GMAT Club

MGMAT Interact Reviews

GMAT Interact is a comprehensive self-study program that is fun, intuitive, and directed by you. Each lesson is taught by an expert Manhattan Prep instructor and includes dozens of individual branching points. The choices you make define the content you see.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan GMAT Interact + $250 Bonus with GMAT Club
4.6 /5 Average Rating
5 star
14
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Based on 18 reviews
July 07, 2019
ole20180730

Joined: Jul 07, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V42

MGMAT Interact Post Exam Assessment (PEA)-Elaine Loh

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

MGMAT Interact is an impressive product. It took a lot of work and dedication, but I was ultimately able to surpass my goal of a score of 700 (I got a 710 second attempt) through many hours of work and a highly effective Post Exam Assessment (PEA) after not reaching my goal on my first attempt, and having started out at a baseline of 570. I started the Interact course in the beginning of January, 2019. As an active duty member of the U.S. military, I had not exercised many of the academic skills tested in the GMAT in nearly 7 years. MGMAT Interact was a great tool that allowed me to "plug back in" at my own pace. I worked 10-15 hours per week for 3.5 months completing the Interact syllabus, and then left 1.5 months for review and practice before my test date in late May. I think the Interact syllabus could be completed in 2ish months with a less demanding work schedule. Owing to a very demanding work training tempo prior to my first attempt, I did not achieve my goal of 700 and scored 660. MGMAT offers a free, 1 hour Post Exam Assessment (PEA) on videochat with one of its tutors if you do not achieve your goal on attempt 1 and you are taking one of their courses. I had one month between my first and second attempt, but really only 2 weeks of good study time owing to work commitments. The PEA was highly effective. Elaine Loh did a great job of giving me tangible "do this" advice, while still really listening to and giving thoughtful answers to my questions. She helped me tailor essentially a 10-14 day study plan (obviously highly compressed) to give me the best shot of hitting 700. She sent me a ton of helpful drill sets for my weaker areas, and she gave me hard, tangible priorities for what I needed to work on and for roughly how long. She also helped drive home the importance of error logging. Most impressively, she stayed in contact with me for the next couple of weeks and promptly answered my questions via email. Her feedback on a day by day study plan I created helped boost my confidence in the final week before my second test attempt. Her efforts during the PEA and after it really underscored how MGMAT is committed to getting you to where you want to be, even if you don't hit your goal on your first attempt. That being said, Elaine went above and beyond; she was invested in my personal success and really wanted me to achieve my goal, irrespective of reviews, etc. The PEA is a great feature and I attribute much of my rapid score improvement (50 points) to Elaine's effectiveness and sincere efforts as an instructor.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 18, 2019
HelloNewman

Joined: Dec 16, 2018

Posts: 11

Kudos: 14

Verified score:
760 Q49 V46

Great Quant step-by-step teaching

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

This is almost exclusively Quant review, as I spent little time studying verbal.

Overall quant improvement: 41 to 49 in about 125 hours of work.

Pros:
-Trust: Reason I chose MGMAT is that they're a trusted resource. There're so many new companies that're entering the GMAT resource scene and I didn't want to dedicate an hour to studying poorly. MGMAT has been around for a long time and this trust paid off.
-Basics: Awesome math fundamentals guides. I needed help with that and the lessons/exercises were great.
-Rubric: I needed guidance on what to study when. The interact rubric provided exactly that: what to read, what exercises to do, what further reading and exercises you can do if you need more help with a specific subject.
-"Navigator" - This is the error log, timer, and answers to OG questions they provide you. This was an amazing tool that I didn't know about before I bought Interact, but was essential to my improvement.
-App: great resource for more math exercises and questions similar to OG.

Cons:
-2019 Q/V OG revew are not in the MGMAT navigator.
-Expensive
-No specific guidance. I think tutors can be helpful if you need guidance, I did fine without that by using these forums to help guide my focus once I plateaued.

Read More

December 21, 2016
vchalupa

Joined: Jan 11, 2016

Posts: 10

Kudos: 12

Verified score:
700 Q50 V34

MGMAT Interact a great way to boost your score!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

Manhattan GMAT has long been regarded one of the best GMAT prep programs out there. The Interact product was a great way to get structured instruction and practice without spending the cash for the full classroom course.

I utilized the self study guides to practice the GMAT but hit a wall and was not able to improve my GMAT verbal score. The Interact product gave me the structured instruction along with guided practice that I needed to really grasp the materials. I completed the Interact verbal material within a week and noticed a 50 - 60 point improvement in my GMAT score. Although results may vary, I strongly believe that the Interact program can help students who are struggling on the self-study route.

Read More

May 29, 2017
XavierAlexander

thanks for the review.

