GMAT Club

Tepper Reviews

MBA Program rating [14]
(4.9)

May 24, 2016
TepperBound71

Joined: May 25, 2015

Posts: 21

Kudos: 11

Verified score:
640 Q42 V35

Tepper - A Collaborative, Fun, Stimulating B-School

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

This review is for Tepper

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2018

Experience during the program

Tepper has wowed me from the day I started talking to them via email. After I was admitted, I requested chatting with alumni about my unique career interests to help me make the best decision on where I should get my MBA. I was immediately connected with alumni, current students, and faculty at the school who personally were excited to talk to me about my goals and what Tepper could do for me. It was easy to put my deposits down, and the collaboration and fun started immediately! The career center helped me with my resume and elevator speech before summer so I could attend MBA conferences prepared and ready for recruiting. There were webinars on how to get ready for school, and tons of communication between current students, clubs, and future first-year classmates - all of this before we even got to campus. The collaboration just continued from there. I truly was able to see all of these feelings of fit, collaboration, enthusiasm, and dedication from visiting the school at one of their open house weekends. I cannot wait to see what else Tepper has in store!


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Marketing
Tech
Entrepreneurship
Management
Operations

Can be improved:

Location


Read More

May 25, 2016
bb

Thank you for the review... we really appreciate it. Though it does not look like you have started classes yet, it is great to hear about the-MBA help you are getting. Would be really great to hear about the program in about a year. Good luck and congratulations!

February 22, 2016
APY89

Joined: Jun 03, 2014

Posts: 54

Kudos: 20

Self-reported Score:
640 Q42 V36
710 Q48 V40

Wouldn't want to be anywhere else

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Tepper

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

Tepper moves at an extremely fast pace and is very quantitative at the outset. I've heard from multiple alumni that we learn things that other MBA programs usually don't get exposed to.

For that reason, our alumni are highly sought after in a wide variety of industries. Despite being ranked between the 10 and 20 spot in multiple rankings, Tepper sends an extremely high percentage of the student body to top tier companies like Amazon and PwC. Many of the students land in MBB consulting companies as well. Tepper definitely commands MUCH more respect with recruiters than their ranking suggests.

The good:
-students/people
-faculty
-range of classes available
-recruiting
-clubs
-international travel opportunities

The bad:
-facilities are old, but that will change once the new building is finished in 2017
-the student body is small (a good thing) which makes the alumni body smaller than other schools
-I think everyone thinks this about their school, but I feel that Tepper is a much better school than the rankings indicate...


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking
Facilities


Read More

January 30, 2016
Adeleste

Joined: Jan 30, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

So far the best year of my life!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED [?]

This review is for Tepper

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

So far I love my experience at Tepper, and yes! It is way much better than I expected.
Community. My classmates are very diverse, smart, supportive, and easy to hang out. I am confident to say that it is because of the small size of our class that there are not “groups” and you feel free to talk and hang out with everyone.
Program. Once you start the program you realize it is very very rigorous; however if you are organized and conscious about the things you can or cannot do, you will be fine. So far I love all the courses that I have taken. We are one of the few schools that offer Optimization, which is a very interesting and useful course that will allow you to outstand once you start looking for a job.
Every Friday we have the B**rs event. I like it very much since you have the chance to meet other students, even from other programs.
City. Pittsburgh is an under-rated city! It is beautiful, safe, and cheap. Most of students live in Shadyside, a neighborhood that is pretty close to Tepper, supermarkets, and bars (yes, we have a lot of fun too!).
I would suggest future applicants to contact current students and if possible, visit the school! When I was looking for a school, I did not care that much about the ranking but about how the school was going to help me to be a better professional. Ask students how they have improved during the last year, what new skills they have acquired, and what others they have enhanced.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (4.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Student body, diversity
Alumni Network
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Management

Can be improved:

Brand/Ranking
Facilities


Read More

January 30, 2016
kinjiGC

Joined: Feb 03, 2013

Posts: 836

Kudos: 1593

Self-reported Score:
760 Q49 V44

Tepper community at its best

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

This review is for Tepper

Program Full Time MBA

Class of 2017

Experience during the program

1) Tepper community - Very helpful and everyone knows each other by name. The 2nd years are very helpful and goes an extra mile to help the 1st years.
2) Closely knit community - Tepper goes a great deal to preserve that and that is the strength of Tepper
3) Award wining Career Services : The career service councillors are very helpful and prepares students for the corporate world. They bring their experience into play and help the students to a great deal
4) Professional Clubs : The professional clubs do the heavy lifting to train the students for the corporate recruitment and for the interaction with alums. They bring in alums from specific industries to make sure the learning is 360 degrees.


Overall BSchool experience (5.0)
Schools contribution (5.0)
Classmates rating (5.0)

Strengths of the program:

Curriculum, Classes, Professors
Alumni Network
Career opportunities provided by school
Culture & Student Support

Best fit at this program:

Consulting
Tech
Entrepreneurship

Can be improved:

Facilities
Admissions Team


Read More