GMAT Club

Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course Reviews

There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan GMAT courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
4.8 /5 Average Rating
5 star
358
4 star
43
3 star
6
2 star
1
1 star
2
Based on 410 reviews
December 11, 2020
mufasa96

Joined: Nov 11, 2018

Posts: 6

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41

Great Methodologies at MPrep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The 9-week course offered by MPrep greatly helped in laying a structured and clear plan to take the GMAT, thanks to MPrep's online syllabus in Atlas and the programme outline.

Jamie is a fantastic instructor, she is very effective in transmitting knowledge despite the online format. Thanks to her teaching skills I could embrace a steep learning curve. Apart from teaching the course material, she shared valuable advice and tips with regards to revision and test-taking strategies. An important aspect of my improvement was to keep motivated and embrace preparation with a positive and optimistic attitude, something Jamie transfers in class.

Outside of the syllabus, the Post-Course Assessment with Jamie was essential in preparing the final study plan ahead of the exam. Moreover, should you not reach your target score, a Post-Exam Assessment is offered with another expert instructor. This served as a pivotal point as I could get a different view from Ryan Starr on how to address my weaknesses (particularly in Verbal). MPrep also has a fantastic forum managed by Stacey Koprice where you can get very good advice if you articulate your questions/doubts precisely.

I could not be happier with Jamie, Ryan, the MPrep programme and the support offered! Excellent ROI in terms of both money and time.

Read More

December 27, 2020
PaulQ

Joined: Dec 19, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

Jamie Nelson is Incredible

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jamie Nelson and the Manhattan Prep team are the reason I scored a 710 and am competitive at any program. The course is tailored toward the needs of the class and Jamie provides tips that cannot me found anywhere else.
She is responsive outside of class and is truly interested in her student's success. I want to especially point out that I am a non-native speaker and scored in the 96th percentile in Verbal. Jamie provides a great process to attack any question and helps you feel confident no matter what level question you face.
She is your best shot at a 700+ score!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 29, 2020
vraghavan7

Joined: Mar 14, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q49 V42

Mark Sullivan is AMAZING

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

The GMAT is daunting, and I didn't know where to start studying. Thankfully I stumbled upon this Manhattan Prep course and decided I might as well invest in something this important. Luckily, Mark was extremely well prepared, easygoing, and fed us exactly what we needed to know in order to ace every section. We worked through problems in class and strategies for dealing with pesky data sufficiency or critical reasoning questions that I struggled with. He showed us how to analyze our practice tests to hone in on what we should revise and time strategies. I ended up with a 750 that somehow got me into Stanford GSB, and I owe it to Mark!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 11, 2020
cardude011

Joined: Nov 11, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V41

Thank you Manhattan Prep for helping me realize my GMAT potential!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I recently took an online 9-week Manhattan Prep GMAT Complete Course and had an absolutely phenomenal experience! This course is perfect for anyone who wants a thorough understanding of the ins/outs of tackling the GMAT smarter in addition to harder. The course itself goes quite deep into Quant & Verbal, but you are able to figure out your strengths and weaknesses pretty quickly and tailor your study time accordingly. My instructor, Christine Defenbaugh, was extremely effective at getting us into the "executive mindset" required for success on the exam, and taught us countless handy strategies for maximizing time and making difficult problems easy. In addition to the standard course, after taking the official GMAT a first time and falling short of my target score, I took advantage of Manhattan Prep's "Post-Exam Assessment," where I worked with Jamie Nelson to really hone in on my weaknesses and improve on them the second time. Overall, cannot speak highly enough of the Manhattan Prep experience and highly recommend to anyone else out there looking to maximize their GMAT potential!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 07, 2020
VicenteRubem

Joined: Jul 09, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q47 V47 (Online)

Great Support

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Manhattan was a great way to learn the necessary techniques to approach any GMAT Quant or Verbal problem. The class had to go online halfway through due to COVID-19, but Jeff did a wonderful job making sure that the class was just as effective as it would be had it had been in person.

Jeff did a great job of focusing on the most important strategies - Quant has always been a challenge for me but once I learned the key strategies and was able to recognize and execute the problems quickly, I saw huge improvement. One thing that also helped were the breaks during the course sessions -- they largely resembled the types of breaks you would get on the GMAT.

Finally, Jeff was very good at adapting to whatever the class wanted to review. If we felt we needed to do some extra Quant problems, he had them ready.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 21, 2020
pfon93

Joined: Jul 21, 2020

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

Great Instructor and Valuable Program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Several of my friends recommended the Manhattan Prep course, so I decided to sign up for the in person classes in Houston. The program transitioned to an online format due to COVID, but I never felt that the quality was compromised.

Jamie Nelson was a superb instructor and was always available outside of class times for questions or guidance. Going into the class, my biggest struggles were time management and test taking strategies. Jamie was able to clearly break-down the structure of the test and explain how to tackle each question type (short-cuts, alternatives to traditional algebra, eliminating answer choices, etc.).

If you're diligent with studying outside of class and stay true to the test taking strategies Jamie teaches you, there's no reason why your score shouldn't improve.

Read More

July 16, 2020
jessiegoldman18

Joined: Jul 16, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q44 V47

High praise for Jeff Vollmer & Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

If you are considering taking the GMAT, look no further than Manhattan Prep. The coursework is clear and thorough and the instructors are helpful and generous with their time. I also greatly appreciated how they focused on test-taking strategy, including how to set up your answer sheet. As the instructor, Jeff expertly walked through complex concepts and clarified points of confusion. Even though it was a multi-person class it at points felt extremely personal and tailored to our group's needs. Plus Jeff was super accessible outside of class hours. So glad I chose Jeff and Manhattan Prep for my GMAT course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 10, 2020
hdz227

Joined: Nov 24, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q44 V41

A great instructor to the rescue!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After months of revision, I found myself plateauing. However much more revision I did, and time I spent, I just could not break past 620. Until a great instructor came to my rescue! Sage got me to completely rethink how I was revising; and (more importantly) how I was approaching the GMAT. Rather than accumulating knowledge, the vast majority of time was spent on strategies to tackle the exam: how to manage time, how to guess effectively, how to spot the easy answer route etc. The results paid off, and within 8 weeks, I finally got to my target score of 700. Thank you Sage.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 28, 2020
Ljh2020

Joined: Jun 28, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V44

This course was a crucial factor in helping me attain the GMAT score I needed to gain admission to all my target schools.

The 9 week course is a perfect pace to take you from understanding the basics of the GMAT exam, all the way through to mastering the more complex problems. The course is very well structured, including offering great guidance on how to structure your individual study time between classes.

Sage Pearce-Higgins, the class instructor, was extremely engaging. He has a fantastic ability to break down complex problems and leave you with takeaways to implement on examination day. He was also very helpful with any more detailed questions or clarifications that individuals had as we worked through the course material.

I wholeheartedly recommend this course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 23, 2020
rachelhurst

Joined: Mar 08, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Supportive teacher + good material

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Keith was a great - and entertaining - teacher during the in-person course. Even after the 9-week course ended, he answered several emails and gave me feedback on specific areas to improve.

In addition, MPrep has a solid online student portal, which has 6 CATs. I'd also highly recommend watching the achieved videos of Thursdays w/ Ron.

My only piece of feedback/advise for future students is to focus on quality vs. quantity when reviewing questions. My initial approach was to do as many questions as possible. While this helped increase my score a little bit, I only saw massive improvements once I slowed down and spent more time solving fewer problems via multiple ways (i.e. algebra, plug-in own #s, back-solving).
CAT 1 - 570
CAT 2 - 590
CAT 3 - 610
CAT 4 - 600
CAT 5 - 650
CAT 6 - 680
GMAT - 710

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

129 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT