GMAT Club

Tyler Cormney Reviews

Company: MBAPrepSchool

Tyler is an experienced MBA admissions consultant and is a co-founder of MBA Prep School. You can get a detailed profile evaluation by completing this form.

He started his admissions consulting career in 2006 with one of the leading firms in the field and has coached over 100 MBA applicants.He is the co-author of How to Apply for an MBA, the essential guide to earning an acceptance letter from the world’s best business schools. He has also authored a “how-to” guide on admissions consulting used extensively by top admissions coaches and has published five guides on MBA essay strategies.

In addition to helping his clients prepare for success in the MBA admissions process, Tyler has worked as an independent strategy consultant for clients ranging from high-tech start-ups to Fortune 500 market leaders. He was a manager in Strategic Planning and Business Development at PeopleSoft, and started his career as a consultant in Arthur Andersen’s Business Consulting Services group, working in the US, Europe, Asia, Australia, and the Middle East.

Tyler holds a Harvard MBA, a Master’s in Professional Writing from the University of Southern California, and a Bachelor’s Degree in Honors Business from the University of Texas at Austin.


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 43 reviews
June 19, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great Experience - Highly Recommended

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I used Tyler Cormney this past year and only have the best things to say. As a someone reapplying for the second time, I knew the process well and just needed a knowledgeable external party who could take a look at my essays and general application. Tyler gave specific and actionable feedback with a very short turnaround. Initially I was hesitant to use a consultant given the costs but it was well worth it.

Tyler was responsive, friendly, professional, and most importantly, he genuinely cared about seeing me admitted. His feedback helped to tighten up my stories and improve the flow of my overall application. He also raised some bigger questions that I could later go back to and resolve myself. Overall, it was a huge value add and I would recommend him to anyone (at any stage of the MBA admissions process). I am thrilled to be heading to Stanford in the fall - thanks Tyler!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 09, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Tyler Cormney Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I truly do not believe that I would have received an acceptance letter to HBS without Tyler Cormney’s guidance. The toughest part of the application was putting together quality essays that hit on all the points I wanted to make while addressing the fit qualities that the schools deemed to be most important. I would have had no clue how to pick stories to tell in my essays or understand fit qualities of top-tier programs without Tyler’s support. Tyler was very helpful and knowledgeable about every step along the path to putting together a top-notch application. He was always available to answer any question, no matter how specific it was to my application, or general it was to each program. Tyler was genuinely interested in my success, which could be felt during our conversations and his devotion to the nitty-gritty aspects of my application.

The MBA Prep School videos that Tyler created for the benefit of his clients were all-inclusive, and allowed for much richer discussions when Tyler and I had one of our live meetings. I would absolutely recommend Tyler Cormney and MBA Prep School if you are serious about applying to a top-tier business school and believe, as I did, that you need help standing out in this incredibly ferocious competition.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 21, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Highly Recommend Tyler Cormney at MBAPrepSchool

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Working with Tyler was truly an exceptional experience and with his help, I was accepted into Harvard Business School! I expected top-notch service and was not disappointed from the pre to post-application process.

One of the things that exceeded my expectations was Tyler’s creativity and skill in helping me craft my essays. He was able to break down my essays and suggest ways to restructure them until the same story emerged in the best light possible. He was never satisfied with something that was “good enough”. In addition, Tyler was able to step back and look at my overall package to ensure the messaging remained true to me and consistent.

Another advantage of working with Tyler was having access to The MBA Prep School’s videos, e-book, and tools. These resources not only explained what to expect from each part of the application process, but also how to approach it and what action steps to take to stand out to the admissions committee. MBA Prep School’s website provided practical tips to approach recommenders, how to research schools, and what pitfalls to avoid. The supplemental exercises and worksheets allowed for an incredible self-discovery process, which helped me articulate who I am and my motivations. By having these tools at my disposal, I felt that it gave me both an edge and self-assurance as I went through the application process.

Overall, Tyler was both professional and knowledgeable, making this stressful application process as smooth as possible. Tyler customizes his services to you and your needs, not just another template-type consulting process. He helped me transform from a strong candidate into a compelling one. Just as he told me when we first started, he was not just my consultant, but a guide, coach, career counselor, and cheerleader – and that held true. I couldn’t have done this without him!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 31, 2013
JoshNYUStern

Joined: Jan 31, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommend Tyler Cormney at MBAPrepSchool

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was introduced to Tyler Cormney through two friends who had had recent success with their MBA admissions process. Prior to signing on with Tyler I didn't understand the cost-benefit relationship of his services and didn't think I needed that sort of help. I was dead wrong. Tyler's comprehensive admissions program enables candidates to discover their strengths and areas of improvements and helps guide them through the process.

Tyler’s efforts were tremendous. He was extremely reliable, professional, dependable, and hardworking. I always received a thorough response from him within 24 hours of notification (usually within 4-5 hours) and knew that I could always count on his coaching advice. Not only was he patient with my hectic schedule, but he also provided insightful guidance throughout the stressful MBA application process.

I found the online exercises through the MBA Prep School particularly helpful in discovering my career path and it translated into so many creative ideas that I was able to leverage in my applications. In addition, the tools from MBA Prep School were extremely useful and valuable because they helped me manage all documents, exercises, charts, videos, essays and project plans in a central location.

Tyler is a true professional and very good at what he does. He fully understands the admissions process and is a exceptional motivator. He provides excellent feedback, particularly during my mock interview, which I found extremely helpful. I highly recommend Tyler as he is one of the main reasons I'll be attending a top 10 business school this fall.

-Stern Class of 2015

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 27, 2013
iAqua4

Joined: Feb 06, 2009

Posts: 33

Kudos: 6

Admission Consulting/Online Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I initially found about Tyler and Chris when I was going through some forums and found their advice to be unique and then signed up for an information interview to understand and go through my profile. This is the call when I was introduced to the online service which was very new. My conversation on phone had given me a confidence that this would be a worthwhile service specially from an international students point of view since it is difficult for international students to afford a full application service from an international consultant. This is where the MBAPrepSchool's online tutorials helped me a lot.

This is the first recommendation that I am writing for any service and honestly can tell you that the book and the online tutorials that have been created by Tyler and Chris are really really useful. As an applicant what we need is a step by step methodology to create an application. This is only possible with one on one coaching. However MBAPrepSchool's online tutorials completely fill this gap. Not only you get a step by step direction but also understand what any business school look for in candidates. By any I mean any.

The international MBA application journey is a whole year journey if you want to get into a top school. It is highly important to get involved in developing your profile as well as doing a proper business school search. End of the day you will invest a lot of money whichever business school you choose. And before choosing any school you need to choose your goals. What do you want to do after MBA? The best help apart from everything that I got out of this service - understanding and designing my goals (which I understand that no other online service is teaching currently) and how to make a better resume. The goals part is very crucial and I can give my two cents that all HBS, Stanford people will be using the similar goals (the way it is taught in this service) to apply.

The other very helpful part of this service were- the weekly/monthly group calls where I could clear my doubts and the forum questionnaires which both Chris and Tyler used to answer very promptly. I can attest that Chris and Tyler were instrumental in improving my understanding of the process and that has helped me to gain admission to a top business school in US.
Thanks Chris and Tyler.

Best
iAqua4

Read More

January 23, 2013
mattyjmcd

Joined: Oct 11, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
750 Q48 V45

Amazing Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My experience with Tyler was incredible. Beyond just helping me gain an admit to my dream school, Tyler's instruction and guidance led to a great deal of self-discovery in terms of my strengths as well as my real career aspirations. Tyler was absolutely critical in helping me draw out notable experiences in an otherwise unremarkable background. Tyler saw essay potential in my experiences that I would have probably never uncovered by myself.

Not only is Tyler a great admissions consultant, he is also a really great guy who took time out of his busy schedule for a few unscheduled pep talks that went beyond the application process. I give Tyler and MBA Prep School the highest possible recommendation and all of my expectations were exceeded with their service. Thank you Tyler!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 04, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Tyler Cormney Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Receiving an acceptance letter from a top-tier business school is especially challenging given the hyper-competitive applicant pool.

When I decided to apply to MBA programs, I wasn’t exactly sure where to start. After searching for help on my MBA applications, I was referred to Tyler Cormney by a friend who was a student at a top 5 business school and former client of Tyler’s. I am very glad that I chose to enlist Tyler’s help, and I am confident that I would not have received an acceptance letter from a top 5 MBA program without his guidance.

When I began working with Tyler, I wanted to dive right into applying to as many as schools as possible. Fortunately, Tyler helped me consider my list of prospective applications more prudently. He made certain that he and I both understood exactly what qualities I was searching for in an MBA education and helped me focus my application efforts on an optimal list of target schools. His in-depth knowledge of the admissions process at the top business schools and his years of experience advising MBA applicants allowed him to steer me towards the schools where I had the highest probability of being accepted.

Having recently completed the MBA application process, I know that a successful application is dependent on a candidate’s ability to present a compelling portfolio of educational highlights, career aspirations, and personal attributes. Through several weeks of introspective self-assessment exercises and focused discussions with Tyler, I was able to truly understand my strengths and weaknesses as an MBA applicant and fully grasp how my career history contributed to my post-MBA goals. After we had discovered the core elements of my own story, Tyler helped me to present myself as an exceptional MBA candidate throughout my essays and tailor my applications to each individual school. With an intimate knowledge of the MBA admissions process and a solid understanding of my potential contribution to business schools, he advised me to emphasize certain aspects of my candidacy that he knew would be appreciated by admissions committees. It was during this step of the process that his experience truly shined through. Although I may have possessed a strong academic and professional background, I know I lacked the self-awareness necessary to present an application capable of earning me a seat at a top 5 business school. With the help of Tyler’s advice and perspective, I was able to confidently apply to top MBA programs.

I would highly recommend Tyler to any of my friends who are about to undertake the MBA application process. He served as a valuable resource throughout several months of application preparation, and without his help, I would not have obtained a seat in a top 5 MBA program. If you are about to apply to business school, reach out to http://tylercormney.com .

--Top 5 MBA School, Class of 2014

Read More

June 03, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

If you're serious about getting into b-school...

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

It felt like the odds were against me for getting into business school, especially with an unconventional background, inconsistent career history, lower GMAT score, unemployment gap, questionable letters of recommendation, etc. Yet, Tyler @ Tyler Cormney Consulting was able to help me tell a cohesive story that really seemed to represent who I was and not some cookie-cutter applicant. This story not only gave me a clear direction for my essays but also thoroughly prepared me for my interviews and my resume. After meeting Tyler, my doubts of getting into b-school quickly faded.

Tyler’s gift goes beyond story-telling. He’s an incredible coach.

•Tyler is committed to your success. I was up against very tight deadlines, throwing last minute curve balls at Tyler, yet he managed to squeeze in multiple revisions for my essays even when he was probably slammed with dozens of other essays. Even when you’re not in a meeting with him, you know Tyler is looking out for you. Knowing my MBA focus was social entrepreneurship, Tyler sent me a relevant HBR article to give me inspiration while I wrote my essays. And when I’d send emails with various b-school questions, Tyler would immediately reply with great advice. He truly does care.

•He’ll push you to the very end. When I got waitlisted at my dream school, Tyler stuck with me and walked me through the next steps. Even when I didn’t want to retake the GMAT, he highly encouraged me to go for it—and thank goodness because I scored 50 points higher. While going through the essay writing process, there were times when I would get sick of looking at my essays, but our conversations would refuel me with better ideas that kept me going. And that’s just what you’ll need during this demanding (yet incredibly rewarding) process. I got off the waitlist-- RESULT--> in at my DREAM SCHOOL!

•He’ll keep you accountable and on target each step of the way. We didn’t waste any time. Our conversations were very focused. At the end of each meeting, Tyler told me what to prepare for the next meeting so as to keep on track with all the things that I needed to get done in the short amount of time I had. It’s a miracle I got everything done on time, especially since I started late.

•His feedback is very thorough. Essay revisions went beyond grammar and spell-check. Tyler gave dozens of comments suggesting new ideas on how to improve a sentence/paragraph. I knew that Tyler was really reading my essays, not just proofing them.

•Last, but definitely not least, as a great coach, Tyler saw me for me. When I began looking for an admissions consultant, I had spoken to several of the larger consulting firms, and their reps told me that I would need to tweak my background because it did not “fit” in with the other applicants. After hearing my story and reading my profile, Tyler told me that I had a unique voice, and that I should keep it, not change it. That’s when I knew I had found the right person. He doesn’t need to “tweak” or create some fake persona for your application because he really hears you.

