GMAT Club

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

The ULTIMATE GMAT Prep System
  • Stunningly effective methodology
  • Easy to use style built on exclusive secrets about how the GMAT really works
  • The world's largest GMAT training video library of clear and insightful instruction for EVERY single question in the course
  • Pacing & Triaging tactics
  • 1, 2, or 3 Month Study Plans
  • 2-6 Week Score Booster Plans for students stuck with other resources
Save $64 on EMPOWERgmat Courses + $250 bonus for GMAT Club members
EMPOWERgmat Deal Page

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

EMPOWERgmat Online Course
 $99  $85
Reviews
156
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Reviews:

156 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
June 10, 2019
ailyinsky

Joined: Mar 12, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

empowerGMAT - affordable, thorough test prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Based on a recommendation from a friend, I used empowerGMAT when preparing for my GMAT. I purchased the 3 month subscriptions(including practice tests) and completed the 2 month recommended syllabus. I found the empower videos to be incredibly helpful and the way the course was structured truly built foundational capabilities before advancing on - helping you to understand how the questions work before reviewing the math equations and concepts. The videos were interactive and often provided multiple ways of solving the problem - much more thorough than what I believe you can get from other programs out there. After getting a 640 on my first practice test, I got a 710 on the GMAT and did not take it more than once. I definitely credit my success to the empower program!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 14, 2019
cjordanksu8

Joined: Oct 05, 2018

Posts: 6

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q41 V44

Stuck at 650 practice for 6 months. 700 (Q41 V44) on test day.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

EMPOWERGmat was just the course I needed in order to push my score to the coveted 700+ range. I began studying in October 2018 with Magoosh videos , MGMAT quant books, and OG practice questions. After 6 months of studying with those methods I simply wasn't improving. My practice tests were scoring 630-650 before and were stuck at 650 even after 6 months of studying. I posted on the forum about my struggle and what might be a better method and Rich, the quant instructor from EMPOWER responded with ideas that were helpful. Ultimately, I am so grateful that I posted on the forum and heeded his advice because EMPOWERGmat was perfect for my mindset and for honing the skills to a fine point.

In regard to quant studies, like many people I was always good at math but not necessarily the logic behind the math. I could solve a problem but didn't always know why I could solve a problem. Other resources I used spent a great deal of time on the raw math, memorizing formulas, preparing for every scenario, and it just wasn't working for me. EMPOWER on the other hand teaches the distinction that the GMAT isn't about raw math, but rather the logic behind the math ie critical thinking. The videos Rich provided, especially those walking through OG practice questions were invaluable. Also, the strategies involved in the EMPOWER method are not necessarily unique to the course, but, from my experience, the clarity with which they are discussed and the breadth of problems they are useful for was far greater than other resources.

Verbal was a strong point of mine before EMPOWER, but I still had fine tuning to do. Once again, EMPOWER succeeded in teaching how to approach the test tactically and logically rather than just with memorization or brute force. The strategies applied to the verbal portion were superior to other resources I used and, although there isn't one thing that specifically sticks out, the verbal teaching as a whole was incredibly useful in making that leap necessary to reach 700.

Altogether, EMPOWERGmat suited my way of thinking and taught me how to approach the GMAT not as just a list of formulas, grammar rules, etc, but rather as exactly what it is, a critical thinking test. My final practice test was a 740 and although I didn't reach that level on test day (influenza A will do that to you) my 700 score more than fulfills the score needed for my online MBA.

Thanks to the entire EMPOWERGmat team, and thank you to Rich and Max specifically!

Read More

March 27, 2019
rvolutionamoeba

Joined: Dec 16, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q45 V42

Underwhelmed with a small score improvement

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I signed up for Empower after reading so many positive reviews on GMAT Club and seeing so many reviewers write about their big score improvements. After scoring a 640 (Q35, V42) on my first GMAC practice test with zero prep, I figured dedicating two months of consistent study with such a highly-rated course would definitely make my target score of 700 achievable, especially since my verbal was already pretty strong.

I studied diligently for two months, waking up early during the week to study for ~1.5 hours before work while my brain was still fresh, studying for a few hours on weekends, taking and reviewing the practice CATs in the ways recommended by Empower, and not treating the modules as boxes to check but instead really trying to absorb and understand the content.

