GMAT Club

MBA Prep School Digital Reviews

MBA Prep School
The ultimate tool kit for MBA applicants: access to our complete library of how-to video, plus an online work plan, school news, school profiles, private message boards, and private webinars.


4.5 /5 Average Rating
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Based on 6 reviews
April 20, 2019
gatu30

Joined: Nov 27, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Faisal is a delight to work with

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Do you feel that you have all the right ingredients for a strong MBA application but you are struggling to put it together in a recipe which will result in the dish of a lifetime? Well that was me when I started down the MBA application path. I knew my career goals and I knew I was at the right point in my career where an MBA could help me boost the next phase of my career. I had taken GMAT and had a good score and I had my recommenders lined up. But I was struggling to communicate my story crisply and effectively.
A very close friend of mine had gone down this route few years back and I talked to him for advice and he said he faced pretty much the same challenge and recommended seeking help from a professional. I investigated few MBA consultants and I got in touch with Faisal via MBA PrepSchool. I was quite impressed with all the glorious recommendations that Faisal had online but what sealed the deal for me was the introductory call that I had with him. In that half an hour call, Faisal asked insightful questions and I knew I had found the person who can help me pen my story.
Faisal can be very critical with his feedback when required and can also be very encouraging when required. While Faisal did have a defined framework that he worked in, he adapted that to make it work with my timeline. The experience Faisal has in this field also proved very useful to me and helped me approach the whole process more confidently. I strongly recommend Faisal for MBA application counseling.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 06, 2017
13Jun2016b

Joined: Jun 13, 2016

Posts: 6

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q46 V36

Great service!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I hired MBA prep school to edit my R1 essays. Mariah did a great job. She not only made my essays crip but asked me to include certain details that would make the essays tight and more interesting. Mariah also seeked advice from other consultants who are aligned to particular schools at MBA prep and gave me invaluable advice . There was a drastic difference between my draft essays and the final product. Moreover, the cofounder personally messaged me to ensure that my expectations were met. This just shows the company's commitment to its clients. Amazing service for a great a value!!

Read More

August 20, 2015
avik629

Joined: Mar 30, 2013

Posts: 95

Kudos: 35

Self-reported Score:
680 Q48 V35
690 Q50 V34
700 Q46 V40
730 Q50 V40

Its a product alright!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Yes, their 'offline' self-paced online consultant is more of a course than an actual consultant service. They do give you the tools/guides in order to do the most common things: select schools, prepare recommenders, write resumes, essays, etc. But its like this: they give you a very detailed recipe for a very good application. You follow the instructions but there's no one to tell you how much of a good job you have done. Only the adcoms know how strong your application is. Another thing I would like to point out is the advice is non school specific, whereas your application will be very school specific. Though you can ask them questions specific to you for clearing a particular doubt.

So, this is not a replacement for an actual living breathing consultant. Its a very cheap alternative for someone who believes in his skills of following instructions, and has a support structure to review his application (current/former MBA students). This can prevent that particular person from going all over the internet and searching for the same info on blogs/books or connecting with a lot of individuals to gain the same info.

Read More

September 13, 2015
MBAPrepSchoolChris

Hi Avik: thanks for your feedback and congratulations on getting into Anderson! Regarding our digital products, we are pretty clear on our website that our online consultant offers our step-by-step methodology, videos, tools and examples versus working privately with one of our consultants one-on-one? Given the words that you wrote, we were curious why you gave us only two stars? If you're willing to share, I would appreciate learning more via phone, Skype, email or PM?

Thanks, Chris

December 19, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommended!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I found MBA Prep School to be an excellent resource and thought it was well worth the monthly fee. I stumbled on the website/service through a series of positive reviews about their one on one consulting service and decided to give it a try. Although I would have liked to take advantage of individual consulting, I found using the videos to be the next best thing. They were completely practical, to the point, and they told me exactly how to approach the process so that I could generate the best application that represents me. I was really impressed by how well they de-constructed the process and explained what schools are really looking for in an actionable format - they cut through the “we want to get to know you” statements that ad coms put out and explained what they really are looking for. The examples that are given in the videos are extremely useful because they made the concepts concrete and demonstrated what a really, really good example would sound like in terms of tone and level of sophistication. Every example was so impressive and it challenged me to come up with the best possible way to present my own story.

I also made use of the various templates and example documents as models. The template resume was extremely useful. I wound up using exactly that format and just plugged my information into it. It really helped as I was trying to boil down a 7-page CV into a one page MBA resume.

In the end I was accepted to my fist choice business school (Wharton). It was 100% worth the monthly fee (and I subscribed for 3 months).

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 27, 2013
iAqua4

Joined: Feb 06, 2009

Posts: 32

Kudos: 6

Admission Consulting/Online Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I initially found about Tyler and Chris when I was going through some forums and found their advice to be unique and then signed up for an information interview to understand and go through my profile. This is the call when I was introduced to the online service which was very new. My conversation on phone had given me a confidence that this would be a worthwhile service specially from an international students point of view since it is difficult for international students to afford a full application service from an international consultant. This is where the MBAPrepSchool's online tutorials helped me a lot.

This is the first recommendation that I am writing for any service and honestly can tell you that the book and the online tutorials that have been created by Tyler and Chris are really really useful. As an applicant what we need is a step by step methodology to create an application. This is only possible with one on one coaching. However MBAPrepSchool's online tutorials completely fill this gap. Not only you get a step by step direction but also understand what any business school look for in candidates. By any I mean any.

The international MBA application journey is a whole year journey if you want to get into a top school. It is highly important to get involved in developing your profile as well as doing a proper business school search. End of the day you will invest a lot of money whichever business school you choose. And before choosing any school you need to choose your goals. What do you want to do after MBA? The best help apart from everything that I got out of this service - understanding and designing my goals (which I understand that no other online service is teaching currently) and how to make a better resume. The goals part is very crucial and I can give my two cents that all HBS, Stanford people will be using the similar goals (the way it is taught in this service) to apply.

The other very helpful part of this service were- the weekly/monthly group calls where I could clear my doubts and the forum questionnaires which both Chris and Tyler used to answer very promptly. I can attest that Chris and Tyler were instrumental in improving my understanding of the process and that has helped me to gain admission to a top business school in US.
Thanks Chris and Tyler.

Best
iAqua4

Read More


1 Older and Non-Verified Review for MBAPrepSchool