It is currently 18 Oct 2017, 07:44

Live Now:

GMAT Verbal Live on YouTube: Join Now!


Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Close

Request Expert Reply

Confirm Cancel

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Do I need to retake the AWA part??

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
TAGS:

Hide Tags

Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Posts: 99

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 0

Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 03 Sep 2008, 14:24
Hey guys,

Just got my official score. 650 (Q49, V28) with an AWA of 6.0

I will be retaking GMAT on 25/8. Is it possible for me to skip the AWA part ??

What do you think ??


Thanks in advance.

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 0

Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 514

Kudos [?]: 162 [0], given: 0

Schools: Wharton
Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 03 Sep 2008, 14:26
oziozzie wrote:
Hey guys,

Just got my official score. 650 (Q49, V28) with an AWA of 6.0

I will be retaking GMAT on 25/8. Is it possible for me to skip the AWA part ??

What do you think ??


Thanks in advance.


You're not allowed to do that...

Kudos [?]: 162 [0], given: 0

Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 30 Nov 2006
Posts: 591

Kudos [?]: 314 [0], given: 0

Location: Kuwait
Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 03 Sep 2008, 14:31
Yes You ARE allowed to skip the AWA part. Just leave the box blank and click submit or continue. You'll receive a 0.0 for your AWA score.

Now, the question is whether it is a good idea to do so or not. I can't tell you. Some schools emphasize the AWA and specifically mention it on their website. Other schools do not care at all !

Kudos [?]: 314 [0], given: 0

Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Posts: 99

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 0

Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 03 Sep 2008, 14:35
Why would it be a bad idea ? I already proved myself by getting a 6.0 from that part. Why do I need to re-do that part?

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 0

Manager
Manager
User avatar
Joined: 14 Jul 2008
Posts: 96

Kudos [?]: 6 [0], given: 0

Schools: HBS, Stanford.
Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 03 Sep 2008, 16:31
Mishari wrote:
Yes You ARE allowed to skip the AWA part. Just leave the box blank and click submit or continue. You'll receive a 0.0 for your AWA score.

Now, the question is whether it is a good idea to do so or not. I can't tell you. Some schools emphasize the AWA and specifically mention it on their website. Other schools do not care at all !


this is completely false.

read the fine print on mba.com

if you do not complete these sections, your test will NOT be scored.
_________________

I did it all for the Starwood points.

Kudos [?]: 6 [0], given: 0

Joined: 31 Dec 1969

Kudos [?]: [0], given:

Location: Russian Federation
Concentration: Entrepreneurship, International Business
GMAT 3: 740 Q40 V50
GMAT 4: 700 Q48 V38
GMAT 5: 710 Q45 V41
GMAT 6: 680 Q47 V36
GMAT 9: 740 Q49 V42
GMAT 11: 500 Q47 V33
GMAT 14: 760 Q49 V44
WE: Supply Chain Management (Energy and Utilities)
Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 05 Sep 2008, 19:07
I do not think you can skip that part. I'm pretty sure admissions would look negatively on such a decision, even if you could.

Kudos [?]: [0], given:

Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 31 Aug 2008
Posts: 43

Kudos [?]: [0], given: 0

Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 06 Sep 2008, 13:03
Even if you can skip it, I wouldn't. It would reflect negatively on you, and any real score increase you get would be discounted by the adcoms because you did it without taking the full test. You'd have an unfair advantage over those who did because you'd have less stress, mental fatigue, etc. I am quite sure it would not be wise.

And if you got a 6.0 the first time, it shouldn't be that hard to get it again.

Kudos [?]: [0], given: 0

Senior Manager
Senior Manager
User avatar
Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 449

Kudos [?]: 57 [0], given: 2

Location: USA
Schools: Tepper '11
Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 08 Sep 2008, 09:48
Just don't bother prepping for AWA, write whatever comes to mind. I'm sure you can get a 4.5 at the very worst-case scenario mimimum.

Kudos [?]: 57 [0], given: 2

Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 04 Jul 2008
Posts: 6

Kudos [?]: [0], given: 0

Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 13 Sep 2008, 03:07
oziozzie wrote:
Hey guys,

Just got my official score. 650 (Q49, V28) with an AWA of 6.0

I will be retaking GMAT on 25/8. Is it possible for me to skip the AWA part ??

What do you think ??


Thanks in advance.


Guys, I gave my gmat a week ago. I am so shocked with my score. I got a 600 (Q47,V27). But I am so amazed with the score above 650(Q49, V28). The sectional scores are so close to my score, yet, the total score has a 50 point difference :shock: Is it just because I didnt solve the questions in the begining correctly? :cry:
_________________

Just Do It!

Kudos [?]: [0], given: 0

Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Posts: 99

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 0

Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 13 Sep 2008, 05:16
phelpsian wrote:
Even if you can skip it, I wouldn't. It would reflect negatively on you, and any real score increase you get would be discounted by the adcoms because you did it without taking the full test. You'd have an unfair advantage over those who did because you'd have less stress, mental fatigue, etc. I am quite sure it would not be wise.

And if you got a 6.0 the first time, it shouldn't be that hard to get it again.



that's a good discussion phelpsian. When I think that way, it is totally correct.

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 0

Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 31 Aug 2008
Posts: 43

Kudos [?]: [0], given: 0

Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part?? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 14 Sep 2008, 14:40
hey, once in a while I make sense. :lol:

Kudos [?]: [0], given: 0

Re: Do I need to retake the AWA part??   [#permalink] 14 Sep 2008, 14:40
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Do I need to retake the AWA part??

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

Moderator: EMPOWERgmatRichC



GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group | Emoji artwork provided by EmojiOne

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.