming to me naturally.
When I submitted the test, I saw my score report in which I had just one (Hard) question wrong out of a total of 4 RC passages. This was my biggest confidence booster and I was sure that my GMAT would go well this time, which it did!

Infact, I finished by Quant section 18 minutes in advance and my Verbal section 15 minutes in advance and landed up with a V41, Q50 and a total of 750. I was literally shivering while answering my last few Verbal questions because the difficulty level had gone up which also meant my score was going up.

I wouldn't say that a V41 is a kickass score, but for someone like me who dreaded RCs to such a large extent, it was definitely an accomplishment, specially since I was now able to answer the questions so much faster.

Thank you e-GMAT once again and thanks to all those who read my review till the very end. I hope I was able to motivate a few of you out there like me, who may have totally given up on RC.

All the best to you all !!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [5]
1 Commented by shanky9 on February 25, 2017
Awsome Anchal. :)
2 Commented by MelP on March 21, 2017
very well written and congratulations on your score! It would be great if you would share your notes with me :)
3 Commented by aditsakaria on August 10, 2017
Thanks for the insight Anchal :)
can i get a copy of your notes?
4 Commented by bnilesh on August 14, 2017
Thanks for sharing Anchal. That's a great score !!
Could you please share your notes.
5 Commented by rupak007 on August 28, 2017
Thanks for sharing your valuable experience Anchal. Can you please share your notes ? TIA.
GMAT Course Review
27 out of 28 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By ENGRTOMBA2018 2672 1789
Verified Score:

750

Q49

V44

Improvement:

100 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

eGMAT Verbal Live Prep was the reason why I was able to show 100 point increase over the course of my 3 attempts, going from V30 to V44 in 10 months. I did start my verbal live prep program on recommendations online and after trying it out for free, I was sure that this is a good investment. I gave my GMAT prep 1st CAT and scored very low in verbal and I could see that I needed help with verbal. As soon as I had enrolled in eGMAT Verbal Live Prep (VLP), I was provided with a very detailed and systematic study plan that I should follow. This plan kept me in check all throughout and made sure that the proper foundations were laid before advanced concepts were introduced. I have no qualms in accepting the fact that I could have obtained a good score in my 1st attempt itself had I not deviated from the methods taught by eGMAT. The tutors were very helpful be it moderating strategy sessions, providing lectures via pre recorded videos or answering to the questions posted on online forums and their own question forums. The articles covering various concepts in SC, CR and RC were very well written and have been appreciated by many online forum goers.
I started with SC and I was amazed to see how seemingly straightforward concepts such as subject verb agreement, modifier and parallelism could be used to make difficult questions. Herein lies eGMAT’s greatest strength: to break down seemingly impossible to understand SC prompts into smaller segments and then analyze in detail each component of the sentence. The videos started with simple concepts and then finally went onto more advanced concepts such as modifiers and parallelism. As a non-native English speaker with exposure to English from a very early age, I was confident with my grammar rules but I was proven wrong by the diagnostic GMATPREP CAT. eGMAT showed that there is a method and logic behind every step even in SC and that if you are systematic with your approach , you can tackle toughest of SC questions with absolute ease. The insistence on understanding the meaning of SC prompts removed my fear of completely underlined sentences and led me to high timed accuracy in OG,GPREP qbank and exam pack 1. I realized the importance of following a set method to tackle a particular question type only after my 1st attempt, until when I used to employ brute force methods. eGMAT showed me that there was elegance in the ways to tackle the different questions types and subtypes. The videos were very clear, I was able to play them on any media be it windows or iOS without any issues, pre and post assessment quizzes were of particular help in understanding what needs to be focused on. One of the most useful things in their videos was the ability to see the “summary” slide that will summarize the contents of the preceding video.
Once I got a grasp of SC, I moved onto CR, following their detailed schedule and again saw that there was set method to every CR question type. The focus on understanding the conclusion, how premises relate to the conclusion, “PRETHINKING”, “NEGATION TECHNIQUE” etc techniques were hugely helpful. The videos started with the topic at hand, followed by some very thoughtfully crafted question to cement what was covered in the videos. Prethinking enabled me to understand the scope of the question, the relationships between elements in the CR prompt and understand why the incorrect answer choices were incorrect. In GMAT, every incorrect question is wrong for a particular/solid reason. If you are eliminating a choice without that reason, you will end up choosing incorrect options. eGMAT CR provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Unless you understand how GMAT can give you incorrect options based on above reasons, you will not be confident in choosing an answer (my situation in the 1st attempt). Again, I only realized the importance of applying a set method just before my 2nd attempt. eGMAT’s focus on breaking down any argument into its respective elements, understanding the linkages and prethinking provided you 70% of the total work required for answering a question correctly. Rest 30% would come from POE of options provided. I was able to increase my accuracy in OG CR questions from 55% to 90%+ with eGMAT’s CR module.
The 3rd step was finishing the RC module which again taught a couple of useful tactics to be an active reader and to be involved with the passage. eGMAT RC also provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Once you became fully engrossed with the passage (by following eGMAT’s advice), finding the correct answer via POE became very straightforward.
Finally, VLP also included IR (for free) which is a nice gesture on eGMAT’s part. The IR module videos dealt with all the different question types and provided good practice with end of the video practices.
I don’t think this review will be complete without talking about this new tool that eGMAT has come out with and is included in eGMAT VLP (as of writing this review). It is called scholaranium and is an absolute must to complement verbal practice from OG and GMATPREP. Scholaranium comes with an “ability” evaluation technique that tells where exactly do you stand (percentile wise) for a particular section (SC or CR or RC) or verbal (all sections combined). This was a very useful tool for me as I was able to do targeted practice for areas I was faltering on. I used to use scholaranium to hone my skills via sectional quizzes and even sub sectional targeted practice. The collection of 600+ questions is an amazingly crafted collection consisting of questions from 3 difficulty levels. The explanations are very detailed and are provided for all the questions and you can even post your doubts and one of the eGMAT experts will respond to your doubts soon enough.
The live sessions were very useful starting from the strategy sessions with Rajat to content based SC/CR and RC sessions. These live sessions would be repeated every month, so if you missed out 1 recording, you could go back and review it under your account page. The questions cited, reviewed and discussed during these sessions were very demanding and thought provoking. These sessions complement very well the course content presented via SC, CR and RC modules.
As for pricing is concerned, I believe eGMAT is the best online course available that is total worth the money you spent. It is cheaper than the other course providers but is definitely not lacking in any quality of content. The quantity of questions should be close to 2500 and all are high quality questions. Additionally as VLP has a validity of 6 months, I had to renew it twice but was provided a discounted price by eGMAT and really appreciate this.
To summarize, eGMAT VLP is a definite buy for non native English speakers as they understand the needs of these non native speakers and have the course tailored for them.

