GMAT Club

Hourly Consulting Services Reviews

 
 Fortuna Admissions
Hourly Consulting
Advisory services on an hourly basis, to help you focus on specific areas of the MBA admissions process that require expert input.

Start with a free 30-min consultation .

5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
40
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 40 reviews
October 06, 2019
lc1975

Joined: Oct 08, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V41

Hourly service with Sharon Joyce

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

First thing I'll say is that I only worked with Sharon for 2 hours, so the fact that I'm writing a review is a testament to how amazing I found Sharon to be and how valuable I found her services.

I purchased the 2-hour hourly service package through Fortuna 3 days before the deadline for one of my schools (top 10). Given the tight timeline, Matt (the founder) immediately connected me with Sharon, and we got the ball rolling right away.

I originally only wanted an admissions consultant to review one of my three essays that I felt the most uncertain about - expecting maybe a couple of recommendations on content and a few word choice edits. However, Sharon went above and beyond. She reviewed all of my essays and helped me improve each one. She really understood the essence of each question and what the school was trying to get at. She not only highlighted aspects of my essays that she liked, which was very reassuring & a great confidence boost, but also gave me incisive feedback on places where I wasn't hitting the mark. We went though a few iterations until both of us felt like my essays was submission-ready.

Overall, Sharon was so pleasant to work with. She's funny, positive, and laid-back. She's quick to turn around comments and really flexible with her timing. I would 100% recommend Sharon to anyone looking to bolster their application.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 21, 2019
EmiDibe

Joined: Sep 21, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

Brought The Best Out of Me, Maintaining My Authenticity

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I chose Fortuna because I felt like it has an unparalleled knowledge of European Business schools and I wasn't disappointed!

Working with Melissa has been a pleasure: she was very available, responded fast and with customized suggestions. The thing I liked the best about her counsel is that the work that came out was very genuine and represented me 100%: pushing me gently, she brought out the best in me while keeping my authenticity.

Without her assistance, I would have not been as strong a candidate (admitted to all the schools I applied to) so I would definitely recommend her to any applicant.

Read More

August 18, 2019
J08

Joined: May 14, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q49 V39

Getting into a top 6 Program!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After having completed the GMAT, TOEFL, getting Recommenders on board etc. I found myself at a huge roadblock at writing essays and completing the remaining content for my applications. Especially as someone foreign to US style application it was difficult for me to hit the right tone and narrow down my key selling points for the respective schools.

After talking to some companies, I decided to get support from Fortuna Admissions as I felt they saw the person behind the application rather than just the numbers. I was lucky to have been put in touch with Karen.

Getting her on board immediately increase the pace that I was moving forward with and elevated the overall quality by helping me to find the right focus point within my life experience. Karen was highly efficient and I would usually get her feedback within a few hours. Sending in the applications, knowing that this was my best effort, was a great feeling. Karen was also there for me once interview invitations came in to prepare me accordingly. I am not sure I could have made it into Haas without her experience. If you have ambitious goals, I can highly recommend Karen as coach, as she will get the best out of you!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 14, 2019
jvm8hx

Joined: Oct 27, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V41

Highly Recommend Fortuna and My Consultant Karen!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Karen at Fortuna is an amazing consultant, and I could not have asked for a better person to help me with the overwhelming process of applying to business school. My situation was unique because my decision to work with a consultant came very late in the application process. Some consultants probably would have been turned off by me as a client in this respect, but Karen did not hesitate in taking me on. As we began working together, Karen was always very responsive to my emails; if I sent her a draft of an essay at night after work, she always provided comments by the next day. And when I received interview invitations from schools, she was proactive and available to help me prep at any time that was most convenient for me and for however long I needed. But her speed was not at the expense of the quality of her comments. Karen is extremely knowledgeable about the application processes for all the schools that I applied to, and she provided very thoughtful, school-specific advice on my essays, short answer responses, and interview responses. In our mock interviews, she helped make my responses more crisp and suggested ways that I could weave in important elements of my story. Her comments on every major aspect of my application were crucial in helping me develop and craft my story so that I conveyed it eloquently to the admissions committees. Karen is a pleasure to work with, both professionally and personally, and I highly recommend her and Fortuna to anyone applying to business school.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 30, 2019
ghick6

Joined: Jun 30, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

Easy to work with, and we got the

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I came in to the process with a decent idea of how to tell my story and what my prospects were, but I wanted guidance on the essay and some more experienced eyes to go over my resume.
Michel was responsive and easy to work with (even over the holidays) and was able to meet tight turnarounds when needed.
She definitely helped me get my essays in better shape. She was particularly helpful in getting me to connect stories I used to the overall message I was trying to convey, probing me on why I chose to use certain stories or how I could tie them back to key points I had made earlier. Occasionally she helped with word choice, but overall she helped me get my essays to sound like the example essays you read on these forums.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 10, 2019
wstahlke4

Joined: May 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Five Star Fortuna!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Melissa Jones at Fortuna who was perfect in every way. I purchased several services (Resume Review, Interview Prep and an 8 hour consulting pack). Melissa was thoughtful and efficient with my time and provided valuable feedback to help me properly apply to my two top schools. The level of detail was sufficient to properly guide my application, but not get bogged down in details. She helped me craft my story in a great way. Overall, she was responsive, worked on weekends when it was essential and genuinely cared about my candidacy. I cannot recommend her enough! She is a consummate professional and great at her job.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 06, 2019
SNelson

Joined: Jun 06, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Columbia Business School Application

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I contacted Karen 36 hours before the merit based deadline for Columbia Business School. I initially thought my application was strong but after getting it reviewed by one more person, they insisted that I contact Fortuna. Now typically, 36 hours is not enough time to edit 4 essays and a resume. However, Karen worked expeditiously to give me consistent feedback until we were comfortable with my admissions package. We made the deadline with much time to spare. The most impressive thing about the entire process is that Karen helped me enhance my content without changing the core of what I was trying to relay to the admissions committee. I don't know if this can ever be proven, but I can honestly say that the input Karen provided me in those 36 hours played a significant role in my admission to Columbia. I cannot thank Karen enough for the quick and efficient turnaround! When the rest of my friends start this MBA admissions process, I will 100% send them to Karen and Fortuna.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 06, 2019
an12345

Joined: May 06, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Emma is fantastic: down-to-earth, honest but extremely professional

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Emma is such a fantastic consultant. She was always prompt when reviewing my essay drafts which, given I had left things rather late, was the difference between b-school this year or waiting a whole other year. She knew exactly which parts of my story to highlight and helped me to join the dots into a coherent narrative. I also appreciated her honesty with regards to my chances at the various schools that I wanted to apply to. Emma is very down-to-earth and will tell it like it is but will do so with a touch of humour that is really welcome during the crazy rollercoaster that is b-school applications!

Emma has a breadth of experience; she helped me with school selection, overall application strategy, essay editing, mock interviews, and scholarship negotiation. She is super knowledgeable about LBS but I also got into two M7 schools with scholarships with Emma’s help so she has many strings to her bow. I really cannot recommend Emma, and Fortuna, highly enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 30, 2019
murtuzayn

Joined: Jul 16, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Hourly Consulting

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Emma Bond is well informed, positive and a pleasure to work with. She is very well versed with LBS and the admissions.
During the essay review process she always had excellent implementable feedback. She is very cooperative and excellent in following up to make sure you stick to the plan. She responds with her feedback consistently and promptly. Most of the time she would get back to me with a ton of feedback in less than 24 hours. I especially needed that support in terms of staying on track and not losing focus and working with her really helped me stay the course.

I would highly recommend working with her to help you achieve your admissions goals.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 28, 2019
Jonathanoon93

Joined: Nov 17, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly recommend Melissa and the Fortuna Team!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I had an introductory call with almost each and every one of the top admissions consulting firms for my MBA.

After my initial introductory call with Matt - I was sure that Fortuna was the one with the best knowledge of the European schools (was looking specifically at French business schools) and "got" my story and would help me best present my application. Additionally, he was incredibly considerate of my budget and worked with me to create a package that would be just what I needed.

I worked with Melissa for the application - and right from the get-go was Wow'ed by the level of professionalism and knowledge of the application process of both herself and Fortuna.

Melissa was an incredibly helpful consultant and advisor, guiding me through the key steps of the application and always making the next step clear.
She was able to help me make my application shine -highlighting parts of my experience I had not considered and really ensuring a coherent and holistic application.

When busy and applying to multiple challenging process - having someone that knows the process was crucial to reducing the stress and ensuring I was able to submit on time and with a strong application.

The results: offers from all schools I applied to - with full scholarships for my top two preferences.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.