GMAT Club

Essay Review Reviews

 
myEssayReview
myEssayReview offers a dedicated, personalized, and affordable consulting service to B-School applicants. With three decades of experience in India and the US, Poonam Tandon, myEssayReview owner, founded this venture in 2011. Since then, Poonam has helped hundreds of students get accepted into their dream schools in the US ( Kellogg, Booth, Darden, Wharton, Haas, Duke, Columbia, Kelley, Emory, Tuck, Yale, Rice, UCLA), in Europe (LBS, HEC, INSEAD, IESE, Oxford, Cambridge, IE, Imperial etc.), and in Asia (ISB, HKUS, NUS).

Poonam has also helped many students get accepted into undergraduate programs, specialized Master's programs and Ph.D. programs. Overall, Poonam has reviewed over 9,000 essays written by students from all over the world. Also, her students have won over $12,536,800 in scholarships.

No matter where you are located, myEssayReview can help you create a stellar application that will earn you admission into your dream school. Learn more about myEssayReview.

4.9 /5 Average Rating
5 star
53
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 58 reviews
April 20, 2020
duschuch

Joined: Sep 17, 2019

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Essays + LoR + CV Package

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up for MER because needed advice in choosing the right stories to tell, how to tell, and make them connect properly. In the first counseling session, we discussed my background and accomplishments, which helped me a lot to improve the essay. She understood my story well and helped me effectively position them. I liked how she structured one essay to the other one and helped me align them to the LoR to make sure the complete picture looked fine. I think proper organization is Poonam’s strongest point! She was a great help in organizing details to make the story flow better, especially because my essays were huge, and I had difficulty in putting everything together to fit on the word count. Her editing skills are excellent, and the final versions were perfect in content, organization, and grammar.

Her guidance on the LoR was excellent. My recommenders also commented that her feedback was constructive to help them improve the LoRs. I didn’t raise many questions other than the comments on the word files; all my questions were replied satisfactorily. Everything worked fine, including turnarounds, as we agreed before starting our work. I liked the result, and I feel that my application would be definitely much weaker without her help. I am happy to be accepted into the full-time MBA program of M7 program – MIT. Overall, I enjoyed working with Poonam, and I would like to recommend MER services to prospective applicants.

Read More

April 08, 2020
WillLumbergh

Joined: Apr 07, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q44 V37

Accepted into Kellogg MBA Program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Working with Poonam from MyEssayReview was a fantastic experience from start to finish and a successful one. Poonam is diligent and efficient with her work, and on my short timeline, this was critical. She was able to push the pace to give us plenty of time to work diligently, with time to spare. I had two very rough drafts, and Poonam was able to take a tailored approach to each one, which helped me develop them into well-told stories that I couldn’t have been happier with.

The 1-hour skype session was fantastic for establishing rapport and understanding of each other’s style and personality. I felt that we were able to introduce ourselves, establish goals and objectives, and also answer initial questions on the prompts and drafts within an hour. We did some brainstorming as well and were able to come up with a game plan efficiently. I felt that my voice and story were well-understood from the first time I submitted a draft. The skype session reinforced this, and I was comfortable with the tone of each edit and how it matched my intent.

Writing has never been my strength, and from the beginning, Poonam learned about the stories I wanted to tell and the personality I wanted to shine through, providing feedback on how to achieve that. Poonam helped me break down both prompts much better than I had on my own and weave everything together in a way that was consistent and meaningful. I struggled a lot in organizing my thoughts. It was a blessing to have my words restructured in meaningful ways; the edit tracking helped see the progression and rationale behind each change.

My questions were always addressed in a timely manner. The dialogue was always open, and the turnaround time was better than the 48-hour target. She was very diligent and timely in returning drafts and revisions ahead of schedule, which helped me finish both essays on a very short timeline and apply earlier than I thought I’d be able to. Poonam also took the time to bring in additional resources, sharing examples she had worked on for similar prompts when I was struggling to communicate a story the way I wanted.

Everything was fantastic, and I appreciate the accelerated service. I am accepted into Kellogg’s part-time MBA program. I would recommend MER services and plan to online and to friends.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 25, 2020
mbaguy1122

Joined: May 31, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Admitted into Duke Fuqua weekend MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was looking for help with my resume review and essay review. When I browsed through My Essay Review (MER) site, I really liked Poonam's essay samples for various executive MBA programs. The feedback provided by her clients on various websites was also quite impressive. Encouraged by these reviews, I decided to give My Essay Review a shot by signing up for a free introductory call.

My first call with Poonam was an introductory call where she tried to learn about my profile. What really struck me was her enthusiasm and positive attitude for my success. She was extremely transparent about turn around times and did not try to "over promise" her services. Even before I signed up as her client, Poonam offered a few suggestions on my resume. I liked Poonam's candid approach and signed up for the essay review and resume review services.

There are several things that I really appreciated about MER services. First and foremost, Poonam's process was very methodical. Every time we met for a phone discussion, both of us were in on the same page regarding the goals for the meeting and turn around times. This really helped in planning my application submission tasks as I was juggling a lot of things.

Secondly, Poonam has a knack for storytelling. Her discovery process for unearthing "aha" moments were spot on and very convincing. She asked the right questions to uncover hero stories from my professional and non-profit experience. The storytelling technique was useful to further refine my resume and essays so that my unique marketing handle stood out as a candidate. Very very important for a successful MBA application.

Lastly, throughout the process, I knew that Poonam cared about my success. She was very empathetic, encouraging yet candid. In my opinion, a very important but challenging set of qualities a consultant must possess.

When I completed my essays and resume, I felt very confident about my chances. I also enjoyed the process and learned a few strategies regarding the "Storytelling" process.

Overall, I am very satisfied with My Essay Review and recommend My Essay Review's services for anyone looking to embellish their essays or resume and get their true story out in the best possible manner!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 27, 2019
ivorycoast

Joined: Dec 27, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q49 V33

While looking for a Consultant, I wanted someone who knows MBA programs well in the USA and has long experience in editing MBA essays. I got a recommendation from my friend and read some comments from other applicants that MER provides quality essay service and found Poonam to be the right person to work with. Poonam’s suggestions and guidance gave me a general idea about the workflow and what I needed to improve on my essays. Poonam was very patient to give me support even when I faced some problems in seeing comments because of tech issues. Going through the comments one by one gave me a clear idea about how to make edits on my stories. I got many insightful reviews and suggestions throughout my application process, which made me believe that Poonam had a good understanding of my profile. She provided a clear structure of the essay organization and pointers of each paragraph. Her logical feedback on how to structure the essay and organize details was exceptionally helpful as I had no clue about how to even start the essay. Poonam answered all my questions, replied to my comments in the essay, and provided me feedback about the decisions to be made. The turnaround was very fast, and I got feedback on the edits within 24-48 hours. It maintained a good workflow and encouraged me to keep pace with her.
My overall working experience with Poonam was great. So far, I have received admits from 3 schools - Kelley, Simon and Questrom with huge scholarships. My success would not have been possible without Poonam’s help and support. I greatly appreciate every bit of work she has helped me with. I would gladly recommend her services to prospective MBA candidates. Thank you very much, Poonam, and I wish you well in every aspect of your life!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 25, 2019
CBS21

Joined: Sep 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted Into Columbia Business School! - Thanks Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Poonam helped me put the finishing touches on my essays, which gave me the engaging story I needed to earn a place at a coveted M7. While another consultant helped me get started crafting drafts of my essays, I wasn't satisfied with the final product. Poonam was recommended to me based on her creative writing style. After an in-depth Skype discussion to understand content and structure, Poonam began helping me edit and revise my essays to be more poignant and convincing. Her turnaround time was impressive and her edits always moved the ball forward. I would highly recommend her services for anyone struggling with their essay writing.

Read More

July 14, 2019
Username1738

Joined: May 03, 2019

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Fantastic Top- Tier Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Poonam on both my essay and my resume for the USC part time program and I was accepted with a scholarship. I had a very tight deadline so USC was the only school that I applied to and Poonam was absolutely amazing in helping me perfect both my essay and resume in less than 2 weeks.

She took the time to schedule two initial 45 minute video calls so she could truly understand me. She expects a lot out of her clients, which is what makes her so successful, and really pushed me on several occasions to think outside the box when drafting my story. Her greatest strength is her creativity and her ability to help you brainstorm to create a compelling story. My essay started off at 750-800 words and with Poonam's help, we got it to down to the 500 limit without losing any meaning. Poonam helped me create a masterpiece essay that I was proud of.

I was a little reluctant at first to also pay for the resume service but I'm so glad that I did because she completely transformed my resume by removing the industry jargon that Adcom has no interested in and pushed me to add the necessary content that Adcom wanted to see.

Her prices are very competitive given the amount of time that she puts into each service. I wholeheartedly recommend Poonam for anyone looking for an MBA consultant.

