GMAT Club

Gatehouse Admissions Consulting Reviews

Gatehouse Admissions partners closely with business school applicants targeting the most competitive MBA programs. Through establishing deep partnerships, providing unrelenting support, and infusing expertise into each step of the application process, Gatehouse Admissions helps its clients put their best foot forward in their business school applications. Gatehouse Admissions provides both Full Support services and A La Carte services, including mock interview sessions and hourly services.
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
136
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 137 reviews
February 27, 2021
Pack0821

Joined: Nov 04, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q50 V38

Liza is phenomenal and will get the best out of you!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Background: male, career in finance (IB + PE) and couple years of operating experience at a startup; older than the average MBA candidate.

Result: accepted to three M7s.

Like many here, Liza came highly recommended from a friend and as an older MBA candidate, I wanted to work with the best as this application cycle was likely the last window for me based on my age. In what turned out to be a year no one will ever forget with a dramatic change in the MBA admissions landscape, I can confidently say that Liza came through.

Essays / broader application: in tying together a less traditional path, Liza’s provided instrumental feedback on how to present my narrative across my application. This started with the pre-application work and the genuine interest she took in understanding my journey to date and where I hoped to end up. Once we got to the essays, it was incredible how much she was able to recall and use it to push me to add depth and greater meaning to my responses, all while making sure each and every word counted.

Letters of recommendation: one of my recommenders was not as familiar with this process. In discussing why I thought he would be a good recommender and the projects we worked on, she provided specific tips to help coax the best out of him, while staying true to the theme I was presenting.

Interviews: I was 3 for 3 in terms of being accepted to the schools I interviewed with. I credit this to Liza as she knows the high bar that interviewers expect and ensures you are ready by doing some serious and comprehensive interview prep. You can be confident that no matter what curve ball your interviewer throws at you, you will have a thoughtful response ready. Also, for schools that require an additional essay / video, Liza makes sure it is in top form and presents another side of you that the admissions committee has not yet seen in your application.

It has been a pleasure working with Liza. She is a phenomenal coach who will get the best out of you and you can rest easy knowing that you will be submitting your best application to these very selective institutions. Good luck!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 16, 2021
tz180k

Joined: May 04, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Super Helpful, Thoughtful, and Supportive

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Background: Male, Private Equity/Investment Banking background, CS degree from liberal arts school, 326 GRE. Results: Accepted at HBS, waitlisted at Haas. Rejected: Stanford, Wharton, MIT. In what was a challenging and dynamic year, Liza was a steady and helpful guiding presence on my application journey. We started working together in March, right before the world shut down and all testing times were delayed. Liza was right there to reassure me and reduce my application anxiety while she herself was launching a business during a pandemic - talk about a leader! Liza was instrumental in helping me develop a strong story and compelling narrative in my essays and interviews. Liza's creativity and compassion are what differentiates her. She knows how to weave what may seem like disparate parts of your life into a full picture for schools. We worked collaboratively on one essay for over two months - whittling down a 2000-word, jumbled group of stories to a concise 800-word essay that put my passions on display. During the interview process, Liza was incredibly helpful. Her practice interviews felt like the real thing and she asked challenging questions that made me feel confident and ready for my interviews. I would highly recommend her for anyone who is serious about applying to the best schools!

Read More

January 25, 2021
cwiese

Joined: Oct 23, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Liza combines authenticity with hard work to bring together incredible apps

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Background: strong GPA/average GRE, econ/bus major at a liberal arts school, caucasian male, background in strategy and marketing for a medium-sized manufacturer.
Results: Accepted: HBS, Kellogg, Tuck Rejected: GSB

The short version: Liza kept me purposeful, focused, and sane in this process, and she pushed me to get to my own personal “why” for business school as well as the storyline for the business school apps themselves. Having Liza as support throughout the process didn’t mean that applying was a breeze, but rather that I felt a sense of confidence, reassurance, and coaching that I know changed the course of my business school future. Perhaps most importantly to me, I didn’t want a school to accept a packaged version of myself that wasn’t accurate / honest. When my applications were submitted, I felt confident that this was my story in my voice - and that mattered to me. Liza took the time to make that possible. She is one of those people that has a unique gift for storytelling and editing which she combines with a strong work ethic and faithful commitment to the client. She does not cheat with her craft - I never felt like I was simply another drop in the bucket to her. If you’re going to spend the dollars, go with Liza.

The long version:
Introduction: I first spoke with Liza a year before I started working with her for a free, 30-minute info session. From that moment I saw her ability to listen well and respond with very helpful commentary. I knew then that if I was going to use a consultant, it would be her.
The start of the process: Liza and I talked through how many schools I would work with her, what I was looking for, and next steps. Liza responded to any feelings of uncertainty with thoughtfulness and confidence and helped me see a path through the year ahead.
The experience inventory: I poured my heart and soul into the kickoff document that Liza uses, and when we had our first phone call, I was shocked by Liza’s intricate knowledge of a 25+ page document about my life. She not only had many follow-up questions, but also had a plan of where to start. Impact: My storyline for the schools picked up on my subtle nuances of my life and personality.
Essay writing: Liza does not give up and does not settle for what she feels will not be effective. No joke: I wrote 3 versions of an essay that Liza kept pushing back on. She finally got me back on the phone, and pushed me to really answer the simple question the school was asking. I then trusted Liza with some pretty personal details of my life - and Liza engaged thoughtfully and then helped me begin writing from there (and I trust her explicitly). I would not have had the confidence and finesse to include the level of reflection and thoughtfulness that ultimately filled my essays: that’s the magic of Liza. Ultimately, I was able to relay my experiences and dreams in a simple manner that sounded like it was me telling the story in written form. Highly effective.
Also, she never missed a deadline across easily 50+ emails going back and forth. Know this: the two day turnaround means a two day turnaround with Liza during the week - just remember to plan your work out for yourself to utilize her most effectively!
Letter of Recommendation prep: Liza’s specialized process I believe really helped make my letters competitive (my managers do not write MBA LoRs frequently, and I think her guidance was critical in bringing these up to par).. And I will note: I never saw my LoRs personally, and I never wrote on behalf of my letter writers - the process is an ethical one.
Application review: Liza poured over every single word of every single piece of my application. No stone was left unturned. Even after months since we had first reviewed my life story, she would reference something from my original inventory that I’d forgotten to mention. I was starting to get tired in the application process a bit but Liza helped me stay engaged here and remained high energy.
Interview prep: Liza was brilliant here - in no way did I feel that my responses were mico-managed / overly prepped. Instead, Liza helped me to approach my own narrative with the schools in mind but without fundamentally changing my own way of answering the question. She called me out when I started to sound “fake” or like I was trying too hard - and she helped me return to a place of authenticity. I will also say, Liza referred me to one of her Gatehouse Admissions colleagues, Brooke Wheelan, for a second interview for HBS, and I’m very thankful for that interview as well.
Overall: Liza has a positivity that is infectious, and several times I just emailed her with a personal status check of how I was feeling in the process. Every time her perspective was invaluable and motivating. I am excited for this journey, and I feel more comfortable in my own personal “why” for spending the next two year in an MBA due to Liza. Go with Liza!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 14, 2021
TV2020

Joined: Sep 01, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Investment in future

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Background: Caucasian male with accounting degree with central US state school with work experience in IB and PE. GMAT: 730
Result: HBS admittance and acceptance. Admission at CBS and dings at Wharton and Booth.

Liza provided me with invaluable guidance throughout the entire process, but, most importantly, she pushed me to discuss sensitive things in my essays (particularly HBS, which is much more open-ended) that I would have NEVER done without her encouragement. She was hyper engaged and frequently followed up to make sure I was on track to meet deadlines. Liza seemed like she was constantly thinking about my story/essays and would frequently come up with value-added ideas even after I would have considered the essay done.

These thing undoubtedly made the difference in my application: she helped me stand out from a huge pool of applicants that have similar stats and backgrounds (probably many of you reading this). Highly recommend working with Liza. I'd also encourage you to start working with her early, as I did, so you can fully leverage her expertise.

Read More

January 16, 2021
Nikhil

Congratulations!

December 22, 2020
texasex11

Joined: Dec 21, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Fantastically Helpful Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Background: Mix of traditional (banking) and nontraditional (governmental) professional experience, male, average test score with lower than ideal GPA
Accepted: Harvard, Kellogg, McCombs
Liza was recommended to me by a friend and we started working together several months before R1 deadlines. I am extremely grateful to have been able to work with Liza and was thoroughly pleased with her expertise, advice, responsiveness, and professionalism. She is the perfect blend of coach, friend, and therapist and exactly who you want by your side if you are willing to put in the work. Liza pushed me early on in the process to dig deep into my personal history and experience so that she could have a holistic view of me as a person, and she pointed out the aspects of my experiences that were worth writing about. She absolutely fine-tuned the story of my candidacy, and was there every step of the way through multitudes of essay revisions, application question help, interview prep, and even video application questions. She even pushed me to take an extra online course to demonstrate my commitment to my grades. I cannot recommend her highly enough, and I don't want to think about where I would have been in this process without her guidance.

Read More

September 11, 2020
jlg3812

Joined: Sep 11, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best Decision I Made In The Application Process!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Having Liza as my consultant was HUGE for me. By way of background, I am a male applicant with a less traditional career path, Liza helped me utilize my story in an effective way. She helped me identify my strengths as a candidate and provided amazing feedback that I would not have had without her as my consultant. The MBA application can be daunting but it helps tremendously to have someone like Liza who knows all the ins and out of the process and can provide great recommendations regardless of the question. I know without a doubt that Liza’s work helped me get into the school of my dreams. I simply could not have done it without her.

I looked at other consultants but couldn’t really find one that ‘clicked.’ After doing the introductory call, I knew immediately that Liza was the person I needed to make my candidacy the most competitive. This was the best decision I could have made!

Liza is always available; has tremendous knowledge of all the schools and the process in general; is a joy to work with; and most of all is dedicated completely to making sure your application is the best possible. I cannot recommend enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 16, 2020
saraeadie

Joined: May 02, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

WILL NOT DISAPPOINT!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Background: Female, International, bulge bracket banking, Megafund PE
Accepted: Wharton, Harvard (Admitted)

To say Liza was pivotal throughout my business school application process would be a disservice. No review, personal testimony or reference would do Liza or her work justice. I could not have asked for a better support system, friend and consultant.

A few highlights from my experience:

1) Selection Process:
Liza came to me recommended by an acquaintance and is very well known in the New York community. I was diligent and interviewed 8 different consultants but followed my gut and selected Liza as I felt she could not only be supportive but keep me accountable.

2) Working Style:
Liza is supportive, engaging and firm. She approaches the application process in an organized fashion and as stringent as the schedule sounds - it is TRULY going to produce the best work product and showcase the best you. At first, the turnaround times and general timelines felt challenging with my schedule (I typically did most work on the weekends) but I adjusted to a cadence in which I was consistently working on one document while Liza reviewed another. Trust me - it works with any schedule!

3) Timelines:
Liza is dependable and consistent. She never ONCE missed a deadline and the quality of work product was consistent. Trust me when I say this is rare, I watched my partner go through the process with a consultant missing both of these qualities and it makes a stressful time, that much more challenging.

4) Essay Feedback:
Liza's essay support is phenomenal; she pushes you to SHOW the reader what you did, as opposed to tell them. This sounds basic but incredibly hard to do by yourself. This alone is worth every investment.

5) Other:
Liza has perfected her craft. Her strategy, advice and feedback can be helpful to ANY working style. I was disorganized, last minute and have limited experience writing essays, however Liza's ability to help you put your best foot forward, regardless of your background or experience is unbeatable.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 03, 2020
GSB2022admit5

Joined: Jan 05, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Top Notch Experience

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Background: Male, URM, Ivy undergrad (Finance Major), 6 years work experience (3 yrs banking, 3 yrs corporate development), 7XX GMAT and undergrad GPA in ballpark of MBA medians for the schools I applied to
Applied and admitted to: Stanford GSB, HBS, and Wharton

Liza came highly recommended by various friends who had used her services, and by the end of our initial consultation, it was clear why: she listens, asks the tough questions, is incredibly thoughtful, and is patient and supportive. I did not feel rushed during the consultation and Liza even followed up afterward with a debrief email that provided additional feedback on my overall candidacy (incl. areas that I could strengthen) as well as various resources that I could reference. Given how much introspection the MBA process requires, Liza’s approach makes her incredibly effective at helping applicants find / craft their story and gain admission to the most selective business schools.

Since I was a bit price conscious, I only worked with Liza on my GSB application. However, given how detailed the GSB application is, I was able to leverage the same content for my other 2 applications. Liza did a fantastic job of helping me connect the dots between elements of my past, who I am now, and what I aspire to do in the future. She was able to give me very honest, specific feedback and pressure test statements that I made about my motivations. Quite candidly, it was initially a frustrating process — my first essay drafts were missing the mark and Liza pushed me to dig deeper and really tease out how the various things I’ve done are linked to a set of specific motivations. Beyond just helping me submit a top notch application, this process of introspection and self-discovery has given me greater clarity of who I am and what I want to do going forward. People spend their whole lives trying to answer this question and discover themselves, so I really appreciated partnering with Liza to work through this.

Working with Liza on mock interviews was also incredibly helpful. During the GSB mock, we covered a number of the questions that I was ultimately asked during my actual interview. She also did a great job of imitating the cadence and atmosphere of a GSB interview. My understanding is that her HBS mocks are more fast-paced to reflect the style of HBS interviewers. This all goes to show that she knows the process and schools quite well.

Lastly, Liza is incredibly professional and brings an amazing amount of energy to every call, email, or redline you receive from her! She’s well organized, very attentive to review deadlines, and is also quite responsive. If you stick to Liza’s prescribed deadlines, you won’t be scrambling last minute to finish up your applications and you’ll feel great when you finally hit submit. Liza’s spots fill up fast so highly recommend booking her early in the process — you won’t regret it!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 21, 2020
usamba2022

Joined: Mar 19, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V40

Liza is amazing!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I’m an international applicant from a tech background who’s engaged Liza for my HBS interview. Am happy to share that I’ve been accepted to HBS!

Liza’s not only very knowledgeable and experienced but has also been so incredibly helpful and empathetic throughout my interaction with her. The mock interview helped a lot – Liza’s honest and encouraging about my rooms for improvement. She addressed my areas of concern too, giving me tips on how to be more effective and confident in my communication.

Although technically Liza’s supposed to help me just for the interview, she’s generous enough to also entertain all my other questions in relation to my application. It really helps to have a one-to-one channel for moral support and to clarify my doubts, given my status as an international applicant who’s unfamiliar with the US system. I would highly recommend Liza to anyone who’s looking to go through the same process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 14, 2020
hbs2022admitted

Joined: Apr 14, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Best in the Business

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Background: Female, Associate at Large PE firm Admitted: HBS
Liza came highly recommended to me by multiple colleagues. Despite being “late” to hire a consultant given my desire to apply round 1, Liza was prompt to respond and we spoke a few days after I reached out. Liza’s incredibly thoughtful yet matter-of-fact approach to our conversation struck me and I hired her without speaking with any other consultants!
My biggest concern as an applicant coming from a large PE firm was that a consultant would strip away the personality in my application and my voice in what ended up being a very personal essay. Liza assuaged my fears immediately – I was in awe of her ability to listen to my stories, read my essay drafts, and then provide helpful revision advice that actually helped my personality come across more clearly. She wasn’t afraid to support me putting my truest, most authentic self out there in a way that was clear, authentic, and confident (but not arrogant).
Liza is not only an excellent writer and communicator who will help you polish your writing and interviewing skills, but what really sets her apart from others in this industry is that she is a good listener and has a keen ability to get to know you quickly. I have heard horror stories of friends who have spent thousands on consultants who fail to provide a personalized experience -- mixing up their clients, taking a long time to provide feedback on materials, and when they do finally respond, giving advice that is at best generic. The business school application requires a level of introspection that many of us try to avoid as we navigate pressure-filled professional lives, and Liza is that sherpa who knows how to carefully guide you through a reflection of where you came from, why you are the way you are, and what you want out of life and out of business school. She is so thoughtful and insightful that at times I felt like I was her only client!
Finally, I really appreciated how organized and professional Liza is; she is very good about setting expectations and guidelines early on and sticking to them (as I mentioned before, I’ve heard horror stories from friends…) At the beginning of the process, she establishes a week-by-week plan of what needs to be done, and when, which is helpful as many of us juggle busy careers and personal lives.
I am thrilled to be attending Harvard Business School starting this fall and I know that I would not have this opportunity without Liza’s support and guidance. I cannot recommend her enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

41 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Gatehouse