GMAT Club

Kaplan GMAT Course Reviews

Kaplan's most popular option offers targeted and focused prep designed for students who need to balance a complete course with their busy lifestyles. For students who want complete prep in a concentrated amount of time. Nine in-person classroom sessions paired with extensive out-of-class instructional resources and practice. Get a great deal too!

Save up to $217 on Kaplan courses + $250 bonus through GMAT Club
Kaplan Deal Page

Kaplan GMAT Course Reviews

Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person
 $1449  $1349
Reviews
6
Average Rating
4.3
Buy Now
Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online Course
 $1249  $1149
Reviews
4
Average Rating
5
Buy Now
Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced
 $799  $799
Reviews
3
Average Rating
4
Buy Now
Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person PLUS
 $1849  $1749
Reviews
0
Average Rating
0
Buy Now
Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online PLUS Course
 $1649  $1549
Reviews
3
Average Rating
5
Buy Now
Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced PLUS
 $999  $999
Reviews
2
Average Rating
2.5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Kaplan GMAT Instructors

Dennis Yim
Reviews
2
Average Rating
5.0
Joseph Tambornino
Reviews
2
Average Rating
5.0
Justin Doff
Reviews
1
Average Rating
5.0
Stuart
Reviews
1
Average Rating
5.0
Seth Ketron
Reviews
1
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

20 Reviews
4.4 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
January 16, 2019
aeschafer1

Joined: Sep 10, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Not the best prep course out there

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced

Location Online

While Kaplan's self-paced course has a great and extensive library of practice questions and exams, the material for preparation wasn't the most helpful for me. I struggled with the quant section and felt that the self-paced version just didn't give me what I needed to truly learn the material. I would recommend a live version of a prep course if you struggle with quant or verbal. If you're just looking to brush up and get accustomed to the types of questions, then Kaplan might be right for you. I ended up taking a different route (1 on 1 quant tutoring) and that significantly improved my quant score.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 04, 2018
quintaal11

Joined: Jun 04, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V42

QBank is awesome for scoring 700+

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online Course

Instructor Stuart

Location Online

I really enjoyed this course and would highly recommend it despite the steeper price in comparison to other courses! Having a real person explain things and answer questions as he goes was incredibly helpful and made class way more interesting and interactive! This was definitely a game changer, as no one really wants to sit down for 3 hours straight. Stuart is the absolute best and was super patient in further explaining the explanations from QBank I didn't quite understand. His tips for achieving as many points as possible past the 700 mark were also super helpful!

I highly recommend anyone aiming for a 700+ score to use QBank as much as they can, it will reveal some other theorems and tricks!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 06, 2018
chadgruzin

Joined: May 06, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q48 V40

Great course!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person

Location Washington, DC USA

Loved my Kaplan course! Instructor was great and always stayed late to answer questions for us. The course moved my score up 50 points and taught me trick I would not have figured out on my own. Definitely utilize the test day experience because it was the most helpful part! After my course experience I am applying to Harvard Business School's 2+2 program where I received an interview. The online experience was great as well! The QBank allows you to answer questions that you are struggling with and focus on specific types of questions. Also there is data that tracks the question types you are getting wrong as well as several practice exams all included in the cost of the course! Overall I would definitely recommend taking this course with Kaplan.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2018
uighelani

Joined: Jan 21, 2018

Posts: 7

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V42

Valuable resource beyond the lesson time

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online Course

Location Online

I found the Kaplan course to be really helpful for someone like me - weak quant background, needed a light refresher of the basics and a heavy amount of training on the GMAT strategies. For people like me, Quant answers/question types don't just "click" like they do for others. The course was the perfect foundation and the book and homework assignments helped me hone in.

More than all of this though, the most valuable resource was the course instructors. They really stressed we could reach out to them after the course was over. I reached out to my instructors over 20 times with screenshots/pictures of questions - not just from Kaplan but also from OG, and they would provide detailed answers/explanations. They even followed up before and after my GMAT, with well wishes. I really felt I got my moneys worth becuase of the time and dedication they had for their students.

As a side note - the Kaplan Qbank is awesome and comprehensive, and the way you are able to create question sets based on not just quant/verbal, but the question topics within each section was invaluable to my GMAT prep.

