GMAT Club

Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Course Reviews

GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Save up to $399 on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club
Economist GMAT Tutor Deal Page

Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Course Reviews

Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep
 $1199  $899
Reviews
104
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now
Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep
 $999  $799
Reviews
163
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now
Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep
 $1399  $1099
Reviews
31
Average Rating
4.5
Buy Now

Reviews:

298 Reviews
4.5 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
January 24, 2019
EmiDibe

Joined: Sep 21, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

Couldn't have done it without it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

Pros:
- provides you with easy to use, understandable frameworks tailored for the kind of problem you are facing. They really help to reduce the time solve each problem
- if you get a problem wrong, you will have to face this problem again, effectively making sure that you have understood the theory behind it, and not just read through the solution.
- the app was easy to use and provided on the go support
- on the web version the program provided daily objectives that helped a lot in following the study program.
- AWA correction service was very helpful
- test simulation were pretty realistc

Cons:
- the app didn't have all the features of the online version and could be improved
- I didn't find the tutoring sessions very helpful (that's why I used only one)
- I think that a metric that shows your weakest areas, your improvements over time would have been helpful
- after you are done with a topic you can't review it again, only a synthesis will be available
- daily study objectives are pretty standard each day and should have been more tailored

I want to point out that the cons are very minor and do not detract from the overall usefulness of the course.

Read More

December 20, 2018
Ajita1010

Joined: Aug 08, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
610 Q42 V32

Economist GMAT tutor was most helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

My experience with Economist GMAT tutor was simply marvellous! I did not want to choose the traditional method of classes every evening, since it does not work with my method of studying. So I tried out the Economist GMAT tutor's free 7-day plan and loved it. I signed up for the premium plan which is valid for 6 months, allows you to practice 6 tests and 6 essays and also provides 6 tutor sessions. Plus you get an online subscription to the Economist magazine.
The format of the Economist GMAT website is so beautiful; you start with basic concepts and further difficult concepts are unlocked as you proceed further, so it all feels like playing a game! Any doubts are cleared by their tutors instantly and the solutions given for each question are so conversational, you feel as if it's a friend talking to you. They also have an excellent mobile app, which I used while commuting, thus ensuring that I was losing no time at all.
The online video sessions with the tutors are super helpful, since they give you methods, tips & tricks to solve any type of question. These online tutorials really boosted my score, especially the ones with the tutor Jake Wengroff.
AWA essay templates provided by the course are also brilliant.
Overall, this course made my life more comfortable during the GMAT, boosted my score in a huge way and allowed me to choose and design my own study method. Must-buy for individualistic learners who hate rote learning systems.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 09, 2018
Paris1989

Joined: Dec 09, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q48 V40

The Economist Prep course gave me what I hoped for

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Ultimate Prep

Location Online

I bought the ultimate prep course of the economist which is 6 months long. It allowed me to take my time and prepare without being in a rush. This by itself reduced the stress most candidates usually have by having to sit the exam last minute before the application deadline. The program was really satisfying and it helped a lot to learn. It was even fun at times. The way that the material was designed helped me really learn what I had to in order to reduce the time needed to reply to the questions. It presented the same type of questions through different perspective and through repetition I learned how to solve the questions and quickly recognize what kind of problem I was solving for. I improved my score and I got a 720. I had taken the gmat twice before and never before had I achieved a 7+ score...

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 27, 2018
KSBridges

Joined: Nov 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

Insightful preparation tool, easy to use

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

When I first took the GMAT a year ago, I was struggling with the methodology for certain (quantitative) topics. My 660 (Verbal 85th percentile, Quant 50th percentile) was below my target score, mainly because I apparently had not prepared in the most effective way.

3 months ago, I started with the GMAT Complete Prep, which helped me to better structure my preparation and to point out which topics I needed to practice again. I improved my score to 740 [Verbal 96th percentile, Quant 74th percentile].

Pros:
- Clear theory and methodology per topic
- Practice tests help you spot weaknesses and accurately mimic the actual GMAT [I scored 760, 720, 770 on my last 3 practice tests and scored a 740 on the actual test]
- Friendly and helpful customer service and tutors

Cons
- After completing a topic, only a brief summary is shown. Not all different topics can be practiced again, and the ones that can sometimes use the same practice questions. This can erroneously make you think you fully comprehend the topic, while you actually just memorized the answer/question.
- For Verbal (Reading Comprehension and Critical Reasoning), no concrete tips are given regarding taking notes when deconstructing the argument/passage
- Less focus on IR and AWA.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 15, 2018
mfeola137

Joined: Sep 25, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q45 V48

Comprehensive and well worth it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep

Location Online

I couldn't recommend this program enough - after scoring 650 on the initial diagnostic I dedicated several hours a day towards completing 100% of the guided study. I ended up with a 750, which I was more than happy with.

