GMAT Club

myEssayReview Admissions Consulting Reviews

MER (myEssayReview) offers a dedicated, personalized, and affordable consulting service to B-School applicants. With three decades of experience as an English teacher in India and the US, Poonam Tandon, myEssayReview owner, founded this venture in 2011 to provide highly personalized and dedicated consulting services to Business School applicants. Since then, Poonam, a Ph.D. in English, has supported hundreds of students get accepted into top 20 MBA, EMBA, and other Masters programs in the US, Europe, Canada, and Asia. The fact that Poonam is the only admission consultant who does not possess an MBA degree highlights the extent to which her storytelling prowess and commitment to her clients have helped them stand out.

A full-time consultant, Poonam works directly with each client, and to maintain the quality she is known for, she works with only six clients at a time. Since 2011, Poonam has achieved excellent success with her students, and 90% of them have been accepted into the top 20 B-schools. Additionally, her students have received scholarships (30% to 100%) from prestigious schools internationally. See the complete listing here.

No matter where you are, myEssayReview can help you create a stellar application that will earn you admission into your dream school.

Visit our website and contact us for a free profile evaluation.

Learn more about myEssayReview.
myEssayReview Deal Page

myEssayReview Admissions Consulting Reviews

myEssayReview Multiple School Package
 $2199  $2099
Reviews
46
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed myEssayReview consultants

Poonam Tandon
Reviews
106
Average Rating
4.9

Reviews:

106 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
May 28, 2020
rp2020

Joined: Aug 21, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 9

Accepted into Kellogg MBA Program- Thank you Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I signed up for MER for essays and recommendation services for my MBA application. MER offers an extensive list of services, and the overall price was reasonable. For my Essays, I had a 90 minutes counseling session with Poonam. During this time, she understood my profile and brainstormed ideas from my past experiences. She provided suggestions on my responses and edited the draft by correcting sentence structures and grammar, and finally articulated my story clearly in the essays and ROL. All this was done in a very short time. After submitting my application, I got accepted into Kellogg!
For prospective MBA Applicants, I strongly recommend Poonam services and I'm glad I chose her services.

Read More

April 20, 2020
duschuch

Joined: Sep 17, 2019

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Essays + LoR + CV Package

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up for MER because needed advice in choosing the right stories to tell, how to tell, and make them connect properly. In the first counseling session, we discussed my background and accomplishments, which helped me a lot to improve the essay. She understood my story well and helped me effectively position them. I liked how she structured one essay to the other one and helped me align them to the LoR to make sure the complete picture looked fine. I think proper organization is Poonam’s strongest point! She was a great help in organizing details to make the story flow better, especially because my essays were huge, and I had difficulty in putting everything together to fit on the word count. Her editing skills are excellent, and the final versions were perfect in content, organization, and grammar.

Her guidance on the LoR was excellent. My recommenders also commented that her feedback was constructive to help them improve the LoRs. I didn’t raise many questions other than the comments on the word files; all my questions were replied satisfactorily. Everything worked fine, including turnarounds, as we agreed before starting our work. I liked the result, and I feel that my application would be definitely much weaker without her help. I am happy to be accepted into the full-time MBA program of M7 program – MIT. Overall, I enjoyed working with Poonam, and I would like to recommend MER services to prospective applicants.

