GMAT Club

e-GMAT Verbal Online Reviews

Proven learning methods, hundreds of concepts and a singular focus on building rock-solid foundations make Verbal Online the most reviewed and beloved Verbal course on GMAT Club. Our unique approaches – such as the Meaning-based eliminations in SC and Pre-Thinking in CR – set the course apart and help our students make tangible improvements to their score in record time.

Experience e-GMAT Verbal Online with a 30-day free trial.
4.6 /5 Average Rating
5 star
676
4 star
271
3 star
30
2 star
4
1 star
4
Based on 985 reviews
February 16, 2020
twentylegend20

Joined: Aug 12, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
730 Q49 V40

730 - Journey from V31 to V40 using e-GMAT's verbal online course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

My experience with GMAT like many others has been rewarding in more ways than through just hitting my target score, and humbling too. So for all those retakers out there, hang in there and keep at it.

Initial Prep and first attempt
Like many other people, i started my prep with an outddated set of Manhattan PDFs - both for quant and verbal. While these helped lay decent foundations to build on, they never gave me an honest chance at hitting my minimum desired score of 730. After a couple of months of prep with a performance of 690-700 in my official mocks - i was sorely disappointed as the screen flashed an abysmal 640 (Q47, V31). Frustrated but determined to keep at it, I began assessing my next steps.

E-gmat Verbal Online - A meticulous and structured approach to Verbal Prep
Honestly speaking, I had trust issues with all the online courses out there - sometimes it's hard to separate the hardcore marketing campaigns from the genuine value for courses out there competing with one another. But after much deliberation and thorough evaluation of reviews, I decided to take the decision to purchase the E-gmat verbal online course,which eventually proved insturmental in hitting that V40. To begin with ESR revealed my sentence correction to be at a decent V37, while my RC and CR were at a terrible V29.

CR - Laying the foundations
The E-gmat CR course is in my humble opinion an absolute gem. Sure, it definitely takes time and effort to gain mastery, but it's worth it if you're focusing on a seriously big jump in CR. The course has a style that suited my method of study - It was heavily visual, interactive throughout and provided an almost annoying number of feedback touchpoints - as i discovered through the course, this works in the long run to really ingrain and retain the fundamentals. The pre and post quizzes provide an excellent mechanism to nail down which areas you're lacking in at the time. The way the course is structured helps gradually pick up the fundamentals module by module (e.g. Inference first to lay down the ground rules which are applicable to future modules as well, an incremental learning system). And last and far from being the least - the focus on the pre-thinking approach helps overcome the biases and subsequent traps that spring up on reading answer choices right after the stimulus. Call it what you want, but ingraining the process of spending a moment on the core of the argument is invaluable, it makes navigating the answer choices a breeze for a lot of questions that may have stumped you peviously.

SC - Plugging the gaps
While SC was something that I pretty much ironed out through assessment of my error log, E-gmat helped plug a few fundamental issues when faced with roadblocks. The summaries at the end of modules helped retain key pointers that added more structure to my repertoire and crucially increased my confidence to hit v40.

RC - A surprising find
I did not really focus on my RC techniques in my second attempt - beyond regularly practising official passages. More on the surprise later.

My second attempt
As the test date neared, my official mocks fluctuated from 700 to 720. While a neutral 690 flashed on the screen, the marked improvement proved that I'd done something right, though clearly it wasn't enough yet. My verbal improved from V31 to V37, which was what i was hitting in my mocks in verbal. The ESR revealed a improvement in accuracy, but serious time management issues were my undoing.

Prep for My third attempt
I settled in for what i told myself would be my final attempt - I did not even book my date this time! I reviewed the CR courses once more, revised my SC cheat sheet every 4-5 days and double clicked on RC so to speak.
I realized that the pre-thinking approach in the CR modules had slowly been impacting my RC performance positively, over time. The fundmanetals of reading and pre-thinking applied to both CR and RC - while this was great, I still had to tackle my time management issues. At this point, I simplified my strategy for the same - 15-15-15-20 (For each set of 9 Q), this rough strategy meant I had enough time to make up for any lag in my time management, and to account for harder questions slowing me towards the middle of the spectrum. Now here's where E-gmat saved the day for me - their scholaranium allows you to take verbal ability quizzes.

Scholaranium
They're a simulation of the verbal section, a sectional test, and what stands out is the quality of their questions - they're as close as they come to the real GMAT verbal questions, even if they may feel a little different. What i found was that my Verbal Ability quiz results (percentile scores) were pretty much within 1-2 points of the my official mock scores (which i had exhuasted by time, but a retake of an old mock whose questions I'd entirely forgotten proved this.) I was consistently hitting the V42 level on the ability quiz while managing my time well, and this gave me immense confidence to walk in and just give it my best shot on the final day.

Test Day
As you've read elsewhere, regular meditation and exercise helps stay focused with your eyes on the prize. So a good routine (and peaceful sleep) and no distractions from the same on the d-day proved invaluable to my test score. I felt I'd messed up my quant a little, but had no time to dwell on the same. Hitting the reset button in my head, I attacked the verbal section with an almost arrogant air, letting go of questions when required and guessing smartly when possible. When the score flashed a 730 (Q49 V40), I was elated, though slightly disappointed with my quant score. Nevertheless, it was an exercise in grit, letting go of arrogance to take help through an online course and trusting myself to deliver on the final day.

Value for Rekaters
The highlight for retakers is that E-gmat allows you to extend your course for a flat, affordable fee that makes renewing your course a no-brainer.

Final Thoughts
All said and done, the only thing that really matters on test day is the question in front of you and an awareness of the time remaining in each section - this greatly simplifies the mental complexity and stress that accompanies most exam takers on D-day.
Hope this long read has helped, good luck!

Read More

May 21, 2020
tejsai

Joined: Apr 23, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q51 V35

Good for practice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 10 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

My experience with e-gmat verbal was good. It was very comprehensive.

The videos were really interactive and the practice just after the concept explanation was helpful.

It focused on understanding the meaning rather than look for what was wrong immediately. The process of steps to check what is wrong for sentence correction, was very useful.
It helped for other sections too.

The solution explanations for OG questions was really good and strengthened my understanding.

The scholaranium provided extensive practice and helped in identifying my weak areas so that I could focus on those better.

Overall, it provided good practice and improved my understanding.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 15, 2020
mahatokumarsanu

Joined: Dec 02, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
590 Q48 V23

Good experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

Overall, the course is structured in a very well defined manner and it is suitable for a beginner who is just starting to prepare for GMAT. My favourite part is that it teaches you in a very structure manner with examples and quizzes in between which help in applying the concepts learnt.
With job, it becomes really difficult to focus and read GMAT books, so the EGMAT course with its concise and structured helped me understand every concept in a detailed way. I also retook the course again just to revise and to make sure I don't forget the concepts. Making short notes of the subject may also help specially for students who are looking for verbal improvement.

Read More

May 14, 2020
suryakantraycha

Joined: Jul 03, 2019

Posts: 19

Kudos: 14

Verified score:
680 Q48 V35

e-GMAT Verbal - A Fresh Approach to Solve GMAT Verbal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

I have been using this course for about 3 months now.
Started with RC, then CR then SC. Will start off with RC.

e GMAT's RC: It redefines the way you look at RCs, ranging from How to Read & Comprehend faster to Pre-Thinking the next line. e GMAT divided this portion on the basis of question type namely Main Point, Inference, Detail etc. and provides the correct way to approach each problem.

e GMAT's CR: This part will fine tune your pre existing concepts of Premise, Conclusion, Counter Premise etc. Every type of problem will be solved basis e GMAT's approach. Best parts were Assumption & Bold Faced.

e GMAT's SC: One word - Modifiers ! Want to solve every question on Modifiers, then Go to e GMAT's Verbal.
Parallelism & Comparison parts of course can be improved a little.

At last I recommend e GMAT's Verbal Course definitely to those who already at some level & want to improve their score further !

Fingers crossed for my next GMAT...

Read More

May 14, 2020
fluevog

Joined: Oct 26, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q49 V38

Great for Sentence Correction

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 30 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

I signed up for the verbal eGmat program to focus on sentence correction, which is where I really struggled in my practice tests. eGmat has a great feature where not only can you watch videos teaching you sentence correction technique, but you can create your own quizzes based on difficulty and verbal question type to practice over and over. You can sort on easy, medium, or hard and number of questions. For each question missed, it shows you a video or explanation about how to go through the process of figuring out the correct answer, not just giving you the correct answer. I found this really helpful because instead of meaningless practice, it helped establish correct procedure a develop a plan to attack the questions on the real test. The timer and suggested times really help you learn to pace yourself.

Read More

April 18, 2020
Suhaas25

Joined: Jul 06, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
570 Q47 V22

Not great for someone who wants to improve on the concepts

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

Not a great value addition for me. the course material has all sorts of shortcuts and stuff but no clear valuation of concepts or analysis on why and where i am going wrong.would suggest these kind of online courses only for people who are confident on their verbal abilities and just want a set of practice questions.i would suggest people to go for personal tutors for gmat if they really want to improve their gmat test taking abilities.also never depend on shortcuts and always believe in learning the concepts and understand why the mistake is happening and logic behind every mistake and answer choice

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 29, 2020
madgmat2019

Joined: Mar 01, 2019

Posts: 545

Kudos: 392

Self-reported Score:
580 Q48 V21

Egmat review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 10 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

I have purchased egmat verbal online course for which i got SC,CR,RC videos and verbal scholaranium GOLD with 500 question.
I heard that sentence correction is only worthy out of this entire course, even i felt the same even after going through the course.
Sentence correction is a bit helpful in knowing all the grammar rules but in reading comprehension i found the process a bit hectic and time taking which is not practically possible at the time of exam, also i didnt find any info which can be helpful in improving my accuracy in reading comprehension. in case of CR pre-thinking is one think that is helpful, i expected much more from this course but my application part is lacking where the course would have been helpful but it didn't.

Read More

February 20, 2020
cantaffordname

Joined: Mar 27, 2019

Posts: 154

Kudos: 146

Over-hyped course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement N/A

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

I've purchased verbal course, hence my review is only related to verbal. Before joining this course, I had attempted GMAT prep mock and studied from manhattan books, gmatclub and daagh explanation. hence my verbal score was okay. However, after working for 2-3 months, I took another mock and my prep mock score went down by 5 points, I thought there must be some issue. I attempted different mock, my score was same.

Sentence correction looked okay at starting, but it's too lengthy and meaning based approach takes lot of time even though you practiced a lot.

I talked to my friend, he had similar experience. I've started using manhattan books, and gmat ninja's videos to graps basics again.

I wouldn't recommend this course. Looks like I wasted my precious 2-3 months. Because of this time waste, I have to postpone my GMAT date, hence I am reporting GMAT prep score. and I am writing this review since I've completed the course, so I eligible.

Read More

March 01, 2020
egmat

Dear cantaffordname,

We are truly sorry that you didn't make the expected improvements using the e-GMAT Verbal Online course. Our strategy team has conducted a thorough review of your course history and we see immediate areas for improvements - for instance, we see several concept and application gaps due to the manner in which the course was completed. Our dedicated strategy team would love to work with you to help build a solid foundation and achieve your target score on the GMAT. Further, we would also like to offer a free 1 month extension so you can hit the ground running right away. Please reach us at support@e-gmat.com and we will get our team involved to help you improve!

Best,
e-GMAT

February 18, 2020
rahulisonline

Joined: Feb 11, 2016

Posts: 3

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q41 V41

e-gmats verbal online is very useful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

As I was pretty used to feeling verbal questions out by ear, my basics were very muddy. This course really helped me strengthen my fundamentals and introduced methods of action that consistently provided better results. It also helped immensely with critical reasoning and reading comprehension with appropriate strategies. Due to their emphasis on reaching the correct answer as opposed to the fast answer, you are almost guaranteed to improve your accuracy. Although e-GMAT advocates learning questions thoroughly even if you learn only some questions, eGMAT does have a huge number of practice questions which you can practice on to improve your takt time. Having a repository of knowledge was also good for revision and referencing strategy. Although this is an honest review, for transparency's sake I'll have to let you know that e-GMAT has offered me an mba applications guide book in return for a review,

Read More

February 18, 2020
Nirvy

Joined: Jul 16, 2014

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V37

Quality Content

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 150 Points

Course e-GMAT Verbal Online

Location Online

After doing lots of research, i opted for e-gmat because of online course structure that I can complete along with my work schedule. e-gmat structure helps in time management as it's very much handy and you can utilize your travel time or even the break time in office.

Since we have very limited set of official material available for GMAT, we all need additional quality questions to practice.
E-GMAT provides the best tool available as Scholoranium which help us preparing for the 'D-day'.It provides you the right analysis about your weak areas and also detailed explanation of each and every question. Even you can raise your query and the expert team gets back with the answer within same or next day.

As per my experience, analyzing your mistakes and not repeating them again is more important than blindly solving thousands of questions. E-Gmat works best in all aspects.

Read More


259 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for e-GMAT