GMAT Club

myEssayReview Admissions Consulting Reviews

MER (myEssayReview) offers a dedicated, personalized, and affordable consulting service to B-School applicants. With three decades of experience as an English teacher in India and the US, Poonam Tandon, myEssayReview owner, founded this venture in 2011 to provide highly personalized and dedicated consulting services to Business School applicants. Since then, Poonam, a Ph.D. in English, has supported hundreds of students get accepted into top 20 MBA, EMBA, and other Masters programs in the US, Europe, Canada, and Asia. The fact that Poonam is the only admission consultant who does not possess an MBA degree highlights the extent to which her storytelling prowess and commitment to her clients have helped them stand out.

A full-time consultant, Poonam works directly with each client, and to maintain the quality she is known for, she works with only six clients at a time. Since 2011, Poonam has achieved excellent success with her students, and 90% of them have been accepted into the top 20 B-schools. Additionally, her students have received scholarships (30% to 100%) from prestigious schools internationally. See the complete listing here.

No matter where you are, myEssayReview can help you create a stellar application that will earn you admission into your dream school.

Visit our website and contact us for a free profile evaluation.

Learn more about myEssayReview.
myEssayReview Deal Page

myEssayReview Admissions Consulting Reviews

myEssayReview Multiple School Package
 $2199  $2099
Reviews
54
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed myEssayReview Consultants

Poonam Tandon
Reviews
119
Average Rating
4.9

Reviews:

119 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
January 24, 2021
HaasyaKavi

Joined: Oct 13, 2017

Posts: 29

Kudos: 9

Self-reported Score:
700 Q47 V40

Accepted into Haas, Kellogg PT program. Thanks to Poonam of MER

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

tl;dr version: I worked with Poonam during winter 2020 on three applications, so far I have gotten into two of those schools (Haas and Kellogg) for MBA and awaiting results from Booth. Poonam was insightful, encouraging, and disciplined in her approach towards bringing out the authenticity and originality in my story within set deadlines. A master of her craft, she was uncompromising on the quality of output and I would gladly recommend her to any prospective MBA student aiming at the world's top schools. Thank you, Poonam, you're AWESOME!

Slightly longer version:
I was introduced to MER by a friend who had recommended Poonam as he had hired Poonam to get into Haas in past.

Intro: We had an hour of introductory chat detailing my purpose, the profile, reasoning for choosing schools and by the end I decided to hire Poonam as well for a 3xschool package.

Essays: Poonam asked me to write about the why behind my dreams and she sieved out the purpose from my life stories to knit together a compelling narrative. I was surprised that how she approached in solving problems in a structured manner while adhering to strict timelines, holding me accountable and setting examples of good quality work through action.
Poonam pushed me when it was required and let me write things I felt were more "me". We had disagreements too but in the end they led to constructive work which in the end only helped me bring out a polished application.

Resume: We went through 1-2 rounds of resume review improving on the overly-engineering descriptions of my experience.

Interview prep: A round of mock interview session, followed by written and verbal feedback. This helped iron out a few issues that I was overlooking. Very helpful in the end calming my nerves.

Follow-up: Poonam followed up about my applications after their submissions and also helped me write scholarship application essays.

I don't do the recommendation things in writing for any service ever, but getting into Kellogg and Haas was my dream and I feel that other's could benefit from my story.
Thank you, MER and Poonam!

Read More

June 05, 2021
NShah88

Joined: Jun 05, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Received admit offers from UCLA Anderson and Berkeley Haas

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I wanted to ensure I provide the best possible essays for my application such that I can highlight unique aspects of my story and ensure it aligns with the guidance from the Ad Comms. Based on the online reviews, I decided to sign up for Poonam’s help with my essays.