Although, I did select Payal under the "Instructor Name" but this shout out goes out to the entire eGMAT team. Keep up the great work you guys are doing.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Best Verbal Course
December 09 | 2017
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By ishinandan 1 0
Self-reported Score:

730

Q50

V40

Improvement:

200 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

A year back ,i started thinking seriously about the GMAT. The greatest struggle for me was verbal section. While i was doing self study ,i got correct answers by intuition which made me even more dubious about my good score in GMAT. I started searching for good stuff and fortunately bumped into e-gmat review on gmat club.The gmat verbal online course provided me with a great base to start with. My concepts expecially in SC significantly improved. In addition Scholaranium helped in identifying weak areas and improve timing. Above all , the Scholaranium questions were pertinent to the actual GMAT test unlike those of many other online test preparation courses. The algorithms used in questions selection is great and just what the student required. This gave me the flexibility of choosing the right kind and number of questions as per requirement.

Would recommend this course as a must have to all those who are serious about getting a good GMAT score and to all those who are struggling with verbal section most.You can make it possible with your dedication and with the help of E-GMAT.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Verbal Live Prep - Review
December 08 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By atuldhaka 0 0
Verified Score:

650

Q48

V31

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

For the convenience of people reading this review, i have divided this review into 3 parts to help the reader form his/her own opinion.

Introduction- I am a working professional and i decided to give GMAT somewhere in July 2016. I work for a consulting firm and usually spend 9-12 hours at work, leaving me with very less time for studies at home. On a normal day i am able to devote only 2-2.5 hrs. to studies. Do you think its less ?.. Well for me it is! During my engineering i developed this habit of sitting for long hours and 2-2.5 hrs. didn't seem sufficient.

I got a dismal 650 on my first GMAT attempt and after that i decided to take a completely new approach towards prep. Verbal being the weak point i decided to try the E-Gmat verbal live prep course.

Features that I found most useful- The entire verbal curriculum is divided into 3 parts – SC,CR and RC and they provide you with a roadmap for your prep. Within every section every topic is further divided into small video modules followed by a few practice quizzes. Length of the videos usually ranges from 15-30 minutes max. Now as I said earlier after working 9-10 hours in office I use to find very less time left for studies at home (am sure a lot other working professionals must be facing the same problem), this division of entire syllabus into small modules solved my problem. You don’t need to spend more than 1-1.5 hrs. on any single topic. You might end up taking more time in your preparation since you’re spending only 2 hrs. a day, but trust me, going slow and steady is much better than completing the entire curriculum in 15 days and still be not clear with the basics.

Secondly, one of the most important aspects of GMAT prep, especially in verbal, is knowing why the right answer is right and why the wrong answer is wrong. E-gmat verbal live prep gives a very detailed solution to the problems and helps in developing a correct line of reasoning. I studied from books during my first attempt and no matter how good the books are, they never discuss the each answer in such detail.

Thirdly the scholaranium will help you find your Achilles heel. You’ll be able to find your grey spots after practicing only a couple of ques. Manually keeping an error log and bucketing the question under different sub topics are cumbersome and time-consuming tasks. Again as I said before, with only limited time for studies, scholaranium helped me save that crucial time.

Improvements- I have been preparing for gmat for past 3-4 months and with consistent efforts I have improved my verbal ability considerably. From not being able to solve even easy question to getting 700-750 level questions right. It all about having the right approach towards each question and that is what this course will help you develop. The right approach!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Finally cracked Verbal!!
December 07 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By jagrati 0 0
Verified Score:

640

Q48

V28

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

So I gave the GMAT in January 2017 and scored 640(Q-48, V-28). It wasn't good but wasn't bad considering I gave the exam only after a month's preparation. However I was getting more in Verbal during my preps, I guess I goofed up the starting questions.

I had read about e-GMAT on various forums and since I had to work on my verbal skills, I decided to give it a shot.

I purchased their Verbal Live Prep program (although I did not attend the live online sessions as I did not really felt a need for them). Here are the features I really liked about their program:

-The program has been made very interesting by using interactive and colourful videos. The videos start from the basic concepts and lead to the level which is needed for the exam. I actually used to make handwritten notes which would help me revise. Though, the videos also contain summary slides which you can view to revise the main points of the topic.

-You get post-assessment quiz after every lesson so you can make sure you have grasped the topic well.

-Apart from these quizzes, you get a lot of practice questions to test your level of improvement. You can very well keep a track of your performance.

-Coming on to the individual sections:
1)RC: I had earlier been advised to just read first and last lines of the passage and start answering the questions straight away. But this way I could not mark the correct answers as I could not understand the passage well and I also had to go back and forth between the options and passage several times. This caused me to perform poorly in RC. But with e-GMAT's approach, I would read the passage once, make note of main points and important words and then go about my questions. This lead to a significant increase in my RC accuracy. And with practice, I learned to do it in time.

2)CR: e-GMAT's approach of pre-thinking is amazing. I can't emphasize enough the importance of taking just a few seconds to think of the answer before approaching the options. It increased my accuracy and reduced the time I took to solve them.

3)SC: e-GMAT's approach of first understanding the meaning of the sentence, instead of jumping on to the options right away, is a freakin' goldmine. The answers come so naturally after understanding the meaning.

I am all set to give my GMAT again. My Verbal score in test preps has gone up to V41. All thanks to e-GMAT for their amazing course. Will share the result.

Thank you for reading until the end.
All the best to you all!!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
egmat vlp experience
December 06 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By checkinsaheli 1 1
Self-reported Score:

550

Q42

V24

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

It is one of the best preparation platforms I have come across. Though I have not completed it fully, I can say that my full e-gmat verbal live course has been a boon to my preparation. I understand sc, cr and rc better. Scholaranium has been great. it has very good questions and it increases knowledge just where you need. it bridges the gap in your preparation.

I was struggling with CR and RC, now I am a lot more confident. I am more confident of my verbal skills now after the VLP course.

the analysis, curriculum, course, questions are the best available.
Anyone who wishes to score better should consider e-gmat withput a second thpught. The self learning platform gives you the best opportunity to learn and practice more.
I am hoping to score well in verbal with it's help! I wish egmat team all the luck and thank them for this wonderful tool.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Only prep tool you need
December 04 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By narendrap18 0 0
Verified Score:

710

Q50

V35

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

EGMAT was the only prep tool I used for my preparation. Flexibility that I got from the EGMAT course helped me learn at my own pace. Approach presented in strategy sessions helped me in maximizing my strengths while improving on my weaknesses. E-GMAT's approach of pre-thinking for CR and meaning based approached for Sentence correction helped me improve my Verbal from V25 when I started to V35 on my actual GMAT. Though I made more mistakes than I would like in RC which reflected in my Verbal score, E-GMAT RC webinar was the reason I purchased the course. EGMAT ability tests and scholaranium helped me understand my weaknesses in Quant and address them. Live-prep sessions help you with specific issues which you can work with instructors who are really helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By nitinsingh1601 0 0
Self-reported Score:

750

Q50

V42

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

The E-GMAT material is really exhaustive and expertly made.The quality of concepts especially for Verbal is magnificent
I would recommend E-GMAT verbal to everyone especially non native English speakers as the concepts explained really suit and help the non natives.The E-GMAT scholaranium is unique and cements the verbal concepts in a meticulous way.The quality of verbal material is also unique in the way that it is very relevant to the actual GMAT exam and questions .
Also the E-GMAT team is very helping and online support extended by E-GMAT team is superb.If someone is looking for a drastic jump in his/her score then E-GMAT is the course to look out for.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By kalian 8 1
Verified Score:

630

Q49

V27

Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

I wrote my first GMAT in Nov 2014. Typically confident of doing the preparation myself, i choose to climb the mountain called GMAT in my own terms. And then i was stuck on a plateau. Q50 and V18 - 570 on GMAT. I was frustrated and sad as the question "who can help me when i can't help myself?" went unanswered. And then i decided to go through reviews and try out Sample live courses. E-Gmat was one of these and the only one i ended up checking: I have found what i wanted.
I took the live course as it can help me with clarifying all my doubts spot on.

The Pedagogy:
The material and recorded lessons are tailored for the non natives and exactly serves those problems that we face.

In SC, the part i was particularly poor at, the course focuses on the areas that we normally make mistakes in: those grammatical mistakes that have become 2nd nature to us. It explains this in a way that does not need us becoming an english literature student.
RC and CR chapters did help me a lot in tackling different type of questions. Pre-thinking in CR did really help me to improve my score without much effort. My RC accuracy also shot up with a minimal effort.

I took the exam again in 2017 Jan with only 20 days of preparation and increased my score from 570 (Q50, V18) to 630 (Q49,V27).

Customer support : It is quite responsive and co-operative. I wanted to attend classes i missed and support was given almost immediately in re-taking those. Must say they understand our problems quite well and have addressed them in their operations.

Verdict : If you are a non native and want to improve your tallies in less time and effort, look no where else. Do well and best wishes for your exam.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By Garv8 1 0
Self-reported Score:

550

Q49

V19

Improvement:

100 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

After struggling with other competitive exams in India, i realised i was not doing so well in Quant sections of these exams. But there was a pattern, i did exceptionally well in Verbal part. So I did my research and planned to appear for GMAT, after a good work experience.

Like everybody i did the Official guides and attempted 2 mocks and appeared for the exam, to my horror i scored too low in the Verbal section. I took some advice from friends and tried all sorts of ways to get better in Verbal. I struggled for an year with the right material and was in desperate need for help. I researched even more, and bought some international prep material, which proved to be of little help. I was struggling with the preparation and my recently changed job profile made it worse.

I came across EGMAT Verbal live course, i liked the approach, the course streamlines all the grammar topics, categorizes the critical reasoning questions and helps with Reading comprehension on a much deeper level of insight. I made comprehensive notes, excel sheets of each topic capturing the gist and errors.
Approach is the key here, there is no point practicing questions without observing the pattern and pre-thinking (linking facts and anticipating results). Here the course structure comes in handy.
The Live sessions not only help you to get in touch with the faculty but also clear the air regarding strategies.

Finally, i would like to point out that my accuracy rate was high but my time strategy was weak, i was not able to reach the end of the verbal section. Here prethinking comes into the picture, now i am able to finish the section with great confidence. In terms of scores, i scored V19 in the verbal (official figure), now in mocks (which are fairly true reflection of final score) i am consistently scoring in the range of 32-38 (To me that is huge). I have booked a date and will soon share the final numbers.

I would definitely recommend this course especially to those who have wasted their time and money in other sources and failed to get results.

Thank you so much guys, now i feel more confident and better prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]



216 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
73 points
International Student Score Improvement
74 points
Verbal
97%
Most Reviewed e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
Payal Tandon [223]
    
Rajat Sadana [181]
    
Krishna Chaitanya [85]
    
Shraddha Jaiswal [79]
    
Japinder Kaur [38]
    
Save Up To $430
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$170 coupon code discount
+$260 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code