GMAT Club

Liza Weale Reviews

Company: mbaMission

Liza Weale’s more than 75 five-star reviews on GMAT Club make her one of the industry’s top-rated consultants and stand as a testament to her more than 15 years of experience in the admissions industry. She earned her own MBA from MIT Sloan, where she coached her classmates on cover letters and resumes as the teaching assistant for first-year communications. Since graduating, she has been active in the MIT Sloan alumni community. Her MBA experience marked her career transition from private sector technology to management consulting and later to product management.

At Bain & Company, she advised clients in education, health care, and consumer products while making time to guide her associate consultants through the MBA admissions process. She also served on the Bain-MIT Sloan recruiting team to help attract, evaluate, and hire MIT Sloan first and second years. She later joined Scholastic as director of product marketing for its fledgling math programs, which she grew by five times in two years, all the while coaching junior colleagues and acquaintances on their business school applications. Wanting to further her marketing expertise, Liza then became executive director of Kaplan Test Prep’s GMAT and GRE business lines, not only owning the programs’ strategic decisions but also heading up all marketing and curriculum development efforts. Although she enjoyed marketing products and helping companies achieve growth, her true passion lies in helping individuals “market” themselves in their MBA applications.

5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 98 reviews
February 18, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Liza Weale - Great Admissions Consultant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Applying to school was by no means a fun process, but made all the more comfortable thanks to Liza. She was incredibly positive and encouraging, while keeping it real about my chances for each school I was looking at.

After the initial free 30min consultation, I ultimately decided I needed help with just one application, so bought 4 hours vs. the more expensive all-inclusive package. I found that this was enough for me, and (thanks to Liza’s instruction) made sure to be extremely prepared for each call to maximize my time with her. I never felt like she was trying to sell me on extra hours or needlessly waste my time. Rather, I felt like she really took the time to get to know me and my “story”, and had my best interests in mind through the end.

I had a tough time deciding which stories to go with for the 2 essays assigned, and an even harder time trying to figure out how to say anything meaningful with so little words! Liza was great at helping me dig deeper into the impactful pieces of my story while cutting out the fluff to get me to a quality finished product.

I was also really happy with her help on my resume. I thought I had an awesome draft to start, but quickly realized that a b-school resume is nothing like the resumes I had put together in the past. After reviewing my brainstorming doc, Liza helped me incorporate and expand upon aspects I didn’t even realize would be attractive to an admissions committee.

Anyone applying to business school should feel confident having Liza in their corner.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 27, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Hourly Consulting Services review - Liza Weale at mbaMission

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I whole-heartedly recommend Liza as a consultant. I decided to work with her after our 30 minute free consultation. I purchased a few hours with her for resume review and essay editing. She's incisive and efficient - just the kind of support I was looking for. I've been admitted to HBS for R1.

RESUME EDITING: Liza took what I thought was an already strong resume and helped me transform it into an outstanding one by pushing me to find the "so what" for each of my accomplishments in two rounds of revisions. Investing in my resume with Liza was hands down the best money I spent throughout this process.

ESSAYS: As a last minute applicant, Liza's feedback helped me to get to the finish line faster from first to final drafts. She helped me shape my ideas into coherent narratives and let me know what was and wasn't working. I worked with her for my GSB and HBS essays.

HBS MOCK INTERVIEW: My session with Liza was pretty comparable to the actual HBS interview. Very helpful.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 25, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Liza Weale was key for me getting into my dream school!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

If you want to get into the top business schools, you need to have Liza on your team. I met Liza during my free 30-minute consultation. Prior to that, I've already conducted 5-6 of those free consults with many other admissions consultants. What stood out to me was that Liza (1) was realistic and honest - she told me straight up I really should retake the GMAT, (2) spent almost an hour continuing to talk through my options whereas everyone else had their sales pitch 15-minutes in and wanted to wrap things up quickly, (3) knew her stuff, she had data and experience to back up every statement about what schools are looking for.

Over the next several months, my time working with Liza has been incredible. She was like a light that guided me through the murkiness, insecurity, and anxiety that came with the application process. She was accountable and never dropped the ball. She knew every story I shared and helped me develop them into really compelling narratives. I'm someone that does not care for sugar-coated statements and needed frank feedback that will make me better. Liza was that for me. During my essays or interview prep, she was firm and constructive, but did so with a lot of integrity, respect, and positive attitude.

My results? I got into 4 of 4 top 10 schools, thanks to Liza! She's the full package: intelligent, caring, an expert, constructive, positive, and a winner!

Read More

January 21, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Liza Weale - Simply Amazing

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

You know that familiar feeling - when you are certain that you want to go from point A to point B - but you are not sure which route to take? I was there - about a year back. I knew that I wanted to go for a B-School - I also knew why. But I had too much information on hand that I needed to segregate - and too many options that I wanted to filter out.

And then I heard about mbaMission and Liza (a common friend recommended her). A quick 30-minute free consultation told me exactly what I needed to know. 6 intense months later I got an admission call from my dream school - which excites me as much as the fact that I am going to be fellow alums with Liza.

Applying for a B-School is no easy task. You have the essays where you have to talk about everything in 1 sentence. You have the creative essays where you have the temptation to go overboard. And of course if you are working long hours - you need someone who is probably more diligent than you are in following up with your essays. You need a mentor, a consultant and a friend with great knowhow about B-Schools (phew!). Liza is all of those rolled into one. She is prompt with her deadlines and her replies, she is thoughtful and extremely to-the-point with her feedback and insights, and most importantly - a lot of fun to work with. Work with her - and I can assure you that you will reflect on your past achievements in a way that you never did before.

Of course mbaMission's entire process is very thorough and organized. From the detailed brainstorming session to tweaks in your resume and essay reviews to finally the mock-interview sessions - everything is spaced out in the best possible way. With Liza - the process becomes fun and life becomes easy.

Can't thank you enough Liza. Keep rocking!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 15, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Liza Weale's Stellar Service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Selecting a business school consultant is not an easy process. Several organizations tout their approaches' / consultants' merits, and in perusing different firms' marketing materials, it's often difficult to parse different organizations apart. At the beginning of my business school application journey, I availed of mbaMission and Stacy Blackman Consulting's free consultations. The general approach taken by mbaMission was markedly different from Stacy Blackman Consulting--instead of adopting an alarmist tone by identifying flaws in my resume and urging me to immediately solicit their services, mbaMission took stock of who I was and paired me with someone who they felt was best suited to helping me. That person was Liza Weale.

I cannot endorse Liza strongly enough. She epitomized excellent client service, by being courteous, convivial and genuinely invested in the success of my applications. I found her input and support especially helpful, across several dimensions:

1) Work style flexibility: Liza adapted her work style to suit mine. Instead of writing lengthy, tortuous cover notes, she quickly got to the point with her feedback, in line with my desired mode of engagement. Moreover, she was willing and able to "keep up" with my high tempo of work in June and July, often completing two iterations on materials in a single week.

2) A strategist, but also an operator: I was amazed by Liza's ability to act as a thought partner on every dimension of my application. In addition to ideating on the general structure of my essays (and often coming up with better ideas than I did), Liza was also able to advise me on reframing the expression of particular thoughts within paragraphs.
Incisive, but constructive: Liza pulled no punches with her feedback. Her willingness to sharing honest feedback with me was refreshing, and essential--looking back, some of my initial ideas and ways of portraying myself were clearly off the mark. Liza helped me course-correct on multiple occasions, and earned my enduring respect for the frankness of her feedback

3) In it with me, for the long haul: Liza was, and continues to be a major source of support for me. From helping me select schools to apply to through to advising me on potential funding options, Liza has been an infallible and crucial source of support

I unequivocally recommend Liza to anyone looking to apply to business schools. I couldn't have gotten into Wharton and Booth without her.

— Wharton and Booth Admit

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 05, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
650 Q43 V37

Highly Recommend Liza

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Liza was an incredible asset throughout the entire business school application process. Starting with our first brainstorming session, Liza took a genuine interest in getting to know me—my strengths, weaknesses, career goals and passions. In this way, she helped me craft essays that positioned myself in the most compelling way possible. Throughout the drafting process, Liza continually pushed me to think about the question differently, add more detail, or include a certain story in order to make my essays truly shine.

The mock interviews I had with Liza were also hugely helpful. She knows exactly what business schools are looking for in a candidate’s response. She was able to help me polish my answers and determine which stories to emphasize. I felt extremely confident and prepared walking into my interviews knowing I had practiced with Liza.

Additionally, Liza was always available to answer any random questions I had. This made me feel much more at ease as I navigated the application process. Her expertise was always very evident and assured me I was putting my best foot forward in all stages of the application.

Finally, Liza was also one of my biggest supporters throughout the process. Although applying to business school can be daunting, she laid out the steps I needed to take and provided encouragement every step of the way. Liza’s positivity and can-do spirit was so important to me when I felt overwhelmed or unsure. I am so thankful to have had Liza on my team, rooting for me to succeed.

I highly recommend Liza as a top-notch consultant who can provide the advice, support and insights necessary to be successful in the application process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 03, 2016
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Loved Working with Liza

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I highly recommend working with Liza. She is incredibly friendly, helpful, supportive, and constructive. I only worked with Liza for interview prep after being referred by a friend, but I felt like my small amount of time with Liza was incredibly valuable.

We built a friendly rapport within the first few minutes of my 30 minute consultation and after hanging up, I knew I wanted to work with her. During this consultation and the mock interview Liza was able to provide tips as well as constructive feedback that helped me prepare for several business school interviews. She followed up to wish me luck and to check in throughout the next several weeks. It was great to know I had her cheering me on. I also felt like her feedback was specific and actionable in a short period of time. I heard her suggestions in the back of my mind as I was answering questions during my interviews and I felt like it helped me take a step back and provide the most thoughtful responses.

Highly recommend working with Liza on whatever part of the process you feel you need help with!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 28, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q45 V44

Highest Endorsement for Liza Weale

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

You want Liza on your team.

I had the good fortune of having my free 30 minute consultation (offered via Manhattan GMAT) with Liza back in June of 2014. After reading her stellar reviews, which confirmed my first impression, I decided to sign up for the Start to Finish package. Remarkably, a year and a half has passed and I’m so thankful that Liza was there every step of the way.

Liza has an uncanny ability to inspire confidence while simultaneously providing extensive constructive criticism – this is her magic. She is remarkably patient, funny, sharp and honest. When she says something is good, you can rest assured that it actually is. Surface deep doesn’t cut it with Liza; she pushes you to get to the “why.”

Regarding time management, she repeatedly challenged me to hit deadlines and to keep iterating – both things that I would have neglected without her encouragement, but that ultimately made the process far less stressful. Liza was invaluable in brainstorming broad-ranging essay topics and in reviewing the countless iterations, but she also completely turned my resume around. I’d hired others to help with my resume in the past, but Liza’s guidance was unrivaled.

Not to be forgotten: Liza’s support extends far beyond assistance with resumes and essays. She’s a consistent positive force in what will inevitably be, at times, a stressful process. For me, countless unforeseen questions popped up at various stages, and Liza was there to provide great advice on every one.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 01, 2015
dtse86

Joined: Feb 03, 2014

Posts: 575

Kudos: 246

Self-reported Score:
730 Q49 V40

Good, but not worth the money for the full-package

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I decided to use an admissions consultant because I knew that with my low undergraduate GPA, it'd be difficult to get into my desired schools.

I chose to go with Liza after an initial 30 minute consultation. I was extremely impressed with her insight and with her advice, I decided to change my application strategy.

I bought a one school complete package although I knew I was going to apply to several. My plan was to utilize the important aspects of the first application on the later ones.

