GMAT Club

Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course Reviews

There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan GMAT courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
4.8 /5 Average Rating
5 star
339
4 star
42
3 star
6
2 star
1
1 star
2
Based on 390 reviews
July 07, 2019
dknapp25

Joined: Jun 12, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V41

Had Jeff Vollmer as my instructor for an in-person Manhattan Prep GMAT class one day a week from 6-9 PM in Arlington, VA.

It was a great experience and I highly recommend having Jeff as an instructor. He was able to keep our post-work, 3 hours long classes interesting and exciting. He was very skilled at breaking down the different methods that could be used to solve each problem, and when each method was applicable. I also enjoyed how Jeff would put myself and other students in pressure situations that helped prepare us for the stress of the actual exam.

For background - I tried to study on my own for some time, but could never quite keep the consistency I needed, and really lacked the understanding of the strategy required for the test (v important!). This class really helped with both of these aspects and led to me gaining a score that I was very satisfied with.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 29, 2019
rnweaver19

Joined: Jun 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V44

Huge Improvement Thanks to Ryan McGorman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Without Ryan's instruction, I would not have made the huge improvement that I did over the course of his 9-session class. The structure of his class was very well balanced, as we spent enough time both digging in on concepts and going through OG problems. I found Ryan to be particularly helpful when it came to the Verbal portion of the test. He was able to help me understand how to quickly and efficiently identify what a SC problem was testing, how to deconstruct a complex CR problem, and how to simplify and take away what was necessary from a complex Reading Comp passage. My Verbal score improved from a 35 before the course to a 44 on my first GMAT attempt. I also saw big improvement in my Quant score, going from a 41 before the course to a 46 on the exam. Highly recommend Ryan, thanks!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 24, 2019
mmcget01

Joined: Jun 24, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q46 V45

I highly recommend Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jeff was incredibly knowledgeable on all things GMAT. While Manhattan Prep has a set curriculum, they also encourage you to determine and correct your weaknesses. Jeff helped me to delve further into topics that went beyond the level of the course material. As a result, I had the confidence I needed entering test day and got a great score (730). Jeff's responsiveness and clear and concise answers to my questions helped me to make my study time more efficient. Further, he helped me to simplify methods and develop test taking strategies that proved integral on test day. If you want a good GMAT score just remember the wise old peanut butter company motto "Choosy moms choose Jeff."

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 21, 2019
jankster452

Joined: Jun 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q47 V44

Knowledge and Friendly Instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Mark was great to work with throughout my GMAT studying process. Not only is he just super smart and skilled at the GMAT, but he made the material digestible to everyone in our class even though we all had varying experience and skill with the test. He also was really approachable and helpful when I had questions throughout the class and even made himself available to help afterwards. Of course, at the end of the day you have to do the work to get a good GMAT score, but it sure is a whole lot easier when you feel like you have partner guiding you throughout the process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 20, 2019
tachifer

Joined: Oct 17, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q42 V41

Manhattan Prep - great GMAT course, highly recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jamie is an amazing instructor, in addition to being a very nice person and sincerely cares about the students and their progress through the MBA journey. Many times she provided alternate explanations to help us understand how to solve the question in different ways, and was able to manage the different knowledge levels between the students. She made class very enjoyable and personally motivated and inspired me to continue the focus.

I really enjoyed the format, teaching style, and classroom of the program. The online platform, books, and mobile app were very well designed and user friendly and I used them until the last test. The other staff I met, either when troubleshooting technical issues or in doing post course assessment, was equally helpful and pleasant.

I had a great experience with Manhattan Prep and would highly recommend the program to anyone. I had many friends taking prep courses from other providers and by comparison it seems I had a much better learning experience at MPrep!

Read More

June 09, 2019
CheddarBob23

Joined: Feb 19, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

Take This Course. Seriously.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I signed up for this class at the beginning of 2019 after doing quite a bit of research on the course and the instructor, Mark Sullivan. Like many prospective GMAT takers, I had tried (and failed) the self-study route on multiple occasions. When I finally decided to get serious about taking the GMAT and going to business school, I knew that I needed professional guidance. What really sold me on Mark was the fact that according his Manhattan Prep bio, he was a self-confessed Seattle Mariners fan. As a Seattle native and long-suffering M's fan myself, I knew I had found my instructor.

