GMAT Club

Essay Review Reviews

 
myEssayReview
myEssayReview offers a dedicated, personalized, and affordable consulting service to B-School applicants. With three decades of experience in India and the US, Poonam Tandon, myEssayReview owner, founded this venture in 2011. Since then, Poonam has helped hundreds of students get accepted into their dream schools in the US ( Kellogg, Booth, Darden, Wharton, Haas, Duke, Columbia, Kelley, Emory, Tuck, Yale, Rice, UCLA), in Europe (LBS, HEC, INSEAD, IESE, Oxford, Cambridge, IE, Imperial etc.), and in Asia (ISB, HKUS, NUS).

Poonam has also helped many students get accepted into undergraduate programs, specialized Master's programs and Ph.D. programs. Overall, Poonam has reviewed over 9,000 essays written by students from all over the world. Also, her students have won over $12,536,800 in scholarships.

No matter where you are located, myEssayReview can help you create a stellar application that will earn you admission into your dream school. Learn more about myEssayReview.

4.9 /5 Average Rating
5 star
49
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 54 reviews
September 25, 2019
CBS21

Joined: Sep 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted Into Columbia Business School! - Thanks Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Poonam helped me put the finishing touches on my essays, which gave me the engaging story I needed to earn a place at a coveted M7. While another consultant helped me get started crafting drafts of my essays, I wasn't satisfied with the final product. Poonam was recommended to me based on her creative writing style. After an in-depth Skype discussion to understand content and structure, Poonam began helping me edit and revise my essays to be more poignant and convincing. Her turnaround time was impressive and her edits always moved the ball forward. I would highly recommend her services for anyone struggling with their essay writing.

Read More

July 14, 2019
Username1738

Joined: May 03, 2019

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Fantastic Top- Tier Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Poonam on both my essay and my resume for the USC part time program and I was accepted with a scholarship. I had a very tight deadline so USC was the only school that I applied to and Poonam was absolutely amazing in helping me perfect both my essay and resume in less than 2 weeks.

She took the time to schedule two initial 45 minute video calls so she could truly understand me. She expects a lot out of her clients, which is what makes her so successful, and really pushed me on several occasions to think outside the box when drafting my story. Her greatest strength is her creativity and her ability to help you brainstorm to create a compelling story. My essay started off at 750-800 words and with Poonam's help, we got it to down to the 500 limit without losing any meaning. Poonam helped me create a masterpiece essay that I was proud of.

I was a little reluctant at first to also pay for the resume service but I'm so glad that I did because she completely transformed my resume by removing the industry jargon that Adcom has no interested in and pushed me to add the necessary content that Adcom wanted to see.

Her prices are very competitive given the amount of time that she puts into each service. I wholeheartedly recommend Poonam for anyone looking for an MBA consultant.

Read More

May 04, 2019
checkinsaheli

Joined: Jan 25, 2014

Posts: 3

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
550 Q42 V24

Loved working with Poonam Mam, #Myessayreview

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I am an egmat student and I got to know about Poonam Mam from a free session via egmat. I instantly liked it, then I read a few more reviews about her and her dedication towards admission consulting. I wanted to work with her the day I got over with my GMAT.
After my GMAT, I contacted Poonam mam. She was on a work tour but nevertheless she replied to my email and said that she would have free session with me, the first thing when she comes back. I was still left with another attempt to my GMAT exam and was in a dilemma whether to start the application work. She kept her promise, she remembered me and set up a session with me. The session lasted well beyond the stipulated time. She was so very patient and heard my confusion, my various questions and tried to answer them all. She advised me to finish off with my exam and then concentrate on my applications as I could not have managed both. She never tried to persuade me to take her services instead gave me all knowledge she could impart about applications so that I take the best decisions. Not many consultants do such a thing!
She was so warm and honest
i decided that day that I will work her. We finally started working on my Oxford Application and LORs. She was so very punctual about the work she delivers, she was always before time, answered all queries over mail, our first essay drafting session was so useful: she explained each and everything we could put in the essay, all the changes she wanted me to make, the positives and negatives. I felt very confident about the final product. After I reworked the essay I could feel the difference. She was so detailed in her reviews that you would not have any doubts. The final product was crisp and perfect. I was very happy with my application from within. I joined her on a very short notice but even then she made sure I had my essays perfectly written and before time. I admire the fact that she is so organised. I am a very anxious person who is not very organised and very fussy about the products I need to make. Poonam mam was very patient, structured and knew the art of perfection. She was also worried about the sleepless nights I was spending for application and took out time to inquire about my health, advised me to take care and not be so stressed.
Though I did not make it to Oxford, I was very happy with my application and confident too.[I knew essays were not the reason I could not get in]. I got admits from a number of universities where I used the LORs edited by her.
Even now, when I mail her regarding which university to join, she promptly replies, gives suggestions and asks me for further queries .
Poonam mam is one of the best persons I have come across, along with the professionalism and commitment she is a wonderful person besides being the best consultant. I will work with her in future when needed and do recommend her services!

Read More

April 26, 2019
GMCR

Joined: Apr 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

My experience with MER was great. I had initially brainstormed and written 10 pages of content. I then had to choose the best parts and condense those 10 pages into 500 and 750 word essays. A few days before the 1 hour skype call, I sent this 10 page document to Poonam. She reviewed it and had a better understanding of my story. During the skype call we went over which parts of those 10 pages would fit together to form a good story. We also discussed how we would be tackling different essays from different institutions. We then started working on essays from one school at a time. The turnaround was quick. I usually responded within a day and Poonam did the same. If she was unable to respond with the 24-48 hour period due to prior commitments, she let me know in advance. Poonam also did a great job in reducing the word count and bringing it within the limit. It was hard to decide which parts to cut, but we managed to keep most of it by changing the sentence structure. She also helped me with an optional essay to explain my education gap of a year and a half.
I ended up getting admitted to all the three schools on which we worked together (GW, University of Sydney, and DeGroote at McMaster University), getting scholarships from two (GW, Sydney). Overall, it was a great experience working with Poonam, and I would recommend her services to anyone looking for guidance and help getting their essays ready.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2019
iue232

Joined: Apr 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Authentic Guidance

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After reading Poonam’s profile and testimonials, I was sure that Poonam would guide me to retain a personal touch in the essays and help portray ‘me’. I did not feel that MER is very commercially focused, rather a service that ensures proper guidance and genuine support during the tedious yet thrilling application process. I got a clear understanding of the work function methodology of MER that helped us to set appropriate expectations, areas of improvement, understanding the application from the viewpoint of ad-com. The most exciting part was connecting the dots to build a story flow.

Poonam had a very good understanding of my profile; this was evident from her suggestions during the editing process. She asked questions whenever she felt something was vague. Her manner of editing the stories while adhering to the key components in the challenging word limit keeps the message intact. The structure was logical and helped me understand the flow. Actually, Poonam’s suggestion for organizing the essays helped me learn this technique, which I have started applying to my professional work emails – the lengthy ones. I remember during one school’s essay editing process, she separated paragraphs, and that made the essay more comprehensible. For all essays, the sentence structure was crisp, and punctuations positioning were sensible. This was also very helpful during the resume preparation.

Poonam is very prompt in answering any queries and followed up if I missed any of the ongoing points of suggestion/discussion during the editing process. Poonam was very professional in turnarounds. She sent all edits within two days’ period as promised.

I am happy to say that I have received an admit offer from one of the top 20 US B-schools, and I have accepted it. Thanks, Poonam, for your guidance. Yes, I would definitely recommend MER to any of my friends looking for an admission consultant to help with their MS/MBA application process.

Read More

February 04, 2019
rharris095

Joined: Feb 14, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

Excellent experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

It was great working with Poonam! I was on a very tight deadline and she was able to accommodate. We set a schedule and stuck to it in order to meet the deadline. She took a sincere interest in my application and wanted the best outcome for me. She gave great ideas on how to improve my essays. I think her biggest strength is being able to link the essays together so that they are consistent with the story of the applicant. She is very detail oriented and knows what the schools like to see. I would work with her again in a heartbeat and recommend her to anyone looking for essay reviews.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 02, 2019
bogrady4343

Joined: Sep 11, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q49 V41

I don’t consider my ability to write essays as a personal strength. I wanted someone with extensive knowledge and experience with the MBA process to be able to help guide and trim down my essays. I stumbled upon MER while searching for a Consultant. After reading the reviews, I decided to go with Poonam of MER.

