GMAT Club

Dia Draper Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 24 reviews
February 24, 2018
khchi

Joined: May 18, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V44

Highly Recommend Dia!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Like many others, I was hesitant to invest in consulting services to assist with my MBA application process, but after a great intro call with Dia (who was clearly the best of the ~4 consultants I spoke with for free consultations), I decided to take the plunge. It was the right choice. Working with Dia was a great experience, and I don't know that I would have had such strong admissions results without her. (I was admitted to Booth, HBS, Kellogg, and Tuck).

Dia is a great listener, and I always felt that her feedback was about helping me communicate my experiences and explain my goals in the most genuine and compelling way possible as opposed to shaping my applications into what an adcom would "want to hear." She was easy to schedule time with, responsive via email, and provided a healthy mix of encouragement and constructive feedback. I also found the mock interviews she walked me through to be very helpful. The questions she asked mirrored the questions I got during my actual interviews, so I felt well prepared throughout the process.

To summarize, Dia is great and I would highly recommend her to future applicants.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 15, 2018
younganalyst

Joined: Dec 14, 2014

Posts: 4

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

Best Decision I ever made

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was a little hesitant when I first researched admissions consulting. The prices seemed high and there were so many different companies and packages to choose from. After applying and being dinged by four schools, I decided I needed the extra help from an admissions consultant to achieve my dream of a top MBA. I ultimately decided to use the hourly service from Veritas Prep. This turned out to be one of the best decisions I ever made. I underestimated how powerful the truly external perspective can be for an MBA applicant. The feedback and encouragement I received kept me going when I was down and ultimately helped me craft a great application that got me an acceptance and scholarship. The resources that Veritas has are unmatched. My consultant tailored the service to me and helped me in the exact ways I needed. The hourly service was perfect for me from a value perspective because as a re-applicant, I already had done a lot of leg work previously.

I honestly don’t think I would be in the position I am in now heading off to a top MBA without the help of my consultant and Veritas Prep.

Read More

January 13, 2018
abolto07

Joined: Jan 13, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Dia Draper - Admissions consultant and so much more

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As a transitioning military officer, I under-estimated the exhaustive nature of the MBA application process. I could not have done it without Dia. Dia was my advisor for my application to the Tuck School of Business - my number one choice. Dia is organized, helped me manage our time well, provided timely (near instant) feedback, and above all, Dia listened. I think this last point is what made her feedback so valuable. Dia immediately figured out who I am, what is important to me, what my strengths are, and how an MBA could help ME specifically. This is important, especially for military veterans applying to grad school - we don't know what we don't know, especially if you are on a busy deployment cycle or in a competitive branch that requires long hours and constant focus.

When reviewing my essays, Dia's feedback was excellent and perfectly tailored to me - not a standard "rule of thumb" or cookie cutter answer. This helped me maintain completely genuine and authentic nature, tone, and statements throughout my essays and application as a whole - always finding the best way to highlight strengths and not explain away weaknesses but build a case for why an MBA is necessary.

Dia was always organized. One of the things Dia did that I appreciated was put up auto-replies on her email that kept me aware of her schedule, travel plans, availability, deadlines, expected turn-around time, and other planning factors. This was important as I always knew what time constraints Dia had and could factor them into my planning. It also provided tips or things to be thinking about in between phone calls or email responses that allowed concurrent efforts.

I recommend Dia to anyone looking for assistance in the MBA application process. I think you will find Dia is an amazing coach and mentor just as I did.

APB

Read More

December 15, 2017
rugbywing

Joined: Dec 15, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V46

Great Interview Prep and More

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Dia was a huge help in my application process!

I had not interviewed for any new position in over 5 years and had not conducted a resume-based interview since high school. Even though it was an initial consultation, she immediately jumped into preparations when she found out I had an interview scheduled for that week. Her pointed questions and feedback definitely helped me developed my "Tell Me About Yourself" and "Walk Me Through Your Resume" answers, allowing me to get off on the right foot. She also provided good feedback on my essays for Tuck.

Overall, she obviously cared about my application individually and helped bring out more of the personality behind my resume and essays which I believe was key to my interview success.

I would highly recommend Dia to another MBA candidate!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 11, 2017
mboston20

Joined: Dec 10, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q44 V39

Dia-Veritas Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was lucky enough to be paired with Dia for help with the admission process, and I am so thankful for all of her support and guidance. Dia was fantastic and from the day we had our first phone conversation, I could tell she was completely invested in seeing me succeed. Dia was highly accessible through phone, email, and text and she was there to help me every step of the way. I applied to 3 schools and Dia helped me prepare for school visits/interviews and provided support when I retook my GMAT.
Of the 3 schools I applied to, Duke-Fuqua was my number one and Dia advised me to apply in the Early Action round to have the best shot at admission. Although the application was due in early September, Dia worked with me throughout the summer reviewing drafts of my essays, refining my story, and connecting me with a Fuqua specialist admissions consultant at Veritas for extra support. The Fuqua specialist was incredibly helpful in preparing me for my interview, and I greatly appreciated his invaluable insights and learning about his experience at Fuqua.
I applied to the 3 schools in the earliest rounds available and ultimately, I was accepted into Fuqua!! I cannot imagine having gone through this process without Dia’s guidance and I wholeheartedly recommend her!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 05, 2017
dkasper

Joined: Jul 05, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Dia Draper- Veritas Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I purchased the three school package (Wharton, HBS, CBS) from Veritas Prep. My head consultant was Dia Draper.

The process as a whole was very positive. Dia got to know me, my background, etc. She asked me to take the GMAT a second time, which I did. She helped me to work my 'ground game' with the schools, events, etc. During essay season, the school specialists helped me to understand the best way to position my story. Dia then helped with the versions. She was very responsive and turnaround times were great. Dia helped me prep for my interviews as well.

Overall, Dia was worth every penny. The school specialists were good. The Ultimate Admissions Committee turns out to actually only be one person, but it's great to have their feedback since they don't know you, your story, etc.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 12, 2017
aabbaabbaabbaabb

Joined: Aug 16, 2016

Posts: 10

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
760 Q50 V44

Dia was wonderful!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I started working with Dia in July of last year. My application had a few challenges and Dia helped me present myself in the best light possible. She went above and beyond to read draft after draft of essays and help me prep for interviews. She offered thoughtful feedback and asked questions that got me to dig deeper into my responses. Most importantly, she gave me confidence in my application and interviews - it was a tough process and I can't imagine doing it without her guidance and support. Do yourself a favor and sign up for Dia's help - you won't regret it.

Read More

May 12, 2017
arossoreilly

Joined: Mar 08, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Dia Draper A+

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I worked with Dia throughout my admissions process -- she was incredible. Dia helped me refine my story so that I was the most compelling version of myself when submitting applications and interviewing. I definitely did the work, but Dia was key in pointing me down the right path(s) and pushing me to do my homework. At different times she was cheerleader, coach, mentor, and speaker of hard truths.

Dia is busy (I think most consultants are) -- but she managed to stay organized and keep the details of my particular situation fresh in her head. She was always responsive and available on email, text, phone, etc. I can't recommend Dia highly enough!

Read More

May 12, 2017
nitinjacobbiju

Joined: Aug 21, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The complicated MBA applications

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

The applications to MBA schools are trickery. The winners are the students who choose and get admitted to the school which suite them best and where they ought to be. I was way off when i applied my first time. Although Dia from Veriats had clearly pointed me to the right direction she stuck with my personal choices. Even when i was rejected by all, her encouragement helped me beyond words can express. Finally when i got admitted to the school which best suites my profile all her words feel like gospel now. The veritas team is the best: they are not adamant or choosy but guide all students who come to them without any regard to the time spent or resources they invest. Working with them was FANTASTIC. I can vouch that their methodology in which each school's application is scrutinized by school specific experts and all the other members examining the application is really good. They are very result oriented rather than reosurce minded.

Read More

April 17, 2017
dpp1990

Joined: Mar 29, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

An Investment That Pays --- Dia Draper

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

At first, I was reluctant to engage an MBA admissions consultant. Being someone who is well organized and knew his “why MBA” story, an admissions consultant seemed unnecessary. I could not have been more wrong. After watching Dia’s Ted Talks ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PzrWM4m_qXU) , I knew that if I was going to use a consultant she was going to be it. Six months later, I have been admitted to Duke Fuqua, NYU Stern, Virginia Darden, UNC Kenan-Flagler, Texas McCombs and USC Marshall. I will be attending Darden on a scholarship next fall. While hard work and preparation helped me yield these results, Dia was the magic touch that ensured I marketed myself in the right way to each program.

Throughout the process I learned that schools don’t just want GPA, GMAT and brand name firms---they want to know who you are and that their program can actually help you achieve your long-term goals. Having many friends that went through this MBA application cycle with less than favorable results, I will be the first to tell you that I 100% believe that the MBA brand, essays and strategies that Dia helped me develop made the difference.

After submitting my first draft essays to Dia (I thought they were pretty good!), I received an email saying “Let’s connect….”. Within a day, Dia and I were on the phone discussing why I really wanted an MBA. Dia knew my non-traditional goal to go into Real Estate Development would meet scrutiny with AdComs, so she spent over an hour drilling down into why I wanted to pursue this career path. After multiple draft revisions, I had a concise and powerful essay. It was from this conversation that I delivered my programs with the strongest essays possible and was able to delivery my “why MBA” pitch without any reluctance. Specifically, this conversation paid off at NYU when the first thing my interviewer told me was “you do not need an MBA. Prove to me why this makes sense”. From my multiple strategy sessions with Dia, I was able to deliver my pitch in a high-pressure situation seamlessly.

From day one, I was transparent with Dia that while my GPA, extracurriculars and WE were strong that my GMAT would be an issue. Via Dia’s experience in working at Tuck and Darden, she was able to provide real insight into how the AdCom would respond to my GMAT score. Anticipating that GMAT would be my Achilles heel, Dia created a strategy to show case that my quant skills are solid.

If I had to do this process again, I would use Dia any day. Beyond the admissions cycle, I know that Dia and I will remain in contact as she is just a great person in general.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

2 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Dia Draper