GMAT Club

Gatehouse Admissions Consulting Reviews

Gatehouse Admissions partners closely with business school applicants targeting the most competitive MBA programs. Through establishing deep partnerships, providing unrelenting support, and infusing expertise into each step of the application process, Gatehouse Admissions helps its clients put their best foot forward in their business school applications. Gatehouse Admissions provides both Full Support services and A La Carte services, including mock interview sessions and hourly services.
Gatehouse Deal Page

Gatehouse Admissions Consulting Reviews

Gatehouse Admissions Consulting
 $8600  $8600
Reviews
221
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Gatehouse Consultants

Liza Weale
Reviews
144
Average Rating
5.0
Eric Hollowaty
Reviews
29
Average Rating
5.0
Rachel R Nelson
Reviews
17
Average Rating
5.0
Hollis Kline
Reviews
13
Average Rating
5.0
April Stewart
Reviews
11
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

221 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
June 10, 2024
arsenalfan10

Joined: Jun 10, 2024

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best of the Best - Thank You Liza!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

TLDR: Working with Liza was one of the best decisions I've ever made, and I recommend anyone seriously considering top MBA programs to reach out and see if she's available! With her help, I'm really excited to be heading to Wharton in the fall!

My background: Mid-20s, Asian American Male - applied to a select small group of schools from a traditional MBB consulting / Private Equity investing background. Test scores and GPA are in line with the medians of the top schools, but are not outstanding by any measure. I had applied once a few years ago to one school only, with the assistance of an admissions consultant who wasn't too helpful - so I was a bit skeptical this time around. However, from the moment I first had a consultation with Liza, I knew that she was on top of her game and treated each of her candidates not just as a paycheck, but a friend she works closely with from day one as a true thought partner.

From when you start working with her, she is meticulously detailed and organized, something that I found tremendously valuable while balancing a full time job with applications. Through working with Liza, I found that no question was too silly, no essay or short answer too poorly written, no idea too random. She is willing always to explore different angles and problem solve with you as you approach an application - something I found really comforting to have throughout. Liza excels in helping you throughout the process - from the macro brainstorming around essays, all the way down to catching the most minute grammatical errors in a short-answer response.

She is a talented editor and partner to brainstorm with as you're approaching the large essays for each school - but she is also there to help provide suggestions on how you architect your whole application - from connecting the essays, to recommendations, to short answers and interviews - to make the whole package come together. Furthermore, she is so dedicated to your cause and success - if you were to equate applying to business school with going through an exhausting, 12-round boxing match, Liza would be your trainer in the corner at all times there to chat in between rounds - giving you tips, prepping you, helping you up when you get knocked down, and always there to be your biggest cheerleader. Even now, as I'm in the summer prepping for business school, Liza continues to be a thought partner on navigating another school's waitlist I'm still on!

I think beyond everything else - what makes Liza stand out is the fact that she balances being an adept, experienced consultant on the tactical portions of the application with being a tremendously empathetic, thoughtful friend that goes through the ups and downs with you when you're applying. More likely than not - you're going to get a rejection from at least 1 school. I'm sure many consultants are good at celebrating their clients' successes when they get into school - but I believe Liza is singular in her ability to be there when you actually face rejection - and need to pick yourself up for your other interviews and applications. No consultant will be a magician that can sprinkle pixie dust that will grant you admission into all your schools - but Liza is as close as you can get - she'll take your experiences, your stories, your personality - and help you package it in a way that you don't believe is possible. It's not cheap - but then again - neither is business school! If you're thinking seriously about an MBA - I think it's a small price to pay to get you to a place you're happy at!

Read More

May 31, 2024
aayushg1

Joined: May 15, 2024

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Rachel is the "edge" that led to my success and got me into HBS!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I would not have had the success that I did with my MBA applications, had I not worked with Gatehouse Admissions and namely, Rachel Nelson. As an Indian-American male who graduated from Vanderbilt University with a 3.55 GPA as an undergraduate Chemical Engineer with a 770 GMAT score, I believed that I had a chance to get into an M7 Full-Time MBA Program, but I had some concerns. I’m not a strong writer, I knew I needed help managing the concurrent admissions deadlines, and I came from a non-traditional industry (I work in pharmaceuticals manufacturing). When I did introductory calls with many consultant firms, they all spent the time “selling” me on how much they would help me, while Gatehouse Admissions (where I met with Hollis Kline) went ahead and showed me. The intro call itself felt like a working session, and after hiring Gatehouse I was paired with Rachel Nelson. She is timely, honest, encouraging, and darn good at what she does! She turned my “pharma jargon” into translatable achievements while helping me identify and develop the themes of my essays. Her reviews are incredibly thorough, and she sent me back her reviews early multiple times, allowing me to have extra time to ensure my applications were strong. Her interview prep is targeted and effective, but also not too repetitive. When my work wasn’t good enough, she told me so in a manner that helped me improve. I found that the stronger writing skills I developed through her showed in my job too! If she felt that I could do even better, she pushed me for another draft, and I know that this “final push” led to me receiving admission at HBS, Tuck, Kellogg, and Booth, while also currently being waitlisted at Sloan despite applying it in the highly competitive Round 2. When I was waitlisted at Booth and HBS, Rachel actively helped me get off them by reviewing additional recommender letters and application updates. I truly believe that pairing with Gatehouse Admissions and Rachel Nelson was the “edge” that allowed me to experience such a successful application process in the incoming MBA Class of 2026’s competitive landscape!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 22, 2024
WhartonMBA2K26

Joined: May 22, 2024

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Top-tier MBA Admissions Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I am thrilled to recommend April Stewart of Gatehouse Admissions, whose expertise and dedication were instrumental in my successful business school application journey. For context, I am a white male with an HYP undergraduate degree, an undergraduate GPA of 3.81, and a GRE score of 334. Thanks to April’s exceptional guidance, I received offers from Wharton, Columbia, and Stern, each accompanied by significant merit-based aid.

April's approach to project planning was meticulous. From our initial consultation, she laid out a comprehensive timeline for each component of the application process. This level of organization ensured that every task was completed well ahead of deadlines, allowing ample time for revision and refinement. Her ability to break down the daunting application process into manageable steps made the entire experience far less overwhelming.

One of April’s standout qualities is her attention to detail, particularly when it comes to essay editing. She meticulously reviewed each draft, providing thorough and insightful feedback that significantly elevated the quality of my writing. Her edits were not just about correcting grammar; they focused on enhancing the coherence and flow of ideas. Over multiple drafts, April helped me develop a narrative that was compelling and cohesive, ensuring that my essays reflected my unique strengths.

Moreover, April’s skill at ideating on a story that would resonate with business schools was remarkable. She invested considerable time in understanding my background, experiences, and aspirations. Together, we brainstormed and crafted a narrative that was not only appealing to the admissions committees but also inspiring to me. April’s ability to draw out and refine the most impactful aspects of my journey was a testament to her deep knowledge of what top business schools seek in applicants.

Working with April was a terrific experience. Her strategic insights, combined with her support and encouragement, played a pivotal role in my acceptances. I wholeheartedly recommend her and the Gatehouse team to anyone seeking a highly skilled and dedicated business school application consultant.

Read More

May 12, 2024
willmccarthy8

Joined: May 12, 2024

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Thank you Liza!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Liza was incredible to work with and is the reason I got into UVA Darden.

Some background: I have been working in SaaS sales for the past 5 years and wanted to pursue business school as it was an opportunity to pivot into a consulting and jumpstart a more strategic career. However, coming from small liberal arts school outside the t20 with an average GPA and no financial or strategic work experience I knew it would be an uphill battle to get into my dream school. I scored a 322 (161V/16 Q) on the GRE which was solid but knew my application would need to shine... enter Liza. She was a master at highlighting my strengths and storytelling to make my essays excellent. From our first meeting it was clear she was an expert in the process and was proactive in keeping us to a clearly defined timeline. I had very few friends, family, and colleagues that had gone through the bschool process, so Liza was my lifeline and true advisor (even a motivator when I was down on myself!). I would not have gotten into a t15 school without Liza's help and for anyone looking to unlock the keys to success in the bschool application process, look no further. Thank you Liza!

Read More

April 30, 2024
scotty2142

Joined: Sep 25, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
730 Q49 V41

You will not regret going with Gatehouse

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Working with Hollis Kline over a rigorous three-month period was a cornerstone of my successful transition from a military to an academic setting. As an Army service member who was stationed overseas during my work on MBA applications, I faced unique challenges in the MBA application process. Hollis's expertise was instrumental in translating my military experiences into compelling narratives for business schools.

Her deep understanding of the nuances in my background allowed her to tailor her approach effectively. Despite significant time zone differences, Hollis was remarkably accessible, ensuring that I had support whenever needed. This was especially valuable as I juggled my commitments with application deadlines.

With Hollis’s guidance, I secured admissions to Booth, Columbia, Stern, and Yale. Her strategic input and moral support throughout the application process were crucial to my success. But even beyond the application process, the insights I gained working with her have helped me envision how my military experiences will translate into a successful finance career.

Hollis is a top-tier consultant who brings clarity and a competitive edge to MBA applications. I strongly recommend her services to anyone looking to make a significant impact on their educational trajectory.

Background:
Undergrad: USMA
Major: Engineering
GPA: 3.6
GMAT: 730
Post-military industry goal: Finance

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 24, 2024
Anonymous_1

Joined: Nov 20, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Extremely Helpful - Highly Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

By way of background, I majored in statistics during my undergraduate studies (3.7 GPA) and have since spent the past five years working in consulting and private equity operations (710 GMAT score).

My education and career path haven't given me significant writing experience, so the business school admissions process and required essays felt out of my comfort zone and overwhelming. I began working with April Stewart from Gatehouse Admissions last Spring, enrolling in their 'Full Support Services' package for 3 schools, and having her as my counselor through this intense journey proved to be invaluable.

April's approach to essay writing was a game-changer for me. She didn't just suggest improvements; she inspired a whole new mindset. By teaching me to "show, not tell" and utilize the powerful "I" voice, April helped me delve into the essence of my personal and professional journey. Her encouragement guided me to uncover and articulate the deeper meanings behind my life's choices and experiences, while avoiding the professional jargon I use daily.

Another constructive aspect of working with April was her organization and reliability. Every Sunday I received a weekly action plan. This structure kept me on track and ensured that each of my essays underwent 1-2 rounds of her insightful reviews weekly and that my applications were submitted well before their deadlines. April's responsiveness was impressive, consistently replying to emails within 24 to 48 hours, and she was always just a phone call away when I needed immediate guidance or reassurance.

I am excited to share that, with April's unfaltering support, I will be joining Harvard Business School's class of 2026 this Fall. To any future applicants, I can affirm that April's dedicated support could make a defining difference in your business school admissions success as it did in mine.

Read More

April 23, 2024
whartonmba26

Joined: Apr 19, 2024

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q49 V42

Dedicated Mentor & Consultant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Background: Caucasian male, 5 years experience (2 years consulting, 3 years big tech), 3.8 GPA, 750 GMAT
Results: Admitted to Wharton, Columbia

April was an essential partner and advisor in my admission journey. I decided to apply to business school (round 1) in August, and would not have been able to navigate the tight timeline without her expert guidance. When I began the process, I worried that I would not be able to meet the application deadlines, but April helped me develop a comprehensive timeline with milestones along the way to ensure that I got all of my applications polished and submitted with time to spare. She helped me determine which 4 schools best suited my interests and personality, and ultimately helped me get into my dream school, Wharton, as well as Columbia with a substantial scholarship. I owe this success largely to April’s outstanding coaching, dedication, and structured approach to building a winning application.

At the beginning of the process, April helped me brainstorm key experiences and learnings from all aspects of my life, and worked with me to develop compelling themes and motifs to emphasize throughout my essays. I leveraged these introspective insights when crafting my essays, which April edited scrupulously, challenging me to delve deeply into the impact of my accomplishments to date. When giving feedback, she was both empathetic and instructive, applauding my ideas, phrases, and word choices that worked well, while stripping down and reconstructing everything that didn’t work in my early drafts. April settled for nothing less than stellar, and once my essays earned her coveted approval, they were sent to the Gatehouse founder, Liza Weale, who had a similarly keen eye for detail, and often identified new ways for me to improve my essays. Working with Gatehouse admissions, and with April specifically, allowed me to perfect my essays to a level of excellence and introspection that I could not have come close to on my own. While my essays consumed most of our time together, April was similarly instructive with my short answer responses, helping me ruthlessly cut words in order to meet the typically stingy character limits, and my letters of recommendation, guiding me to ideate strong topics and anecdotes for my recommenders. Finally, she coached me through interview prep, ensuring that I entered each interview feeling confident and ready. Overall, April’s approach helped me stay on track to deliver strong applications despite a timeline that initially seemed impossibly tight.

I did not take the decision to hire a consultant lightly, and worried that the payoff would not justify the high cost. Seeing the number of hours that April put into our partnership (her feedback was so thoughtful and comprehensive that I often suspected it often took longer for her to review my essays than it did for me to actually write them), the expert advice and frameworks that April provided, and ultimately the payoff of being accepted into two elite MBA programs, I feel that I got outstanding value for my money. She played an essential role in my successful application process, and I cannot recommend April’s services highly enough.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 22, 2024
mba2026admit

Joined: Apr 22, 2024

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The results speak for themselves

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

(1) Background: 26 y/o white female; project manager in untraditional sector; int'l work experience; Ivy undergrad, 3.86 GPA, 166V 166Q (total 332) GRE

(2) Results: Admitted at HBS, Kellogg ($140K scholarship), Booth ($100K), Darden ($164K), Waitlisted MIT Sloan, No interview GSB

(3) Experience: I was accepted to 4 of 6 top-tier MBA programs (most with full or near-full rides) thanks, in large part, to April. Here are the highlights: (1) Because I'm a professional project manager, I initially questioned the need to hire a dedicated (and expensive) admissions consultant. I’m glad I did: As a first-time MBA applicant, I relied on April’s deep knowledge about the admissions cycle and school-specific expectations, which freed up my time to focus on test prep (allowing me to cinch a great score at the 11th hour) and essay drafting. (2) I appreciated that April had strong, well-reasoned opinions about how to frame my untraditional background and approach each essay; she is assertive and direct, not a ‘yes person.’ My essays looked night-and-day different after 5-10 rounds of edits. On a scale of "prescriptive" to "lax," April is quite prescriptive. While her feedback was sometimes uncomfortable to hear (I also have strong opinions, and sometimes disagreed on her approach), she always had the right intention (i.e., getting me into every school I applied to). (3) Finally, I credit April with revealing the extraordinary parts of my story to the admissions committee. When I joined Gatehouse, I tended to underplay my contributions (lots of “I helped” and “It was a team effort”). April noticed this habit and elevated my profile through consistent coaching to make my stories about me. While I struggled with this mindset shift, I believe it demonstrably improved my admissions outcomes (esp. at HBS). All in all, the results speak for themselves.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 21, 2024
jmfadmit26

Joined: May 24, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
660 Q44 V37

Highly Recommend! Rachel Is A Miracle Worker!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Background: White female, 3.8 GPA at top liberal arts college (Williams/Amherst), strong extracurricular activities, 4 years of work experience at start-up, 660 GMAT.

Results: Accepted to Kellogg (+ received an interview invite at Wharton and was admitted to several other T15 schools with scholarship!).

I began seriously considering business school last spring but procrastinated on starting the application process until October because I wasn’t sure how to approach it. I was very set on attending school in the fall of 2024; however, being not the greatest standardized test taker, I was unable to improve my score in time for round two applications.

Knowing that my score was well below average for the caliber of schools I hoped to attend, I knew I’d need a consultant who could elevate other aspects of my application and provide much-needed guidance. Rachel did just that and more! She helped me convey my personality and experiences authentically in my essays and successfully navigate the challenges posed by a low test score. Plus, working with Rachel, I gained more from the application process than offers of admission — I developed a new skill set that I know will be invaluable in business school and beyond, including honing my career goals, improving my writing skills, and effectively preparing for behavioral interviews.

Above all else, Rachel is a genuinely great person to work with! She gave me the confidence to push forward with my applications, even in the moments when I felt discouraged. After I submitted my applications, she continued to support me, regularly checking in and wishing me luck ahead of decision dates. I can’t recommend Rachel enough to anyone navigating the business school process, whether you’re seeking direction from square one, or aiming to refine an already strong application. Her expertise, honesty, and support can enhance any application. I couldn’t have asked for a better partner through the process and wouldn’t change a thing!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 18, 2024
mbaadmit041824

Joined: May 14, 2023

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified GMAT Classic score:
740 Q48 V44

Truly exceptional MBA admissions consulting!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As someone who previously found self-reflection and personal essays extremely difficult during the undergraduate admissions process, I gained a ton of valuable insights and guidance from Alex while working with him on my MBA admissions. I was accepted to 3 out of the 4 schools that Alex supported me on for R2 - Booth, Kellogg, and Haas - with $150K in total merit scholarship across the schools.

Alex was especially helpful in the following:

1. Helping ideate and connect past experiences into cohesive essays: From the day I started my applications to the day I submitted them, Alex listened to my thoughts, experiences, and perspective and recommended ways that I could powerfully tell my story. As someone who (successfully) went through this process himself and as an English major, Alex has a gift for storytelling and essay revising that would benefit anyone who works with him.
2. Establishing clear cadence and timelines: Starting my MBA applications, I initially found it overwhelming to workplan and hold myself accountable because the entire process seemed so vast and nebulous at the time. Alex took into account my busy work schedule, personal commitments, and school deadlines to craft a working cadence and interim deadlines that ensured I was always on track.
3. Going above and beyond during times of greatest need: I was rejected to my R1 schools and hadn’t put too much thought into R2 before receiving these rejections. This meant I had ~1 month before R2 deadlines. Needless to say, I was stressed, overwhelmed, and discouraged. When I reached out to Alex after these R1 results, he got on a call right away to gameplan R2 apps and to provide emotional support when I needed it most. For the schools with the earliest deadlines, Alex even provided revisions ahead of our agreed schedule to make sure we had ample time before these applications were due. This is just one of many ways that Alex has given 110% during our time together.

Background: I graduated from a top 25 US undergrad university with a 3.8 GPA. ~2 yrs. of work experience in MBB consulting. 740 GMAT.

Result: Accepted to Chicago Booth, Northwestern Kellogg, Berkeley Haas, with ~$150K in total merit scholarship across schools.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

59 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Gatehouse
GMAT ® is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council ® (GMAC ®). GMAT Club's website has not been reviewed or endorsed by GMAC.