GMAT Club

Jones Rice Reviews

MBA Program rating [6]
(4.0)

January 31, 2016
UTDB

Joined: Feb 05, 2013

Posts: 36

Kudos: 8

Self-reported Score:
710 Q48 V40

Great experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Jones

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2015

Experience during the program

The Jones School has a very familial atmosphere and the small class size allows students to really get to know their classmates. I was looking to transition from engineering before business school to a commercial role in the energy sector after school. The Jones School positioned me to make this jump and the Career Management Center was very helpful in talking through options for commercial opportunities. The school's administration and faculty are phenomenal and always keep an open door to talk to students. The Jones School is also very generous with scholarship money which is an added bonus if you are trying to make it through b-school with little to no debt.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship
Management
Energy

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

May 26, 2017
reinler

Joined: Mar 10, 2015

Posts: 8

Kudos: 7

Self-reported Score:
730 Q49 V40

Fantastic, Well-Rounded and Rising Business School

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Jones

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

The Jones Graduate School of Business at Rice University should be a top consideration for any students looking for the intimate environment of a small private school combined with world class faculty, staff, and students. With smaller class sizes, the Jones Graduate School of Business is able to provide unique experiences and opportunities that are unable to be found at larger business schools.

With areas of specialization in Investment Banking, Finance, Consulting, Entrepreneurship, and Marketing, Jones ranks up there among the best that business schools have to offer and is the gold standard of business education in the Southern United States region.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Alumni Network

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking


Read More

January 27, 2018
vra123

Joined: Jan 02, 2013

Posts: 10

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
760 Q50 V42

An Entrepreneurship enthusiast's journey at Rice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Jones

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

I came to Rice with the goal of learning about entrepreneurship and acquiring the tools that would prepare me for entrepreneurship (concepts & skills, thought process, network etc.). In addition, I wanted access to an environment where I could make mistakes and learn from them. Glad to say that Rice checks all those boxes.

Rice University as a whole, and the Jones School in particular, have a great entrepreneurship setup. There is a lot of information about this online (entrepreneurship.rice.edu), which I made use of in my decision-making process when choosing a school. I am going to mention a few elements that are important to me.

The Rice Alliance hosts the world's biggest B-plan competition (RBPC). I will get to play a small role on the organizing end. It also hosts events such as the Energy & Clean Tech Venture Forum, the IT Venture Forum in which students can get involved.

Rice has the Liu Idea Lab for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (LILIE), a great co-working space where you get to meet like-minded people from all of Rice (Big Rice). LILIE also hosts a lot of talks and other events with speakers from various fields related to entrepreneurship.

Rice also has the OwlSpark, a 12-week startup accelerator program, which culminates in the Bayou Startup Showcase.

JGSB organizes multiple treks throughout the year. These are trips to various cities (NY, Austin, San Francisco, Seattle etc.) that let you visit businesses related to a particular theme such as tech, finance, energy etc.

Then there's the small matter of people. The people at Rice (professors, staff, administrators) are very very helpful; it's just amazing. My classmates are from across the world, across the country and from various walks of life. I have ex-military folks, lawyers, a sous chef, doctors, engineers, consultants, a PhD among my classmates. If you throw a rock, it's more likely than not that you would hit a an achiever.

Houston is a fantastic city! Great food, lovely weather, and this little team that won the World Series. There are a lot of big businesses here. Location was a big positive in Rice's favor.

If you are interested in entrepreneurship or oil & gas, Rice would be great for you. But don't take my word for it. That's one of the ideas that's been hammered into me now. Don't make assumptions; don't rely on isolated opinions; talk to the people who are going through the experience that you want to understand.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Location
Culture & Student Support
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors


Read More

January 27, 2018
sdietz22

Joined: Jan 27, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Small School Trying to Improve Quickly

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Jones

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Small class sizes allow collaboration and access to other student and faculty. This was the main reason that I decided on Rice over other schools. I got the job I wanted and everyone was placed for internships. If you focus on finance all of the classes are very repetitive, but it does reinforce concepts. This will be useful for my professional life. If you are looking for a program where you won't get lost and will still get a great education Jones could be for you. If the program grows too much, keep in mind the facilities are only suited for around 200 students between two classes.


Overall BSchool experience (3.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship
Energy

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Brand/Ranking
Facilities


Read More

January 27, 2018
samkhat77

Joined: Aug 28, 2011

Posts: 61

Kudos: 13

Self-reported Score:
700 Q47 V38

A Great Experience by Way of Great Fit

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Jones

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

I have had a wonderful experience at Jones over the last few years. I have made some incredible friendships with some extraordinary people including my future wife. What's interesting about Rice is that a lot of students, including myself, chose to attend this school while holding offers from higher ranking school. This is due not only to the financial aid offered, but also to the post MBA opportunities and the city of Houston. Houston is the 4th largest city in the United States and the most diverse (http://www.latimes.com/nation/la-na-houston-diversity-2017-htmlstory.html). I was in New York City for 6 years prior to school and have been pleasantly surprised by all Houston has to offer.

I have found a school and city that I see myself staying involved with for the long haul. The network may be on the smaller side, but is incredibly intimate. Additionally, Rice has a great brand in the South that will only help it become more of a standout school. Coming to school, I wanted to get a job in consulting and had no issues doing so (Big 4, not Big 3). While I could have gone to better schools with a more diverse student body, I am incredibly happy to attend a fantastic school with very little in loans and a job I am thrilled about.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Location
Culture & Student Support
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Investment Banking
Healthcare

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network


Read More

January 27, 2018
theodore90

Joined: Dec 04, 2015

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
620 Q42 V33

Rice Business Review- 2nd Year Student

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for Jones

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Pros: Small program, so you don't get overlooked and you get to know all of your classmates, professors, career advisors, etc. Administration is focused on improving Rice's ranking and brand image across the nation. Endowment allows for numerous scholarship opportunities and continued funding of events, facilities improvement, etc.

Cons: Location and size of program limit the opportunities you have with your career. More focus on IB, Consulting, Energy, Entrepreneurship than other disciplines.

Unless you are focused on Houston/Texas Market, don't expect to easily recruit out of state. Operations and marketing roles are tough to obtain given limited exposure during program


Overall BSchool experience (3.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (3.0)

Strengths of the program:

Brand/Ranking
Facilities
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support


Read More