GMAT Club

Hourly Consulting Services Reviews

 
 Fortuna Admissions
Hourly Consulting
Advisory services from Fortuna Admissions on an hourly basis, to help you focus on specific areas of the MBA admissions process that require expert input.

Start with a free 30-min consultation .

5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
152
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 152 reviews
April 14, 2024
lotif

Joined: Jan 16, 2019

Posts: 20

Kudos: 3

Cannot Recommend Enough

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Speaking to Emma in our initial call I felt right away she was the perfect match.

And that turned out to be just the case! I was a fairly late Round 2 applicant, just meeting the deadline, and I can say I couldn’t have done it without her! Emma improved my application beyond measure. I cannot stress enough the positive impact she had on my overall application – the quality of my application was levels higher as a result of her help and super expertise, and I gained an offer from my number 1 and only school choice (LBS).

Giving real steer and direction to the narrative of my background/application, piecing together the essays (I was in awe of her skill in advising on essay structure), advising on those small (but stress inducing) questions that come up during the application process, and giving me the perfect candid advice on my interview skills were just some of the numerous highlights.

Emma was also incredibly generous, supportive, responsive, and reassuring. She is really personable and you absolutely feel understood working with her. Overall, she made the whole process 100x less stressful. She was also flexible and catered to my circumstances which changed unexpectedly, which I really appreciated.

I honestly cannot recommend Emma enough - I consider myself super lucky to have had her help. She was simply a dream to work with!

Read More

March 19, 2024
Zeros

Joined: Nov 27, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Far beyond expectations

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

After chatting with ~5 admin consultants, I decided to go with Tatiana after a pleasant call with Judith - who believed in my success from the get-go. My experience with other admin consultants such as SBC and Menlo (which tend to downplay your achievements and encourage you to aim lower) was not good - Menlo wouldn't even honor their complementary consultation unless I pledged to apply to less competitive schools - but Fortuna seemed to understand and believe in my potential story, which was exactly what I was looking for.

For context: I'm at consultant at a T2 consulting firm and applied to 5 M7s.

Tatiana did a fantastic job - I was confident in my writing skills and had a good sense of which stories to use, so I signed up for the 8 hr program mostly for essay revision and support. Tatiana was straightforward from the start and helped estimated how much time we would need to meet my goal of writing essays for my top 3 schools.

Tatiana's support was instrumental in understanding what each school is looking for in an applicant and I can confidently say that the essays after multiple rounds of revision with Tatiana were indeed night and day. I also really appreciated how she did not press me for time. I heard other consultants would track closely and remind you x time was remaining - which would be an added stress as apps are due. However, Tatiana never did anything remotely of the sort. Further, I was able to utilize the lessons I learned from looking at her feedback to write essays for 2 more M7 schools.

At the end of the application stage, I was satisfied with our work together and even remarked even if I didn't get any interviews - I was happy I was able to put my best foot forward. At the time of writing, I interviewed with 3 of the M7 schools I applied to, and am waiting for results.

Huge thanks to Tatiana, who was incredibly knowledge and truly pushed me to write to the best of my ability and was with me at every step of the journey (even though I signed up for hourly)! I'm grateful for the experience and would definitely recommend her to anyone!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 22, 2024
durags13

Joined: May 18, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
710 Q45 V42 (Online)

Admitted LBS and INSEAD - Melissa Joelson

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My first experience with admissions consultants was not a good one. When I first considered MBA plans I spoke to a number of consultants early on, one of which told me that it was very unlikely with my background that I would get into LBS or INSEAD. "It's just not going to happen", were the words used.

Then along came Melissa. After researching several admissions consultancies, Fortuna stood out as adopting a more personalised approach, taking the time to delve into a candidate’s background to properly understand their story and strengths for the different MBA programs. Working with Melissa was less about the applications initially, and more an exercise in deep and considered self-reflection. Who am I. What experiences shaped me. What do I want in life. And why.

It wasn’t until I started working with Melissa that I developed any confidence in my ability to attend a top MBA program. Melissa was instrumental in drawing that out. She was clear, concise, realistic and, facing tight-deadlines, firm. She kept me honest and focussed throughout the whole process, gave clear instructions as to what was expected, and, importantly, ensured the responsibility for delivering rested with me.

Melissa genuinely believes in the candidates she works with and wants them to succeed. Even when Melissa had to travel between the US and France for family emergencies, she remained online and connected through every step of the way – late night calls to match time-zones, email exchanges from airports ahead of deadlines – Melissa was unstoppable.

I hadn’t even planned to apply for INSEAD – I had already ruled myself out. After working with Melissa to understand my strengths as a candidate we were able to rule INSEAD back in.

I am truly grateful for my time working with Melissa. She was critical in helping me put my best foot forward and receiving offers that I never thought were possible. Thank you so much!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 19, 2024
johnnycruz

Joined: Feb 19, 2024

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Bill took the time to understand me.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I enjoyed working with Bill, and he was nothing short of fantastic. He showed genuine interest from the beginning and took the time to get to know me. He was able to help me craft my story and succinctly tell it because he understood who I was and how I worked.