Read More

May 04, 2019
checkinsaheli

Joined: Jan 25, 2014

Posts: 3

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
550 Q42 V24

Loved working with Poonam Mam, #Myessayreview

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I am an egmat student and I got to know about Poonam Mam from a free session via egmat. I instantly liked it, then I read a few more reviews about her and her dedication towards admission consulting. I wanted to work with her the day I got over with my GMAT.
After my GMAT, I contacted Poonam mam. She was on a work tour but nevertheless she replied to my email and said that she would have free session with me, the first thing when she comes back. I was still left with another attempt to my GMAT exam and was in a dilemma whether to start the application work. She kept her promise, she remembered me and set up a session with me. The session lasted well beyond the stipulated time. She was so very patient and heard my confusion, my various questions and tried to answer them all. She advised me to finish off with my exam and then concentrate on my applications as I could not have managed both. She never tried to persuade me to take her services instead gave me all knowledge she could impart about applications so that I take the best decisions. Not many consultants do such a thing!
She was so warm and honest
i decided that day that I will work her. We finally started working on my Oxford Application and LORs. She was so very punctual about the work she delivers, she was always before time, answered all queries over mail, our first essay drafting session was so useful: she explained each and everything we could put in the essay, all the changes she wanted me to make, the positives and negatives. I felt very confident about the final product. After I reworked the essay I could feel the difference. She was so detailed in her reviews that you would not have any doubts. The final product was crisp and perfect. I was very happy with my application from within. I joined her on a very short notice but even then she made sure I had my essays perfectly written and before time. I admire the fact that she is so organised. I am a very anxious person who is not very organised and very fussy about the products I need to make. Poonam mam was very patient, structured and knew the art of perfection. She was also worried about the sleepless nights I was spending for application and took out time to inquire about my health, advised me to take care and not be so stressed.
Though I did not make it to Oxford, I was very happy with my application and confident too.[I knew essays were not the reason I could not get in]. I got admits from a number of universities where I used the LORs edited by her.
Even now, when I mail her regarding which university to join, she promptly replies, gives suggestions and asks me for further queries .
Poonam mam is one of the best persons I have come across, along with the professionalism and commitment she is a wonderful person besides being the best consultant. I will work with her in future when needed and do recommend her services!

Read More

April 26, 2019
GMCR

Joined: Apr 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

My experience with MER was great. I had initially brainstormed and written 10 pages of content. I then had to choose the best parts and condense those 10 pages into 500 and 750 word essays. A few days before the 1 hour skype call, I sent this 10 page document to Poonam. She reviewed it and had a better understanding of my story. During the skype call we went over which parts of those 10 pages would fit together to form a good story. We also discussed how we would be tackling different essays from different institutions. We then started working on essays from one school at a time. The turnaround was quick. I usually responded within a day and Poonam did the same. If she was unable to respond with the 24-48 hour period due to prior commitments, she let me know in advance. Poonam also did a great job in reducing the word count and bringing it within the limit. It was hard to decide which parts to cut, but we managed to keep most of it by changing the sentence structure. She also helped me with an optional essay to explain my education gap of a year and a half.
I ended up getting admitted to all the three schools on which we worked together (GW, University of Sydney, and DeGroote at McMaster University), getting scholarships from two (GW, Sydney). Overall, it was a great experience working with Poonam, and I would recommend her services to anyone looking for guidance and help getting their essays ready.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2019
iue232

Joined: Apr 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Authentic Guidance

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After reading Poonam’s profile and testimonials, I was sure that Poonam would guide me to retain a personal touch in the essays and help portray ‘me’. I did not feel that MER is very commercially focused, rather a service that ensures proper guidance and genuine support during the tedious yet thrilling application process. I got a clear understanding of the work function methodology of MER that helped us to set appropriate expectations, areas of improvement, understanding the application from the viewpoint of ad-com. The most exciting part was connecting the dots to build a story flow.

Poonam had a very good understanding of my profile; this was evident from her suggestions during the editing process. She asked questions whenever she felt something was vague. Her manner of editing the stories while adhering to the key components in the challenging word limit keeps the message intact. The structure was logical and helped me understand the flow. Actually, Poonam’s suggestion for organizing the essays helped me learn this technique, which I have started applying to my professional work emails – the lengthy ones. I remember during one school’s essay editing process, she separated paragraphs, and that made the essay more comprehensible. For all essays, the sentence structure was crisp, and punctuations positioning were sensible. This was also very helpful during the resume preparation.

Poonam is very prompt in answering any queries and followed up if I missed any of the ongoing points of suggestion/discussion during the editing process. Poonam was very professional in turnarounds. She sent all edits within two days’ period as promised.

I am happy to say that I have received an admit offer from one of the top 20 US B-schools, and I have accepted it. Thanks, Poonam, for your guidance. Yes, I would definitely recommend MER to any of my friends looking for an admission consultant to help with their MS/MBA application process.

Read More

February 04, 2019
rharris095

Joined: Feb 14, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

Excellent experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

It was great working with Poonam! I was on a very tight deadline and she was able to accommodate. We set a schedule and stuck to it in order to meet the deadline. She took a sincere interest in my application and wanted the best outcome for me. She gave great ideas on how to improve my essays. I think her biggest strength is being able to link the essays together so that they are consistent with the story of the applicant. She is very detail oriented and knows what the schools like to see. I would work with her again in a heartbeat and recommend her to anyone looking for essay reviews.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

22 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for myEssayReview