Read More

March 06, 2018
Mike2005

Joined: Nov 14, 2017

Posts: 4

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q42 V46
740 Q48 V45

self-paced was just what i needed

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced

Location Online

I started with just the official GMAC materials, but I quickly realized that theirs was not designed to help you "crack the code." I did quite a bit of research and was completely willing to pay for the in-person or online classes, but I didn't want to be hamstrung by the pace of others. I opted for the Kaplan self-paced and I'm very glad that I did.

For me, my work schedule was at a lull for a couple of months, so I decided to just hit it as hard as I could. Because I was doing the self-paced, I was able to do 8-12 hours of study per day. The intro video was oddly super helpful. It told me how to organize my studies (don't take another CAT unless you've done significant studying, etc.). I mapped out a plan for myself and got to it. I started with a CAT and then the program told me where I was and what I needed to study more of. I was in a position to skip all the basics and I jumped right in to the intermediate and then moved on to the advanced.

I will say that the Kaplan CATs aren't perfect representations of the actual GMAT, but they're close and they're included. I purchased the GMAC test expansion pack and I budgeted them out so as not to burn them before I got my target score.

Once I had done enough Kaplan studying that the Kaplan CAT said I was getting into the ballpark of where I wanted, I took the GMAC official CAT. It said I got a 760, so I scheduled the official test for two days later, took a day off and took the test. I only got a 710--good, but not my target. In hindsight, my concentration/stamina waned towards the end of the test. Gratefully, the GMAT now allows you to choose the order to take the test. I recommend doing your weakest (verbal/quant) first, the other second, and doing the IR/AWA last since those don't figure as prominently into the admission decision.

I continued with the studying, reviewing carefully and dissecting advanced problems until I could "see the matrix." About 6 weeks of total studying, and I got a 740, still shy of my target of 750, but it wasn't worth it to keep studying to get another 10 points.

My favorite part of the self-paced was that I could watch the videos at 1.5 and 2x speeds until I found something that met my personal needs, then I would pause and write it down and rewind/re-watch as necessary. At no point did I feel like I was missing out on quality instruction just because the instruction was taped. On the contrary, I actually think the instruction was better than I might have received in an online live class, because the instructors were clearly some of Kaplan's absolute best.

A few times I had questions about a review or example question and I emailed Kaplan. I received answers usually within a business day and was mostly satisfied with the response that I got.

Overall...
I absolutely recommend the Kaplan self-paced course. Especially for those whose skills are already on the intermediate-advanced level and who are trying to figure out how to go from ~80th percentile into the 95th or better. You can just keep hitting the parts that trip you up until you get there.

Also, I didn't use it, but it does come with the official test day experience. I'm a good tester and had already been to this location, so I didn't want to waste the time practicing, but for some, I could see how helpful it could be.

Read More

September 05, 2017
magician

Joined: Feb 16, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V41

Methodical platform with plenty of tools and caring staff

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Tutoring - In Person

Instructor Ricci Fitzpatrick

Location Houston, TX USA

I really liked the systematic, professional, and methodological experience with KAPLAN.
I was a medium-range scorer and needed help with quantitative aspects of the GMAT. I did a lot of self-study with official materials but lacked the preparation strategy.
A friend suggested KAPLAN and mentioned his own success with the prep services.
I signed up for a private tutoring of 15 hours, and two then three times a week were very helpful. My tutor was readily available and customized practice according to her vision and my feedback.
In addition, the quiz bank, the live channel sessions, and the structured and dynamic content on the web and in the print book made a difference in preparing for the GMAT.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 08, 2017
diverboy1988

Joined: Mar 05, 2017

Posts: 41

Kudos: 19

Self-reported Score:
710 Q46 V41

Great Service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - Live Online Course

Location Online

The Kaptest is great!

The test prep is actually amazing, 9 tests that are actually like the real exam, are very helpful.

I took the live online course, which is very helpful and allows you to take the course on your schedule, from wherever you're located. I might suggest orienting yourself to take the section you are weakest in first, giving you the most time to prepare for the actual exam.

The fact that you can take a practice test in the Pearson Vue is such a boon.

To be honest, when I took the actual exam, I was confused by whether I was accidentally scheduled for a second practice exam because the modules are so similar! I increased my score by over 30 points, so this is really great.