1- hour Zoom Session was the most productive and game- changing part of my essay writing experience. Poonam clearly explained how a reader who does not know me perceives my story. She pushed me to probe myself deeper and identify unique aspects of my identity to complete the stories written in my essay. This session also helped us align on which aspects to highlight for which specific essay and how to balance between various attributes and cultural elements that B schools are looking for. Poonam spent a lot of time understanding my profile, and background and helped position the appropriate stories for the required essays. After we finalized the content, Poonam worked her magic through my essay drafts by re-ordering the content to ensure a smooth flow for a story and made it easy to read.
Editing is Poonam’s greatest strength. She made magic happen by editing the essays, reducing the word count by 200 words, and still highlighting the gist of the story and the emotions behind it. Her turnarounds were quick, and she was highly responsive in answering queries.
I have secured admits at UCLA Anderson, and Berkeley Haas! Getting these admits has been a dream come true, and her feedback and editing skills have made a huge difference. Thank you very much for the excellent and timely help in making this possible.
I would highly recommend Poonam for essay and application services for B schools!

Read More

May 14, 2021
gmat1617

Joined: Jun 15, 2016

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Accepted into UCLA’s EMBA program. Thanks, Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I signed up for MER services to have an expert eye in order to maximize my approval rate as it was the first time, I applied to USA business school. The 1-hour counselling session we had was the crux of whole service, because this provided both of us a very good overview of personalities, ask and expectation. I was excited and amazed to learn that Poonam captured every minute detail I presented to her during our call and used it in the essays. In fact, she reminded me to include some very crucial points to gain competitive advantage. Very helpful. She did a perfect job not only in understanding my profile but also capturing every bit of information and helped me in positioning in my essay. As a result, the outcome of essays was exactly the way I wanted.

The story flow and organization of essays was great, so the outcome was beyond my expectation. Poonam has edited more than 10000 essays and still counting, so I think I am amateur to comment on her editing skills. The resumé review was perfect, too . Poonam was always very professional and on time with clear deadlines. This definitely helped me moving at her pace to meet the end results. She met all of my expectations listed on the MER website. My experience of working with Poonam was wonderful and very professional. I’ll not hesitate to recommend Poonam’s services to anyone.

I am accepted into the EMBA program of UCLA. Thank you, Poonam for your services.

Read More

May 05, 2021
mhshkmr56

Joined: Jan 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q48 V36

Working with Poonam was the game changer

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up for MER to help me put my best foot forward in the application race. In our initial catch up, we decided the colleges applications we would team up for and a timeline of two weeks for each college process. I loved that she made me fill out a questionnaire, in the beginning, to develop a complete understanding of my personal and professional background and suggest ideas for my stories.

Resume building

While working on my resume, she ensured that I quantified each pointer to stress the impact of my contribution. Through multiple iterations and sense checks, we were able to draft a very powerful and satisfying resume.

Story boarding and essay writing

I setup a 45 minutes call to brainstorm ideas for the various essays we would work on. This was really instrumental in structuring my thoughts and preparing a first draft.

Poonam was extremely quick (24-48 hours) to respond to my queries and provide feedback for each draft I had prepared. Apart from editing the essays, she also added comments/questions to aid me in my thought process for the following draft.

We collaborated very well and met the timelines for every college. I am grateful to Poonam for this wonderful learning experience. Her contribution to my application process was definitely the most pivotal piece in the puzzle.

She is a rockstar and I recommend her to anyone hoping to enjoy the process of drafting a stellar application to achieve an admission in the target schools and fulfil the MBA dream

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 27, 2021
botta1988

Joined: Jan 27, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

One of the best decisions to work with MER

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

One major aspect of anyone's application is the essay, I was looking at what options are there to help to project myself in the best possible way.
I wanted to do the first draft even before working with any consultant, and during this time ended up landing on a page with sample essays to help me understand how to approach the application.
Was impressed reading different essay and ended up looking up who has created this must-have document and found that it was created by Poonam mam of MER ( myEssayReview).

Did a quick cross lookup and found she is one of the top-rated consultants in GMAT Club. Also, the value/cost was nicely poised to convince me to work with Poonam may for my INSEAD application.

