GMAT Club

Tuck Reviews

logo-Tuck_School_of_Business_logo.png
MBA Program rating [15]
(4.8)
Submit a review

December 03, 2015
domotron

Joined: Oct 19, 2012

Posts: 539

Kudos: 206

Self-reported Score:
710 Q50 V36
740 Q48 V44

Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Tuck has met all my expectations to date. First, it provides a wide range of opportunities not only limited to consulting or banking. There are a myriad of general management jobs and more recently technology jobs available. While there are lot of opportunities for the Northeast, increasingly there are opportunities further afield with a growing alumni base out on the West Coast. Overall, I found the Careers Development Office and the alumni network to be valuable resources in the job search.

Tuck is a close-knit program that really focuses on community. Since Dean Slaughter took over, there has been an increased focus on innovation and global experiences. I am very optimistic about the changes that Dean Slaughter will push forward and believe that Tuck will continue to improve its offer while keeping the thing that it is really good at - the close-knit residential full-time MBA program.

Due to the small class size, you really can get to know all your classmates. To date, I know every single person of my class and around 50-60% of the class above and below. There is something to be said for shared experiences and I think this is the primary reason why Tuck has such strong alumni support. Whenever I speak with an alum, we frequently talk about things happening at Tuck and age old traditions like tripod hockey or skiing at Killington.

Tuck is not for everyone due to its size and location but I personally viewed both as big advantages. I would recommend any applicant to take advantage of the open interview system to visit and interview on campus. You may be surprised!

About professors, classes and curriculum

The core curriculum is a key component of Tuck and I really like how it stitches together to form a cohesive experience. In particular, Professors Neslin and Kopalle, who both teach core statistics, are phenomenal professors.

Tuck also has some great healthcare classes due to its close ties with Geisel, the medical school at Dartmouth.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Location
Culture

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

January 10, 2016
caoyu0925

Joined: Dec 20, 2012

Posts: 7

Kudos: 1

Tuck

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

First thing is do your campus visit before you apply, that will help you a lot and it is also a kind of test whether you are a good fit for this program. Because Hanover is really a remote place and the life and MBA experience would be extremely different from other schools located in the cities.

Second thing is trying to figure out what is your career goal before you apply, and find out the strength of different schools. As far as I noticed, Tuck is really strong in consulting, because there are so many opportunities and you will have great support on that.

Last, for me, MBA is a life changing experience as I moved from my country and started a completely new life here. It may not be the case or be the exact thing you are looking for, so be prepared for this.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Culture & Student Support
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Location


Read More

November 23, 2016
anathagenzum

Hi,

You mention that the alumni network could be improved. Could you elaborate on why you think so, as I was under the impression that that is one of the largest assets for any student at Tuck.

TIA

February 14, 2017
Bowtye

Hello,

The comment about the alumni network surprises me as well. I was under the impression it is an extremely tight knit network.

December 27, 2020
mariaterezasn

Joined: Dec 10, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
660 Q48 V32

Tuck is unique

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2022

Experience during the program

I choosed Tuck because of its amazing people, does not matter whether a current student or a 10y graduate alumni. I saw that confident humility, empathy, and judgment are values still alive even years after graduation.

After starting my MBA I realized that "Tuck Nice" is not something only spoken, is something alive in everyone, from staff to students. Everyone is willing to help during your application process, we are colleagues and want that everyone succeed, even if we are competing by the same position, people still help one another.

For me, all of the people I connected with (during applications for BS, during recruiting, etc) were willing to share their stories, listen to yours and glad to help. The strength of the network and the community was for me what made Tuck a very unique school.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors


Read More

December 23, 2020
kingmeri

Joined: May 27, 2017

Posts: 13

Kudos: 14

Verified score:
720 Q49 V41

Excellent School with the Best Alumni Network

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2022

Experience during the program

Tuck has the best alumni. I have NEVER had an alumn forget to call me back. The school takes pride in being selective and small. For this reason alumni from Partners at MBB to bankers are willing to take time for a quick chat.

The claases are very diverse and are cooperative. Grade non-disclosure encourages students to cooperate instead of compete for career prospects. For this reason, Tuck is the "nice" school.

I think the career services center does a great job of bringing companies to campus, the problem is they are sometimes a bit busy to help you case and prepare for your interviews.