Read More

July 20, 2017
sasyaharry

Joined: Nov 22, 2016

Posts: 205

Kudos: 126

Good test of your commitment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - In Person

Instructor Kris Park

Location San Jose (Milpitas), CA USA

Firstly, Kaplan offers many options all over San Jose for GMAT in person prep. I choose the Palo alto high school location since a closer location was unavailable.
For some reason the course I had picked was changed at the last minute and a new course code was assigned. Nothing else changed.
The materials from Kaplan arrived on time and included their GMAT premier course book, a pocket guide and admissions guide. The package also included a pad similar to the on you will get test day and a marker pen.
Our tutor was Kris Park. He broke up the prep into various segments and would always give us a summary of what we would be learning on any given day. The class was an eclectic mix of people from various backgrounds. The classes were held from 6:30 to 9:30 PM. Taking this class in winter meant walking in pitch darkness from the class room to the school parking lot. On the flip side the school was quite during those hours. Also, the room was very hard to find on the first day, specially in the dark. Some more planning like placement of signs would have helped.

The course itself had many facets. The Kaplan flex sessions were helpful in receiving targeted help. The online content was good to recapitulate what you had learnt. The tests were a bit on the harder side in my opinion. What I suggest is not to take these CAT scores as gold standard. You have some room, if you know what i mean.

My only gripe with Kaplan is that their content is not available for a longer duration. 6 months is too less. Taking into consideration the prep time and possible retest, students should have at least 12 months access.

Overall I did benefit from interacting with real people and these live sessions may or may not be your cup of tea. There is no way that the tutor can cover everything in the book and this means you must use your time with the tutor wisely.

Read More

June 07, 2017
arenddd

Joined: May 11, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
680 Q44 V40

Terrible Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 10 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced PLUS

Location Online

If you are looking to score above a 700, look elsewhere. The material is incredibly shallow and gives a basic overview of the exam. It is also a lot more expensive than alternative courses and I would not recommend. I started studying with Manhattan which I would definitely recommend, at least over Kaplan.

They do give some material which is helpful, like 9 CAT tests, however there is little support for improving upon what you are getting wrong. A more detailed analysis would be helpful in determining what you should study. I am generally a good test taker, got a 4.0 in college, so I'm not bad at studying. I think the material that Kaplan gives is just not useful. Look elsewhere.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 17, 2017
JenniferAtKaplan

Hi, arenddd. I'm sorry you are not satisfied with your Kaplan course. We measure our success by our students' success and take feedback like this very seriously. I want to make sure you are fully aware of the resources available to you and the options available to continue to raise your score and get your full value from your Kaplan course. Your CATs give you a breakdown of the content areas and question types you should focus on to improve your performance. Each CAT includes a full explanation of every question, as do the Qbank and all course sessions. Your course includes access to both live and recorded episodes of the GMAT Channel, each of which is designed to dive deeper into specific content areas. The GMAT Channel also includes sessions specifically designed for harder test content.

In addition to the GMAT Channel, the Self-Paced PLUS course includes the opportunity to take a full-length Kaplan CAT at an actual GMAT testing center. Kaplan's partnership with Pearson VUE lets you have the full GMAT experience -- going through official GMAC check-in and security processes; taking the test in a room with other test takers; and experiencing all of the sights, sounds, and stresses of the actual GMAT -- without worrying about the score. This realistic practice is key to obtaining your very best GMAT score, as there will be no surprises when it actually counts.

For any further clarification or to share any feedback or concerns directly with us, please reach out to us via KaplanGMATfeedback@kaplan.com.

January 09, 2017
aeropower

Joined: Dec 24, 2014

Posts: 102

Kudos: 50

Self-reported Score:
750 Q50 V41

Solid foundation, strategies past base level

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Kaplan GMAT Prep - Self-Paced

Location Online

Overall, the level of content and the products included are very helpful in helping you learn the basics of the exam, all the basics.

From what is on the exam to getting a feel for the actual test with the option to take a practice CAT at an official GMAT testing location. The other things included in the package are also helpful - the GMAT scratchpad with dry-erase pen gives you a good feel for what it's like on test day.

As for the content, I think Kaplan is very good at giving you a basic understanding of every inch of the exam. However, because there is so much to cover on the GMAT, the Kaplan program was sometimes "shallow" with its explanation of problems from the study material. The program also tracks all of the questions you've answered to give you a good assessment of how you're progressing.

Also, having 9+ CATs to take are invaluable.

Overall, the Kaplan program is pretty good and with it, I was able to bring my score up 60 points with it, 650 to 710.

Read More