GMAT Club

Rachel Shelton Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 35 reviews
August 22, 2018
nyc8

Joined: Aug 22, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly recommend Rachel - simply the best there is!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I am so grateful to have found Rachel. She is a treasure!

I didn't think I needed help with my resume or essays, but I was wrong! I was initially discouraged by the volume of edits and changes required, and how much time I had to devote to improving my submissions, but quickly came to see that Rachel knew best and that following her advice led to a much better final product. It was painful at times, but well worth it in the end.

Rachel is fast - she always turns things around quickly and her comments are clear and actionable. She also genuinely cares about each person and wants to help you navigate and succeed. I hugely appreciated her upbeat, positive spirit and her keen insights into the admissions process.

Rachel definitely made me a better candidate, and clarified my approach to the entire application process. I feel very fortunate to have benefited from her expertise and would highly recommend her without reservation for anyone applying to top tier b-schools. You will not regret it!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 07, 2018
ebt1206

Joined: Jun 04, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

the BEST consultant!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Rachel is FANTASTIC!!! Her advice and feedback are incredibly poignant and helpful. She is also VERY timely with her responses.

Rachel and I worked together for about 7 months. She helped me with all the ins and outs of my application, including resume, essays, and general application questions. Her guidance and emotional support transformed the process for me. She helped me figure out how best to tell MY story which is so important when thinking about the application process as a whole.

I am so grateful for having worked with Rachel. I ended my application process with acceptances from my top two choices and have committed to a top 4 program. Her help enabled me to get where I am today - I recommend her without reservation!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 23, 2018
jl3845

Joined: Jun 11, 2017

Posts: 3

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
620 Q39 V36

Best Consultant You Could Ask For!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

You could not be in better hands than Rachel’s. I worked with Rachel for ~8 months from the doldrums of the GMAT, through the essay writing phase, up until admission. She was there at every turn and offered invaluable advice and guidance at every step. She goes beyond what you might expect from a traditional consultant and really makes an effort to get to know you and understand your long-term goals and how an MBA fits into that plan. The structure Veritas has in place is pricey, but worth every dollar.

I would adamantly recommend Rachel to anyone looking for an MBA consultant and know firsthand what a great resource she is to MBA-hopefuls like myself. Rachel will always give you candid, and sometimes tough, feedback on all aspects of your application and helps you position yourself to be the best possible candidate you can be. I recommend her without a single reservation and if there was a 6th star I would give it!

Read More

January 21, 2018
therookiesh

Joined: Jan 21, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V45

Expensive But Worth It

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had the privilege of working with Rachel on my full-time MBA applications. Throughout the nearly six month process, she provided incredibly detailed, prompt, and actionable feedback. Her passion and empathy shined through all of our interactions, inspiring me to create work of higher quality than I thought possible. Rachel provided keen insights on how to tailor my message for each school, drastically increasing my confidence in the story we presented to the admissions offices. Typically her feedback came back within 24 hours of me submitting a document for her to review. While the package was very expensive, I think it was well worth the cost. I have not yet gotten applications back (submitted Round 2), but I do not think there is anything else we could have done to increase my chances.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 19, 2017
gatechbells

Joined: Dec 08, 2017

Posts: 9

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Rachel Cares About Her Clients

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I used Veritas Prep's School Packages program and specifically requested Rachel as my consultant. Working with Rachel was very enjoyable and insightful. Over our time together, there were several times when she said "Hmmm not sure that sounds right for you" (i.e., post-MBA career, school choice). Her honesty was much appreciated, and she was ultimately right, which was kind of embarrassing for me given the personal nature of those questions.

Rachel met my expectations. I was rejected at two Top 10 schools (reapplicant, Veritas Prep school packages) and accepted at two (1st-time applicant, one VP school package) and interviewed with rejection at the fifth school (1st-time applicant, no school package). Without Rachel's help with the first three schools, I do not think I would have been admitted and interviewed at the others. Either way, working with Rachel has made the experience enjoyable, and I have learned more about myself and improved my writing. I would recommend Rachel to my friends and family.