I can’t say enough good things about MBA Prep School. This series is incredibly organized and well thought-out. If you don’t have the resources to spend on getting individualized time with Tyler, I would say that this is the next best thing. Trust me, I read quite a few b-school application books, but none compare to the thoroughness and thoughtfulness of what is required to get a stellar application together. Most importantly, MBA Prep School will help you find your own answers to WHY an MBA and carefully map your career aspirations. I thought I had these down before I started the MBA Prep School videos and exercises, but after watching the videos and doing some of the exercises, my answers grew clearer.

Result: Accepted to my DREAM school and 2 others. Couldn’t be happier!

T- I don’t know how I would have done it without you. Thank you.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 21, 2012
pkatmi

Joined: Sep 08, 2010

Posts: 77

Kudos: 2

Finally got that acceptance call with Tyler's support

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

It's been a long time coming. This was my second application season, the first time I went on my own and it did not work out as I had expected (hoped actually).

The second season, I signed up with Tyler Cormney from MBA Prep School and without a doubt, it was the best decision and investment in the MBA application process.

I have no hesitation in saying that without Tyler’s help, I would not have made me into a top 10 MBA program with a scholarship to boot!

Coming from one of the toughest applicant pools –Indian male with an engineering degree and technology experience, I knew it was going to be a tough application season. And as if that wasn’t enough, my age certainly wasn’t in my favor – I was already over 30 when I applied!

I knew my margin for error was extremely small. And that is where Tyler’s help made all the difference in the world. I needed to put in a top-notch application where everything fell perfectly into place and Tyler ‘guided’ me in creating one. And this is what I want to stress on – Tyler wouldn’t do your work, he will be your guide. You will do the work, you will spend the long nights working on those essays, and at times you will get frustrated. But you know what? In the end, when you get that acceptance call, you will know that it is truly you who has got accepted, it is your hard work that has paid off. And that is one of the best feelings ever!

Thank you so much Tyler for pushing me through this. For bringing out the best in me!

Oh and there’s one more thing I’d like to add – Don’t be surprised if Tyler doesn’t try to sell himself too much in the initial consultation call! Frankly, that is what sold me to go to him. He is unlike many other consulting companies in this regard who will try to sell their services aggressively. With Tyler it works the opposite way. The real magic starts after you sign up not before!

Read More

April 18, 2012
misterchipper

Joined: Feb 07, 2010

Posts: 26

Kudos: 7

Tyler Cormney

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I was introduced to Tyler through a friend who used Tyler through his admissions process (who matriculated at Sloan). Although moderately reluctant to spend money on something I could possibly do on my own, I realized that an MBA admissions consultant could be very helpful – not to mention, it seemed that >50% of applicants who matriculated at a brand name school used a consultant.
As such, I began researching various MBA admissions consulting firms (the Big 3) and speaking with their past customers. Although some of them did seem happy with their experience, I estimated that about 2/3rd were either 1) woefully unimpressed with the work 2) felt ripped off 3) did not get into a top school 4) were given a “guarantee” of admission that amounted to worthless.
With this information at hand, I quickly moved to secure Tyler’s services.
What differentiates Tyler from everyone else is that he is incredibly creative, incredibly knowledgeable, wonderful listener (he remembers absolutely everything) incredibly disciplined, and intensely focused on crafting a compelling narrative. My undergraduate school was impressive, my GPA was not, and my leadership background was not particularly interesting – however, Tyler was able to help me craft an incredibly, fascinating story to tell the admissions committee. Even more importantly, he was able to help me better understand/determine what I want to do with my life.
In summary, getting into a top notch MBA school is very hard – there are hundreds of other people just like you and I with similar GMAT, GPA, and leadership experiences. The key (that I reluctantly learned) is that you must separate yourself from the rest of the pack by crafting a compelling narrative – at which Tyler is second to none. I highly recommend Tyler – so much so that I referred my younger brother to him (he is now matriculating at Kellogg). Tyler is absolutely, unequivocally worth every penny.

Feel free to PM me if you have any questions

Read More


12 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Tyler Cormney