I thought the Quant sections were easy to understand and full of great time-saving tricks. For example, I learned several tricks on sequences that saved me valuable minutes on the real exam. The Verbal sections were intuitive and QUICK - I felt super confident going into the Verbal section even though it was maybe 20% of the overall course content.

I used two of the live tutoring sessions to brush up on a few concepts, and I found them more useful than I'd predicted. The tutors were diligent in taking notes and emailing them out after our video sessions. Finally, the practice exams (I found) were an accurate predictor of my final score on test day. This program was intuitive and well-worth it. I barely glanced at any other prep materials and got a great result

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 12, 2018
JasonTGirouard

Joined: May 28, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

130 Point Increase - Great Adaptive Learning!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

Overall: I loved the Economist GMAT Prep. Before signing up I tried the free trial of Veritas and Manhattan Prep's programs and found that they focused on force-feeding you practice problems, whereas Economist GMAT forced you to slow down and focus on strategy and the fundamentals before jumping into anything. Overall, I feel that this strategy most strongly contributed to my success.

Economist GMAT had a relentless focus on strategy as a whole, and strategy within each question type. I never would have thought that I'd be getting so many difficult problems correct, or that I would be able to diagnose "lost causes" so quickly.

While learning all of the fundamental sentence correction rules and math formulas can be very boring, Economist GMAT's adaptive learning program kept me focused and moving forward. It helped me build a strong base that I'm not sure I otherwise would have been able to create.

Economist GMAT's explanations are second to none. Every question helped me understand the fundamentals, and their adaptive program recognized areas of weaknesses and forced me to spend more time on them. It also forced me to revisit questions I had gotten wrong in the past.

I do feel that I wish that Economist GMAT had an option to focus exclusively on advanced topics when I was "approaching the asymptote" rather than leaving the difficulty of practice problems to chance.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 03, 2018
bermue

Joined: Nov 03, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q47 V37

110 points improvement while interning

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

When I decided to take the GMAT I was already working in an demanding internship. However I felt like I wouldn't have the energy to search for shortcuts and tricks on every topic after coming home late. I really enjoyed the ease of use of the Economist's program, that I was able to use it on the train or subway, and the personal lessons.
The best tips for me have been the ones on time management and test taking strategy, a subject which I underestimated until the very end. Gladly Isaac, whit whom I had two lessons stretched the importance enough for me to care about it. While I had some problems with applying them at first, they finally helped me to boost my test score a lot.
If you are a very organized and motivated person and have a lot of time I do believe that the GMAT is not a big problem. On the other hand, if you are working or for any reason have to take the test within the next month or two, I think that this program will take some pressure of you.
In addition, with the point increase or money-back-offer I haven't had anything to loose with this program, but my expectations have even been exceeded by far.
The only negative aspect I can think about is that you can not repeat a topic once you finished all the regarding questions.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 15, 2018
teteret

Joined: Aug 25, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Improved my GMAT score by 90 points

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I sat for my GMAT with minimal preparation and scored 670, well below my target score of 730. I tried the 1 week trial for the Economist GMAT prep program, liked the program and purchased the premium prep which guarantees a 70 point improvement. Within 1 month of using the program, my practice tests score were in the range of 750-770.

Pros:
Covers the key topic area for both quant and verbal with very clear guides and practice questions

Cons:
Once you have completed a topic, you can no longer go through the topic again. Instead only a summary is provided.
The AWA section is not very comprehensive but if your focus is on quant and verbal this will not be an issue.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 20, 2018
srsherrell

Joined: Jul 19, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
650

Economist GMAT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

The Economist GMAT platform helped me to achieve a 90 point improvement on the GMAT! I loved the ease of use of the mobile app and how I could study on the go or while waiting on people or appointments. I really needed improvement on the quant, my verbal was already in roughly the 80th percentile but it improved to the 93rd percentile as well.
Jake Wengroff really was by far the most helpful and caring tutor. He did an excellent job helping me comprehend some of the quant concepts and all around went above and beyond.
The one con of the Economist course in my option would be the inability to shift ahead to later topics but at the same time my score really improved so it could mean that their order served its purpose. Overall I would definitely recommend the Economist GMAT course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 10, 2018
mirandagrueiro

Joined: Jul 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
600 Q40 V33

On the go learning! Great Tutors

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep

Location Online

I started with the program as a way to continue my studies without carrying to OG around. While traveling, I was able to use some offline features on the app. Tutor 1:1 are definitely worth the increase. I went to take the exam with 3 sessions under my belt and scored a 590. After 2 weeks and an additional 3 sessions I scored a 620. My baseline before starting the program was 540.

Bottom line - if you are looking to study while you travel this is great option. I was able to do very well in Quant (47 and 46) and in the 88th percentile in CR with this program. Schedule the tutoring sessions with a pattern in mind and focus on what you need to change!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

135 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Economist GMAT Tutor