GMAT Club

Judge Cambridge Reviews

logo-Judge(Cambridge) copy.png
MBA Program rating [3]
(4.3)
Submit a review

May 25, 2017
lynnville

Joined: Jan 03, 2015

Posts: 5

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
770

Cambridge Judge Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Cambridge Judge

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

First of all, the student body is truly international and diversified. Unlike US schools where 30% international is considered diversified, here 92% students are from overseas. This means no any one idea or view will be considered mainstream and you can exchange view on more equal grounds.
Secondly, the fact that the business school is located in a top university with 800-year history, you can find cutting edge resources in virtually any field of study, which trust me, if you want to dive into the business aspect of any particular field, will prove very helpful.
Of course, Cambridge has proved itself a high-tech hotspot for tech entrepreneurs. But more importantly, when you're broken free from the traditional and narrow minded view of MBA=finance/consulting/PE, you get to rebuild your world view and how money or social status fit in. This rethinking process itself is invaluable.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Location
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

May 26, 2017
bb

Thanks very much for posting your review! Did you have any comments about Recruiting? How are the 92% of international grads dealing with job search? Or is it pretty smooth? Appreciate any feedback or insight!

October 25, 2018
ChaitanyaKondra

Please answer the above question, it would be very helpful. Also, if it's answered specifically addressing the non Europeans, it would be even better.

Thank You!

December 23, 2020
Dleerium

Joined: Apr 03, 2018

Posts: 24

Kudos: 24

Self-reported Score:
730

Cambridge - Judge Business School (Recent Alumnus)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Cambridge Judge

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2020

Experience during the program

I first discovered Judge Business School after completing my GMAT and scouring the internet for potential one year MBA to apply to. My criteria was relatively simple - I wanted a 1 year international MBA with a strong brand name, good career prospects and close proximity to a large city (to facilitate my job search and increase the likelihood of my partner finding a job while I'm studying).

There isn't much to read about Cambridge Judge business school on the internet (low number of reviews, limited marketing) and this is something that school could definitely improve on.

I gained admissions to Cambridge, Oxford, INSEAD and chose Cambridge in the end for several reasons

1. Exposure to students outside of the MBA that would give me a broader perspective. I wanted to get to know more than just 'business people' who's primary focus is getting into Investment Banking, Consulting or PE.

2. A strong entrepreneurial scene as I eventually want to run my own business. Cambridge is particular strong in the venture capital space with a number of prominent venture capitalists and angel groups.

3. I wanted a strong alumni network - Cambridge intake per year is only 200 students so you have the opportunity to build a close relationship with the cohort. Despite the fact that Cambridge/ Oxford had a small class compared to the likes of INSEAD and LBS, there is also ability to network with Alumni outside of the MBA.

Having just graduated I can honestly say that Cambridge met all three of my expectations and more.

The teachers are world class but what is more impressive are the impressive guest speakers that come to share their experiences that makes you think that you yourself are capable of what they have achieved.

The school curriculum specialises on building a consulting skillset. There are 2 big projects (Consulting Venture Project and Global Consulting Project) in which students will be assigned in a random group of 5 to solve real world problems from real companies.

With regards to careers, the strength of the school is with entrepreneurship and consulting - with a high number of students getting a job at MBB that transitioned from industry. It's not a particular feeder for large investment banks and this is an area the school could definitely improve on.





Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Culture & Student Support


Read More

May 27, 2021
noeltalks

Thanks so much for your review. I'm seriously considering Cambridge Judge because I want to get into Venture Capital. Could you enlighten me on the Judge experience for someone looking to work in VC? Does the School provide help to students looking to enter such a niche space?

July 13, 2021
Dleerium

Hi Noel,

In my experience, Cambridge is a great school to help with the transition into VC. I want to caveat that breaking into VC/PE is tough job for any business school and by choosing a particular school it would not necessary get you that transition you hope for, but having said that Cambridge can help skew those chances in your favour for a few reasons

- It has strong brand name in the early stage start up ecosystem and is particularly strong in deep tech.
- Most of the businesses in the GCP are local early stage start up companies looking for MBAs
- A large number of university wide clubs in technology and science that you can get involved in (once again this is something you have to proactively approach)

I hope that helps

August 18, 2021
mandeeppanwar

How you were able to get admits from both Cambridge and Oxford? I guess a candidate can apply to only one of the schools

August 18, 2021
bb

That does not seem to be the case anymore based on a number of dilemmas people posted. Here is another example: https://gmatclub.com/forum/cambridge-vs-oxford-354717.html

February 08, 2019
wilsonchu216

Joined: Mar 04, 2017

Posts: 7

Kudos: 3

Introduction to Judge

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Cambridge Judge

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

Judge business school creates an ideal environment for me to study and to communicate with experts from different financial sectors. With around 90% of international students in Judge, which is higher than most of the top business schools, I can learn from such a huge diversity of people; and those experiences will be great assets for my job in management consulting after Judge. The study group system in Judge creates an environment similar to management consulting to share ideas and discuss with different people from different backgrounds. At judge, I plant to master business disciplines such as Strategy, Organization Behaviour, and Marketing, and gain the tools and confidence to handle any project, client or industry in the future. The Cambridge Venture Project and Global Consulting Project within the year create a chance to learn outside the classroom and to apply the knowledge in a real situation, providing me with a chance to work with a diversity of people and gain exposure to different industries. Finally, the strong alumni network of Cambridge, not only in Judge but also as a whole in University, would be a valuable asset to my future consulting work.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Admissions Team


Read More

May 23, 2021
Harshdeepgajra

Thanks for feedback but you were supposed to write about your experiences at Judge and not the Why cambridge essay. This piece seems like a copy paste from your why cam ridge essay.