Read More

April 17, 2020
rsmalan

Joined: May 20, 2019

Posts: 41

Kudos: 46

Verified score:
760 Q51 V41

Accepted by Kellogg full time MBA Program. Thanks, MER

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up with MER after reading excellent reviews of MER on the GMAT Club.
MER was also recommended by e-GMAT. In the skype sessions, Poonam Ma’am
discussed my profile, goals and prospects at length. I got a lot of handholding
during tumultuous times as I did not have much exposure in the application process.
She made untiring efforts to finalize my resume in a way that spoke about my
achievements and caliber. Also, Poonam ma’am displayed a lot of patience with up
to 6 edits on my resume.
Ma’am spent a lot of time with me to better understand me as a professional and as
a person. Her inputs regarding my drafts were insightful and crisp that focused on
my goals and virtues. I am sure this helped Ad. Com to better value my candidature.
She was very particular about how cogent my essays were. The structure suggested
by her made sure that there was a flow of information that displayed a timeline and
chronology for better comprehension and understanding.
Poonam Ma’am understood the information handicap I was facing during the
application process. Many a times, upon finding me overwhelmed, she scheduled
calls to help me better understand the situation and the demand of the school
applications. She went out of the way to help me emphasize upon my candidature
given that I have a very unconventional profile (doctor + civil servant). It was a
challenging task to streamline my goals with my chosen path. Poonam Ma’am came
to the rescue. She is a scholar herself. Her command over English in terms of
grammar, punctuation, etc. is unparalleled. I was especially grateful to her to help
me trim my responses to the prescribed word limit.
Promptness is a distinctive feature of MER. The commitments made at the time of
starting the process were always adhered to. The turnaround time of MER is better
than that of many other consultants.
Also, I had a very professional mock interview session with her. The insights
provided at the end of the mock were beneficial. Many of the questions were in tune
with my interview for Kellogg. I am happy to be accepted by an M7 program-
Kellogg. I have already recommended MER to 3 prospective candidates.

Read More

April 08, 2020
WillLumbergh

Joined: Apr 07, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q44 V37

Accepted into Kellogg MBA Program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Working with Poonam from MyEssayReview was a fantastic experience from start to finish and a successful one. Poonam is diligent and efficient with her work, and on my short timeline, this was critical. She was able to push the pace to give us plenty of time to work diligently, with time to spare. I had two very rough drafts, and Poonam was able to take a tailored approach to each one, which helped me develop them into well-told stories that I couldn’t have been happier with.

The 1-hour skype session was fantastic for establishing rapport and understanding of each other’s style and personality. I felt that we were able to introduce ourselves, establish goals and objectives, and also answer initial questions on the prompts and drafts within an hour. We did some brainstorming as well and were able to come up with a game plan efficiently. I felt that my voice and story were well-understood from the first time I submitted a draft. The skype session reinforced this, and I was comfortable with the tone of each edit and how it matched my intent.

Writing has never been my strength, and from the beginning, Poonam learned about the stories I wanted to tell and the personality I wanted to shine through, providing feedback on how to achieve that. Poonam helped me break down both prompts much better than I had on my own and weave everything together in a way that was consistent and meaningful. I struggled a lot in organizing my thoughts. It was a blessing to have my words restructured in meaningful ways; the edit tracking helped see the progression and rationale behind each change.

My questions were always addressed in a timely manner. The dialogue was always open, and the turnaround time was better than the 48-hour target. She was very diligent and timely in returning drafts and revisions ahead of schedule, which helped me finish both essays on a very short timeline and apply earlier than I thought I’d be able to. Poonam also took the time to bring in additional resources, sharing examples she had worked on for similar prompts when I was struggling to communicate a story the way I wanted.

Everything was fantastic, and I appreciate the accelerated service. I am accepted into Kellogg’s part-time MBA program. I would recommend MER services and plan to online and to friends.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 25, 2020
mbaguy1122

Joined: May 31, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Admitted into Duke Fuqua weekend MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was looking for help with my resume review and essay review. When I browsed through My Essay Review (MER) site, I really liked Poonam's essay samples for various executive MBA programs. The feedback provided by her clients on various websites was also quite impressive. Encouraged by these reviews, I decided to give My Essay Review a shot by signing up for a free introductory call.

My first call with Poonam was an introductory call where she tried to learn about my profile. What really struck me was her enthusiasm and positive attitude for my success. She was extremely transparent about turn around times and did not try to "over promise" her services. Even before I signed up as her client, Poonam offered a few suggestions on my resume. I liked Poonam's candid approach and signed up for the essay review and resume review services.

There are several things that I really appreciated about MER services. First and foremost, Poonam's process was very methodical. Every time we met for a phone discussion, both of us were in on the same page regarding the goals for the meeting and turn around times. This really helped in planning my application submission tasks as I was juggling a lot of things.

Secondly, Poonam has a knack for storytelling. Her discovery process for unearthing "aha" moments were spot on and very convincing. She asked the right questions to uncover hero stories from my professional and non-profit experience. The storytelling technique was useful to further refine my resume and essays so that my unique marketing handle stood out as a candidate. Very very important for a successful MBA application.

Lastly, throughout the process, I knew that Poonam cared about my success. She was very empathetic, encouraging yet candid. In my opinion, a very important but challenging set of qualities a consultant must possess.

When I completed my essays and resume, I felt very confident about my chances. I also enjoyed the process and learned a few strategies regarding the "Storytelling" process.

Overall, I am very satisfied with My Essay Review and recommend My Essay Review's services for anyone looking to embellish their essays or resume and get their true story out in the best possible manner!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 02, 2020
pravin1707

Joined: Jun 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q49 V34

I signed up for a 3- schools comprehensive package with MER for getting better guidance and support from an expert to shape up the resume and write essays. I was happy with the services from day one. The counseling session for school selection was beneficial as she pointed out how various other factors besides the GMAT score range plays a role in shortlisting Schools. After selecting schools, we started working on stories. The initial questionnaire Poonam made me fill out was extremely helpful as it already had all the questions which ultimately provided stories for almost all the B school essays that I applied to.

For all the essays, the initial idea on what to write, how to proceed, and what stories to select through the questionnaire was beneficial in writing the best possible version of my stories. It was beyond my imagination how she helped with the structure and organization of all of my essays and made the story flow so smoothly. MER's editing skills are excellent- not only in correcting my grammar part but also in trimming the essays to the specified word limit. Most of the time I thought it was not possible to remove a particular sentence or reduce the word limit. Still, She edited and reorganized it in such a way that none of my stories were unsaid and yet everything was well within the word limit. The resume building was excellent. In the course of 4 edits, my resume was transformed into a robust one-page MBA resume that highlighted my professional growth, accomplishments, academic career, extracurricular activities, and volunteer work. I liked how she made me write three to four lines for each role and then edited it to just one-liner, making my resume look incredibly professional.

To me, MER is a complete professional when it comes to answering queries. Even though she said she wouldn't get back on weekends, on more than one instance, she replied to my emails even on weekends, which was extremely helpful to me, given my time constraints at work. As stipulated on the MER website, her response time was never more than two days, and at the same time, she never compromised on the quality of work. In many essays, she helped me with mitigating weaknesses, which I did not realize were pulling down my writing. It is those small corrections and nuances that have helped me develop my writing skills in the long run. Initially, I had a tough time making my recommenders take time and write my LOR, but she was very supportive and understanding even when there was a delay on my part. All the corrections and suggestions have helped me submit a great LOR from my recommenders. The mock interview was spot on. The comprehensive feedback on the mock interview, both verbal and written, was constructive in correcting my mistakes before the real one. I was fortunate that the interviewers in the actual interviews asked me only those questions that we had already discussed in the mock interview

I appreciate the professionalism Poonam maintained during the entire duration of this process. Even when there was a delay from my side due to unavoidable reasons, she ensured she did her best to make sure that I submitted my applications well before the deadlines.

Poonam, I cannot thank you enough for your guidance, support, and patience throughout the application process. I have been accepted into Terry School of Business with Scholarships and Assistant-ship worth around $30,000) and Maryland Smith with 50,000$ Scholarship totally for two years.

Without a doubt, if I come across any prospective students, I will recommend MER services to them.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 27, 2019
ivorycoast

Joined: Dec 27, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q49 V33

While looking for a Consultant, I wanted someone who knows MBA programs well in the USA and has long experience in editing MBA essays. I got a recommendation from my friend and read some comments from other applicants that MER provides quality essay service and found Poonam to be the right person to work with. Poonam’s suggestions and guidance gave me a general idea about the workflow and what I needed to improve on my essays. Poonam was very patient to give me support even when I faced some problems in seeing comments because of tech issues. Going through the comments one by one gave me a clear idea about how to make edits on my stories. I got many insightful reviews and suggestions throughout my application process, which made me believe that Poonam had a good understanding of my profile. She provided a clear structure of the essay organization and pointers of each paragraph. Her logical feedback on how to structure the essay and organize details was exceptionally helpful as I had no clue about how to even start the essay. Poonam answered all my questions, replied to my comments in the essay, and provided me feedback about the decisions to be made. The turnaround was very fast, and I got feedback on the edits within 24-48 hours. It maintained a good workflow and encouraged me to keep pace with her.
My overall working experience with Poonam was great. So far, I have received admits from 3 schools - Kelley, Simon and Questrom with huge scholarships. My success would not have been possible without Poonam’s help and support. I greatly appreciate every bit of work she has helped me with. I would gladly recommend her services to prospective MBA candidates. Thank you very much, Poonam, and I wish you well in every aspect of your life!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 25, 2019
CBS21

Joined: Sep 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted Into Columbia Business School! - Thanks Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Poonam helped me put the finishing touches on my essays, which gave me the engaging story I needed to earn a place at a coveted M7. While another consultant helped me get started crafting drafts of my essays, I wasn't satisfied with the final product. Poonam was recommended to me based on her creative writing style. After an in-depth Skype discussion to understand content and structure, Poonam began helping me edit and revise my essays to be more poignant and convincing. Her turnaround time was impressive and her edits always moved the ball forward. I would highly recommend her services for anyone struggling with their essay writing.

Read More

July 14, 2019
Username1738

Joined: May 03, 2019

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Fantastic Top- Tier Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Poonam on both my essay and my resume for the USC part time program and I was accepted with a scholarship. I had a very tight deadline so USC was the only school that I applied to and Poonam was absolutely amazing in helping me perfect both my essay and resume in less than 2 weeks.

She took the time to schedule two initial 45 minute video calls so she could truly understand me. She expects a lot out of her clients, which is what makes her so successful, and really pushed me on several occasions to think outside the box when drafting my story. Her greatest strength is her creativity and her ability to help you brainstorm to create a compelling story. My essay started off at 750-800 words and with Poonam's help, we got it to down to the 500 limit without losing any meaning. Poonam helped me create a masterpiece essay that I was proud of.

I was a little reluctant at first to also pay for the resume service but I'm so glad that I did because she completely transformed my resume by removing the industry jargon that Adcom has no interested in and pushed me to add the necessary content that Adcom wanted to see.

Her prices are very competitive given the amount of time that she puts into each service. I wholeheartedly recommend Poonam for anyone looking for an MBA consultant.

Read More

May 17, 2019
watermelonisme

Joined: May 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted into Chicago with a scholarship

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I wish to improve the quality of my graduate admission essays and increase my competence in graduate school applications. MER services provided a comprehensive package for me to achieve my goals.

The 1-hour skype session was extremely helpful, and Poonam was very professional and dedicated to her job. We went through every single detail in the resume and admission essays. It was efficient and useful to get verbal feedback. The discussion ended up being a 1 hour and 30 min skype session because of the large amount of content. I gained a lot from the session. Poonam sent me several resume templates before the first review, and they were very helpful. This gave me a better idea of the format, font, content to include in a formal resume.

For essays, Poonam gave me a lot of advice on how to effectively use stories to amplify my skills and experiences. The suggestions on the use of words and descriptions are very professional. My profile was much completer and more qualified after multiple edits. I enjoyed the tracking of changes on the content. It made a big difference when you are able to view the pre and post edits. Poonam was very good at guiding me to adjust my stories and the structures of the content to make the entire essay flow better. Poonam guided me to separate long paragraphs into multiple paragraphs, which helped the structure of the entire content to be clearer. The grammar was corrected or improved after the edits.

Poonam was very responsible and was able to revert within 48 hours and the responses were on point and detailed.

Poonam, I highly appreciate your help on my resume and admission essays. It was a great pleasure working with you, and I have certainly learned a lot. I have received an offer from the University of Chicago with a 70% scholarship and I decided to take it. Apart from that, I have also received interviews from the University of Columbia and UCLA, but the final results are not out yet.

I would like to say thank you for all the help and time you have contributed in the application process! I am impressed by your commitment and professionalism.

I will recommend you to other friends or any other graduate school applicants for the high- quality service.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

37 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for myEssayReview