All jokes aside, I realized shortly into the first in-person session that I had made the right choice. Mark has the unique ability to keep students engaged and excited about GMAT content throughout the 3-hour classes. It had been several years since I had been in a classroom environment; at first, the idea sitting through a session that long seemed daunting. But Mark breaks down each topic by using easy-to-digest examples and explanations, and I left every session feeling inspired to study on my own. My winter class had 7 students, and we were able to work with each other (without pressure) each week to tackle problems and collaborate on various subject areas.

I scored a 600 on my first practice test, which I took a week before the course started. It was demoralizing. However, Mark reassured me that my "stretch" target score of 730 was still attainable if I put in the effort. For me, the key was the way in which Mark guided our studying. Instead of assigning hundreds of practice problems, Mark showed the class how to focus on a particular set of problems and subsequently evaluate the strategies we used during the set. As a result, you learn how to identify problem types and solve them in a much more efficient manner, rather than blindly trying to solve as many questions as possible.

I never needed to cram for the test, nor did I ever feel like I was drowning in my GMAT studies. I studied for about an hour each day outside of the course--consistency is key, rather than trying to put in 4 to 6 hour days on the weekends. The course ended in early April, and I took the GMAT in mid-May. I highly recommend purchasing the add-on 1-on-1 "coaching sessions" with Mark, as those really helped me hyper-target areas of opportunity before my exam date.

In the end, I got a 740 on the GMAT, a full 140 points higher than my initial diagnostic test. Without Mark's wisdom and coaching, there's no way I would've reached my target score. For the sake of brevity, I'll finish my review by stating that this course opened up doors to MBA programs that I previously thought were closed. Thank you, Mark!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 28, 2019
shivalrous24

Joined: May 28, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

MGMAT advanced course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the online advanced course with Whitney and the class was super helpful! I had taken a class in the past (not advanced course though) and it was not nearly as beneficial. Whitney explains the strategy well and makes you dissect each answer choice. During the practice tests I was able to get up to a 750 (previous high of 720) and I felt much more comfortable with the Verbal section. Whitney also does a good job of mixing in group interactions so that class members can learn from each other and different styles or techniques of solving problems. She also provides some helpful spreadsheets and study tips/guides to assist with proper way to study and ensure that you become a master of each topic.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 27, 2019
Businessconquerer

Joined: Jul 17, 2018

Posts: 402

Kudos: 126

Self-reported Score:
690 Q47 V37

GOOD FOR BEGINNERS

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

WELL I SUPPOSE THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPANIES THAT OFFER COURSES FOR GMAT PREP, THE MANHATTAN PROVIDES INTERACTIVE EXPERIENCE THAT PERHAPS NO ONE WILL FORGET, THE LESSONS START WITH BASIC INTERACTIVE VIDEOS AND GO ON TO THE MEDIUM HIGH DIFFICULTY LEVEL QUESTIONS. IN ALL 9 LESSONS YOU WILL SEE THE BEST METHODS TO NOT ONLY SAVE TIME BUT ALSO DO QUESTIONS CORRECTLY AND IN A SHORTER WAY.MGMAT IS THE MOST TRUSTED SERIES, SO PERHAPS EVERYONE WILL BENEFIT FROM IT. ALSO BUY THEIR TEST PACK, IT IS ALSO GREAT, I LIKED THE OVERALL EXPERIENCE OF MGMAT. P.S. THE SCORE PROVIDED IS NOT REAL, I JUST PUT IT THERE.

Read More

May 05, 2019
Stephen96

Joined: Jan 05, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710

GMAT Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Ryan was a great instructor who made Saturday morning classes lively (not an easy thing to do) with his passion for helping students improve their GMAT scores and reach their potential. On my first practice test, I was in the 600 range and by the end Ryan helped me raise my score by more than one hundred points. His dedication and willingness to answer questions at any time through email or in class was most helpful. He is more than willing to spend time after class to help you understand a problem or explain a topic in more detail. I highly recommend Manhattan Prep.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 11, 2019
ddells29

Joined: Mar 11, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q44 V44

Ryan McGorman is an excellent instructor and took me to the promised land

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I took a 9-week course with Ryan McGorman and was far from disappointed. On the contrary, I think Ryan is an excellent instructor and was the primary driver behind my score increase. Ryan is patient with those in his class who need some extra time, but can quickly switch into 6th gear for his more advanced students. I appreciated the way that he was able to simplify concepts down to their bare bones.
Ryan demystifies much about the GMAT and enables his students to succeed. It also helps that Ryan is a great guy and is a pleasure to spend a few hours with every Sunday. Thank you Ryan!!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

129 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT