GMAT Club

Menlo Coaching Admissions Consulting Reviews

At Menlo Coaching, we offer a comprehensive, personalized MBA admissions coaching program to a select group of global applicants to top MBA programs.  We help you tell your story, so that an admissions committee will see you, not just a pile of test scores and work experience.  We enjoy helping applicants of all kinds: domestic and international, from industries like private equity, banking, consulting, tech, healthcare, military, and more.  Some clients want to accelerate a successful career; others see the MBA as their last chance to pivot or catch up with their peers.  Find out more at https://menlocoaching.com/.
Menlo Coaching Deal Page

Most Reviewed Menlo Coaching consultants

David White
Reviews
21
Average Rating
5.0
Alice van Harten
Reviews
12
Average Rating
5.0
Yaron Dahan
Reviews
4
Average Rating
5.0
Rebecca Heath Anderson
Reviews
3
Average Rating
5.0
Leslie Monstavicius
Reviews
2
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

42 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
June 19, 2019
Sopata

Joined: Aug 26, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 6

Verified score:
710 Q48 V40

Working with the best- Leslie & Menlo Coaching

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Leslie Monstavicius

Choosing to work with Menlo coaching was the best choice I made and getting accepted to both my top choices with scholarships proves it!
When you work with Menlo you get the impression that you are their only customer and top priority. Even though Leslie and I are in different time zones, I never even noticed. Weekends, early mornings, evenings, it felt as though she was available 24/7 and responses were almost instantaneous.
They guide you through the process from A to Z with a systematic approach and without the stress and panic. Their knowledge, expertise and commitment to your success are unmatched. From helping you choose schools, narrow down your career goals, writing essays, video interviews, in person interviews and scholarship applications, there isn't anything they can't do. Choosing to apply 3 weeks before the deadline didn’t matter. Leslie kept me calm and ensured that everything was done on time, but more importantly, that I provided an output that I can be proud to submit.
Even though I worked mostly with Leslie, from day 1 both Leslie and David took the time to get to know me and my goals and provide valuable insight and guidance. I felt like I had an entire team devoted to me to ensure that I can shine throughout the entire application process.
Their expertise and large network not only helped provide guidance on choosing my second school (which I chose to attend), they also put me in contact with others that work in related fields to my career goals, providing clarity on my career choices and allowing me to build my network right from the start!
The application process is stressful, tricky and there are so many moving parts. If you want to ensure your success, choose to work with the Menlo team!

Read More

June 10, 2019
ordlga

Joined: Apr 10, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Rebecca helped me get into my no.1 choice.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Rebecca helped me get into my no.1 choice. She was professional, patient and compassionate. She genuinely cares about her client and is a great pleasure to work with. I really appreciate Rebecca's guidance and support that made my application process more manageable and less stressful. I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for top notch MBA coaching.

Rebecca gave very thoughtful comments and asked good questions that lead me find new angles and connect the dots. She also gave excellent advices on writing styles. I made multiple iterations of my essays and each time her response time was exceptional, sometimes even at nights and during weekends. Her dedication was a life saver especially when deadlines were approaching.

One time, Rebecca came out of her way to schedule an extra meeting with me to share her personal experience with prioritizing an important deadline, and convinced me to make a trade-off between work and application preparation when it became absolutely necessary. I'm really glad that I followed her advice because it would not have worked the other way around given my extensive work hours.

In addition, Menlo's platform and processes are also exceptional. I found Basecamp to be very intuitive and user-friendly. Alice and Rebecca held a joint call to brainstorm creative ideas for a video essay, and Alice and David helped to give second opinions when needed. Overall I feel extremely supported and well prepared for the essays and interviews.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 31, 2019
jmb819

Joined: Jun 25, 2018

Posts: 47

Kudos: 17

Self-reported Score:
740 Q49 V42

Best in the industry!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I cannot stress enough how grateful I am for Rebecca and Menlo Coaching. I am going to my dream school, Wharton, with scholarship money, and I could not have done it without her. When I first started thinking about business school, I never thought I would get the results I did. Out of the 6 schools I applied to, I got in five, with a full scholarship at Booth, another full scholarship, one partial scholarship, and I was waitlisted at the other school.

After working with her on my applications, I also have a much better understanding of myself, my story and my goals. When I first started thinking about applying, I talked to a few applications consultants before settling on Rebecca and Menlo. I have a non-traditional work background, and while many consultants told me that weakened my chances to get in the schools I wanted to, Rebecca immediately saw it as a strength. From our first intro call, I knew I wanted her and the whole Menlo team on my side. I was blown away by Rebecca’s level of engagement with my application from the start. Unlike other consultants I spoke to when I first talked to Menlo, I never felt like it was a sales pitch. Instead, I felt a genuine willingness to listen to me, gather insight on my story, and offer candid feedback on my career goals, my candidacy, and the process.