I've met with other consultants, and I won't say they were terrible, but I will say they didn't take the time to understand who I was, which made me feel like they were guessing when they made suggestions for my essays and interview practice. I never felt like that with Bill, and he helped me pinpoint areas I could improve on and areas that I should focus on.

I highly recommend Bill to anyone, especially if communicating your story is complicated. He'll take the time to help you understand your why and how to express yourself effectively.

Read More

January 29, 2024
david_boothie

Joined: Apr 26, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
750 Q47 V47

Emma Bond - 10/10!!!! Best Consultant on the Planet

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As a US applicant, I applied to multiple top full-time US programs with Emma's help. It was 1,000% worth every penny, and I'd recommend you stop reading this review now and hire her immediately. I got into a variety of M7 and T10 schools with extremely generous scholarships, proving that Emma has obvious expertise over the American schools, in addition to the European ones. She was responsive, informative, and all around delightful to work with. I don't think there is anything she could have done throughout the process to make it go smoother. If she's not ranked #1 in the 2024 Poets & Quants ranking for MBA consultants (after being ranked #1 in 2023), we riot. 10/10, simply the best consultant on the planet.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 09, 2023
nandyvik

Joined: Mar 22, 2021

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

SILPA WAS EXCELLENT!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Silpa was an amazing consultant for me. She helped me get into some top programs and was willing to go above and beyond in helping me. I really appreciated all her help and would definitely recommend her to others! If it wasn't for her help and strategy, I probably wouldn't have gotten some of the MBA offers that I received. She was very kind and supportive along the way. Initially I was skeptical of whether or not I should spend money on this service but it was well worth it. Navigating business school apps is tricky and it always helps to have a consultant.

Read More

October 15, 2023
eltonmarkicx

Joined: Oct 15, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted to TOP MBA in Final Round

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I am an applicant in the final round of the MBA application process. Among the various consultants available, I chose Melissa. I made this choice because she responds promptly and has a very organized approach to structuring my essay. She meticulously reviewed my life and work experiences and provided tailored advice for the schools I wanted to apply to. She also understood the potential weaknesses in my experiences and helped me address them in the optional essay, allowing the admissions team to better understand who I am through my application documents. The essay was completed in just about two weeks, which put my mind at ease for other application matters.

During the interview process, Melissa also shared some interview tips to help me prepare with confidence. I am genuinely thrilled to have successfully applied to my dream school in the final round, and I am very grateful for seeking Melissa's assistance from the beginning.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 28, 2023
avee1582

Joined: Dec 11, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Couldn't have done it without Emma!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I consider myself incredibly fortunate that I got to collaborate with Emma as my admissions consultant. Her expertise in this field is truly exceptional, and I can confidently say that my achievement wouldn't have been possible without her guidance. She has an outstanding work ethic and consistently went above and beyond what I expected of her, in terms of both time and effort. I'm immensely grateful that I trusted my instincts and selected her because not only did I get accepted but I received a scholarship as well on the only program I applied to - LBS Sloan.

Emma is a true expert at this. She knows exactly what should and shouldn't go into your application to make it stand out. She is sharp and crisp and knows how to cut the fluff. Not only did she help make my application so much more cohesive but she was there to support and guide me through my extended waiting period even after I had submitted my application. During moments when I felt discouraged, she helped ease my nerves. Just knowing that I had her on my side on my journey made me feel so reassured.

Her support was so much more than just transactional, she really wanted me to succeed and she put in extra effort to that end. If you have the opportunity to work with her on your applications, consider yourself extremely fortunate.

Read More

July 16, 2023
jamie.t

Joined: Jul 16, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great working with Matt Symonds

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Matt on my Round 3 application to the Stanford GSB, MIT Sloan and the Wharton School. I was a non-traditional applicant with a government background, applying a bit later in my career than the average - and had previously received some less than enthusiastic advice from consultants encouraging me to consider safety schools or delay applying. This made sense on the face of it: the odds are very low for those schools as a R3 applicant, and they didn't want to set me (or themselves) up for failure. But Matt took a totally different tack: I felt he took a real interest in me as a person, understood my goals and rationale, and went beyond the stats to see the strength in my application. He totally understood the reasoning behind going for it in R3, put himself on the line to tell me what he honestly thought, and provided me the vital encouragement to keep going. Close to the deadline, he was available over the weekend to iterate my essays and review the final elements of my application. I felt that his advice was always helpful - and crucially, helped to bring out my authentic voice, not just what adcoms want to hear. Matt's advice and encouragement were crucial to getting me over the line and securing offers from all 3 schools. Thank you Matt - you're a good man and a pleasure to work with!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 28, 2023
mbadmit2112

Joined: May 17, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Got into Wharton - Love Melissa Joelson!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was so lucky to be able to work with Melissa Joelson. I had a difficult timeline for my applications and she worked with me to make sure we could achieve what I needed to in a short window. When reviewing my essays, Melissa was amazing at asking the right questions and prompting me in different ways to think about how to further flesh out my thoughts or to get to the heart of what I was trying to communicate. She never tried to change my voice or vision, but rather to help me present it in a more effective way. She showed so much kindness, compassion, and support along the way. I really felt like she was invested in my success and not just in the application process. Thank you, Melissa!

Read More