GMAT Club

Lynn Moloney Reviews

Company: mbaMission

Before joining mbaMission, Lynn spent most of her career in the New York media industry. During her years as the managing editor of the business magazines Fast Company and Inc., she spent many hours mentoring staff; career development is something she has always enjoyed. Lynn started her magazine career in the editorial department of Vanity Fair and then edited the Gourmet section of Epicurious.com. Eager to embrace all that the media world has to offer, she took on side projects to complement her full-time positions at Condé Nast, including penning a column for the New York Post about the Internet and serving as co-publisher/co-editor of the start-up magazine Tart. After business school, Lynn spent a few years working in brand management. She was corporate marketing director of Mail.com as it went from start-up to publicly traded company, then worked as a marketing consultant for Internet start-ups. Realizing how much she missed the editorial process, she returned to publishing. Lynn graduated magna cum laude from Bowdoin College with a BA in international relations and Asian studies, and received an MBA from Harvard Business School, where she was elected co-president of the Entertainment and Media Club and served as a board member of the Harbus News Corporation. Lynn resides in New York City.

4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 11 reviews
May 22, 2018
KCMO2NY

Joined: Jan 08, 2018

Posts: 4

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
730 Q49 V39

Excellent Consultant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I cannot say enough great things about Lynn! The entire MBA application process was daunting, but with her help, coaching, and process management I was admitted to my top 2 schools (Harvard, Wharton)! She truly gets to know you and quickly understands the common themes that pull your application together. It was so helpful to have a third party point of view on what aspects of my application to emphasize etc. She helped me put my best foot forward for the admissions committees, and I think my entire application would have been different if I had not had her on my side! Thank you Lynn!

Read More

May 15, 2018
Canadiangal

Joined: May 15, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Review for Lynn Moloney from mbaMissions

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Hi am proud to provide my highest recommendation for Lynn Moloney. I came to Lynn slightly disorganized and highly optimistic about the number of schools I could apply to during the short period of time I left myself. Moreover, I had a challenging goal as I wanted to pursue a dual MBA/MPH (Masters in Public Health), which wasn’t formally offered by my target schools, during the Round 2 application window. Despite the tight timeline, Lynn helped me get into both of my dream programs: Harvard’s MBA and Yale’s MPH. Lynn had a perfect balance of professionalism and genuine care for my success. She took the time upfront to get to know me and my background in great detail so that we were able to breeze through the application process. Thanks to Lynn, I felt as though all my applications were completely authentic which made the interview process enjoyable.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 25, 2017
ebruenner36

Joined: Aug 25, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommend: mbaMISSION + Lynn Moloney

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was incredibly impressed by MBA Mission as a whole and Lynn Moloney in particular. Look no further for excellent assistance throughout the application and admissions process.

I come from a fairly unconventional background as an MBA candidate. I was a liberal arts major and spent most of my 20\'s working in various capacities in the world of start-ups and small businesses. Lynn was incredibly helpful in helping me orient myself in the selection, application and interview process.

Perhaps most valuably, Lynn helped me to condense my career narrative into a coherent and compelling story that was easy to communicate. I highly recommend Lynn and mbaMISSION!

Best,
-Eric

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 16, 2017
mariyapojidaev@gmail.com

Joined: Mar 14, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Lynn Moloney - Worth Every Penny!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I decided to apply to an MBA program, I spoke to several of my friends who were accepted into top-tier schools, they all suggested getting a consultant. Although consultants are not cheap, I found my experience with mbaMission, in particular with Lynn Moloney, worth every penny.
I considered buying different services a la carte, but I am glad I opted to buy the school package. Although more expensive, the school package really helps you build your entire application. The consultant knows what you have already described in your resume and your short essays. This might not seem significant, but the space in your application is limited and you want to make sure you are able to showcase everything important, including minor details that the application committee might find interesting.
After a 30 minute free consultation with a different consultant, it was suggested I pair with Lynn Moloney. I was happy that the consultant didn’t just suggest herself, but listened to what I wanted and based her recommendation on that. I would suggest starting this process sooner rather than later. Each consultant can only have so many clients, if you are joining late in the process, the consultant that might be the best fit for you might already be fully booked.
After doing my initial brain storming exercise, something that you should give yourself several weeks if not more to do and think through, Lynn discussed each story with me, helping me see different angles and picking up on different strengths/skills that I did not see myself.
My number one choice, and the hardest application, was HBS. The single open ended essay question can seem overwhelming; you have one chance to show the application committee what you are all about and what you will add to the HBS community. After the brainstorming exercise, Lynn had suggested a topic for the essay. I was very surprised as the topic was very similar to what I was thinking myself. Lynn does not write the essays for you, she provides input on which stories make sense to include and helps edit the essay, tying each story together and making sure every word has an impact.
I found Lynn to be extremely helpful in the writing process. I went through 9/10 drafts of my HBS essay. Lynn was always timely in her response and with each draft I could tell she was very thorough and took the time to make each draft substantially better than the last.
The interview prep was also very helpful. I did two mock interviews with Lynn. She helped me frame each answer in a clear way and discussed some of the techniques interviewers might use. For interviews, it’s important to practice. I practiced 3-4 times with friends, but Lynn’s feedback helped me see how to approach each answer, where my friend provided the opportunity to practice what Lynn and I had discussed.
I was accepted into HBS and believe Lynn was an instrumental part in this. Overall, not only was she professional, but I felt that the service she provided was very personalized. Lynn provided me with the tools that helped me showcase the traits that were unique to me, helping me stand out from other candidates.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

7 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Lynn Moloney