From selecting schools and networking with current students and alumni to helping me craft my story and reviewing my essays, prepping me for interviews and finally helping me negotiate scholarship money, Rebecca was by my side every step of the application process. She leaves nothing to chance, she was incredibly thorough and on top of everything that was going on with my applications. She encouraged me to visit and network heavily with the schools (which turned out to be a huge game changer) and set up calls before my visits or coffee chats to discuss strategies and how to make the most out of them. Even though I went with the 3 schools package and applied to 3 other schools on my own, Rebecca knew what was going on with all of my applications, and helped me choose which schools made the most sense to have her more involved from start to finish. For the other 3, Rebecca still offered invaluable advice on networking, bounced off some ideas for essays and application strategies, and helped with the interview prep when the time came. In short, I felt extremely supported, whether it was a school I was “officially” working on with her or not. In addition, I really loved that my recommenders were able to work with her. One of my recommenders had never written a letter of recommendation before and he told me that he really enjoyed her guidance. It also ensured that while I didn’t have access to the content of my letters, Rebecca was on top of it, making sure my application was well rounded and truly the best possible.

The Menlo approach to the application process is incredibly effective. Their in-depth, hands-on and holistic approach has amazed me. While the application process seems daunting, they break it down into smaller modules and make it manageable. There are videos explaining each part of the process, accompanied by assignments that hold you accountable and on track to deliver while forcing you to think really hard about your goals. And this is all before the essay writing! On our kickoff call, Rebecca and I spent a couple of hours on the phone diving deep into my story. She patiently listened, offered her perspective on some of the challenges I’ve faced and was able to extract key themes and defining moments from my life, that not only helped shaped my essays but also helped me develop a deeper understanding of myself. It felt more like a therapy session than brainstorming for essays. In the end, every essay reflected who I am, and Rebecca was able to get the best version out of me. I was also very impressed with her responsiveness; every edit usually took less than 24hs to turn around.

One of my favorite things about working with Menlo is that you get to work with a whole team of professionals. And they are truly the best in the game, not just as professionals, but also genuinely great people. David jumped in at different stages of the process and offered me invaluable career advice and introduced me to people in the industry, and later helped me choose which school to attend and negotiate scholarship money. I now feel a lot more confident in my MBA plan (and beyond). Alice also helped me with a particularly challenging personal essay. When it was time to prep for the interviews, I was able to work with a communications coach who helped me with public speaking, techniques to relax, articulate my speech and voice (and it was also a fun experience).

On a personal level, working with Rebecca helped take a lot of anxiety out of the process. Rebecca really goes above and beyond for her clients, and I could tell she cared and was genuinely rooting for me. Working with her felt like a partnership, and I trust her completely. One time, when deadlines were approaching (and since I applied in Round 2, so were the holidays) and I was feeling extremely anxious and unsure about the application, Rebecca went out of her way to schedule a call to talk me through it. I always felt like I was her only client, even though she had many others because that’s how dedicated and responsive she was. She is also the kind of person that you just really want to be friends with.

Working with Rebecca and the Menlo team was easily the best decision I’ve made, and I can’t recommend them enough. As stressful as it was, I actually enjoyed the application process and look back at it fondly, as strange as it might sound, and that is all because of Rebecca. Her and Menlo were fundamental in making my dream school a reality and helped me grow professionally and personally. With Menlo, you get what you give. So, if you are truly committed to your application, willing to work insanely hard and make sacrifices, then so are they, they will reciprocate the commitment and hard work and the results will follow!

Read More

May 22, 2019
AbuQamees

Joined: May 22, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Like, Wow.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Yaron Dahan

