GMAT Club

Ravi Sreerama Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

Ravi holds the distinction of being the single highest-rated GMAT instructor in the world on GMAT Club. The holder of degrees from UC-Berkeley (BS), USC (JD), and UCLA (MBA) he is revered for his “99th percentile or bust” teaching philosophy and beloved for the notable catchphrases that guide students through challenging test-day problems. Ravi blends a challenging classroom environment with personalized attention. An avid basketball player, Ravi has traded the borrowed mantle “the Wizard of Westwood” for the broader reach of “the Oracle of Online” in the GMAT space, now teaching students around the world with his tough-but-fair GMAT approach.

Source: http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/ravi-sreerama/


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 310 reviews
March 31, 2019
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q42 V47

Veritas Prep & Ravi: Best GMAT Investment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

With so many options for GMAT prep I struggled to decide what path to choose. I knew that it would be a large investment of my time and money and I did not want either to go to waste. I was worried that I would have no way of knowing whether or not I made the right choice. After completing the Veritas Prep course with Ravi, I am certain that I made the BEST choice and the BEST investment.

The Veritas Prep material helped me to understand the test at a level that was unattainable with the materials and strategy I was previously using to study. I found myself continually getting stuck on the same types of problems and could not figure out the root cause. Veritas Prep lays out the material you need to master in a digestible manner that will grow your skillset and deepen your understanding of the test itself.

Beyond the text, Ravi's class kicked my studying into high gear. Ravi holds every student in class accountable for every one of his/her answers. Ravi's classes are intense and he makes the absolute most of every one. His philosophy to think like a 99er forced me to approach every question with respect. After taking Ravi's class I feel confident in my abilities to beat the GMAT. I would recommend to every person looking to improve their study strategy and improve their score to take Ravi's class.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 13, 2019
nooner237

Joined: Mar 13, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
640 Q42 V35

Ravi Sreerama - AWESOME!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

Ravi was an incredible teacher! I didn't know what to expect when signing up for this course, but I'm really glad I took it. Disregarding the GMAT for a second, Ravi was awesome. Really cool dude, super entertaining and hilarious. Made the three hour videos fly by as quickly as possible. He's clearly a smart dude, and gives some awesome tips on how to conquer the almighty GMAT gods. The Veritas course as a whole seems pretty effective. I scored a 640 but have been out of school for five years, so I was pleased. Got into all the programs I wanted so the goal was obtained thanks to Veritas and Ravi.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 15, 2018
april1st41

Joined: Apr 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
640 Q44 V34

Take the course with Ravi!!!!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

I would HIGHLY recommend taking the online GMAT course with Ravi Sreerama! When I first started the class, my math skills were so rusty but I was able to jump from a 39 to 44 in Math and a 30 to 34 in Verbal. He made studying for this difficult test so much more enjoyable. He is also one of the smartest people I know and he knows how to teach students how to crush this exam using short-cuts and thinking like the test-maker. If you are looking for an instructor who is dry and boring, then Ravi is not your guy. Ravi is engaging, funny and sarcastic and the 3 hours flies by when he's teaching. 5 out of 5 starts for Ravi!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 30, 2018
ks111991

Joined: Nov 30, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q46 V46

GMAT Prep with Ravi

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

As the summer was winding down and I still felt unprepared for the GMAT after a couple months of halfhearted "studying", I felt like signing up for a class would provide the motivation I needed. After some research, I decided to sign up for a class with Ravi, and the Veritas course with him was definitely worth the time and monetary investment. Of course, his live online classes were only part of a successful GMAT prep process, but he broke down the test in a way that made it accessible and almost... fun? He doesn't have much of a filter and can be very blunt in class (read: he's NOT afraid to call people out if they did not come to class prepared) but if you can handle it, his classes are great. He is super engaging; somehow, the 3 hours would go by pretty quickly, and I came out of each class feeling like I had learned a lot. If you are looking for a class that will take your preparation to the next level, this is the one.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 20, 2018
VL88

Joined: Sep 19, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V44

Best Instructor Out There!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

I always wondered if test prep courses worked. After taking the Veritas Prep Live Online course with Ravi, I have no doubt that I wouldn't have earned the score I did without Veritas Prep's and Ravi's guidance.

Ravi does so much more than teach content in each class. He does a deep dive into the mind of the testmaker because the GMAT is about logic and strategy, not content memorization. He is also one of the best instructors I've ever had in any subject area. The course was online, but the platform was well-designed and Ravi used it to keep us all accountable through question polls. If you get a question wrong, he will know, and he will call you out on it in a private chat. He doesn't do this to shame you, rather to condition you to expect more from yourself. You want an instructor who does this because it forces you to grow.