For the most part, she laid out the process with me and met the expectations and promises with regards to turn around times.

In the beginning, I found her insights and points very good in regards to what the admissions selection committee may think and how to address certain aspects of my application. However when it came to her comments/edits on my essays, I found them lacking in substance. Most of her essay reviews seemed more focused on meeting word limits rather than making sure the essay gave the intended impact and conveyed my message. In later essays for other schools, I found myself more critical than her and suggestions from friends and family more helpful.

She did also help with my resume and prepping my recommenders. Both of my recommenders come from non-MBA backgrounds and so I strongly believe the materials she gave me to prep them helped. However, a lot of the advice for both prepping recommenders and writing good resumes are easily found online here at GMATClub or on other admissions consultants' blogs.

Ultimately, I was rejected from the school I purchased the package for, but was admitted into 2 others and waitlisted at one. It's hard to tell how much Liza contributed to those successes however I do think she helped in some part. Whether or not I would've gotten into those schools without an admissions consultant is tough to say, but I do think much of the support and help she provided could have been gotten at a much cheaper cost to me.

Looking back, I wished that I had hired her hourly for the resume writing and recommender prep, but used a specific essay reviewing company (like Essay Snark) for the essay reviews. In the end, I'm not upset that I had used her services, however I do think I spent too much money and that for me, it wasn't worth it.

Liza's a wonderful person and extremely intelligent, however for me, who already put a lot of time researching and being critical on my own application, her value was wasted and lost.

Read More

May 17, 2015
Anonymous

Posts: 40

Kudos: 10

Self-reported Score:
740 Q51 V39

Thank you mbaMission!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I rarely write reviews but after working together with Liza Weale from mbaMission for more than 6 months, it was such a pleasant experience that I can't help but feel obligated to write one.

A little background about myself: I have a hybrid (IT & Management mix) consulting background in an okay consulting firm (obviously not MBB). My undergraduate was just okay - decent GPA from a public school but also a community college transfer student. Furthermore, I had limited extracurricular and leadership activities. Thankfully, at least I had an average GMAT for M7 schools. As you can see, I'm pretty much an average Joe professional and doesn't exactly exude "pedigree".

After a few years of working, I wanted to apply for MBA to move to a top consulting firm but I wasn't sure whether I could make it to the top schools. I had a free consultation with Liza out of curiosity and told her my background and goals. I asked her whether I could make it to M7 schools, knowing she'd probably tell me to aim lower but to my surprise, she actually said I had a fighting chance!

Liza was incredibly helpful in identifying my strengths and weaknesses during the initial call, which gave me assurance that she knows what she's doing. I decided to get the 4 school packages, which was a bit pricy, but I knew that if got into just one out of those four, I'd easily multiply my investment!

Since I was applying to four top schools, the application process itself was incredibly challenging and stressful, but Liza was very helpful in setting up timelines and milestones to organize and help alleviate the stress and burden. Furthermore, she was really flexible in rescheduling calls or modifying milestones to accommodate for times when work was crushing me. I also greatly appreciated her encouragement and direct constructive criticisms during the busiest periods - I knew that she really cares about her clients and wants us to be successful!

To me, Liza's greatest strength was her ability to identify strengths in my background (that I wasn't even aware of!) and make sure that they are reflected well in my essays. There were several occasions when I wasn't sure what to write about and she helped me brainstorm to come up with these brilliant ideas! A note of caution though: she will decimate and revamp your essay, which was for the good of course, but sometimes it was a bit frustrating since I spent hours working on it!

Even though I somewhat expected it, when the rejections started rolling in, I started to panic. I was incredibly stressed and nervous that all this hard work and money would go down the drain. Thankfully, Liza helped me calm down and keep focus. When I finally got that elusive interview, she immediately helped me prep and gave me incredible tips to make sure that I was ready for it. I made sure to follow her advice and hoped for the best.

Long story short, I was accepted to one of the top schools with my average Joe background and I definitely attribute my success to Liza's help!

Read More


34 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Liza Weale