GMAT Club
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [612]
    Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
e-GMAT Course Reviews
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep brings together the world’s most advanced learning technologies and the world’s top most instructors to deliver a learning experience that goes above and beyond anything that you may have experienced in a physical classroom. You will never go back to a physical classroom once you experience our online classroom.
Save $300 on e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep + $250 Bonus savings

GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By anchalgulati22 0 0
Verified Score:

750

Q50

V41

Improvement:

40 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

I had given my GMAT more than a year ago (710- V34, Q50) and at that point of time I used to absolutely dread RCs. I found them really mundane and could never get myself to focus. While my quant was always strong, and CR and SC were average, RCs just didn't come to me naturally. And no, this does not mean that I'm weak at English in general. Infact, I'm among the most annoying grammar nazis that you may across. But each time I would come across an RC in the middle of my mocks, I would feel low and lose time and thereby end up rushing through my SC and CR questions as well.

Then, my friend introduced me to e-GMAT and I cannot thank him enough for having done that. After a year long break, I felt the need to go over SC and CR concepts as well and the videos provided by e-GMAT made them a whole lot of fun. I would stay up till late night, watching the videos, almost like I'd be watching a sitcom. They were light and helped me brush up my concepts very well. I had read someone's review about making handwritten notes while watching videos and then transferring those onto Evernote at the end of each day as that would not only help you revise, but also create a handy notebook for you to skim through while you're on the move. This tip helped me a lot and I would really recommend it to you all as well. I made my notes nice and colourful and added screenshots and links to them. Going over them later seemed fun because of all the colours I had added. (let me know if you want me to share them with you!)

The RC videos were really helpful as well. e-GMAT provides you a number of key strategies that you must keep in mind while reading through RCs. The one strategy that worked wonders for me was "to get immersed". I would literally tell myself at the beginning of each passage that "Oh! this sounds interesting, lets read what happens next!" I even used the note making approach during RCs quite regularly and was thereby able to get ALL my main point and structure questions right. These strategies seem very time consuming in the beginning, but within no time, you start to internalise them.

The other thing that I absolutely loved about the VLP was the scholaranium. Since I knew that RC was my weak point, I had decided to do atleast 4 passages every day, along with 20 SCs and 20 CRs. I used to create a lot of RC Ability quizzes and while I started with a 43% accuracy (with no time left to answer the last one), by the end I had 96% accuracy which was a great achievement for me. Infact, the day before my GMAT, when I sat down to give my RC ability test, I felt I was able to breeze through it easily. I wasn't spending to much time reading and even the answers were coming to me naturally.
When I submitted the test, I saw my score report in which I had just one (Hard) question wrong out of a total of 4 RC passages. This was my biggest confidence booster and I was sure that my GMAT would go well this time, which it did!

Infact, I finished by Quant section 18 minutes in advance and my Verbal section 15 minutes in advance and landed up with a V41, Q50 and a total of 750. I was literally shivering while answering my last few Verbal questions because the difficulty level had gone up which also meant my score was going up.

I wouldn't say that a V41 is a kickass score, but for someone like me who dreaded RCs to such a large extent, it was definitely an accomplishment, specially since I was now able to answer the questions so much faster.

Thank you e-GMAT once again and thanks to all those who read my review till the very end. I hope I was able to motivate a few of you out there like me, who may have totally given up on RC.

All the best to you all !!

Was this review helpful to you? 42 out of 44 people found the following review helpful
   
Comments [10]
1 Commented by shanky9 on February 25, 2017
Awsome Anchal. :)
2 Commented by ENEM on March 21, 2017
very well written and congratulations on your score! It would be great if you would share your notes with me :)
3 Commented by aditsakaria on August 10, 2017
Thanks for the insight Anchal :)
can i get a copy of your notes?
4 Commented by bnilesh on August 14, 2017
Thanks for sharing Anchal. That's a great score !!
Could you please share your notes.
5 Commented by rupak007 on August 28, 2017
Thanks for sharing your valuable experience Anchal. Can you please share your notes ? TIA.
6 Commented by subhendu389 on December 19, 2017
Congratulations on your score and thank you for the information.

Can you please share share your notes .
Email id : subhendu389@gmail.com
7 Commented by imemanik on December 24, 2017
Congratulations on your GMAT score. Very helpful and detailed review. Please share your notes imemanik@gmail.com
8 Commented by prakash5085 on February 04, 2018
Congratulations Anchal ! Can you please share your notes : prakash5085@gmail.com
9 Commented by vedanshimurarka on February 26, 2018
Congratulations Anchal !
This level of detail is very helpful. Can you please share your notes with me on : vedanshimurarka@gmail.com
Thank you :)
10 Commented by mcancela on March 05, 2018
Congratulations Anchal! Great progress.

Could you please share your notes? matutecancela@gmail.com

Thanks in advance!!
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By ENGRTOMBA2018 2643 1979
Verified Score:

750

Q49

V44

Improvement:

100 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

eGMAT Verbal Live Prep was the reason why I was able to show 100 point increase over the course of my 3 attempts, going from V30 to V44 in 10 months. I did start my verbal live prep program on recommendations online and after trying it out for free, I was sure that this is a good investment. I gave my GMAT prep 1st CAT and scored very low in verbal and I could see that I needed help with verbal. As soon as I had enrolled in eGMAT Verbal Live Prep (VLP), I was provided with a very detailed and systematic study plan that I should follow. This plan kept me in check all throughout and made sure that the proper foundations were laid before advanced concepts were introduced. I have no qualms in accepting the fact that I could have obtained a good score in my 1st attempt itself had I not deviated from the methods taught by eGMAT. The tutors were very helpful be it moderating strategy sessions, providing lectures via pre recorded videos or answering to the questions posted on online forums and their own question forums. The articles covering various concepts in SC, CR and RC were very well written and have been appreciated by many online forum goers.
I started with SC and I was amazed to see how seemingly straightforward concepts such as subject verb agreement, modifier and parallelism could be used to make difficult questions. Herein lies eGMAT’s greatest strength: to break down seemingly impossible to understand SC prompts into smaller segments and then analyze in detail each component of the sentence. The videos started with simple concepts and then finally went onto more advanced concepts such as modifiers and parallelism. As a non-native English speaker with exposure to English from a very early age, I was confident with my grammar rules but I was proven wrong by the diagnostic GMATPREP CAT. eGMAT showed that there is a method and logic behind every step even in SC and that if you are systematic with your approach , you can tackle toughest of SC questions with absolute ease. The insistence on understanding the meaning of SC prompts removed my fear of completely underlined sentences and led me to high timed accuracy in OG,GPREP qbank and exam pack 1. I realized the importance of following a set method to tackle a particular question type only after my 1st attempt, until when I used to employ brute force methods. eGMAT showed me that there was elegance in the ways to tackle the different questions types and subtypes. The videos were very clear, I was able to play them on any media be it windows or iOS without any issues, pre and post assessment quizzes were of particular help in understanding what needs to be focused on. One of the most useful things in their videos was the ability to see the “summary” slide that will summarize the contents of the preceding video.
Once I got a grasp of SC, I moved onto CR, following their detailed schedule and again saw that there was set method to every CR question type. The focus on understanding the conclusion, how premises relate to the conclusion, “PRETHINKING”, “NEGATION TECHNIQUE” etc techniques were hugely helpful. The videos started with the topic at hand, followed by some very thoughtfully crafted question to cement what was covered in the videos. Prethinking enabled me to understand the scope of the question, the relationships between elements in the CR prompt and understand why the incorrect answer choices were incorrect. In GMAT, every incorrect question is wrong for a particular/solid reason. If you are eliminating a choice without that reason, you will end up choosing incorrect options. eGMAT CR provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Unless you understand how GMAT can give you incorrect options based on above reasons, you will not be confident in choosing an answer (my situation in the 1st attempt). Again, I only realized the importance of applying a set method just before my 2nd attempt. eGMAT’s focus on breaking down any argument into its respective elements, understanding the linkages and prethinking provided you 70% of the total work required for answering a question correctly. Rest 30% would come from POE of options provided. I was able to increase my accuracy in OG CR questions from 55% to 90%+ with eGMAT’s CR module.
The 3rd step was finishing the RC module which again taught a couple of useful tactics to be an active reader and to be involved with the passage. eGMAT RC also provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Once you became fully engrossed with the passage (by following eGMAT’s advice), finding the correct answer via POE became very straightforward.
Finally, VLP also included IR (for free) which is a nice gesture on eGMAT’s part. The IR module videos dealt with all the different question types and provided good practice with end of the video practices.
I don’t think this review will be complete without talking about this new tool that eGMAT has come out with and is included in eGMAT VLP (as of writing this review). It is called scholaranium and is an absolute must to complement verbal practice from OG and GMATPREP. Scholaranium comes with an “ability” evaluation technique that tells where exactly do you stand (percentile wise) for a particular section (SC or CR or RC) or verbal (all sections combined). This was a very useful tool for me as I was able to do targeted practice for areas I was faltering on. I used to use scholaranium to hone my skills via sectional quizzes and even sub sectional targeted practice. The collection of 600+ questions is an amazingly crafted collection consisting of questions from 3 difficulty levels. The explanations are very detailed and are provided for all the questions and you can even post your doubts and one of the eGMAT experts will respond to your doubts soon enough.
The live sessions were very useful starting from the strategy sessions with Rajat to content based SC/CR and RC sessions. These live sessions would be repeated every month, so if you missed out 1 recording, you could go back and review it under your account page. The questions cited, reviewed and discussed during these sessions were very demanding and thought provoking. These sessions complement very well the course content presented via SC, CR and RC modules.
As for pricing is concerned, I believe eGMAT is the best online course available that is total worth the money you spent. It is cheaper than the other course providers but is definitely not lacking in any quality of content. The quantity of questions should be close to 2500 and all are high quality questions. Additionally as VLP has a validity of 6 months, I had to renew it twice but was provided a discounted price by eGMAT and really appreciate this.
To summarize, eGMAT VLP is a definite buy for non native English speakers as they understand the needs of these non native speakers and have the course tailored for them.

Although, I did select Payal under the "Instructor Name" but this shout out goes out to the entire eGMAT team. Keep up the great work you guys are doing.

Was this review helpful to you? 29 out of 30 people found the following review helpful
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
e-GMAT Live Prep
June 10 | 2018
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By purekrone 0 0
Verified Score:

610

Q32

V42

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

I started enrolling for the e-GMAT Live Prep for 1 month and I managed to attain a GMAT score of 610. Although this might not seem much, I studied only for a short period of time. Having said that, I intend to retake the GMAT again in around 3 months time and I will still have e-GMAT to use.

I find that e-GMAT is a very good resource and quite worthwhile for its price. As a native speaker, I found it very useful and easy to understand. However, despite being a native speaker, in school, I was not properly taught what are verbs, nouns, adjectives, etc, but learnt these over time and years from conversations with my friends at a basic level. So, since the e-GMAT Verbal section is good, since it uses a lot of such keywords, I was not able to fully utilise those materials until I slowly learnt the definitions and usage of those technicalities and fundamentals of English.

Over time, one will get used to the GMAT format and how they test you and you will improve greatly the more you invest your time practicing.

Good luck to everyone taking the GMAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By chanchal1311 2 0
Self-reported Score:

600

Q45

V28

Improvement:

110 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Rajat Sadana

the egmat verbal online course is quite concuse and intensive with great examples. Its self paced and you can easily take out teo hours each day to lear the concepts.. it covers all the concepts with examples.. . Scholaranium especially is a great way to know your weakness and strengths and practice questions accordingly..it has filtered questions from each sections of verbal topics.. the evaluation with statistics gives you a chance to understand your progress..the online prep gives you a platform to understand and discuss the basics with the tutors.. you can ask doubts suring the online lecture and its a great discussion with a diverse cohort, everyone with a different perspective which will widen your horizon of thinking and applying the concept. Great concepts and Great practice indeed..

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By soumitsaha 1 0
Verified Score:

690

Q48

V35

Improvement:

20 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

This was my first time using any GMNAT Prep Course and to improve upon my Verbal I chose the e-gmat's Verbal Live Prep. First off - their customer service is very fast and a total delight. Now about the course : I am the kind of student who likes to study with the fundamentals. I am not one to memorize a list of tips and tricks. E-GMAT aligned really well with my study pattern as it goes into the deepest concepts and spends time on them. Then there are practice tests immediately to apply the concepts. It is the right kind of learning for students like me. While I have enrolled for the class last minute, I was able to improve my Verbal scores to reach V34 on exam day. This was very satisfying , however I know that I have to work even harder for my next attempt and I have chosen to continue with e-gmat.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By SayanC 0 0
Self-reported Score:

720

Q50

V37

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

As a satisfied student of the e-GMAT Live Prep, I shall provide an extremely honest and unbiased review of the course.

Firstly, e-GMAT is one of the very few Test Prep companies to have an absolute command the GMAT content and curriculum. The course structure is extremely GMAT-specific, avoiding unnecessary emphasis on redundant topics not tested on the GMAT. Each concept is explained with absolute clarity with precise examples. Concept files are immediately followed by practice files to cement the understanding of concepts. The course tremendously focuses on concept clarity rather than grammar overdose. Concept and sample question explanations are precise and easy to understand. Additionally, e-GMAT empathizes on simple strategies and steps to approach each question type; most of the strategies are 3 to 5 steps rather than the confusing 7 to 10 steps approaches offered by other test prep companies.

Secondly, the learning framework is lucid, leaving students satisfied after every session. The course is meticulously designed to be highly user friendly, student spending hours on the course without having a feeling of overburden. Without going into every nitty gritty details of the course, I would say that e-GMAT is THE MOST user friendly course available, providing students with a plethora of options to navigate through the curriculum.

Thirdly, the instructors are champions in Verbal, possessing in-depth knowledge of each Verbal concept of SC, RC, and CR. Live Prep sessions are student-friendly and the instructors make it a point to address every query. Avoiding any pedagogue approach, Instructors teach in simple, lucid, and precise manner. The focus the live sessions is to cement concept nuances and discuss advanced concepts, concepts that would differentiate between V35 and V42/45. Advanced concepts are clearly explained with simple examples in Live Prep sessions.

Lastly, the support team at e-GMAT is extremely cordial and understanding. All issues are quickly resolved within 24 hours. I believe e-GMAT’s core value puts students’ priority at its focus, something that is strongly reflected in the e-GMAT support team.

e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep is a must for every non-native English speaker. I highly recommend the course to all prospective GMAT test takers. I would sincerely thank the entire team of e-GMAT for shaping the test preparation of millions of GMAT test takers like me.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By rounaksoni 1 0
Verified Score:

640

Q49

V30

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

I will try to keep it really short and crisp. I came to know about e-GMAT from the online forums and after going through the reviews leave no room for doubt. Just attend any free webinar by e-GMAT and you will know what I am talking about. The crux of e-GMAT teaching methodology is that there is no shortcut and one cannot get away with a high score without paying attention to the details. GMAT is an exam of logic and just the concepts are not going to help anyone through to a high score. It's the application of those concepts that is tested and e-GMAT courses are really well designed for that.
The course contents covers all there is to know about the questions asked in the GMAT and the correct way to handle them. The content files stresses a lot on following the process irrespective of the difficulty of the question.
I have attempted GMAT once and did not score well on the GMAt and the only reason for that is not the conceptual gap but the application gap.
There are many courses or free material available on the internet for GMAT but having the concepts presented in the right and concise manner is what makes the difference. With the regular live sessions, really helpful faculty and continuous content upgrades the course is only going to get better with time.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By dide 1 0
Verified Score:

640

Q43

V35

Improvement:

40 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

e-gmat's verbal course was a great resource during my GMAT preparation. After trying various online resources and failing to improve my verbal score, I decided to give it a go with e-gmat trial. The way the course is structured and the focus on meaning made me buy the course right away. e-GMAT focuses on the key aspects you need to learn and you can always benchmark where how you are doing with the powerful scholarium tool. In about six weeks, I managed to improve my verbal score from V29 to V35. My only regret is to have not discovered e-gmat before and not having more time to improve my verbal ability

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By dhananjaya13 1 16
Verified Score:

760

Q50

V42

Improvement:

50 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

eGMAT Verbal Live Prep was the only reason why I was able to show a 50 point increase over the course of my 2 attempts, going from V35 to V40 in 6 months.

I gave my first GMAT in November 2016. I scored 700 (Q51 V35) - very low in verbal and I could see that I needed help with verbal. A friend told me about e-GMAT and how the Verbal section had been instrumental in his rise in Verbal score. I immediately enrolled in eGMAT Verbal Live Prep (VLP) and was provided with a very detailed and systematic study plan that I needed to follow. This plan kept me in check all throughout and made sure that the proper foundations were laid before advanced concepts were introduced. The tutors were very helpful be it moderating strategy sessions, providing lectures via pre recorded videos or answering to the questions posted on online forums and their own question forums. The articles covering various concepts in SC, CR and RC were very well written and have been appreciated by many online forum goers.