About job placement process

Consulting powerhouse. 10% of the class of 2022 went to work for Bain. Very impressive.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Location
Culture & Student Support


Read More

May 26, 2017
sjsh

Joined: May 18, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Power in (small) numbers

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

The small class size at Tuck is a key strength of the program. It allows for more interpersonal communication between classmates and professors and fosters a more personal and curated business school experience. This powerful dynamic extends beyond the classroom, everyone from your administrators to your career counselors know your name and your interests inside and outside the classroom. The ability to travel abroad in small groups of first and second years during our Global Insights Expedition is another unique feature of the Tuck program, and a favorite part of my time at Tuck so far. I highly recommend this program.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Tech

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Location


Read More

May 25, 2017
angadgrewal

Joined: Jul 13, 2012

Posts: 11

Kudos: 2

Tuck - a truly transformational business school

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Tuck has an incredibly supportive and high caliber student body. The professors are world class and the facilities provided by the school are second to none. The school is really good for students who wish to transition to Consulting or Investment Banking. However, Tuck can do more to provide more opportunities to students interested in entrepreneurship and non-traditional fields. Hanover and the upper valley Is a great place to relocate to for two years, and the whole town has an amazing student town vibe to it. Overall, I think Tuck is a wonderful school but it's not for everyone. Tuck is a school for those who want to build life long friendships and networks, and are willing to happily relocate to a small town in New Hampshire for two years. It definitely isn't for those people who want to go to a school in a big city and who enjoy fancy restaurants and nightlife.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Consulting, General Management, Investment Banking

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support


Read More

May 25, 2017
gtgpee

Joined: Jan 02, 2014

Posts: 17

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V42

Tuck 2017 Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Perspective: Previously worked in operations transitioning into consulting. Graduated this year.

Goals: Tuck exceeded my expectations enabling me to reach my goals. Consulting recruits heavily on campus, and the bidding system allows people to interview despite not being on a company's "close list". I, myself, was admitted through this process and am grateful for Tuck's bidding policy

Suggestions: Do not feel restricted to have only one summer internship. Work with your employers to work for multiple companies during the summer. On campus, there are so many events always going on, think about what is most important to you and focus on that.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Amazing alumni and faculty engagement. I felt like I built relationships with all my professors

About job placement process

Estimates: Mckinsey, Bain, and BCG have approximately 200 interview spots combined. For a class of 280, this is remarkable.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

May 25, 2017
CA88

Joined: Jun 25, 2012

Posts: 129

Kudos: 23

Self-reported Score:
700 Q47 V40
740 Q48 V44

Great!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Tuck has been fantastic so far. My classmates are extremely impressive and all very down to earth. Alumni network is strong and basically any alumni you are interested in speaking to will answer your email/phone call.

Career services helps facilitate the on campus process and will be available to help with your off campus search as well. There are tons of opportunities available.

You will either be a great fit for the culture at Tuck or not. It is really critical to visit the school to see if you’ll like two years in the woods. It’s a very tight knit community.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Brilliant professors who are not only brilliant but expert communicators/teachers as well.

About job placement process

Most major consulting firms, banks will come to campus


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school
Location


Read More

May 25, 2017
enriqueaguilarf

Joined: Oct 24, 2012

Posts: 2

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
690 Q48 V36

Life Changing, best 2 years of my life

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2016

Experience during the program

Tuck has taught me many things, but most importantly the sense of community and possibility. By community, I mean understanding that no matter where you are it is important to stick together and never betray your values. I intend to bring this to wherever I go and contribute in any way I can. By possibility, I mean Tuck gave me the security to trust myself and be certain that if I work hard and truly believe in what I do, I will be able to achieve something bigger than myself.

One of the most memorable moments of my MBA was when Federico Minoli, former CEO of Ducati, visited our Competitive & Corporate Strategy course. His vision and practical tips on turn-arounds and management completely redefined the way I see the competitive game within business.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity
Career opportunities provided by school
Location


Read More

May 25, 2017
leed123

Joined: May 25, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 5

Tuck is well worth the investment!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Tuck

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2015

Experience during the program

I spent two amazing years at Tuck and have found both the in-school experience and alumni body exactly as described when I first considered the school.

First, Tuck is a special place both for its beautiful location in Hanover, NH and for its world-renowned professors who commit to teaching and research. Granted, the location is not for everyone, but when it comes to recruiting it makes little difference. From the first week, we were consistently bombarded with recruiters from all the top consulting, finance, and tech firms in the country. The strength and reputation of any business school can be judged on this measure.

Second, the student body is limited to about 280 in each class. It makes for a more intimate learning environment, and frankly everyone gets to know each other over the course of two years. And how this translates to the classroom, and by extension the working world, is how well Tuck students work in teams and excel in collaboration.

Coming out of Tuck, I left with a toolkit of skills and experiences I could not have gotten had I not gone to business school.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Management

Can be improved:

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)


Read More