Read More

December 16, 2017
JFactor

Joined: Dec 16, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q49 V48

Great Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

A year after going 0 for 6 on my business school applications I worked with Rachel Shelton at Veritas on applications to four schools and was admitted to UCLA/Anderson, Dartmouth/Tuck, and Duke/Fuqua. Rachel helped me to select which schools best fit my profile and post-MBA aspirations, then did a fantastic job leveraging her experience to present my background in a way that would appeal to admissions committees. Throughout the essay process she provided actionable feedback on my essays and gave me advice on how best to incorporate the feedback from the school specialists at Veritas. She also managed the (difficult) task of keeping me focused throughout the long process. I'm 100% sure I could not have gotten the same results without her and would recommend her to anyone considering business school without hesitation.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 07, 2017
mayraag

Joined: Jun 07, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The absolute BEST admissions consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I cannot say enough good things about Rachel. I was originally planning to apply in Round 2, however my GMAT score was not where I needed it to be. I ultimately decided to try one more time to get my GMAT score up and felt comfortable with applying in Round 3 (even though I knew it would be a risk) because I knew I would have Rachel's guidance along the way. I signed up for a 3 school package with Rachel as my head consultant. She was so knowledgeable about each school and the entire admissions process. She helped me transform my resume and then when it came time to work on the essays she was responsive and specific in her feedback so I was able to really craft a strong essay for each school. Rachel also made it a point to really get to know me and my "story" so she knew what points I should be highlighting in my essays. With each revision (for some schools it was 6 or 7 revisions) she would review quickly and get me clear feedback. She was also immensely supportive and encouraging along the way, which I needed throughout this daunting process. By the time I sent my essays to my school specialists for review the feedback they had for me was minimal, since Rachel had helped me get them in great shape. Although I only signed up for the 3 school package (NYU, Wharton, and Columbia), I was applying for 6 schools in total (HBS, McCombs, and Johnson) and decided to also purchase an hourly package to get Rachel's help with the other 3 schools. Her expertise, insight, and thoughtful feedback was invaluable to me and I am so glad I got her help in some way shape or form for the other schools. At the end of the day I got admitted into 4 of the 6 schools (including HBS where I have decided to enroll), got waitlisted at Columbia, and got waitlisted at NYU with an offer to be admitted with a scholarship for the following fall. All of this with Round 3 admissions! I know I could not have done this without Rachel's support and guidance. I felt she was truly invested in my success and her energy helped keep me optimistic and focused on the prize. I cannot thank Rachel enough for helping me achieve this dream.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 15, 2017
Prabitha

Joined: May 15, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
410 Q23 V23

Rachel is the BEST admissions consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Rachel is the BEST!! Words can’t describe the commitment and support I received from Rachel during the entire eMBA application process. Never knew there was so much detail to the application process with deadlines for each. From the first time I spoke to Rachel, I knew she had my needs and interests as a priority and was committed in helping me through the process. Rachel is extremely knowledgeable with the entire application process and has valuable insights on the requirements of various business schools. I loved her approach in getting me started with helping me write down both my short and long term professional goals with every single detail – though it was painful, I’m thankful for the exercise as it provided a clear vision and a path to my goals which helped align my applications and interviews to the vision. As a part of the process, she reviewed by resume, provided valuable feedback to showcase my strengths while still keeping it authentic to reflect my personality – best resume I have every had! With my goals and experience in mind, she made recommendations on the schools that best suit my needs, help lay-out the application submission plan with timelines, which helped greatly to reduce the stress as I now had a supportive partner and a plan that we were committed.

Her coaching style is friendly and personal, professional, detailed, supportive and transparent. She’s generous with her time, honest in her advice and extremely patient in bringing the best. When one of my essays did not address the requirements, she had me rethink the scenario and come up with a new essay that addressed the question. I applied to 2 schools and was accepted in both which would not have happened without Rachel for which I’m always grateful.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 13, 2017
admithopeful

Joined: Jul 13, 2016

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q43 V34

Rachel is the BEST admissions consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Rachel was the lead consultant for my 3 school package. She is extremely knowledgeable and knows what each school is looking for in their ideal candidate. She makes the application process as stress free as it can be. Don't be mistaken, you have to write your own essays, she does not write them for you but her direct and insightful feedback is priceless and once your incorporate her suggestions, draft after draft, you will be amazed at the transformation your work went through.

Rachel is extremely patient and genuinely cares about your success. She does not hesitate to let you know that the work you sent her is not up to the mark. Of course it's much better coming from her than from the adcom in the form of a rejection.

I am so glad to get to work with her. The result: 2 admits from my top choices!

You cannot go wrong with Rachel on your team. Call Veritas and request to work with her!

Read More

April 19, 2017
dkijc

Joined: Nov 29, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Success Story :)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Which schools and how many should I apply to? What do I write in the essay? How do I prep for the GMAT?... These are some of the questions that popped in my head. I didn't know prepping would take such an amount of energy. It was tiring and time consuming... This is where Veritas helped me.. Veritas specialists helped me zone in what I needed to focus on. They helped me to identify my strengths, weaknesses, and goals and recommended me the best schools that suits me the best. Best part? I got in to my dream school! :) Thanks!

Read More


11 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Rachel Shelton