GMAT Club

IIM Calcutta Reviews

MBA Program rating [5]
(4.6)

May 13, 2018
utkarshthapak

Joined: Dec 09, 2015

Posts: 113

Kudos: 36

Verified score:
700 Q49 V36

PGPEX from IIMC

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for IIMC

Program PGPEX

Class of 2019

Experience during the program

First Impression
I have been recently admitted at IIMC for PGPEX program. Prior to coming here, I have experience of 5.75 years in manufacturing (Liquor) industry. PGPEX provides a good mix of subjects and the course does not specializes in a particular domain. This year we have 1/3 IT guys and 2/3 non IT guys which is good as we can learn from each other. The candidates are from different fields including healthcare, army, IT, FMCG, automobiles, telecom etc.

The course provides full opportunity to learn any field a candidate wants or choose to study. People have changed their working domain as well (as told by previous alumnus). Being one of the top colleges in the country, IIMC brand provides a great leap in the career.

About professors, classes and curriculum

Faculty & Classes
The professors are best in the country. Will share more once I learn more.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Location
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support
Facilities

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Alumni Network


Read More

June 06, 2018
charmingsom

What is your gmat score

June 06, 2018
bb

You can see it on their profile.... if you click on it....

June 06, 2018
utkarshthapak

My GMAT score was 700.

June 10, 2018
spc11

Thanks for sharing your experience!! Very helpful!!

June 12, 2018
apurva908

What is the avg. exprience of your batch and what is the max. exprience.

June 19, 2016
RajdeepPaul

Joined: Jun 15, 2016

Posts: 16

Kudos: 9

Self-reported Score:
710 Q49 V36

IIM Calcutta-PGPEX

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for IIMC

Program PGPEX

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

When I joined PGPEX, I already had over 5 years of experience in the mining sector, and was looking forward to a programme that could offer me a holistic view of the management pedigree. With its healthy blend of electives and compulsory subjects across different domains, PGPEX didn't let me down. Moreover, in a classroom of candidates with background in multiple spheres of business, there is no limitation whatsoever on peer-to-peer learning opportunities.

For applicants who wish to see a leap in their career or seek to switch their work domains, a one year-MBA stands as an invaluable opportunity. The value addition of IIM Calcutta tag would only maximize the potential of your past experience. Having said that, I would advise against focusing on this programme through the lens of job opportunities only. The key essence is the learning platform that it offers and an opportunity to gain 360 degree view of businesses. In other words I would say, life always gives you a second chance and it is called PGPEX !

About job placement process

Th institute offers a very student driven placement process. The placement committee, as elected by the students, is facilitated by the institute to attract the best employers in the domestic as well as international market.

In the past, candidates have been offered mid managerial to senior managerial profiles. Also there have been instances, when potential candidates have successfully switched their domains. The bandwidth of the recruiting firms is very large wherein we have seen participation from various sectors including consulting, manufacturing, banking, to name a few. The details of placement and past recruiters could be found on the website.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support
Facilities
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity


Read More

June 23, 2016
navneetjha

Congrats!!!
What was your gmat score?

June 26, 2016
apurva.ast

IIMC accept scores above 700

June 27, 2016
navneetjha

Thanks Apurva!!

June 27, 2016
RajdeepPaul

Hi Navneet! There is no cap on the gmat score as such. The present batch has a gmat range of 600-760. For specific queries related to admission you can post on the Official-Pgpex-2017 thread :

http://gmatclub.com/forum/calling-all-iim-calcutta-pgpex-applicants-2017-intake-class-of-218922.html

June 30, 2016
VJtalk

is it like the person going for PGPX in place of TWO yrs full time MBA will have to rejoin the domain he/SHE is already having experience from OR possibility of field change is lesser in case of PGPX as compared to 2 yrs MBA

July 07, 2016
ak3089

Hi Rajdeep,

You mentioned "For applicants who wish to see a leap in their career or seek to switch their work domains, a one year-MBA stands as an invaluable opportunity. " .

can you please explain , why is this so?

Thanks
Akshay

July 09, 2016
ravipsharma

Want to know more about switching domains - Which pair of domains is easy to switch and which is not so easy?

July 09, 2016
ravipsharma

Thanks for the info about PGPEX program of IIMC!!!

November 27, 2016
Jhalak

Joined: Nov 25, 2016

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Once in a life time experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for IIMC

Program PGPEX

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

During my career, I got a good overview of Manufacturing, Sales and Industrial Engineering. Despite my career going in right direction, I felt a constant need to improve my knowledge and skills to equip myself for the future challenges any organization faces in the best possible way. So I decided to pursue Executive MBA early in my career. My long term goal is to be a successful business leader who can create profits for not only for an organization but also for society providing sustainable solutions to real-life challenges.

I mainly applied to IIM Bangalore and ISB apart from IIM Calcutta. I chose IIM Calcutta because of it is the oldest and one of the top B-Schools in India which is known for its case-based teaching methodology nurturing thinking process and will serve as the best place for learning.
The International Immersion Program for 15 days in top B-School in US and Germany with industrial visits in the main companies to give us the exposure to global working culture, best systems, and core industries.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
The alumni base is increasing every year


Read More

November 25, 2016
arunkx2017

Joined: Nov 25, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

A journey towards excellence

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for IIMC

Program PGPEX

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

The program is well designed to meet the need of experienced candidates. It covers all finer aspects of general management and increase our thinking span.
the program helps us to develop a perspective to solve any management problem.
the program also have guest lectures from industry which gives us practical insight.
For future candidates, this one year program is worth considering for bigger vision in your life and career. just do not take it as a placement agency kind of program and it will help you learn bigger and better things.
For me this program fits into larger career goals which i have set for myself and i am really delighted that i have chosen it.

About professors, classes and curriculum

excellent


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Entrepreneurship
Management

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking


Read More

June 21, 2016
PARIJAT

Joined: Jul 02, 2013

Posts: 1

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
600 Q41 V31
660 Q46 V35

PGPEX - A different kind of MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for IIMC

Program PGPEX

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

If you thought that doing an MBA meant being buried under an avalanche of books and running helter skelter trying to finish one assignment after the other, well, you are on the right track. A bit of exercise is good for your heart and soul and the PGPEX program provides you ample opportunity for the same. :) But that is just one of the things you sign up for in this program.

Did you know you could be sitting in a class of participants with an average exp of over 90 months? DId you know you could be speaking to a doctor at one instant and then a fashion designer next? Did you know you could be encouraged by professors to not just learn, but question the very nature in which business conducted itself today? Or that you not only drive the student activities on campus, but have a say in all the major administrative tasks on campus.

IIM Calcutta and PGPEX is all about YOU. YOU are the participant, YOU are the facilitator. YOU do your own learning and YOU get to question everything. A one year course that is diverse yet challenging, with full freedom to YOU to design your learning as you choose. This course gives you the necessary guidelines to help you shape your career in any of your interested tracks - consulting, tech, marketing or management.

As a participant, I can safely vouch for the differentiating experience of this program. Yes, you need to put in your effort to meet the various challenges and curve balls PGPEX throws at you. But if you are willing to face the challenge, the journey is worth it.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Location
Brand/Ranking
Culture & Student Support
Facilities
Admissions Team
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking
Facilities


Read More