I thought the 1- hour skype session was really informative. I liked that Poonam had reviewed two of my essays prior to the skype session, so she already had an idea of where I wanted to go with the stories prior to us having our conversation. I also liked how she walked me through her thought process as she reviewed essays during the conversation. Poonam had a pretty thorough understanding of my profile and really helped me position my leadership experience from the military throughout my essays. She was aware of pretty much everything I had put on the questionnaire and was able to guide me during our skype session.

Flow was one of the main reasons I wanted to use her services. As she edited my essays, I definitely believed the story became clearer. I struggled with flow in essays, and I believe each final essay draft told a great story. Poonam did a great job of pruning down the word count without sacrificing the main pieces of the story that I wanted to convey. No problem with the sentence structure, grammar, or punctuation used. Zero issues with the final copies I received. Hats off to her!!! I could not have asked for anything better. She answered all my queries within 24 hours and adhered to 48-hour turnaround time on every edit. I appreciated her quick response and turnaround time.

I really enjoyed going through this process with Poonam. I liked how she made suggestions regarding content that she felt might be beneficial but never pushed me to make the changes. At the end of the day ,the essays and content remained mine. I would definitely recommend her services.

Thank you, Poonam. I got accepted to all the three schools you assisted me with- Duke, CMU, and Cornell! I’m extremely excited to pick between the three.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 27, 2018
Rishirajchauhan

Joined: Jun 18, 2016

Posts: 7

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

I got accepted SAID Oxford!!! Thanks, Poonam for all your help!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The main reason to sign up for MER services was to get personalized advice from an experienced professional. MER being a one-person company, all the clients are handled by Poonam and Poonam alone. The 1-hour skype session was very productive and helpful in finalizing essays’ content. Poonam, after 1-hour skype session, had a very good understanding of where my strengths and weaknesses are. I feel, after editing, my essays were totally revamped- better in organization and coherent in communicating the main idea.

She has excellent editing skills, especially reducing words without omitting critical information from the essays. Also, I found her very proactive in replying to my queries, as I had many since I was applying for first time. She is stickler of timelines and always responded with in the agreed timeline/ deadline.

I had a very pleasant experience working with her.

I have been admitted to Said Oxford. Thank you so much for your diligent support and guidance along the way. I really appreciate the efforts you put in making my candidacy stronger for Said Business School. I shall most definitely recommend Poonam services to other prospective applicants.

Read More

December 12, 2018
Hanonymous

Joined: Dec 02, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
600 Q36 V35

Essay and Resume Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Writing an effective essay for an MBA program is not an easy task. It takes not only good writing skills but also good knowledge of how Universities want to hear your history. The limited word count makes it even more challenging.

After doing my homework and reading several reviews online, I identified Poonam as the best resource to help me. Her pricing is competitive, and her clients are satisfied. After my first 30min conversation with her, I confirmed that she was the one. The one-hour counselling session was very comprehensive where Poonam helped me identify what stories I should share in my essays. Poonam was very good at understanding my profile . Without her support, I wouldn’t have been able to organize my story. Poonam gave me the structure/pointers I should follow, and she also demonstrated with examples where I failed to address the content properly.

Poonam’s editing skills are excellent. I liked her editing system; it makes it easier on both of us. Whenever I had any queries/concerns, she quickly provided me very straightforward and objective responses. Regarding timelines, Poonam followed the established timelines that we both had agreed upon before enrolling for her services.

Poonam, you were instrumental to my success. I couldn't have done it without you! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!

Read More

August 17, 2018
acosta

Joined: May 14, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
700 Q45 V40

Accepted at IMD MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

IMD is very selective and only asks for 1 essay so I knew that my essay had to be perfect to get in. Accordingly , I decided to invest in essay review services to increase my chances. After quite a lot of research, reading reviews, etc. I came across "myEssayReview" and started talking with Poonam. Poonam knows what she is doing and is always very helpful. One thing that I really liked about her services is that she helps you and corrects the grammar of your essays but she does not do the job for you. As a result you will end up with an essay that is truly yours, that reflects your character and values and that has your ideas and writing style. For all of these reasons I would strongly recommend the services of "myEssayReview". Good luck for your applications

Read More


22 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for myEssayReview