GMAT Club

Tuck Reviews

logo-Tuck_School_of_Business_logo.png
MBA Program rating [15]
(4.8)
Submit a review

November 25, 2016
BschoolBound2014

Joined: Jul 02, 2013

Posts: 23

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
710 Q44 V42

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

Tuck knows it's strengths and plays to them extremely well. The career prospects for consulting are unmatched and the alumni network is extremely responsive and helpful when seeking employment. My classmates were impressive and friendly -- many I will stay in touch with for the rest of my life.

Social life is made up of house parties, bars in town, and tons of events on campus. You'll get fatigue of activities before you ever get bored. Hanover is quaint and hospitable and a handful of new eateries (with surprisingly fantastic food) have popped up in the last two years. There is easy access to New York via a luxury bus-line (over-sized leather chairs, wi-fi, keurig, snacks, and drinks) and Boston is 2 hours away. Most students bring cars.

There is no doubt that I am better set up to succeed in my career after attending the Tuck School of Business. I went back last month with my consulting firm to recruit more students because the firm I work for sees great succes hiring at Tuck. Don't let the location scare you off, the upside is tremendous.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Management

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location


Read More

January 27, 2016
wluck

Joined: Nov 02, 2013

Posts: 28

Kudos: 2

B School Life

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

The entire student body is incredibly nice. It's hard to find a mean person at Tuck. However, the school does not attract as many diverse students as some of the other schools located in big cities. This is a bit of a disappointment. I will give Tuck credit though, as they are making significant efforts to fix this. The number of women enrolled at Tuck is up from 32% to 42%, which is a huge leap in just one year. I would like to see more diversity in terms of ethnic backgrounds and socioeconomic standing.

Herd mentality is a bit strong at Tuck. Almost everyone does hiking, hockey, skiing, and other winter sports because their friends are doing it.

The alumni of Tuck are amazing. They have been incredibly helpful to me during my job search. It's true that they are willing to drop everything to spend time talking to you. Of all the alumni that I have reached out to, everyone has gotten back to me promptly. The size of the alumni base is not that big, but they are MIGHTY.

Location - this is probably the hardest thing for me to adjust to and it will vary from person to person. I thought living in a small rural town would be fun, but I miss city life so much. If you're an outdoorsy person, you should have no problem. If you are used to public transportation, convenience, a thousand different activities and restaurants to sample, then Hanover may be a difficult transition.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support
Admissions Team

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Investment Banking
Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Location


Read More

January 10, 2016
caoyu0925

Joined: Dec 20, 2012

Posts: 7

Kudos: 1

Tuck

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

First thing is do your campus visit before you apply, that will help you a lot and it is also a kind of test whether you are a good fit for this program. Because Hanover is really a remote place and the life and MBA experience would be extremely different from other schools located in the cities.

Second thing is trying to figure out what is your career goal before you apply, and find out the strength of different schools. As far as I noticed, Tuck is really strong in consulting, because there are so many opportunities and you will have great support on that.

Last, for me, MBA is a life changing experience as I moved from my country and started a completely new life here. It may not be the case or be the exact thing you are looking for, so be prepared for this.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Culture & Student Support
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Location


Read More

November 23, 2016
anathagenzum

Hi,

You mention that the alumni network could be improved. Could you elaborate on why you think so, as I was under the impression that that is one of the largest assets for any student at Tuck.

TIA

February 14, 2017
Bowtye

Hello,

The comment about the alumni network surprises me as well. I was under the impression it is an extremely tight knit network.

December 19, 2015
Flyte

Joined: Sep 15, 2013

Posts: 188

Kudos: 92

Self-reported Score:
740

Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

Tuck has been a fantastic experience and I got offers from the two top companies I targeted pre-MBA. Culture really is king here and the alumni network is even better than advertised! The travel in and out of Hanover is not as difficult as one might expect and the Lebanon Airport (15 mins away) offers surprisingly inexpensive flights to NYC and Boston.

My suggestion for future applicants is to be genuine and really get to know Tuck. The entire process is to get to know you and your goals. I would also say, every admit should do a pre-term program (Outward Bound is the best!).


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

December 03, 2015
domotron

Joined: Oct 19, 2012

Posts: 539

Kudos: 206

Self-reported Score:
710 Q50 V36
740 Q48 V44

Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Tuck has met all my expectations to date. First, it provides a wide range of opportunities not only limited to consulting or banking. There are a myriad of general management jobs and more recently technology jobs available. While there are lot of opportunities for the Northeast, increasingly there are opportunities further afield with a growing alumni base out on the West Coast. Overall, I found the Careers Development Office and the alumni network to be valuable resources in the job search.

Tuck is a close-knit program that really focuses on community. Since Dean Slaughter took over, there has been an increased focus on innovation and global experiences. I am very optimistic about the changes that Dean Slaughter will push forward and believe that Tuck will continue to improve its offer while keeping the thing that it is really good at - the close-knit residential full-time MBA program.

Due to the small class size, you really can get to know all your classmates. To date, I know every single person of my class and around 50-60% of the class above and below. There is something to be said for shared experiences and I think this is the primary reason why Tuck has such strong alumni support. Whenever I speak with an alum, we frequently talk about things happening at Tuck and age old traditions like tripod hockey or skiing at Killington.

Tuck is not for everyone due to its size and location but I personally viewed both as big advantages. I would recommend any applicant to take advantage of the open interview system to visit and interview on campus. You may be surprised!

About professors, classes and curriculum

The core curriculum is a key component of Tuck and I really like how it stitches together to form a cohesive experience. In particular, Professors Neslin and Kopalle, who both teach core statistics, are phenomenal professors.

Tuck also has some great healthcare classes due to its close ties with Geisel, the medical school at Dartmouth.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Location
Culture

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More