GMAT Club

Stern Reviews

MBA Program rating [16]
(4.6)
Submit a review

November 25, 2016
runnyc

Joined: Jun 06, 2014

Posts: 14

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
720 Q48 V41

New York's Finest

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

This review is for NYU Stern

Program Part Time MBA (Fall)

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

The part-time program has met all my expectations. The course offerings and numerous specializations give everyone the ability to choose a track that appeals to them. The diverse student body allows everyone to build a wide network across multiple industries and positions, and everyone is a joy to do coursework with and spend time with outside of class. The professors are very accomplished and willing to help however possible. I suggest that future applicants definitely use the city to your advantage, and participate in the out of class activities that go on at NYU. Also make sure you plan out your course schedules well in advance since many classes you want to take might only be offered in one semester during the year.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school

Best fit at this program:

Finance
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking


Read More

November 25, 2016
gospeed13

Joined: Sep 06, 2015

Posts: 10

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
650 Q42 V38
710 Q47 V40

This review is for NYU Stern

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

I am attending NYU Stern to pursue a career in entertainment and media. When compared to more traditional industries like banking and consulting, the entertainment industry is relatively new to the recruiting process. There are far and few on-campus opportunities to interact with large companies in the entertainment space, and there are even fewer internship opportunities. However, the student-run entertainment organization within Stern, EMTA, does a fairly good job at prepping students to recruit in the industry, and putting students infront of the right people. As the desire grows for MBA's, I feel a lot of this will get better, particularly within the TV industry, which is incredibly fragmented.

While the recruiting process could definitely be improved, if you are looking to get involved in an industry as specialized as entertainment, there are very few options from a B-school perspective, and NYU Stern is still definitely at the top of the pack.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (3.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location
Specialization in a particular area (e.g. Finance, Consulting, Healthcare, etc)

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school


Read More

November 25, 2016
dvillaveces

Joined: Aug 17, 2015

Posts: 4

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
730 Q47 V45

NYU Stern review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for NYU Stern

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Excellent MBA program. Has surpassed all my expectations. Has excellent professors, which I really value since I am a career changer and actually need to learn something during my MBA. Career services is also a huge plus; there are tons of resources to help you find an internship.

The community of students has blown me away. There is a very diverse student body and we quickly bonded to become great friends. There are close to 400 students per year, so even though you probably won't be friends with all of them, there is a great pool of people to meet. Everyone is extremely intelligent and interesting.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Location

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Brand/Ranking


Read More

March 15, 2016
PeterHAllen

Joined: Nov 08, 2013

Posts: 166

Kudos: 327

Self-reported Score:
710 Q43 V44
770 Q49 V46

NYU Stern - Better Than Expected

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for NYU Stern

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

I knew Stern was a very well rounded school and I had high expectations going in. But two things that still surprised me were (1) The amount of firms that recruit at the school is astounding. Practically every investment bank, consulting firm, brand house etc comes to the school and not just once but multiple times throughout the year. You really benefit from the New York Location. (2) The people here are scarily intelligent. Both IQ wise and EQ wise. I have learned so much from my peers and have benefitted from their experiences. You can find many high IQ people at other schools but I'd be shocked if other schools also nailed the EQ part so well. Stern attracts true leaders who know the importance of location.

About professors, classes and curriculum

So many famous professors - Dan Gode, Aswath Damodaran, Nouriel Roubini


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Location

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Investment Banking
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Facilities


Read More

January 26, 2016
freetz

Joined: Jun 29, 2012

Posts: 57

Kudos: 11

Self-reported Score:
700 Q49 V35

NYU Stern and Off Campus Recruiting

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for NYU Stern

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2015

Experience during the program

I believe one of the most important things in Business School is recruiting - whether you'd like to admit it or not, most students come to business school to find a better job when they graduate.

I was an unorthodox student at Stern. I wasn't interested in Banking and thought I would give consulting a shot (yes - Stern is pretty good for the future consulting). However, I realized quickly that I'm not interested in consulting either. After a trip to the Silicon Valley, I figured that that's the place for me.

However, being in New York, it wasn't easy to make this transition. Unfortunately, I believe that my recruiting process was successful because of me, and despite our career services. I'm afraid that most associates at that office are not familiar enough with what we call off-campus recruiting, and that was biggest challenge during my time at Stern.

After learning things the hard way in my first year, I managed to land an awesome job at one of the big tech companies in the Bay Area.

In short, Stern is probably one of the best schools if you want to follow the typical pattern of I-Banking or consulting. However, if you want something atypical, go someplace else.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (2.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Location
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Investment Banking

Can be improved:

Career opportunities provided by school
Facilities


Read More

January 09, 2018
unnatishah

HELLO
I am a student from India. I am planning to do MBA in finance from NYU in the FALL INTAKE 2018
I hold a three year bachelor degree which will be completed by June 2018.
I also have my own start up and worked for a year in my own company.
I do have other extra curricular activities also done.
I wanted to know my chances of getting admitted?
I do not have much idea about NYU and life in USA.
As u seem to be a student from NYU i would request you to contact me whenever possible and just help me out with my career as there are many other points i wanted to know.
Please do contact me
your help could be very much useful for me and could help me in taking a good educated decision.

My name is "UNNATI SHAH"
My email is "UNNATISHAH3196@GMAIL.COM"
My contact number is "+91 9922050404"

January 26, 2016
hubahuba

Joined: Feb 06, 2014

Posts: 42

Kudos: 92

Part-Time - 2 Year Accelerated

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for NYU Stern

Program Part Time MBA (Fall)

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

I had my doubts about the quality of education and the student body before accepting. However, after spending 5 months (2 semesters -Fall and Winter Intensive), I feel NYU-Stern is by far one of the best part time programs out there.

Pros -
- Student body diversity. This helps in class since you get to learn from everyone's experience, sometimes more than the professor.
- Location, Location, Location!!
- Faculty
- Resources

Cons -
- Curriculum is quite intensive, but maybe this is a pro
- I can't think of anymore cons but maybe the full time ranking can be improved a little more.

I know one of my classmate got admitted to Yale executive program and after a campus visit decided NYU was better. Another got admitted to Chicago booth executive program and after spending a semester, decided NYU was better. I can't compare the quality of Langone program to any other top business schools since I haven't had any first hand experience, but so far my experience has been excellent.

This is an intensive program and you will be tired with the work load. Be mentally prepared to put in the hard work! Secondly, make use of the location. We have people all the way from Miami and Michigan attending weekend classes. However, if you have the option, try to move within Manhattan so you can make use of the network and social events. There's plenty going on at campus!

About professors, classes and curriculum

The faculty is top rated and most of them are not just research professors, but work closely with corporate organizations. The faculty are frequently quoted in social media and publish articles on a regular basis that helps improve the NYU brand.

About job placement process

The Career center has a full time team to help not only FT but also Part Time MBA students during recruiting. There is a special program that part time students can enroll to brush up on their interview skills and prepare for on-campus recruiting. The program runs for almost a year and is free of cost. Only students who are graduating in next 18 months and have completed their core curriculum can sign up. After completing students are allowed to participate in on-campus recruiting along with Full Time students.


Overall BSchool experience (4.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (4.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Career opportunities provided by school
Location

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Finance
Marketing

Can be improved:

Alumni Network
Facilities
Admissions Team


Read More