GMAT Club

IIM Calcutta Reviews

MBA Program rating [4]
     (4.5)

Your OWN review

Submit a Verified Review and get up to a $10 Amazon gift card

create
MBA Program Review
IIM Calcutta-PGPEX
June 19 | 2016
9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
     By RajdeepPaul 16 9
This review is for: IIMC
Program:

PGPEX

Class of:

2017

Experience during the program

When I joined PGPEX, I already had over 5 years of experience in the mining sector, and was looking forward to a programme that could offer me a holistic view of the management pedigree. With its healthy blend of electives and compulsory subjects across different domains, PGPEX didn't let me down. Moreover, in a classroom of candidates with background in multiple spheres of business, there is no limitation whatsoever on peer-to-peer learning opportunities.

For applicants who wish to see a leap in their career or seek to switch their work domains, a one year-MBA stands as an invaluable opportunity. The value addition of IIM Calcutta tag would only maximize the potential of your past experience. Having said that, I would advise against focusing on this programme through the lens of job opportunities only. The key essence is the learning platform that it offers and an opportunity to gain 360 degree view of businesses. In other words I would say, life always gives you a second chance and it is called PGPEX !

About job placement process

Th institute offers a very student driven placement process. The placement committee, as elected by the students, is facilitated by the institute to attract the best employers in the domestic as well as international market.

In the past, candidates have been offered mid managerial to senior managerial profiles. Also there have been instances, when potential candidates have successfully switched their domains. The bandwidth of the recruiting firms is very large wherein we have seen participation from various sectors including consulting, manufacturing, banking, to name a few. The details of placement and past recruiters could be found on the website.

Overall BSchool experience
     (4.0)
Schools contribution
     (3.0)
Classmates rating
     (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Alumni Network

Brand/Ranking

Culture & Student Support

Facilities

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Management

Can be improved:

Student body, diversity


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [8]
1 Commented by navneetjha on June 23, 2016
Congrats!!!
What was your gmat score?
2 Commented by apurva.ast on June 26, 2016
IIMC accept scores above 700
3 Commented by navneetjha on June 27, 2016
Thanks Apurva!!
4 Commented by RajdeepPaul on June 27, 2016
Hi Navneet! There is no cap on the gmat score as such. The present batch has a gmat range of 600-760. For specific queries related to admission you can post on the Official-Pgpex-2017 thread :

http://gmatclub.com/forum/calling-all-iim-calcutta-pgpex-applicants-2017-intake-class-of-218922.html
5 Commented by VJtalk on June 30, 2016
is it like the person going for PGPX in place of TWO yrs full time MBA will have to rejoin the domain he/SHE is already having experience from OR possibility of field change is lesser in case of PGPX as compared to 2 yrs MBA
6 Commented by ak3089 on July 07, 2016
Hi Rajdeep,

You mentioned "For applicants who wish to see a leap in their career or seek to switch their work domains, a one year-MBA stands as an invaluable opportunity. " .

can you please explain , why is this so?

Thanks
Akshay
7 Commented by ravipsharma on July 09, 2016
Want to know more about switching domains - Which pair of domains is easy to switch and which is not so easy?
8 Commented by ravipsharma on July 09, 2016
Thanks for the info about PGPEX program of IIMC!!!
MBA Program Review
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By PARIJAT 1 5
This review is for: IIMC
Program:

PGPEX

Class of:

2017

Experience during the program

If you thought that doing an MBA meant being buried under an avalanche of books and running helter skelter trying to finish one assignment after the other, well, you are on the right track. A bit of exercise is good for your heart and soul and the PGPEX program provides you ample opportunity for the same. :) But that is just one of the things you sign up for in this program.

Did you know you could be sitting in a class of participants with an average exp of over 90 months? DId you know you could be speaking to a doctor at one instant and then a fashion designer next? Did you know you could be encouraged by professors to not just learn, but question the very nature in which business conducted itself today? Or that you not only drive the student activities on campus, but have a say in all the major administrative tasks on campus.

IIM Calcutta and PGPEX is all about YOU. YOU are the participant, YOU are the facilitator. YOU do your own learning and YOU get to question everything. A one year course that is diverse yet challenging, with full freedom to YOU to design your learning as you choose. This course gives you the necessary guidelines to help you shape your career in any of your interested tracks - consulting, tech, marketing or management.

As a participant, I can safely vouch for the differentiating experience of this program. Yes, you need to put in your effort to meet the various challenges and curve balls PGPEX throws at you. But if you are willing to face the challenge, the journey is worth it.

Overall BSchool experience
     (5.0)
Schools contribution
     (4.0)
Classmates rating
     (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Student body, diversity

Alumni Network

Career opportunities provided by school

Location

Brand/Ranking

Culture & Student Support

Facilities

Admissions Team

Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Finance

Marketing

Tech

Management

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking

Facilities


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [2]
1 Commented by gasprengermalik on June 25, 2016
2 Commented by gasprengermalik on June 25, 2016
MBA Program Review
Once in a life time experience
November 27 | 2016
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
     By Jhalak 2 0
This review is for: IIMC
Program:

PGPEX

Class of:

2017

Experience during the program

During my career, I got a good overview of Manufacturing, Sales and Industrial Engineering. Despite my career going in right direction, I felt a constant need to improve my knowledge and skills to equip myself for the future challenges any organization faces in the best possible way. So I decided to pursue Executive MBA early in my career. My long term goal is to be a successful business leader who can create profits for not only for an organization but also for society providing sustainable solutions to real-life challenges.

I mainly applied to IIM Bangalore and ISB apart from IIM Calcutta. I chose IIM Calcutta because of it is the oldest and one of the top B-Schools in India which is known for its case-based teaching methodology nurturing thinking process and will serve as the best place for learning.
The International Immersion Program for 15 days in top B-School in US and Germany with industrial visits in the main companies to give us the exposure to global working culture, best systems, and core industries.

Overall BSchool experience
     (5.0)
Schools contribution
     (5.0)
Classmates rating
     (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Brand/Ranking

Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Finance

Marketing

Investment Banking

Tech

Entrepreneurship

Management

Can be improved:

Alumni Network

The alumni base is increasing every year


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
MBA Program Review
A journey towards excellence
November 25 | 2016
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by school email address
     By arunkx2017 1 0
This review is for: IIMC
Program:

PGPEX

Class of:

2017

Experience during the program

The program is well designed to meet the need of experienced candidates. It covers all finer aspects of general management and increase our thinking span.
the program helps us to develop a perspective to solve any management problem.
the program also have guest lectures from industry which gives us practical insight.
For future candidates, this one year program is worth considering for bigger vision in your life and career. just do not take it as a placement agency kind of program and it will help you learn bigger and better things.
For me this program fits into larger career goals which i have set for myself and i am really delighted that i have chosen it.

About professors, classes and curriculum

excellent

Overall BSchool experience
     (4.0)
Schools contribution
     (3.0)
Classmates rating
     (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors

Career opportunities provided by school

Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting

Entrepreneurship

Management

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]