She was generous to spend 45+ min just for a free consultation to understand my profile, my application needs and share in detail how the overall process would work for. Also, I was rushing to apply very close to the round 2 end date and still wanted to apply in round 2. With just 12 days in hand and a mountant of work to be addressed ( 5 essays + Resume + 2 LOR).
Mam was generous enough to accommodate and went out of her way to revert to me almost 24 hr every single time.
But my suggestion would be don't rush, give yourself time to pace this better.

Post initial draft for each of the essays, we have 1 hr counseling session on zoom to go over the essay and understand what all changes are needed and what the story which we should be able to focus on more.
This session helped to make the second draft much closer to what I would have wanted the ad com to know about myself.

She empowered me to let my thoughts flow and share the stories for the essay and used her magic to meet the word limit. She would not alter the story but would ensure these are crip and clear.
The resume review helped me to convert my multi-page resume into too clean and much suited for EMBA admission. She spends 3 rounds of edits which helped to refine the content

A very similar exercise for LOR helped with a high-level blueprint to share with my recommenders. She ensured the stories and viewpoint of recommenders are not altered at any cause and just focused on structuring / Grammar.

My application was accepted and got an interview call, really glad I worked with her for my application and the value addition it did in my whole process something I would be thankful for forever.

I would highly recommend MER, and very confident your experience would be very similar or much better than what I am personally experienced

Thank you Poonam mam for all your time and feedback at each round of iteration it helped to get the best out of me.

Regards,
Ramesh Botta

Read More

April 21, 2021
sheikhar

Joined: Apr 15, 2019

Posts: 11

Kudos: 20

Verified score:
780 Q50 V48

I signed up with MER to receive guidance on my application for three schools. Since I was short on time when I first contacted MER, the 1 hr Zoom session for me was perhaps not as much about understanding my profile but more about reviewing my Resume and Essays for one of the Schools. I was satisfied with my experience and got some really helpful insights. However, I would have liked to have contacted her earlier and benefitted from her expertise in extracting the most effective stories from my life.

Poonam’s Resume Review service is what I consider most useful for me personally. She spent a lot of time during our 1 hour Zoom call helping me make my Resume elements sharper. There was a considerable difference between my pre-and post-MER Resumes. I feel the improved resume really made me a more confident applicant not just at the application stage but also during my interviews. Considering that I did not have much time for LoR review, I could just take one set of edits from her. If I had more time, I could have effectively leveraged her services for this application component, too.

I do not think we had much time for Poonam to understand my profile and harness that to position my stories. So, we focused more on how to better the stories/drafts I had already considered/ presented. Poonam is excellent at seeing the bigger picture and really distilling the key takeaways from an applicant’s story/ essay. This allows her to see the value of each paragraph/line and make effective improvements in the structure/ organization to present a coherent narrative. Poonam’s razor-sharp focus on cutting any clutter to show only the most impactful elements of the essay allows the essay writer to think and write freely and present the best drafts without worrying about the word limit.

MER’s turnarounds were as promised and very predictable. This was extremely important for me as I was running on a tight schedule. I really appreciate Poonam’s going beyond your call of duty on multiple occasions and reviewing two essays instead of one on a single day or working on a weekend to help me meet an impending deadline. I really enjoyed working with Poonam, found her services extremely helpful for my application, and would enthusiastically like to recommend her services to prospective applicants.
It gives me immense pleasure to inform that I have been admitted to the Chicago Booth Class of 2023. I have also been offered a scholarship of $40,000 spread over two years. I can't thank her enough for the value that she added to my application and for her exceptionally useful guidance .

Read More

April 11, 2021
bussi1

Joined: May 24, 2017

Posts: 14

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
690 Q46 V38

Accepted into ISB and IE. Thanks, Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I came across myessayreview on the GMATmat club. At that point, I had met a few other consultants but I was not satisfied. I had booked a free consulting session with Poonam. A long initial conversation with her was a morale booster for me and soon, I signed up for the basic school package. I started working with her on my resume, which we changed to include certain things and remove unnecessary things to make a one-page resume, fine-tuning it to my satisfaction. Later on, we had two one-hour Zoom sessions meets to discuss the stories where we shortlisted nearly ten stories from my life. We further brainstormed on the stories to be used for different essays. She suggested writing an optional essay to explain my education gap and employment gap She reviewed the drafts multiple times until they were perfectly carved. Her response time was often within 24 hrs. She even suggested a framework for my interview preparation. Overall, she helped me step by step throughout the application process.
First, Poonam is a very good human being. I missed out on many deadlines because of personal issues and GMAT. She understood my issues but at the same time warned me about the delays and consequences, which I faced. Second, she is a perfectionist and keeps refining until the outcome is fine. Finally, she is professional and knowledgeable.
I highly recommend her services!

Read More

February 17, 2021
shaileshsinha

Joined: Apr 12, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

INSEAD GEMBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was looking for a professionally acclaimed management consultant to guide me through the INSEAD GEMBA admission application. I then came across MER services on the GMAT Club with good ratings and feedback, and after browsing the MER services website and noting the package prices which I compared to other consultants, I decided to sign up for MER services.

The first counselling session with Poonam was comprehensive, and she spent a good amount of time connecting with me at a personal level and understanding my professional background. She took notes of every detail I shared with her, which was very impressive, and encouraged me to start writing those details in the essays.

The second counselling session was 2 hours long in which we went through all the essays and resume where Poonam explained and made me understand what all improvements I had to make and what all questions I needed to address. She was clear with her approach as to where the stories should fit and where the content should be to the point to address the essay topics. I was impressed when she referred to her notes from the first counselling session and suggested I insert specific stories.

Poonam asked relevant questions to test and made me understand how the essay structure should be and how to make the story flow better. Poonam’s editing skills are very impressive as she used the right words to make the sentences short and to the point, which were grammatically correct. She is so good with sentence structures that she managed to reduce my draft essays of 700 words to 299 words limit.

Poonam was very polite in providing me feedback on my resume even though my resume needed many changes. She explained the purpose of resumes for admissions in business schools compared to resumes made for job applications and what the admission committee would like to see. She provided me with a resume template and a few samples to give me an idea of what a great resume looks like. She made my resume impressive by helping me use the right structure and quantify the content. She included all my achievements and hobbies. With the result, my final resume reflected the essays in a crisp way.

She gave me clear instructions on how to present LOR contents. Her guidance helped me guide my recommenders and make sure that the LORs were in line with my essays and resume to remove any inconsistencies.

Poonam is very good and prompt in answering the queries through email within a day as she respects and values the candidate's time and efforts in finalizing the essays, resume and LORs to meet the agreed timeline. If needed, she is very open to organize a video call to make the candidate understand. She was very prompt in giving a very concise and sensible feedback, and her turnaround time was not more than 24 hours at max. Poonam is very clear about her advice, and she knows what she is suggesting to us to do with the essays. She made sure that the final documents are perfect for submission.

Poonam met all my expectations, whatever I thought of having in my consultant, including the nominal package prices. As a result, I have an admission offer from INSEAD. Poonam is a true professional. She is very knowledgeable, experienced, and humble person. She ticked all the boxes for me as a consultant, and the package prices are great for the services provided. Also, the MER website is an amazing source of information to write essays, resumes, and LORs. I referred to the website almost every time to understand the essay topics.

I consider myself very lucky that I decided to work with Poonam, and fortunately, she had the spot available for me to guide me through the application process.

Without any thought, I will recommend her to other applicants as she has the magic wand to make our essays attractive and impressive for admission in the top business schools.

Thank you very much, Poonam, for helping me to get into the INSEAD’s Global MBA program; otherwise, it was an impossible goal for me. You made my dream come true.

Read More

February 12, 2021
psb10

Joined: Nov 17, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted to Chicago Booth!! Thank you Ms. Poonam Tandon

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up for MER services to help me craft compelling essays for admission to a top MBA program. I wanted to make sure that my essay is persuasive and was looking to find someone
who can help me gather my thoughts and create a perfect story.

I had an initial 1 hour Zoom session with Ms. Tandon. I believe this is a crucial step in the process because this gives her a chance to get to know you on a personal level. I am happy with
this Zoom session because it helped me think and brainstorm of ideas which are very important when it comes to answering some of the questions in the essay. Without this service, it would be very hard to compile all the important details required to write the essays.

The content of the story was one of the most important things for the essays in my opinion. I wanted to make sure I was using the best stories to answer the questions, and Ms. Tandon helped tremendously with this. She knew exactly what I wanted to express in my stories and she is great at helping you brainstorm ideas. All my stories were conveyed in the manner that I was looking for and were very effective. She is a fantastic storyteller and helps you to focus on your strong points. She helped me make my story unique and personal.

The stories in my essays were all over the place. Ms. Tandon knows the right structure and format to make the story as simple and as effective to the reader. Story organization was one of my main concerns but with her years of experience she helped me organize the stories for a
better flow.

One of my main concerns was that my sentence structure would be a problem. I wanted the essays to be free from any grammatical mistakes. With the help of Ms. Tandon, all these issues were resolved. She could grasp what I wanted to convey and helped me write it in a concise manner. I was very happy with the results. The essays came out perfect with her expertise.

Ms. Tandon was available to answer my questions through email at any time. The turnaround was very quick. This is a mutual agreement between both parties to hand in the required work within the specified time frame. The faster you deliver the work the faster you will receive updated feedback on your work.

Upon receiving an interview invite I reached out to Ms. Tandon once again to help me with the interview prep. I have never had a virtual interview before so I was very worried about how to prepare for this. The mock interview was a crucial step in this process because I could learn what I had to improve on and what my strengths were. She provided excellent detailed feedback and provided tips for the day of the interview. She assured me that I would do great and motivated me to stay confident. I was satisfied with this service and the interview was a success.

I reached out to Ms. Tandon at the very last minute of my MBA prep. I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to write the perfect story with very little time but with her experience and guidance, we crafted the best essays possible. This was a great experience for me. She did a great job in expressing my story through the essays and I highly recommend her services to all prospective students.

Read More

February 02, 2021
nicfel

Joined: Apr 11, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted into LBS’s MiF Program. Thanks, Poonam!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I signed up for myEssayReview because I felt confident working with the CEO of the company, who has vast experience in the field. In our initial email communication, Poonam told me that ten days were not enough to create two essays, I liked her honesty and understood that she was not only about money. Some other consultants I talked to told me that it would take five hours. Communicating with her via email gave me the confidence to trust her with my application. I signed up for her services without talking to her.

I found the Zoom meeting valuable to present my profile and look for the possible routes we could take to achieve outstanding essays. Moreover, I felt she really cared to know the person well and understand his/her abilities to use them in the essays. I am grateful for her help in enhancing my CV and adding value to my essays by not keeping apart essential events in my life.

I really appreciate the effort and commitment she made during the process. Mainly, I would like to thank her for helping me understand that the essays were more about my life's special details and not a general idea with general statements that I was putting in my initial drafts. She took her time to understand my profile and use the best characteristics of my non-professional life to boost the content of the essays.

Organizing the essays was the principal differentiator of working with her. When she gave me the pointers for essays, I found it very easy to write them especially for the second one. Moreover, the edits were instrumental in making the story more compelling. As a non-native speaker, I felt her reviews were undoubtedly essential for the correct grammar of the essays. She improved the way I connect sentences and paragraphs, making the essays flow better. She answered all my questions very clearly and gave me additional insights to brainstorm and rearrange my ideas.

Poonam’s turnaround is another critical differentiator of her services, and I think she can publicize it more. Despite having plenty of time to complete my essays, it was important to have a quick response from her and know that she did not rush to accomplish the timeline we agreed at the beginning.

Overall, I am very pleased to have worked with Poonam. Her work has exceeded my expectations and made me gain the confidence I needed when I first started looking for guidance. Poonam definitely gave me invaluable help through all the process.
I will definitely recommend Poonam to any students, and even hire her again if I decided to continue with further studies in the future.
Thank you!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

37 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for myEssayReview