GMAT Club

Yale Reviews

MBA Program rating [37]
(4.6)

January 12, 2017
Back2US

Joined: Dec 17, 2014

Posts: 14

Kudos: 15

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V40

Transition from Consulting to Social Impact

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Yale

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

I chose SOM to transition from traditional consulting to social impact consulting. Some observations:
- SOM is extremely strong for social impact, especially given quality of classmates (many with nonprofit backgrounds), courses offered (e.g. took "Managing Social Enterprises", "Strategic Management of Nonprofit Organizations" and "Nonmarket Strategy" this last semester) and focus on "business & society" even in core (accounting, finance, etc) more so than other programs
- Social impact careers are available; financial support through Loan Forgiveness Program for full-time and Internship Fund for summer are great, and there are some former classmates who landed nonprofit jobs with $100k+ salaries (quite an aspiration)
- In addition, all top consulting companies recruit here (got MBB interviews coming up) as well as many of the smaller ones
- Connection to wider Yale is incredible and easy to facilitate; I took graduate classes with School of Forestry and Environment, Global Affairs, School of Music, Philosophy Department, and undergrad classes on Fractal Geometry and Astronomy (at the observatory)
- Student life is great; many events, the student clubs are very active with something for everyone, and the parties are fun
- New Haven is not as bad as one would think: There are many offerings, especially cultural (musicals, concerts, theatre, museums, etc) and culinary; and if one still gets bored, NYC is


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Social Impact

Can be improved:

Alumni Network


Read More

December 04, 2015
aerien

Joined: Feb 06, 2012

Posts: 1593

Kudos: 586

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V41

Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Yale

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

The Yale SOM experience is an all-including experience. You join the SOM community from the first day you set foot on-campus, and immediately you are immersed with your fellow students, the faculty members, and staff. As anything you do, the experience is dependent on how much effort you put into it -- and you'll see that Yale SOM students put their hearts and souls into the school and into the community. I am always amazed at how much everyone cares for each other, helps other students through interview processes, and genuinely cares about each other. My friends (from other business schools and non bschool students) all comment at how "nice" and "grounded" Yale SOM students are and how much they differ from the stereotype of business school in general. I am proud of that. Yale SOM is a special place, and the people make it so.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Faculty is a huge aspect of my SOM experience. They know your names, your background, your interests. They encourage students to take courses regardless of your experience -- they take the time to make sure you're learning what you WANT to learn, what you're interested in ... and give you the opportunity to shape your business experience. And they get to know you outside of class through barbecues at their houses, workouts at the gym, and hanging out at SOM. I think one aspect of what makes SOM special is that everyone realizes each person in Evans Hall and across the Yale campus is a person -- each person has a story to bring and many layers of personality and interests. Together we make up the Yale community and we all want to contribute to that.

About job placement process

The alumni network is amazing. Use it to the best of your advantage during your recruiting process. SOM alums will drop anything to help you.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Alumni Network

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Location


Read More

January 30, 2018
w3ili

Joined: Apr 20, 2016

Posts: 46

Kudos: 12

Verified score:
700 Q47 V39

Experience during the program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for Yale

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

As others have mentioned, SOM is a highly passionate and mission-driven institution. I've been consistently inspired by my peers and in awe of what they seek to accomplish with their MBA education for business and society. The student body culture, in my opinion, is another defining hallmark of the SOM experience--folks here genuinely care about each other's personal and professional success. Given that it's Yale, academic excellence is expected and the curriculum/workload can be rigorous at times, though there is a robust support system in place. In terms of recruiting, a large number of students pursue finance and consulting, though others also have technology, non-profit, and entrepreneurial interests.

For future applicants, I'd suggest reaching out to current students to gain deeper insight into the community. Don't be afraid to contact Admissions Ambassadors or Club Leaders!


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 30, 2018
8088

Joined: Nov 21, 2011

Posts: 59

Kudos: 35

SOM knocks it out of the park for a Silver Scholar

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Yale

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

Few opportunities come around that are as life-changing as the Silver Scholar program at SOM was for me - the Silver Scholars program is for students straight out of undergrad to pursue an MBA at SOM. I matriculated in 2012 with the class of 2014 and, due to the parameters of the program, spent two years working full-time at my dream company, and then returned to SOM to complete my final year of courses and study and graduate in 2016. I believe that the Silver Scholars program is representative of the forward-looking direction of SOM and the fact that the institution is not afraid to take risks and innovate.

Over these four years that I was in the program, I was able to see SOM evolve into an even more global business school, with the maturation of the Global Network for Advanced Management. During my second year, I was proud to count over 50% of the student population from different countries, providing a distinctly global feel. Many of my closest friends were from foreign countries and now I feel grateful to have friends from all over the world.

The most remarkable thing about SOM is the community - not just our small and large learning teams, our cohort, our class, or our school, but the fact that SOM strives to be the most closely-integrated business school with it's parent university, which translates into one of the highest percentages of joint-degree candidates and the flexibility to take as many of our electives outside of SOM as you wish. I made countless of friends from SOM, but also from Yale College, the Jackson Institute, the School of Public Health, and the Law School, just to name a few.

This, combined with the immensely tight-knit alumni community that has among the highest rates of annual alumni contributions to their alma mater, makes me confident that I made the right choice - a choice that will continue to pay dividends and a school that I can count on for the duration of my professional career and beyond.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Coming from a social sciences and public policy background in undergrad, SOM's core curriculum provided me the business tools and frameworks to serve as a Senior Manager in the Research and Development division of the company that I returned to after the conclusion of my MBA.

I am grateful for the distinct attention that SOM professors provide their students - frequently going above and beyond the call of duty in helping individuals like me - who overdid it during one of our one-week intensive modules, and got pneumonia. My professors were very understanding and took time to help bring me up to speed, one-on-one on course material, even though they taught hundreds of students at the time. This example is representative of the fact that Professors are passionate about their work and research, but doubly so about teaching students at SOM. I never expected to regularly head over to Professor's houses for tea, or see them at weekly hackathons/pizza parties. SOM professors dedicated to getting to know the students, and ever since I graduated, keep in touch with us as well.

About job placement process

All of the resources are there to get any job you could ever want; it's a function of using those resources - whether they are the Career Development Office, peers, and alumni - and putting in hard work to land your dream job.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 30, 2018
nathank

Joined: Jan 04, 2017

Posts: 26

Kudos: 10

Self-reported Score:
740 Q50 V41

Solid

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Yale

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

Yale SOM has been a solid experience thus far. I'm currently a 2nd-semester first-year student. The core curriculum is excellent at integrating multiple perspectives. You must do readings for class, or will find that you're not learning much, as much of class time is reserved for discussions of cases.

Evans Hall, the sole facility of Yale SOM, is a high-tech, brand-new building. Visually, it's an incredible place.

The Career office is incredibly helpful for career coaching needs. School seems to land a high number of IB and Consulting internships which do convert successfully into full-time job offers.

While the student body seems low on quant skills, I am hoping that quant-focused electives do not shy away from challenging the student body (I have not yet completed any electives, as we just began them last week).

New Haven is a great city. Good restaurants, and lots of young people (most of whom are yale-affiliated in some way)

About professors, classes and curriculum

Core curriculum is low on quant topics, and most quant-heavy courses (Sourcing & Managing Funds, Operations Engine) have dedicated TA-led weekly review sessions (likely because the student body as a whole seems less comfortable with quantitative topics and needs the extra help).

About job placement process

I did not recruit for IB, but heard anecdotally that most students interested in IB land an offer due to the relatively small number of students hoping to go into banking. The Consulting Club is top-notch at preparing students for case interviews and teh consulting process.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

January 29, 2018
AppUKJ

Joined: Oct 13, 2015

Posts: 7

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
770 Q49 V47

Fantastic program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Yale

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Fantastic program, enabled me to meet my personal and professional goals for b-school. I had an MBB internship and will be returning, have had the opportunity to lead clubs, and to meet CEOs of F500 companies - both in large part due to the smaller class size at Yale. I've also had the opportunity to take a class at Yale Law, as well as Yale college. Excellent facilities, and an improving faculty. The b-school is definitely going places - each year the incoming class seems better than the last, and recruiting outcomes are also on a positive trajectory, particularly in consulting.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Investment Banking
Management

Can be improved:

Alumni Network


Read More

January 29, 2018
Biozman

Joined: Jan 19, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

SOM

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Yale

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

I have been most impressed by the facilities at the school. The SOM campus is breathtaking but I also like the fact that you are not just limited to SOM. You can connect with any part of the wider university. In addition, I really did not expect the level of diversity I have encountered in the school. The school is soooooooo diverse but yet very friendly and collaborative. As an international student, it is highly recommended. However, if you are looking to incubate a business idea, I am not sure SOM is doing a lot in that regard. Entrepreneurship is almost at the back end and you will need extra self-motivation to continue in this track.


Overall BSchool experience (3.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (3.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Entrepreneurship


Read More

January 28, 2018
abateki

Joined: Oct 23, 2013

Posts: 3

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
750 Q48 V45

Yale SOM for profit to non profit

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Yale

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

I was shifting from working at a for-profit to a non-profit and found Yale to be amazing for both. While there, I considered sticking with for-profit and working in impact investing, but decided to do that at a non-profit. Honestly, the curriculum prepares you for both and I could have chosen either. The students are amazing, hardworking, kind, and thoughtful. I learned a great deal from my classmates. The professors are always willing to work with students and the small class size allows students to form strong relationships with professors. There are many opportunities to take classes at other schools, work on research projects, and explore as many interests as you can find time to explore. It was an incredible experience!


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

January 28, 2018
jconnol8

Joined: Aug 06, 2015

Posts: 12

Kudos: 10

Self-reported Score:
760 Q49 V45

Great Program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Yale

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Positives:
The community is great. Everyone is very supportive, grade non-disclosure totally matters and helps keep the class from being competitive from each other in a negative way. There are plenty of interesting electives, and if you have anything else you're interested in, there is access to all other parts of Yale (I took a full year of Spanish at the college, for example). Joint degrees are all over the place and always bring an interesting perspective. Consulting is killing it, banking and tech do very well, and the people outside those three top industries often seem to find interesting and unusual work.

Negatives:
As it is a newer school with a slightly smaller alumni network than its peer schools, some of the niche areas (PE/VC, IM) are harder to break into, just by virtue of having fewer people to talk to. I certainly wouldn't mind shortening the core as well. While the focus on the non-profit sector is totally overblown on GMATClub, we do lack some of the really top business backgrounds in the class- not too many from high finance or MBB for example.



Overall: I still think Yale is a buy-low opportunity. Classes have only gotten stronger over the past 15 years or so, and as those alums move up in their jobs the PEVC opportunities will start to come, and the alumni network will become much more powerful. The amount of access to people here is amazing- I went to a speaker session last semester that included John Kerry, Hank Paulson, and Jeff Immelt, and that's just one of the examples of the types of access that Yale as a university can get you.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Investment Banking
Tech

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Location


Read More

January 27, 2018
ConfusedB

Joined: Mar 28, 2016

Posts: 28

Kudos: 4

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V42

Believe the hype!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Yale

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

One of the reasons I joined SOM was because of its upward trajectory in the last few years. Being here I can truly feel that I am a part of something special. We have classmates who gave up positions at higher ranked schools (no scholarship was not a decision making factor) to be a part of this amazing school. The class itself is amazing, with folks from all across the globe with all kinds of experiences. Everyone is supportive, and you feel like you are a part of the family.

The one areas where SOM can improve though is their placement in the tech sector. But I guess our location is not doing us any favors in that regards.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Location
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More