GMAT Club
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [598]
    Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
e-GMAT Course Reviews
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep brings together the world’s most advanced learning technologies and the world’s top most instructors to deliver a learning experience that goes above and beyond anything that you may have experienced in a physical classroom. You will never go back to a physical classroom once you experience our online classroom.
Save $300 on e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep + $250 Bonus savings

GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By anchalgulati22 1 0
Verified Score:

750

Q50

V41

Improvement:

40 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

I had given my GMAT more than a year ago (710- V34, Q50) and at that point of time I used to absolutely dread RCs. I found them really mundane and could never get myself to focus. While my quant was always strong, and CR and SC were average, RCs just didn't come to me naturally. And no, this does not mean that I'm weak at English in general. Infact, I'm among the most annoying grammar nazis that you may across. But each time I would come across an RC in the middle of my mocks, I would feel low and lose time and thereby end up rushing through my SC and CR questions as well.

Then, my friend introduced me to e-GMAT and I cannot thank him enough for having done that. After a year long break, I felt the need to go over SC and CR concepts as well and the videos provided by e-GMAT made them a whole lot of fun. I would stay up till late night, watching the videos, almost like I'd be watching a sitcom. They were light and helped me brush up my concepts very well. I had read someone's review about making handwritten notes while watching videos and then transferring those onto Evernote at the end of each day as that would not only help you revise, but also create a handy notebook for you to skim through while you're on the move. This tip helped me a lot and I would really recommend it to you all as well. I made my notes nice and colourful and added screenshots and links to them. Going over them later seemed fun because of all the colours I had added. (let me know if you want me to share them with you!)

The RC videos were really helpful as well. e-GMAT provides you a number of key strategies that you must keep in mind while reading through RCs. The one strategy that worked wonders for me was "to get immersed". I would literally tell myself at the beginning of each passage that "Oh! this sounds interesting, lets read what happens next!" I even used the note making approach during RCs quite regularly and was thereby able to get ALL my main point and structure questions right. These strategies seem very time consuming in the beginning, but within no time, you start to internalise them.

The other thing that I absolutely loved about the VLP was the scholaranium. Since I knew that RC was my weak point, I had decided to do atleast 4 passages every day, along with 20 SCs and 20 CRs. I used to create a lot of RC Ability quizzes and while I started with a 43% accuracy (with no time left to answer the last one), by the end I had 96% accuracy which was a great achievement for me. Infact, the day before my GMAT, when I sat down to give my RC ability test, I felt I was able to breeze through it easily. I wasn't spending to much time reading and even the answers were coming to me naturally.
When I submitted the test, I saw my score report in which I had just one (Hard) question wrong out of a total of 4 RC passages. This was my biggest confidence booster and I was sure that my GMAT would go well this time, which it did!

Infact, I finished by Quant section 18 minutes in advance and my Verbal section 15 minutes in advance and landed up with a V41, Q50 and a total of 750. I was literally shivering while answering my last few Verbal questions because the difficulty level had gone up which also meant my score was going up.

I wouldn't say that a V41 is a kickass score, but for someone like me who dreaded RCs to such a large extent, it was definitely an accomplishment, specially since I was now able to answer the questions so much faster.

Thank you e-GMAT once again and thanks to all those who read my review till the very end. I hope I was able to motivate a few of you out there like me, who may have totally given up on RC.

All the best to you all !!

Was this review helpful to you? 33 out of 35 people found the following review helpful
   
Comments [8]
1 Commented by shanky9 on February 25, 2017
Awsome Anchal. :)
2 Commented by MelP on March 21, 2017
very well written and congratulations on your score! It would be great if you would share your notes with me :)
3 Commented by aditsakaria on August 10, 2017
Thanks for the insight Anchal :)
can i get a copy of your notes?
4 Commented by bnilesh on August 14, 2017
Thanks for sharing Anchal. That's a great score !!
Could you please share your notes.
5 Commented by rupak007 on August 28, 2017
Thanks for sharing your valuable experience Anchal. Can you please share your notes ? TIA.
6 Commented by subhendu389 on December 19, 2017
Congratulations on your score and thank you for the information.