Yaron is exactly the kind of trusted advisor I hope to be in my own future investment banking career, and that is no exaggeration. He begins by developing a deep understanding of you, the individual applicant, borne out of genuine curiosity, an enthusiastic desire to see the best in people, and the insight and tact to help identify and refine your flaws. From there, his approach is utterly original, completely customized, and has no hint of a template, box-checking, or trying to fit you into a standard “package.” Yaron’s input into my application was far, far more than technical finessing; he acted more as psychologist/coach/confidante, looking insightfully behind everything I said to identify my real motivations, drivers, values, and what matters to me most deeply on a personal level—before then harnessing and honing that into an application, and finally clarifying its expression to fit within word limits and show as best as possible. Yaron’s ultra-high-touch approach also manifested in another important way. I did a lot of things in an unusual, mercurial fashion: applied without a recommendation from my current employer, wrote the shortest essays first, had a tendency to tear up drafts and start over completely, and—based on the aforementioned self-discovery I experienced working with Yaron and refining my story—decided on Christmas Eve to apply to 3 more schools, including one with a January 3 deadline. Throughout it all, Yaron was thoroughly strategic and perceptive, hyper-responsive and accommodating, and a true thought partner in a process that was as educational and rewarding as it was stressful. He not only clarified my story, both in style and content—he also guided me on school selection, the GMAT, and a whole range of other subjects. What a guy, what a process, and what amazing results. I ended up with offers at four schools, each one offering something compelling and each one “better” than any other school on at least one metric that mattered to me (location-personal, location-professional, culture, placement). Deciding among them was extremely tough, and here again Yaron came through with sage counsel and a highly sincere, unwavering commitment to my best interests. My ultimate destination? The incredible Chicago Booth—that January 3 deadline school I decided to apply to on Christmas Eve, the one Yaron refined my essay for on New Years Day. Oh, and fully funded. Thank you, Yaron.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 05, 2019
danielevans

Joined: Jul 16, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted to Wharton!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Yaron Dahan

I had the pleasure of working with Yaron on Round 2 applications to Harvard, Wharton and Stanford. The process couldn’t have been a better experience. Yaron supported me in every aspect of the application, and was instrumental in helping me think through my strengths and weaknesses and how to highlight these in the application. If you are unsure about which admissions consultant to go with, I highly recommend you have an initial 30-minute consultation with Yaron. You will quickly learn that he is as experienced as it gets, fun to work with, supportive, and 150% committed to helping you achieve the best results.

Yaron helped me work through my applications within a stressful two-month timeframe. We started off with an initial chat about school choices. He was very helpful in this regard: he has a wealth of knowledge about the different programs and offered constructive arguments to help me decide where to apply.

This was followed by a conversation during which we discussed every aspect of my personal and career history, as well as my future objectives. With this information in hand, Yaron suggested a strategic outline for my applications: essentially a detailed document with his recommendation on how to pitch my best “story” in my essays. He helped me to dig deep and to introspect, identifying parts of my story that I had undervalued, and sharing observations about my profile and my character that I hadn’t thought of before, but made perfect sense nonetheless. He truly helped me learn about myself through the process; I sometimes even forgot that we were actually working on business school applications.

With Yaron's outline of my “business school story” in hand, we began work on my essays and applications. This is where the real heavy-lifting began during which Yaron brought immense value to the table. I submitted around 5 or 6 drafts for each essay to Yaron, until we reached the point when we both agreed that they were ready. When I sent him drafts, he was extremely responsive and usually turned it around within a day. The feedback I got from Yaron was consistently constructive, and, importantly, he kept me focused on my story and on telling it the right way (it can be tempting to get creative or go on tangent stories). Fitting the essay-writing around my work schedule turned out to be exhausting, and on many occasions I would have been happy to put down the pen, satisfied that my essay was good enough. However Yaron was relentless and pushed me very, very hard to improve the weaker aspects of my essays. His comments frequently challenged me to the point that I felt like I hit a wall and had total writer’s block. However, in these difficult moments, whenever I invested the time to really absorb his comments, it became obvious that the feedback was spot-on and that Yaron really is an expert at keeping a “macro-view” of my essays, whereas I frequently fell into the trap of getting too bogged down. Overall, Yaron’s relentlessness helped me achieve numerous breakthroughs in my essays which I would not have achieved without his excellent feedback.

Yaron was also instrumental in all the other parts of the application, including in deciding my recommenders, in reviewing and marking up my resume, and in drafting the various short-answer questions (which can end up taking a significant amount of time), and in preparing myself for the interview. In all of these areas he did added immense value.

With Yaron’s help I was able to secure admission from Wharton, as well as an interview with HBS, both of which were reach schools to begin with. For both schools Yaron was also available to discuss interview strategies and to do mock interviews.

All in all, I write this review with great pleasure as I owe Yaron huge thanks for his advice and support. Working with him will be the best investment of your MBA voyage.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 23, 2019
vz

Joined: Jul 10, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best In Class

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Alice van Harten

Alice and the team helped me got into my dream school – HBS! I got to know Alice initially through my friend who also got into HBS last year. I heard so many good things about Menlo and the team really exceeded my expectations. From crafting the personal story to preparing for interviews, Alice was super involved in every step of the process. For instance, she even helped me pick the perfect outfit for my HBS interview!!

In addition, I was working on a very tight timeline, and Alice not only provided detailed inputs/feedback in a timely manner but also constantly pushed me to deliver the best possible output. She is very candid and genuine. Instead of saying what you want to hear, she tells you what you need to hear. The team, in general, is very supportive. During the interview period, I did several prep sessions, not just with Alice but also with David and other consultants on the team. The mock sessions were tailored for each school, and a lot of the questions we practiced actually came up during the real interviews.

I really enjoyed working with Alice and the team, and I would highly recommend them to anyone who is considering getting an MBA, regardless of your background. Reach out to them early because the slots get filled so fast!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 22, 2019
jbc25

Joined: Aug 15, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Going to the GSB!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Yaron Dahan

After working with Yaron Dahan from Menlo Coaching I was admitted to Stanford, Wharton, Columbia, and Sloan. I was initially waitlisted at Columbia, but was able to get off the waitlist in just a few weeks, with a scholarship, with coaching from Yaron. Yaron provided outstanding advice on my career goals that I believe set my application apart, and would often provide feedback in less than 12 hrs with both detailed and insightful comments. Yaron was fantastic with interview prep as well. The whole process of working with Yaron and Menlo Coaching was truly a pleasure start to finish. Rather than match you with an amateur coach who knows your industry, Menlo will give you a professional. If you’re investing in a coach, work with Yaron Dahan and the team at Menlo.

Read More

April 22, 2019
went4ever

Joined: Mar 12, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q50 V39

Menlo is the best

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Leslie Monstavicius

I am so glad that I chose to work with Menlo and they helped me got into my dream school. My friend referred me to Menlo because of her wonderful experience working with Alice last year. I started working with Menlo about one month before the deadline. The time frame is really tight but working with Leslie has put away a lot of stress. She is super diligent, responsive and personable. She has answered all of my questions no matter how small it might be, usually within hours. She is also an alum of my dream school so she offers valuable insights based on her precious student time back then. I am very happy that we happen to be in the same time zone, so I feel like she is there with me 24/7. Leslie has guided me through this whole application every step of the way so there's no time or room for excess stress or panic. I am not always the most disciplined person so I really appreciate that Menlo's systematic approach to demystify this process. Leslie is the most caring, kind and responsible consultant that I can think of! I feel very fortunate to have met her!!!

Even though I worked mainly with Leslie, I also have everyone from Menlo on my team. Alice helped me narrow down my application school lists based on my profile. She always pitches in and offers some valuable advice. David has helped me with all the interview prep and is so much fun to work with! I love everyone at Menlo and feel very happy to be a part of this community.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 19, 2019
bpfc1234

Joined: Apr 18, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Wharton admit with 670 equivalent GMAT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant Yaron Dahan

Yaron was the perfect consultant to support my applications and acceptances to all three of the M7 schools to which I applied. Coming from a legal background, I completely lacked the knowledge and support system that comes from knowing peers and coworkers who have attained MBAs. With Yaron’s personalized attention during the entire application journey, I was able to overcome the weaknesses in my candidacy and achieve amazing results.



Although my GRE test score (325) was evaluated at 50-60 points below the class average for the GMAT at most of the schools I applied to, thanks to Yaron’s guidance and continuous support throughout the whole process, I was able to gain admits at every school I applied to, include getting an admit at Wharton, and an offer for full tuition scholarship at another Top 15 program.



This result was only possible because Yaron knew exactly what the top programs seek in applicants and was an expert in helping me craft my story that showcased all of my best attributes. As I drafted my essays, he was an insightful and articulate critic, always available to hop on the phone and incredibly quick to return comments and answers to my questions. His honest and timely feedback was critical as I applied to many programs under tight deadlines. On top of this, Yaron's optimism helped me through many stressful moments during the application process.




If you're applying to the top business schools, I strongly recommend working with Yaron. Working with his expert guidance will give you the confidence you need to secure admission to the top MBA programs.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2019
lsn2021

Joined: Apr 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Best of the best! Admitted to Wharton with low test scores

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Product Menlo Coaching

Consultant David White

I highly recommend everyone to consider a consultant especially if you are applying internationally (like I did). There are SO many ill-informed "facts" out there and what you should/should not do. Firstly, I just could NOT get anywhere near my target GMAT/GRE scores and ran out of time to even consider it further (do not recommend!). I was well aware that this was a huge risk submitting with a low 600 score, gave up hope many times, BUT throughout the whole process, David went above and beyond to ensure I was equipped to do my best in other parts of the application. With a low test score, it meant truly bringing out the best parts of my story in my essays and smashing those interviews (David does mock TBDs with real humans, other clients, and it was amazing). Everyone has a unique story (even when I did not think so and I bet you do too!) and David will help you bring this out. There are SO many more reasons I can write to recommend David further but I truly would not have been admitted into Wharton with a low 600 score if I did it alone and I would be very happy to use David/Menlo again but thankfully I don't need to!

Read More