GMAT Club

Kevin Richardson Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

The owner of a bachelor’s degree and two master’s (including an MBA) from Stanford, Kevin divides his time between preparing his students for the dog-eat-dog world of business school and running Soggy Paws, a Chicago-based (and soon to be Midwestern!) chain of dog wash, grooming, and retail products. To his sunshine-craving chagrin but to the delight of Chicago-area GMAT students, Kevin was finally released from Stanford and allowed to return to icy cold winters. Known to his students as Mr. Analogy, Kevin can craft a GMAT explanation out of virtually any topic: Problem Solving is really a lot like the rope climb in gym class; Sentence Correction questions often read like “Yo Mama” jokes. 

Accordingly, Kevin consistently ranks as one of the highest-rated instructors in the company, and was named Worldwide GMAT Instructor of the Year for his efforts. When Kevin is not teaching, serving as an MBA admissions consultant, or working with 4-legged creatures, he can be found cooking a gourmet meal or sliding into home on a softball diamond. Either way, it’s batter up!

4.8 /5 Average Rating
Based on 18 reviews
February 17, 2018
muneerali831

Joined: Jan 22, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
590 Q42 V29

Veritas Prep Online - Kevin RIchardson

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online

Instructor Kevin Richardson

Location Online

My GMAT journey was a a long and arduous process. It started in May of 2016 when I first started studying for the GMAT. At the time, it was purely self-paced. OG, a little bit of Kaplan and a lot of online forums. The first exam in August of 2016 resulted in a 540 (V25/Q39). After such a disappointing blow, a re-take in November of the same year resulted in a 590 (V29/Q42). This time I used the Manhattan prep guide along with the Magoosh online forums. My practice tests were all above 600 and hovering around 630ish so you can imagine my shock when my score popped up at the test center at the end of the exam. It's Feb of 2017 and I just walked out the test center with a score of 680 (V37/Q47).

What changed? Aside from taking an entire year off with absolutely zero thought of the GMAT, I signed up for the Veritas prep weekend live online course with Kevin Richardson (9 Dec '17 - 21 Jan '18). I couldn't go into a third GMAT exam trying the same thing again expecting to yield a different outcome.

From my experience, and this is my perspective only, it helped to understand and see the thought process of someone who scored in the 99th percentile. Kevin did a masterful job of explaining his reasoning and approach to all problems. He always showed the steps he would take himself first, before giving alternate angles in which we could solve a particular problem. His anecdotal accounts over the years and how they could be tied into the GMAT were critical in understanding the bigger purpose of what the exam is really trying to glean from test takers. He also made sure to hammer down the fundamentals and to remind us that doing X type of problem without being absolutely comfortable in doing Y type of problem is a path to disaster. You can get caught up in trying to master, or simply improve, a type of problem that you miss the underlying root cause of your issue. I also used specific processes that were taught in class in my last GMAT exam that I didn't deploy in my first two. This was key.

It was my first ever online course. I was surprised by how interactive Kevin made the class. He called on students, understood all our weakness (and strengths) and made sure to push us to be better. That push and his caring attitude was instrumental in my personal growth and I will always be appreciative for the time spent on my improvement. If it isn't obvious yet, I highly recommend you sign up with Kevin.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 13, 2017
ketchSF88

Joined: Nov 13, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q43 V41

Awesome Online Class - Kevin Richardson

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Kevin Richardson

Location Online

I took the online class with Kevin Richardson and could not recommend any higher. The classes were incredibly well organized and very clear. For the most part, due to scheduling issues, I could not attend the live online classes and had to watch the recorded versions of each, but I still found each session very engaging. Kevin did a great job of building on each lesson was more than happy to provide some individual pointers on how best to prepare for the test given what my relative strengths and weaknesses were. Kevin really cares about how you do on this test!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 09, 2014
Anonymous

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Well Worth the Money

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Having taken a SAT course at Kaplan before, I was hoping that the experience would not be the same where the teacher went by the book and painstakingly went through every problem. I was pleasantly surprised by Kevin Richardson's style of teaching as well as the content.

Kevin engages his audience very well by memorizing every student's name very quickly and also their strengths/weaknesses - he will pick on your weaknesses until you 'get' it, which is nervewracking for some, but since you are dropping several hundreds of dollars into the course, it forces you to not only pay attention but also improve your weakness. Kevin, unlike other Veritas Prep instructors (I took substitute classes because I couldn't attend every one of Kevin's classes), explains everything in terms of real-life work context and makes it very understanding. For example, in the strategy of guessing and skipping a question if you simply have no idea how to do it after a minute, he relates it to cutting off an underperforming arm in a company - you simply need to get rid of it and decisively.

Overall, the content of Veritas Prep does a good job in preparing you in how to tackle some of the traps set up by the GMAT, but like others, feel that Manhattan GMAT does a better job in preparing you for the actual content as far as the Quant side goes. The strategies in how to tackle both sections, however, are very valid and have helped me out greatly. I would highly recommend this course to prospective customers.

Read More

January 28, 2014
vthakk6

Joined: Jan 28, 2014

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Veritas Prep was a great course but you will need a lot of practice at home on your own.

The instructor was very helpful.

Studying for the GMAT is intense, but the order and depth of the materials broke down the concepts into digestible segments. You could all but feel the building blocks stacking as you worked through the books. The syllabus was also a godsend. I thrive on structure and deadlines--free-form studying is not for me. The detailed syllabus kept me on task and progressing logically for months.

Read More

February 09, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Experince

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 10 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Kevin Richardson

Location Chicago-Wacker, IL USA

After taking the full day class on Saturdays in Evanston, I would highly recommend Kevin Richardson of Veritas Prep.

Veritas has a lot to offer. They offer many practice problems of every type of question you may encounter on the actual test, 15 full practice exams, a live help line each evening and a great classroom experience. Kevin was great, he spent a tremendous amount of time going over the important material in class and making sure each individual received the attention he or she deserved. Kevin has the ability to explain a concept at many different levels. He can connect with the individual shooting for a 760 just as well as the individual shooting for a 600. He helped me improve my understanding of the GMAT tremendously. I now understand how to approach the test and how to do well on the exam. Because of his ability to clearly articulate the material I was able to improve my score.

If you are preparing for the GMAT I would highly recommend you take the Veritas Prep course with Kevin.

Read More


13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Kevin Richardson