Can you please share share your notes .
Email id : subhendu389@gmail.com
7 Commented by imemanik on December 24, 2017
Congratulations on your GMAT score. Very helpful and detailed review. Please share your notes imemanik@gmail.com
8 Commented by prakash5085 on February 04, 2018
Congratulations Anchal ! Can you please share your notes : prakash5085@gmail.com
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By ENGRTOMBA2018 2683 1886
Verified Score:

750

Q49

V44

Improvement:

100 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

eGMAT Verbal Live Prep was the reason why I was able to show 100 point increase over the course of my 3 attempts, going from V30 to V44 in 10 months. I did start my verbal live prep program on recommendations online and after trying it out for free, I was sure that this is a good investment. I gave my GMAT prep 1st CAT and scored very low in verbal and I could see that I needed help with verbal. As soon as I had enrolled in eGMAT Verbal Live Prep (VLP), I was provided with a very detailed and systematic study plan that I should follow. This plan kept me in check all throughout and made sure that the proper foundations were laid before advanced concepts were introduced. I have no qualms in accepting the fact that I could have obtained a good score in my 1st attempt itself had I not deviated from the methods taught by eGMAT. The tutors were very helpful be it moderating strategy sessions, providing lectures via pre recorded videos or answering to the questions posted on online forums and their own question forums. The articles covering various concepts in SC, CR and RC were very well written and have been appreciated by many online forum goers.
I started with SC and I was amazed to see how seemingly straightforward concepts such as subject verb agreement, modifier and parallelism could be used to make difficult questions. Herein lies eGMAT’s greatest strength: to break down seemingly impossible to understand SC prompts into smaller segments and then analyze in detail each component of the sentence. The videos started with simple concepts and then finally went onto more advanced concepts such as modifiers and parallelism. As a non-native English speaker with exposure to English from a very early age, I was confident with my grammar rules but I was proven wrong by the diagnostic GMATPREP CAT. eGMAT showed that there is a method and logic behind every step even in SC and that if you are systematic with your approach , you can tackle toughest of SC questions with absolute ease. The insistence on understanding the meaning of SC prompts removed my fear of completely underlined sentences and led me to high timed accuracy in OG,GPREP qbank and exam pack 1. I realized the importance of following a set method to tackle a particular question type only after my 1st attempt, until when I used to employ brute force methods. eGMAT showed me that there was elegance in the ways to tackle the different questions types and subtypes. The videos were very clear, I was able to play them on any media be it windows or iOS without any issues, pre and post assessment quizzes were of particular help in understanding what needs to be focused on. One of the most useful things in their videos was the ability to see the “summary” slide that will summarize the contents of the preceding video.
Once I got a grasp of SC, I moved onto CR, following their detailed schedule and again saw that there was set method to every CR question type. The focus on understanding the conclusion, how premises relate to the conclusion, “PRETHINKING”, “NEGATION TECHNIQUE” etc techniques were hugely helpful. The videos started with the topic at hand, followed by some very thoughtfully crafted question to cement what was covered in the videos. Prethinking enabled me to understand the scope of the question, the relationships between elements in the CR prompt and understand why the incorrect answer choices were incorrect. In GMAT, every incorrect question is wrong for a particular/solid reason. If you are eliminating a choice without that reason, you will end up choosing incorrect options. eGMAT CR provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Unless you understand how GMAT can give you incorrect options based on above reasons, you will not be confident in choosing an answer (my situation in the 1st attempt). Again, I only realized the importance of applying a set method just before my 2nd attempt. eGMAT’s focus on breaking down any argument into its respective elements, understanding the linkages and prethinking provided you 70% of the total work required for answering a question correctly. Rest 30% would come from POE of options provided. I was able to increase my accuracy in OG CR questions from 55% to 90%+ with eGMAT’s CR module.
The 3rd step was finishing the RC module which again taught a couple of useful tactics to be an active reader and to be involved with the passage. eGMAT RC also provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Once you became fully engrossed with the passage (by following eGMAT’s advice), finding the correct answer via POE became very straightforward.
Finally, VLP also included IR (for free) which is a nice gesture on eGMAT’s part. The IR module videos dealt with all the different question types and provided good practice with end of the video practices.
I don’t think this review will be complete without talking about this new tool that eGMAT has come out with and is included in eGMAT VLP (as of writing this review). It is called scholaranium and is an absolute must to complement verbal practice from OG and GMATPREP. Scholaranium comes with an “ability” evaluation technique that tells where exactly do you stand (percentile wise) for a particular section (SC or CR or RC) or verbal (all sections combined). This was a very useful tool for me as I was able to do targeted practice for areas I was faltering on. I used to use scholaranium to hone my skills via sectional quizzes and even sub sectional targeted practice. The collection of 600+ questions is an amazingly crafted collection consisting of questions from 3 difficulty levels. The explanations are very detailed and are provided for all the questions and you can even post your doubts and one of the eGMAT experts will respond to your doubts soon enough.
The live sessions were very useful starting from the strategy sessions with Rajat to content based SC/CR and RC sessions. These live sessions would be repeated every month, so if you missed out 1 recording, you could go back and review it under your account page. The questions cited, reviewed and discussed during these sessions were very demanding and thought provoking. These sessions complement very well the course content presented via SC, CR and RC modules.
As for pricing is concerned, I believe eGMAT is the best online course available that is total worth the money you spent. It is cheaper than the other course providers but is definitely not lacking in any quality of content. The quantity of questions should be close to 2500 and all are high quality questions. Additionally as VLP has a validity of 6 months, I had to renew it twice but was provided a discounted price by eGMAT and really appreciate this.
To summarize, eGMAT VLP is a definite buy for non native English speakers as they understand the needs of these non native speakers and have the course tailored for them.

Although, I did select Payal under the "Instructor Name" but this shout out goes out to the entire eGMAT team. Keep up the great work you guys are doing.

Was this review helpful to you? 28 out of 29 people found the following review helpful
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Review of Verbal Scholaranium
January 19 | 2018
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By ishita216 0 0
Verified Score:

710

Q49

V38

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Krishna Chaitanya

I liked using the scholaranium. it is a good testing platform which gives actionable insights to the user. It has a dashboard which tells the user his/her ability and accuracy level in each section as well as sub topic within a section. User has option to take Verbal ability quizzes to assess which areas he/she is weak at. Based on this analysis he can study the course content and then take custom quizzes to improve on weak areas. This methodical approach leads to measurable score improvement.

In addition I would like to highlight that the course content is interactive and fun to do. it has pre and post assessment quizzes. You can skip the course content if you are confident of your ability for a particular topic. There is another feature I liked. The video modules have a menu option for easy navigation. For many of the topics I could use this feature and directly go to summary slide to quickly grasp concepts due to lack of time.
I also liked the GMAT score planner. This allows user to provide his target score and current abilities in quant and verbal. Based on this, the planner suggests how much we need to score in both quant and verbal to achieve our target score. It goes one level deeper and tells us what ability/skill we need to develop in sc, cr and rc as well. This guides us on how much time we need to invest in each section. Overall, very useful course for methodically tracking progress and improving concepts.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By sachinpaih 0 0
Self-reported Score:

710

Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

The whole experience of learning for the Verbal Segment with E-Gmat was very good. Shraddha's classes were par excellence.
She took the extra time to ensure all concepts were clearly understood by all the attendees. Post the classes, her explanations to any unresolved query were also very good.
The other segments of the Verbal Prep are very good and do help in the overall preparation for the GMAT.
Format of Scholaranium also helps to keep a track of your improvement as the course progress.
After going through the live classes, I could grasp the concepts of SC much faster. I found at myself at ease particularly in Bold Faced Questions.
Also, the methodology with regards to understanding a CR question is far superior to that followed in various guides,
Kudos to the team at E-GMAT for creating such a tool.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
e-GMAT gives hope
January 09 | 2018
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By gibran27 0 0
Self-reported Score:

680

Q48

V35

Improvement:

30 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

I am really very grateful to the e-GMAT team in coming up with such a comprehensive program for every section of the GMAT exam. I had tried every prep book one could find in the market -kaplan,manhattan ,veritas etc and was still struggling to improve my score beyond V36 and Q48. I felt though i had hit a wall and could not break it. My best friend had taken this course and got a 730 in his GMAT and that's how i came to know about e-GMAT and my colleague scored a 740 after studying from e-GMAT for just a month. So I thought that since i have tried so many preps,i might as well give this a shot. I had no idea what a amazing ride i would be having for the next 2 months exploring each and every nook and corner of this thorough program. I had initially had bought only the Verbal live course but within a week i bought the rest of the courses as well. I feel e-GMAT gave me hope , and i am sure there are thousand of students like me out there. For students like me hard work is not a problem but finding proper guidance is. While watching each and every course video on e-GMAT, solving the problems given in the course list and sticking to a plan creating by e-GMAT i felt my standard improve slowly but surely. In fact i was actually surprised to see my I.R score improve as well after following e-GMAT's approach - this is something i did not even consider focusing on ! I would like to mention Shraddha ma'am especially for helping me out with S.C questions. After i gave the GMAT prep practice test i used to post the troublesome questions on the forum and she used to take time and answer each one of them patiently . In fact there was a time when she actually found a pattern in my mistakes that came as a surprise to me. From then I stared enjoying working on S.C as a result and always score in the 90% since then. Another aspect of e-GMAT i would like to point out is the Scholaranium. I am depended on this tool so much that i rarely touched the practice questions from Gmat prep. It is the BEST tool out there for GMAT preparations! My skills improved to such an extent that i started finding silly mistakes even in the correct answer option of the actual GMAT test prep tool - this is documented on e-
GMAT's form. I cannot thank Rajat and his team enough in giving hope to me.

Regards,
Gibran

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
The best for Verbal
December 14 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By fdsrocha 0 5
Self-reported Score:

710

Q51

V34

Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

I started my journey one year ago. My background in engineering allowed me to set an excellent pace to achieve a high score in the quant part, in which I finished with Q51. Nevertheless, I had a lot of difficulties with the verbal section, and my score for the first time was well below my quant score. I managed to achieve a V27 for the first time I took the gmat. After reading many of the reviews in gmat club, it seemed to me that e-gmat was an excellent course for non-native speakers and I decided to proceed with the subscription of Verbal Live Prep. In the first few weeks, I started by the SC part. The detailed explanations and videos about each of the main issues in SC/RC/CR made my score to improve quickly. Another great tool is the Scholaranium. It was determinant to spot my weaknesses very quickly and provided me a detailed study plan to address each of the points I need to correct. Scholaranium has this fantastic tool to measure ability (time management) and accuracy ( correctness) of your performance. It allowed gauging the level of performance that I needed to improve my score. As a result, my score increased by 7 points, and I ended up with 710 (Q51, V34), a competitive score. I think e-gmat is the best course for non-native speakers. I recommended it to other friends as well, and their feedbacks were terrific too. Indeed, your score will bust with E-gmat.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By Samyuktha46 0 0
Self-reported Score:

650

Q46

V35

Improvement:

30 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

E-GMAT is the best course I have encountered. Verbal online course is better than the traditional in class delivery.

The sentence correction is best explained in this course. I was very week in the SC when I initially attempted GMAT. With the help of course I improved from 25 points to 35 points for now.
The strategy thought in master sentence structure course breaking down the complicated sentence into clause is very helpful to answer the verbal questions.

Pre thinking in critical reasoning is also very helpful. This eliminates so much confusion that might occur if we directly dwelve into the answer choice.

Reading comprehension is also well understood with the help of breaking down the sentence into clause and reading it by keeping subject and verb in mind. This helps to easily understand the point in complicated passages.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By raspberryx 0 0
Self-reported Score:

710

Q48

V42

Improvement:

70 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Krishna Chaitanya

Hello,

I am an Indonesian -born, management consultant based in Southeast Asia. I have been benefit by e-GMAT courses, especially on verbal section. English is definitely not my mother tongue nor my primary academic language. I self-taught myself English and now work using English as primary command.

I work busy hours, sometimes on weekends. While my quant is fine (with a bit of brush up on conceptual required), that was not the case with my verbal section. I struggled to receive the fact that in my mock, I was only able to score V25 (~41 percentile).

A little over a year ago, a fellow consultant at the firm introduced me to e-GMAT and told me that this course is specialized for non-native. It took me few other months to eventually subscribe to e-GMAT verbal live package.

e-GMAT courses have helped me to improve my Verbal from V25 to V42 in less than 3 months. I obviously had to clear my weekends to commit myself in the process. All I do was to meticulously follow each section of the plan. I know that my weakest area are RC and followed by idioms in SC. So I focused on those areas.

For me the most important highlights is(and I could not stress it more): "Understand the Meaning". I will invest my first few secs in a given verbal question , just to understand the meaning and not rushing into the answer choices., e-GMAT taught me to do this.

If there's ever any other fellow non-natives, management consultant out there (or anybody), with questions regarding this post - feel free to drop me a messsage

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [1]
1 Commented by bigbruin2011 on December 26, 2017
Hi RaspberryX,

Congrats on the score. I am a bit dubious in regards to your Q/V split and your overall scaled score. A Q48/V42 is 710? My first attempt at the official test was Q47/V39 and I scaled at 700. You should be at least a 730 or even 740...just wondering. Thanks!
GMAT Course Review
Best Verbal Course
December 09 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By ishinandan 1 0
Self-reported Score:

730

Q50

V40

Improvement:

200 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

A year back ,i started thinking seriously about the GMAT. The greatest struggle for me was verbal section. While i was doing self study ,i got correct answers by intuition which made me even more dubious about my good score in GMAT. I started searching for good stuff and fortunately bumped into e-gmat review on gmat club.The gmat verbal online course provided me with a great base to start with. My concepts expecially in SC significantly improved. In addition Scholaranium helped in identifying weak areas and improve timing. Above all , the Scholaranium questions were pertinent to the actual GMAT test unlike those of many other online test preparation courses. The algorithms used in questions selection is great and just what the student required. This gave me the flexibility of choosing the right kind and number of questions as per requirement.

Would recommend this course as a must have to all those who are serious about getting a good GMAT score and to all those who are struggling with verbal section most.You can make it possible with your dedication and with the help of E-GMAT.

Was this review helpful to you? 2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Verbal Live Prep - Review
December 08 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By atuldhaka 0 0
Verified Score:

650

Q48

V31

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

For the convenience of people reading this review, i have divided this review into 3 parts to help the reader form his/her own opinion.

Introduction- I am a working professional and i decided to give GMAT somewhere in July 2016. I work for a consulting firm and usually spend 9-12 hours at work, leaving me with very less time for studies at home. On a normal day i am able to devote only 2-2.5 hrs. to studies. Do you think its less ?.. Well for me it is! During my engineering i developed this habit of sitting for long hours and 2-2.5 hrs. didn't seem sufficient.

I got a dismal 650 on my first GMAT attempt and after that i decided to take a completely new approach towards prep. Verbal being the weak point i decided to try the E-Gmat verbal live prep course.

Features that I found most useful- The entire verbal curriculum is divided into 3 parts – SC,CR and RC and they provide you with a roadmap for your prep. Within every section every topic is further divided into small video modules followed by a few practice quizzes. Length of the videos usually ranges from 15-30 minutes max. Now as I said earlier after working 9-10 hours in office I use to find very less time left for studies at home (am sure a lot other working professionals must be facing the same problem), this division of entire syllabus into small modules solved my problem. You don’t need to spend more than 1-1.5 hrs. on any single topic. You might end up taking more time in your preparation since you’re spending only 2 hrs. a day, but trust me, going slow and steady is much better than completing the entire curriculum in 15 days and still be not clear with the basics.

Secondly, one of the most important aspects of GMAT prep, especially in verbal, is knowing why the right answer is right and why the wrong answer is wrong. E-gmat verbal live prep gives a very detailed solution to the problems and helps in developing a correct line of reasoning. I studied from books during my first attempt and no matter how good the books are, they never discuss the each answer in such detail.

Thirdly the scholaranium will help you find your Achilles heel. You’ll be able to find your grey spots after practicing only a couple of ques. Manually keeping an error log and bucketing the question under different sub topics are cumbersome and time-consuming tasks. Again as I said before, with only limited time for studies, scholaranium helped me save that crucial time.

Improvements- I have been preparing for gmat for past 3-4 months and with consistent efforts I have improved my verbal ability considerably. From not being able to solve even easy question to getting 700-750 level questions right. It all about having the right approach towards each question and that is what this course will help you develop. The right approach!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]



216 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
73 points
International Student Score Improvement
74 points
Verbal
97%
Most Reviewed e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
Payal Tandon [226]
    
Rajat Sadana [182]
    
Krishna Chaitanya [87]
    
Shraddha Jaiswal [81]
    
Japinder Kaur [38]
    
Save Up To $430
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$170 coupon code discount
+$260 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code