I started with SC and I was amazed to see how seemingly straightforward concepts such as subject verb agreement, modifier and parallelism could be used to make difficult questions. Herein lies eGMAT’s greatest strength: to break down seemingly impossible to understand SC prompts into smaller segments and then analyze in detail each component of the sentence. The videos started with simple concepts and then finally went onto more advanced concepts such as modifiers and parallelism. eGMAT showed that there is a method and logic behind every step even in SC and that if you are systematic with your approach , you can tackle toughest of SC questions with absolute ease. The insistence on understanding the meaning of SC prompts removed my fear of completely underlined sentences and led me to high timed accuracy in OG,GPREP qbank and exam pack 1. I realized the importance of following a set method to tackle a particular question type only after my 1st attempt, until when I used to employ brute force methods. eGMAT showed me that there was elegance in the ways to tackle the different questions types and subtypes. The videos were very clear, I was able to play them on any media be it windows or iOS without any issues, pre and post assessment quizzes were of particular help in understanding what needs to be focused on. One of the most useful things in their videos was the ability to see the “summary” slide that will summarize the contents of the preceding video.

Once I got a grasp of SC, I moved onto CR, following their detailed schedule and again saw that there was set method to every CR question type. The focus on understanding the conclusion, how premises relate to the conclusion, “PRETHINKING”, “NEGATION TECHNIQUE” etc techniques were hugely helpful. The videos started with the topic at hand, followed by some very thoughtfully crafted question to cement what was covered in the videos. Prethinking enabled me to understand the scope of the question, the relationships between elements in the CR prompt and understand why the incorrect answer choices were incorrect. In GMAT, every incorrect question is wrong for a particular/solid reason. If you are eliminating a choice without that reason, you will end up choosing incorrect options. eGMAT CR provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Unless you understand how GMAT can give you incorrect options based on above reasons, you will not be confident in choosing an answer (my situation in the 1st attempt). Again, I only realized the importance of applying a set method just before my 2nd attempt. eGMAT’s focus on breaking down any argument into its respective elements, understanding the linkages and prethinking provided you 70% of the total work required for answering a question correctly. Rest 30% would come from POE of options provided. I was able to increase my accuracy in OG CR questions from 55% to 90%+ with eGMAT’s CR module.

The 3rd step was finishing the RC module which again taught a couple of useful tactics to be an active reader and to be involved with the passage. eGMAT RC also provided the tools to understand why is an option incorrect, be it out of scope, similarly worded but incorrect option, partially correct options, opposite choice etc. Once you became fully engrossed with the passage (by following eGMAT’s advice), finding the correct answer via POE became very straightforward.

Finally, VLP also included Verbal Scholaranium and this is an absolute must to complement verbal practice from OG and GMATPREP. Scholaranium comes with an “ability” evaluation technique that tells where exactly do you stand (percentile wise) for a particular section (SC or CR or RC) or verbal (all sections combined). This was a very useful tool for me as I was able to do targeted practice for areas I was faltering on. I used to use scholaranium to hone my skills via sectional quizzes and even sub sectional targeted practice. The collection of 600+ questions is an amazingly crafted collection consisting of questions from 3 difficulty levels. The explanations are very detailed and are provided for all the questions and you can even post your doubts and one of the eGMAT experts will respond to your doubts soon enough.

To summarize, eGMAT VLP is a must buy for all non-native English speakers. Thank you e-GMAT team for helping me in tough times and keep up the great work you guys are doing !

Was this review helpful to you? 2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Boonsitazz 0 0
Verified Score:

570

Q46

V23

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

E-GMAT is a very well-structured online GMAT course. I purchased verbal live online course by recommendation of my friend who was able to improve his verbal score from V31-V32 to V40.
As a non-native English speaking student, I found that verbal section of GMAT was very difficult especially SC which was my greatest weakness. After I finished SC course, I was very impressed by detailed explanations on most tested topics in SC. It made me realized that I had overlooked some important concepts in my previous preparation. Moreover, E-GMAT 3-step solving approach was very practical in the real practice test. It helped me improving my verbal score on practice test significantly.
Another challenge for me was time allocation for GMAT preparation. As a consultant, I normally work for 10 hours on average each day. However, with E-GMAT platform, I was able to access to my lesson or take a quick concept quiz via my smart phone during my trip from home to work.
In overall, I would recommend E-GMAT course to those non-native speakers who wish to excel in verbal sections. Good luck on your GMAT journey!

Was this review helpful to you? 1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
   
Comments [0]



216 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
72 points
International Student Score Improvement
73 points
Verbal
97%
Most Reviewed e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
Payal Tandon [237]
    
Rajat Sadana [183]
    
Krishna Chaitanya [88]
    
Shraddha Jaiswal [81]
    
Japinder Kaur [38]
    
Save Up To $430
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$170 coupon code discount
+$260 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code