GMAT Club

Johnson (Cornell) Reviews

logo-CULogo-red120px.png
MBA Program rating [15]
(4.3)
Submit a review

November 26, 2016
bayareaguy123

Joined: Feb 14, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Transitioning Military

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Johnson (Cornell)

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

- Understand that although Ithaca is pretty close to the middle of nowhere, recruiters still come to campus. Some companies provide overwhelming support (especially from alumni), while others not so much.
- As a transitioning military officer with no business background, I struggled with some of the core classes. Many of your classmates have at least a fundamental understanding of many concepts and you might have no understanding. Don't get discouraged by this. Your grades might suffer, but you'll end up having learned a lot.
- If you are a parent, be prepared to really spend time learning how to prioritize your time. I have a 10-month old son who I see usually no more than 2 hours a day, which means my wife takes care of him for the other 22 hours. It's hard, but ensure to spend some undivided quality time with your family. Remember that in the long-run, having a cohesive working family is far more important than getting good grades.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Very supportive professors. Professors and TAs are typically available whenever you need extra assistance.

About job placement process

I am recruiting for marketing and the majority of companies that come to campus are CPG. This school typically places marketers in CPG. You can find other routes to go, but you will be pushed by the Career Management Center to go CPG. All of the big players recruit here, so if you are interested in CPG, this is a good place to be.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Admissions Team
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance

Can be improved:

Culture & Student Support


Read More

March 16, 2016
m3equals333

Joined: Dec 20, 2013

Posts: 155

Kudos: 116

Self-reported Score:
640 Q44 V34
720 Q49 V40
710 Q48 V40

Operation Career Discovery

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Johnson (Cornell)

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

I think the culture at Johnson is amazingly diverse yet tight-knit. I know this sounds cliche, but I am being sincere. Within Cornell, Johnson is most integrated with the Baker Real Estate School and Law School. I was shocked when I took a class on the other side of campus (within the Policy Analysis & Mgmt) and discovered a whole community of talented individuals who congregated in a massive building with ultra-progressive facilities (MVR). I feel like I discover something new and exciting each day I walk onto campus.

To be honest, I was not prepared for the rigorous and fast-is paced curriculum at Johnson. With half semesters, there seems to come a point where tests and quizzes are non-stop and something clustered is devious arrangements. Initially recruiting for I-Banking, I quickly became immersed in recruiting (Corporate Briefings and universally loved crop circles; off-campus events; traveling to the city for interviews --> thank heaven for the Cornell Club; etc). The opportunities are there for Johnson students...if you make the cut, you will interviewing on Superdays right alongside H/S/W applicants). The one aspect that can improve a bit is the traditional procedures associated with club --> 2nd year --> bank interaction. A more progressive approach (which I believe is in the works) will go a long way.

The biggest draw for Johnson is the flexibility it provides for career switchers. There are loads of opportunity for every industry and job type; for example, I interviewed for traditional investment banking roles, managerial program roles, consulting roles, etc. Most were larger corporations and bulge bracket firms, but some were more boutique.

My classmates have been some of the most intellectual and genuine people I have met in my life.



Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Investment Banking
Tech

Can be improved:

grade disclosure policy


Read More

March 05, 2016
amaterasu

Joined: May 22, 2010

Posts: 84

Kudos: 14

Cornell Johnson

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Johnson (Cornell)

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

In overall, the program is good. Professors are top-notch, but competition is fierce as is expected in any top business school. It is really hard to get A's. You work too much on your class commitments and this alone hampers students' efforts towards recruiting.

Career Center is not as good. They are not very helpful even if the school size is not that much. I do not believe any member of career center has ever found any student something tangible.

Some companies such as FB, MSFT, Airbnb do not come to campus. Almost all IB companies come.

Make a wise selection, I would not have selected Cornell if I had been accepted by HBS and Stanford, even MIT and Berkeley. If you are not a US Citizen, you will not get any scholarships, however some other top schools at the caliber of Cornell provide such scholarships: Tuck, Darden are some of them.

Alumni are willing to help, but I do not believe that they will beat those of Tuck :)


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking


Read More

January 26, 2016
RoyHalladay

Joined: Jun 18, 2012

Posts: 142

Kudos: 28

Johnson MBA--Alum Perspective

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Johnson (Cornell)

Program Cornell One Year MBA Program

Class of 2013

Experience during the program

I graduated a few years ago and am most likely getting ready to wrap up my stint as a consultant. Coming in to the program, I was looking for diversity in both student body and experiences. Johnson was perfect for this. Our strengths are notably in IB and consulting; many of my classmates and friends are enjoying successful careers at great firms.

Despite the relatively small size, there's ample opportunity to explore and be a part of various meaningful groups and organizations.

Student body is diverse, extremely smart and motivated, but most importantly fun and supportive. I was in the One year MBA, but have made life-long friends across all the programs.

I would highly recommend Johnson. I've been involved in recruiting and interviewing for my firm this past year, and I would say the talent pool is very strong.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Sometimes integration between 1 and 2 year MBAs isn't fluid. Its highly variable and depends on the class. I would recommend more cross-class interactions and project work to create a more cohesive group at Sage.

Go Big Red!


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Location
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More

November 29, 2015
dtse86

Joined: Feb 03, 2014

Posts: 575

Kudos: 253

Self-reported Score:
730 Q49 V40

Good

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Johnson (Cornell)

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

I have to admit that I was extremely skeptical about what people were saying about the "close-knit" nature of Johnson and if one could really feel the difference. But the reality is that although ~280 classmates and a total of ~600+ overall full-time MBA students is quite a large number of people, the fact that everything happens in one place and that the students are so actively involved in everything, makes it feel much more like a family. And the "close-knit" nature really does affect the MBA experience in that there isn't much space to "hide" in the crowd and you really get to know your classmates well.

There has been a lot of criticism lately from both internal sources and external sources regarding the direction of the program and how the school is branding itself. Personally, I do believe the school realizes this gap and is doing a fairly good job at trying to listen to the constructive feedback and address these ongoing issues. And regardless of what the school ends up doing, no school is perfect and there will always be complaints.

With that all being said, I believe that if you remove all of the strengths that the school tries to promote (tech, entrepreneurship, IB, etc) its true core strength lies in the ethical leaders that the school produces. Strong ethics and leadership is something that I see consistently with all of my classmates and the alums. Because of the way the school is structured, I see those characteristics as the only truly salient factors that distinguish between those that succeed and those that fail. The school IS strong in all of these areas simply because it's a place that tries to offer its students an overly abundant number of resources to cater to anyone's potential desires. Really, everything you need to succeed is here and if it's not, it's very likely available in the greater Cornell University community where there are seemingly endless word-class resources at your fingertips. Therefore, in order to succeed at Johnson, one needs to be very proactive and decisive when determining how to spend their 2 short years here.

Sure, the school's not perfect and they can improve in many areas, but that doesn't happen without a proactive student body and a community that really has a large interest in it's overall success. I think that Johnson currently has all of the right pieces to produce a top 10 business school experience (great diverse student body and excellent faculty) and that it's on the verge of doing so. The reason that it's not quite there yet, is that the students and the administration need to work more effectively together to execute a coordinated effort to improve the school as a whole. Once they can accomplish that, the sky's the limit!

About professors, classes and curriculum

The overall quality of the professors has been extremely impressive and it has actually exceeded my expectations. They've added some great new core faculty members that I think will fundamentally improve the MBA curriculum. Although, it is still far from perfect and the school is behind its peers as far as being more forward looking into what both the students are looking for and what employers value from MBA's.

Like I said, the professors are excellent, however the overall curriculum and course offerings could use a new structure and potentially a total overhaul. They did add two new courses to the core, however I don't think they looked at how those additional courses effectively fit into the overall picture with the existing courses and to prevent overlap, they need to reassess the structure of each course in the core.

But, I do like the freedom of choice that the program allows and for the most part, one can select their own unique MBA experience once one completes the core (which for the most part is complete after the first semester). This flexibility is fairly unique to the school and offers its students the option to customize their education for what they believe their career needs are.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Alumni Network

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking
Facilities


Read More