February 29, 2016
lisaliuq

Joined: Feb 29, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V39

Thank Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

Within just a month, my GMAT score improved greatly from 660 to 710, with most of the help being from Manhattan Interact courses of Verbal. Following the instructions of the teachers, finishing all the required homework and reading all their materials for twice, I managed to improve my verbal substantially. Of course that does not mean you will definitely going to score higher if you sign up for the courses, but it's the dedication put into the preparation and the interactions with excellent teachers they have, who give you answers whenever you have questions you could not figure out. They are really helpful.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 29, 2015
omnisurmount

Joined: Dec 27, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q50 V38

MGMAT Interactive Verbal Only

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

I started studying for GMAT in June 2015, planning to apply to business school in Fall 2016. I have a Masters degree in engineering, so quant was not a concern for me. English is not my first language. I was looking for Verbal focused course, and landed Manhattan GMAT's website. Since I have plenty of time to prepare, so I didn't want to stress myself out with the intensive course schedule, and decided to go with the interactive route to study at my own pace. I made a study plan at the beginning of each week to help keep myself staying on track. I studied about 1-2 hours per night on week days on average, and 3-4 hours on Saturdays, and didn't affect any of my extracurricular activities. I took a MGMAT CAT in the first week, and scored a 620, took the 2nd CAT a month later: 640, a 3rd CAT a month later: 650, and a 4th one 2 month later: 680. My Verbal went from 31-35, Math from 45 to 48. A week before exam I took a GMAT Prep Exam, and scored 760. So from my experience MGMAT CAT is harder than official questions. I took my exam at the end of October, and scored a 730 (38V+50Q).

The preparation took about 4.5 months, as I mentioned before, I had a pretty relaxed study plan, and still slacked off from time to time, there are weeks I only studied 2-3 days. MGMAT Interactive Verbal was almost the only material I really used. I followed through the course, and completed all the homework. I did all the Math problems on OG, but only got through about 1/3 of OG Verbal questions. MGMAT Interactive has helped my immensely, I credit all my improvement in Verbal (from 31 to 38) to it.

MGMAT Interactive is efficient, effective, flexible, and entertaining. Comparing to online and in classroom sessions, I think I could get more out of the interactive course, since it allows me to study at my own pace, so I don't have to worry about not finishing all the homework.

Bottom line: I highly recommend MGMAT Interactive, especially if you are starting early, and don't want to exhaust yourself over a long period of exam prep.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 29, 2017
XavierAlexander

Thanks for the detailed review of Interact Course - verbal.

October 04, 2015
maxolivares

Joined: Oct 04, 2015

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
620 Q43 V31
710 Q49 V38

Perfect for me

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

This definitely helped me improve my general sense for the GMAT exam not having taken a standardized exam in a while. The ability to work on my own time was definitely what sealed the deal on top of the quality of content in this course. The price for what is given to you can not be matched by many other companies that offer their courses for a higher price. I would consider having the in-person courses, but I feel that many people have many different schedules and this is an answer for everyone's schedules. It might not be perfect for people who tend to have many questions, but it definitely is perfect for me.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 18, 2013
maryc11290

Joined: Dec 18, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Worth every cent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 140 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

Manhattan GMAT offers a fantastic array of resources, programming, instructors, and encouragement. After eight practice tests fluctuating in range from 600-690 (hoping for a 700 at least), I walked into the testing center with the confidence that I knew what to do because I was prepared. I scored a 740 (Q49/V42) with perfect scores in AWA and IR and I could not be more thrilled ... it's still sinking in, to be perfectly honest.

Not only did Manhattan GMAT provide the instruction and resources for me to succeed, but I genuinely felt that by test day, I had a strong strategy on how to take the test. I learned the way to be strategic about skipping questions and understand how the test writers wrote questions that seem horrendous at face value but can easily be solved within two minutes with the right skills.

Additionally, even though I prepared with a self-guided study, any time I interacted with the instructors, I knew that they truly cared about my success on the GMAT.

I couldn't have done it without the team at Manhattan GMAT. I will recommend Manhattan GMAT to anyone preparing for business school.

Read More

October 02, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 14

Kudos: 32

Private Tutoring

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

This was my worst tutor I've had in my life. My parents told me to keep giving her a chance since I had already moved to the city where she was located for her tutoring services so I continued with her and trusted her as she instructed me to do.

After every tutoring session, I didn't feel any better about anything that she tried to teach me. Maybe because she went over problems that she already had me do and I told her I had already figured them out? If I had to choose what she was better at, I would say Verbal but she chooses to do Quant no matter what you want to do.

Not only did she not teach me the material, my score continued to drop and then she blamed me for the drop and said it was stress even though I felt calm during the exams. She did not focus on my weaknesses which is what I wanted to do. She also lowered my self-esteem during tutoring sessions, something that should never be done by a tutor.

I would not recommend this tutor to a friend OR stranger. This was not worth $1500.

Read More

April 26, 2012
moez03

Joined: Apr 19, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
620 Q46 V29

It's what you make of it

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

All the material is there but I didn't use it to the full potential. I do think MGMAT should look to design a specific course for students that are looking to break a 700. I didn't notice a lot of the advanced material until very late. I was unsatisfied with my score but I will be retaking the exam and will use MGMAT again as I think they are the best.

I felt the class recordings were somewhat remedial but I did find the labs to add great value. They teach you tricks on strategy and how to think through a problem. Having access to 6 CAT exams was great and they give very thorough details and explanations, however I did notice some of the questions being repeated which inflated my score.

All in all, I think MGMAT has everything you need as long as you stay committed and focused- especially if you take the self study route!

Read More


9 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT