It is currently 19 Oct 2017, 06:07

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Close

Request Expert Reply

Confirm Cancel

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Resume question

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
TAGS:

Hide Tags

Current Student
avatar
Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 101

Kudos [?]: 3 [0], given: 0

Schools: Duke, UCLA, Cornell, Ross,Tuck, Haas
Resume question [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 31 Aug 2008, 14:37
Since every school application requires us to list oue extra curricular activities in a separate section , is it OK to leave that part out of the resume?

Kudos [?]: 3 [0], given: 0

VP
VP
User avatar
Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Posts: 1323

Kudos [?]: 127 [0], given: 6

Schools: Tuck
Re: Resume question [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 31 Aug 2008, 17:10
Why do you want to leave it out? To save on space?

Personally, I would leave it in. You only have to include a couple lines.

I would be concerned that leaving it out might give the adcoms the wrong impression about how you value your ECs.

RF
_________________

GMAT Club Premium Membership - big benefits and savings

Kudos [?]: 127 [0], given: 6

Current Student
avatar
Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 101

Kudos [?]: 3 [0], given: 0

Schools: Duke, UCLA, Cornell, Ross,Tuck, Haas
Re: Resume question [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 31 Aug 2008, 17:24
refurb wrote:
Why do you want to leave it out? To save on space?

Personally, I would leave it in. You only have to include a couple lines.

I would be concerned that leaving it out might give the adcoms the wrong impression about how you value your ECs.

RF


yeah to save on space , the thing is that i started working for a startup which got bought over and later I moved to another firm. So my job titles and responsibilities changed quite a bit over the last 4 years , addressing all of that is taking quite some space. But I do see your point ,I think it is good to mention the key EC's in the resume.

Kudos [?]: 3 [0], given: 0

VP
VP
User avatar
Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Posts: 1323

Kudos [?]: 127 [0], given: 6

Schools: Tuck
Re: Resume question [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 31 Aug 2008, 17:35
prospect wrote:
refurb wrote:
Why do you want to leave it out? To save on space?

Personally, I would leave it in. You only have to include a couple lines.

I would be concerned that leaving it out might give the adcoms the wrong impression about how you value your ECs.

RF


yeah to save on space , the thing is that i started working for a startup which got bought over and later I moved to another firm. So my job titles and responsibilities changed quite a bit over the last 4 years , addressing all of that is taking quite some space. But I do see your point ,I think it is good to mention the key EC's in the resume.


Hmmm... like I said, I think the cost of leaving it out is going to be more than the benefit of having another two lines to describe your job.

You might have to get creative with your titles and responsibilities. Can you combine any of the titles and job functions?

Instead of:

2002 - 2003 Position A
2001 - 2002 Position B

Have it as

2001 - 2003 Position A/Position B

Of course you can't do this if the responsibilities were wildly different, but I'll leave that call up to you.

RF
_________________

GMAT Club Premium Membership - big benefits and savings

Kudos [?]: 127 [0], given: 6

Current Student
avatar
Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 101

Kudos [?]: 3 [0], given: 0

Schools: Duke, UCLA, Cornell, Ross,Tuck, Haas
Re: Resume question [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 01 Sep 2008, 14:19
Thanks refurb. I don't think I can combine the job titles , but I am trying to be concise with the job description.

Kudos [?]: 3 [0], given: 0

Re: Resume question   [#permalink] 01 Sep 2008, 14:19
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Resume question

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

Moderators: OasisGC, aeropower, bb10



GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group | Emoji artwork provided by EmojiOne

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.