GMAT Club

[Tests] Manhattan Prep GMAT CATs Reviews

Our GMAT practice tests are built with adaptive calibration and Select Section Order, just like the real thing. Try one now and see how close you are to your goal score. Try a free Manhattan CAT now

[Tests] Manhattan Prep GMAT CATs Reviews

[Tests] Manhattan Prep GMAT CATs [Tests]
$49
Reviews
43
Average Rating
4.3
Buy Now

Reviews:

43 Reviews
4.3 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
August 18, 2019
mafuz

Joined: Jan 21, 2015

Posts: 8

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
570 Q41 V28

A good estimate

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The CATs provide a very good estimate of the actual score. However, the quantitative section is harder. In my opinion, the reason is not that the questions are harder but that the algorithm will bombard you with 700-800 level questions in the very beginning- this tactic is enough to wreck a mid-range test taker, like me (frustration comes at the beginning of the test; it is difficult to stand on feet). However, the key is to manage time. Even the initial crisis can be checked if time is well managed later in the test.

The verbal is comparable to other CATs. Questions are standard and tricky. However, some critical reasonings questions seem to have taken too far!

Read More

July 11, 2019
rubythailand

Joined: Jun 25, 2017

Posts: 5

Kudos: 3

Hard but is it accurate?

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

The math is definitely difficult. I feel confident saying that whatever math score you receive on Manhattan math is sure to be lower than what you will receive on the real test. As a result it is definitely good for practicing speed, fundamentals and word questions (which can be very tricky). Still if your goal is to get used to the format of the test, I think Manhattan is far off. The math questions don't match GMAT questions, often taking too long to solve and involving ambiguities in language.

The verbal section on the other hand is a bit easy. The reading section I think is the closest to the real test but the sentence corrections and critical reasoning are off. The sentence correction questions rely primarily on grammar mistakes with little attention given to nuance. The critical reasoning section follows standard patterns such as correlation equal causation and mistaken statistics (such as mixing up percent and raw numbers). As a result the verbal score on Manhattan could be much higher than that on the real test. Overall, not a bad practice test but the overall score is not reflective of what you will receive on the real test

Read More

July 07, 2019
GMATin

Joined: Dec 24, 2018

Posts: 105

Kudos: 50

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V40

Take these when you are sure you are ready

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I know most people talk about the intensity of these tests and I couldn't agree more with this. However, my biggest advice about these tests is: Do not take them unless you are scoring in the 30 points range. Taking these tests too early in your prep can be very demotivating. I had this experience when I took a test and totally tanked it.
Next advice would be to spend a good amount of time to go through all questions once done with the test and take a note of all the concepts that are tested in every question. These tests are known to twist concepts which can be an excellent practice for the real deal

Read More

June 08, 2019
dilip_dx

Joined: Aug 13, 2017

Posts: 8

Kudos: 8

Good questions and hard quant section. Highly recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

The MGMAT CAT gets on top of your head and keeps you going towards the best.

IMO: Quants is way harder than normal GMAT prep test or original test. Most of the question are in the range of 700-800.
Anyone aspiring for Q50/Q51 needs to try this and a score of Q47/Q48 + will most likely land you on the Q50/51 side on real GMAT.

Verbal questions quality is the best here. Pretty much what you score here will reflect on your real GMAT with +/- 2-3 points.

Overall if you are able to get, say 670-690, you can expect a score of 700-740.

Highly recommend.

Read More

May 06, 2019
delmoneyy

Joined: Mar 28, 2019

Posts: 89

Kudos: 58

Self-reported Score:
720 Q47 V42

Very Hard Quant but good preparation

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

This was a very good source for a good start to GMAT prep. I took 5 CATs and I am saving the last one for 2 weeks before my exam. I am scoring much higher on other prep course CAT's than MGMAT but I do find these questions to be a good preparation for the real exam. The quant will prepare you and you should not be discouraged by the somewhat lower scores on this section. Use it as a tool to learn rather than a tool to see how many math questions you got right. Verbal is pretty accurate, maybe a little bit harder too.

Read More

December 02, 2018
Ben471

Joined: Jul 23, 2018

Posts: 18

Kudos: 36

Verified score:
Canceled

High Quality CATs

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Quant- Difficulty level of questions is high. Hence, practising them would be lead to a high score. Good segregation after tests topic wise. This helps to identify the weak sections and improve accordingly.
Verbal - The quality of questions is good. Explanations for correct answers are not satisfactory, especially for sentence correction.
Overall - Difficult tests compared to actual GMAT. Good analytics. Need further explanations for answer choices.

Guides are very informative. Exhaustive for Sentence correction. Quant basics are covered and only advanced topics are available in detail.
Most of the 700 - 800 level verbal questions are available in GMAT club and look repeated.

Read More

October 04, 2018
prashant2290

Joined: May 09, 2015

Posts: 6

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
680 Q48 V36

Manhattan CATs

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

Hello All,

I have taken Manhattan Prep CATs multiple times, and each time it has exceeded my expectations. Though there are always some questions which seem to be out of GMAT's league but overall the tests have been extremely helpful in determining which section should be attempted first and the pattern. Secondly, it gives a unique experience of how GMAT will appear on the actual date.

I recommend the future GMAT test takers to use MPrep's CATs to correctly identify where they are going wrong and what else cant hey do improve on their performance.

Also, the solutions are very good! One must look at the solutions of the questions that you have done wrong.

Thanks and all the best.

Read More

August 09, 2018
alphak3nny001

Joined: Apr 03, 2018

Posts: 41

Kudos: 16

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Manhattan Prep GMAT CATs review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Manhattan prep gmat cats are definitely one of the best cats available. I recommend them for everyone taking the gmat. They are available at a fairly cheaper price as compared to most other cats.
I have found them to be more difficult than the actual gmat so don't get discouraged after seeing the results. Instead, use them to identify your weak spots and fill-in the knowledge gaps. They have high quality questions 700 level questions which are really good for practice. The people behind the tests seem to have done some good background work. The tests have a very similar feel as the GMAT Prep or GMAT itself. Every test has a vast variety of questions. Rarer topics such as Bold Faced CR or Subjunctive Mood or complex Set Theory questions or interesting Coordinate Geometry questions, which I did not find in my experience with other mock tests/material were present in the MGMAT test in fair proportion. I would say...Go for it!

Read More

July 26, 2018
ColumbiaEMBA

Joined: Sep 29, 2017

Posts: 115

Kudos: 42

Self-reported Score:
720 Q49 V39

Manhattan GMAT CATs - decent at best

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I purchased the Manhattan GMAT CATs earlier this year with the hopes to have a very realistic experience of the GMAT. I took 3-4 of their practice exams (did not finish all 6). Here are my findings:

Verbal:

SC: they emphasize too much on the meaning. While I have found meaning related SC on the official exams, they tend to be less than 1% of the questions. More than 50% of Manhattan GMAT questions have something or the other to do with meaning and why the answer is incorrect because the meaning changed. What's more important that the same logic that I apply to the official questions would many times give me the wrong answer in MGMAT.

CR: their CR is relatively OK. The same logic that I apply to the official questions works on this so not much to say. Overall, they aren't difficult and are probably 600 level questions.

RC: similar to CR, their RC is just okay. I have found that sometimes more than 1 answer choice would make sense. This is something that will never happen on the official questions. While one could argue that I may not know the content (see what I did there? it's called quantifying...), I'm pretty confident in my English as a native speaker.

Quant:

PS: absolutely horrible. I learned nothing from this other than how easy it is to pull my hair out. Here's the trick: the official questions may seem hard, but can be solved very quickly no matter how difficult. It's a matter of finding the pattern and applying it. Here, it's 5 different steps required to get to the answer. Who has that kind of time? More importantly, how is this even relevant?

DS: same as PS. Too much work, no learning.

Overall: these exams will get you to a 600 maybe. The overall content isn't that relevant and I found these exams to be a waste of time and money. I have no gripes against MGMAT or the fact that I lost $50 - I just wish there was something that was very relatable to the official exam and so far I have found nothing to be close other than the official guides.

Read More

July 14, 2018
Saps

Joined: Aug 20, 2016

Posts: 43

Kudos: 10

Verified score:
610 Q49 V25

Manhattan Cat feedback

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Dear All,

I have used Manhattan tests for my last GMAT exam. Here goes the feedback -

I found the questions are good but very tough. Both Quant and Verbal questions are hard to solve. The questions need more time than avg of 1.5-2 min to solve in both sections, which was not the case with actual exam. If you practice these CATs you should end up scoring more on the real GMAT test than in the Manhattan tests. So MGMAT can act as a benchmark for improvement or as a morale breaker, depending on how you want to see it. There was +50 score difference between manhattan and original test for me.
Hope this helps.

Thanks,
Sapna

Read More