Perhaps one of the more impactful things about Ravi as an instructor, for me, is his 99er mentality and that mindset he nurtures in each of his students. I was motivated to study hard, not just for my own benefit, but also to ensure I did Ravi's lessons justice. I took my first GMAT 3 weeks after the live online course ended and scored well by most people's standards, but not by my own that I've come to have thanks to Ravi. I re-took the GMAT a little less than a month later and scored 40 points higher. I would not have done this if Ravi hadn't instilled in each of us this 99er mentality. Ravi took the usually daunting task that taking the GMAT is, made it fun, and gave me a sense of confidence and calmness I had never before felt when walking into a standardized testing center. I highly recommend taking any of Ravi's courses!

P.S. - The Veritas Prep GMAT material is also very good. Its questions and practice tests are harder than the real thing, which is good because it's better to train under tougher conditions. Good luck!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 18, 2018
dellis7

Joined: Aug 17, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V40

Ravi's Veritas Prep Online Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

If someone had told me before I took Ravi's Veritas Prep course that I would get a 700+ and feel the slightest bit of dissatisfaction, I would have scoffed. However, Ravi dramatically altered both the expectations I had for myself and my approach toward the GMAT exam.

Despite my doubts about the effectiveness of online courses, Ravi had me excited to attend every class (in the middle of the summer). He facilitates a fun and interactive environment that demands preparation and participation in the most beneficial way. In fact, compared to an in-person course, many to which one can show up and get by without participation, this online course, when combined with Ravi's expectations, requires more attention to detail.

Ravi's expectations for his students throughout the course raised the level of expectation I had for myself. In an email before the first class, Ravi sets the tone of investment, comprehensively detailing the structure of the course and how to get the most out of it, proceeding to hold every student to the highest standard for the duration of the course. He takes time during breaks of each class to check in with individuals through the course's online chat feature. He GENUINELY CARES about how you progress, especially if you show enough respect by preparing and participation properly.

Combined with the Veritas Prep methodology, Ravi's insights and approaches to question types across the spectrum of GMAT questions were monumental. Each technique that he teaches is scalable to any difficulty level for a given type of GMAT question. He truly leaves all his cards on the table, and every little point he makes carries perhaps a bigger purpose than one might realize. His lessons will carry you to seeing questions and struggling to begin to think about them to, as Veritas Prep preaches, "thinking like the test maker," often seeing not only a quick and easy approach to a correct answer, but also why some of the wrong answers are tempting.

I strongly recommend Veritas Prep, and specifically Ravi, for anyone willing and able to put in the time and effort that Ravi expects. I genuinely had no idea that I was capable of the improvement that I have seen in my approach to the GMAT over the duration of the course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 10, 2018
Bwlkr

Joined: Jun 27, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41

Ravi's Made a Huge Difference for Me

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

I was hesitant to take an online GMAT Prep course because of my experience with online courses in college. I thought a GMAT online course would be similar - very boring and students would be basically unknown to the instructor. At the recommendation of a friend, I signed up for Ravi's Live Online Class through Veritas and I could not have been more pleasantly surprised. Ravi's classes are extremely engaging and just as interactive as an in-person class. Students type questions/comments into the group chat and Ravi addresses them immediately on camera. It's no different than raising your hand and asking your professor a question. Ravi is also really good at holding students accountable. If you obviously haven't prepared for the day's class, Ravi won't hesitate to tell you to log-off and come back once you have your act together. He expects his students to be prepared and eager each class, just as he is. His motto is "99 [percentile] or Bust" and he expects his students to approach class with the same mindset.

As far as content, I found the Veritas course materials to be really helpful. But, there may be other GMAT prep materials out there that are comparable. A few benefits of taking the class as opposed to just reading the textbooks were (i) being able to ask questions and (ii) the tips, side-notes, pointers, etc. that Ravi would verbally add to the written textbook content. I utilized a number of his pointers while studying for and taking the exam. The most significant benefit, though, was the level of engagement that Ravi created each class. Ravi's classes are interactive, energetic, and enjoyable and, because of that, I was able to focus and retain information quickly. Ron Awad was the TA for my course and the Ravi/Ron duo is second to none. Ron is super sharp and supplements Ravi's lesson with his own tips by posting them in the group chat. He is also hilarious.

In case you are wondering, my enjoyment from Ravi's course is my sole motivation for writing this review. I honestly never write reviews, ever, but I feel that strongly about Ravi's course. He is genuinely a bright, funny, likable guy. He has tremendous command of the course material and he was never stumped by a student's question - not once. His presentation skills are also superb. He doesn't constantly use filler words (ahh, umm, etc.) which would get very annoying after listening to someone speak for three hours. He is professional, takes his teaching very seriously, and cares immensely about the progress of his students. He's also quick to laugh and it's very rewarding to post a comment in the group chat that makes him crack up on screen. Definitely worth a try.

TL;DR - I highly recommend Ravi's Live Online course if you know that you want to take the GMAT and are willing to put in the work to crush it. Ravi’s course is not for those who "think" they want to take the GMAT. I took my exam four weeks after completing Ravi's course and got the score I wanted on my first attempt. I'm not saying that simply taking Ravi's class is a GMAT silver bullet. I do think, though, if you have the will and desire to crush the GMAT, Ravi's course will provide the tools to get you there.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 01, 2018
daniellepma

Joined: Aug 01, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q48 V45

Ravi's 99 or bust mentality is what you want with you on test day

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

I took Ravi's live online course, and it was the best decision I ever made. First off, the live online format is AWESOME. I was initially worried that it wouldn't feel as engaging or I might not have an opportunity to ask questions, but that is definitely not the case. Class was always dynamic, and the online environment actually ADDED to the experience because we would answer poll questions from which Ravi could actually glean insights on how the class was doing, what we were thinking, and how each individual was performing. He would speak to that in real time + tailor his teaching around it. I really mean that - like, for instance, I ask a question using the main chat box thing, Ravi responds live on camera, addresses me by name, AND he knows whether or not I got the last problem correct (I assume he has a student dash always in view), so he can weave that into his reply as needed. The added bonus? The live online classes are recorded + available to watch again, which is a gamechanger. I watched all quant lessons over in advance of my exam to make sure I had the concepts solidified.

Ravi is a phenomenal instructor. I should note that I actually took my first GMAT exam before my class was actually over, so that should give you a sense of how impactful his teaching and framework were for me. I was able to hit the 700 mark within weeks of beginning serious study, and I definitely plan on taking the exam again (once my class is over this time). Ravi's drills home a "99th percentile or bust" mentality for ALL his students which is incredibly motivating. He does not sugarcoat, he provides tough love, and he is probably not for everyone. He's for serious students (with a sense of humor ;) who can stand to take some fair punches in service of their learning, growth, and development. He really tells it like it is and gives concrete tips + strategies on how to beat the test.

It was the Ravi mindset and smart strategies that helped me more than the review of the content. I'm generally "good at learning" - I can learn content from books or really from any instructor. The things Ravi brings to the table are way more valuable - things like teaching you HOW to guess, shortcuts to beat the timer, HOW to react when you get problems wrong + why takeaways are important, etc.

Despite having a bazillion students, Ravi was also always available to give advice + help his students. I hit a roadblock mid-way through my studies, so I private messaged him during class. He was immediately able to guess what I was doing wrong and "unstuck" me within a matter of minutes. He's that good.

I should also note that I have all the Manhattan Prep books and The Official GMAT guides, and the Veritas material/structure is my favorite. The course is smart, designed for speed + efficiency, and spunky if you pick an instructor like Ravi.

Read More

July 21, 2018
xchristinaleex

Joined: Nov 27, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
710 Q50 V35

Sign up for Ravi's class -he won't disappoint!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

I wish I had known about Ravi's online classes earlier in my GMAT journey because honestly this is the only prep you need in order to succeed. Breaking 700 seemed like an impossible goal until I took Ravi's class. This was my first time taking a live online class so I was a little apprehensive but it was actually a great experience and I probably learned more from his class than all of the prep books I bought combined. It's hard to study when you work a full-time job during the week but Ravi actually made the classes fun and engaging. Ravi private messages you during the course to let you know how you are doing which just goes to show how dedicated he is to his students. You can tell he is passionate about teaching and has no time for slackers. A lot of time and effort is needed to beat this test and I can't thank Ravi enough for helping me reach my goal.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 20, 2018
louzehil

Joined: Jul 20, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
550 Q30 V35

Ravi's The Man

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online

Instructor Ravi Sreerama

Location Online

Ravi was truly a blessing when it came to my GMAT preparation. After taking the GMAT without any formal studying and falling short of the score I needed, I ultimately felt defeated. After reading some of the reviews for Veritas Prep and Ravi, I decided that he would be the person to help me gain the extra points that I needed. Ravi came to every lesson with a passion to instill his process for attacking questions in his students, and clearly outlined what was necessary for the students who wanted a 99th percentile score, as well as others like myself who needed a mere 10 points to reach a satisfactory score. For anyone considering a GMAT Prep course, I would highly recommend Ravi from Veritas Prep, as he can lead you on the path to a 780+, as well as help you attain whatever score you are looking for!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

210 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Ravi Sreerama