I definitely picked up some helpful test-taking tactics and by the time I took the official test had done and reviewed hundreds of official questions. But when I took my first official exam, I was deeply disappointed to score a 660 (Q39, V41) -- a mere 20-point improvement over my initial CAT despite hours and hours of studying. Although I'm sure test-day anxiety played a role, I honestly walked out of the test feeling as though I had been underprepared. For one, the distribution of questions on the official GMAT wasn't at all consistent with what Empower lays out in the course (granted--that could have been an unlucky fluke). And, it was only after switching to Target Test Prep that I came to appreciate how--and I'm writing primarily about the quant section here--it felt as though Empower's emphasis on test-taking tactics (Test It, Test The Answers, Triage, etc.) came at the expense of drilling and really solidifying fundamentals.

In fairness, Empower does organize its content based on different categories for both quant (inequalities, ratios, geometry, etc.) and verbal (sentence correction, reading comprehension, critical reasoning). But in my opinion, the Empower approach of 1) watching one or two videos explaining a given topic and then 2) taking a few quizzes composed of official questions related to that topic, ultimately made mastery elusive. And again, I'm writing this as someone who really bought into and fully invested in the Empower approach, not as someone who only half-committed.

I ended up switching to Target Test Prep, taking an official exam again three weeks after my first one, and scoring a 710 (Q45, V42). I do think I felt less nervous, which certainly helped. But I also think TTP's diagnostic test, which helped me identify my weakest areas so I could optimize what I spent my time studying/practicing, was a big reason I ended up crossing the 700 threshold with a 6-point jump in my quant score from official GMAT #1 to official GMAT #2.

Although Empower pitches itself as teaching you all the tricks to score a 700+, in my opinion its tactics-focus left me underprepared to reach my full potential. Which isn't to say it doesn't work for many others (I trust all the positive reviews), it just wasn't the best course for me as someone who required more of a ground-up review of the math concepts tested on the GMAT. I also personally found Rich's and Max's style and tone to be a little grating.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 16, 2019
NWSL

Joined: Aug 23, 2017

Posts: 10

Kudos: 9

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41

Amazing Service!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I signed up for EmpowerGMAT 3 months. I completed the course within 6 weeks. But in my very next attempt I was unable to improve my score much. But that was all on me as I panicked in the exam.I contacted EmpowerGMAT and wanted to discuss what I should change. I have no experience with other prep companies, but I was amazed to see the advice I could get from EMPOWERgmatRichC himself. Rich was prompt in his responses and help me address my issues with more than 20 emails back and forth. I honestly did not expect such a service and so thankful to Rich and his team (specially Stacy).

I took my official exam last week and scored 730 (Q49, V41) :)

In summary what helped me the most were the strategies such as testing the answers, picking numbers (Test It!) and most importantly avoid spending too much time on tough questions in Quant and just guess (Triage) some questions.

I wouldn't have been able to know of any of these strategies if not for EmpowerGMAT. Considering these Strategies plus amazing service, I highly recommend Empower GMAT.

Read More

February 08, 2019
descendents1

Joined: Aug 05, 2018

Posts: 5

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
690 Q45 V40

EMPOWERgmat helped me to get 690

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I decided to purchase an EMPOWERgmat subscription because I was hitting a wall with my studying. I had taken a few practice tests from a different company and found that I was scoring below 600, even after weeks of studying. A few posts on reddit kept pushing me to use a subscription service, and based on the experiences people had written about, I had a feeling that EMPOWERgmat would be right for me. I was 100% correct about that. Even though I barely missed the mark of a 700 by getting a 690, this was a high enough score to meet my original goals. I also had a lot of challenges along the way, and I’m proud of this accomplishment considering my circumstances.

EMPOWERgmat gives you the tools and allows you to develop the skills you need to get 700+ on the GMAT. Plain and simple. If you put the work in over 3 months, consistently studying about 2 hours a day and about 4 on weekends, I’d say that would be sufficient to get to your goal, assuming you have a starting point similar to mine. Whether you already have a high baseline (>600), or you’re struggling with your practice tests (<600), EMPOWERgmat will give you the building blocks necessary to achieve your desired score. It will take you longer, however, to recover from your initial score to get to your desired score. You can expect to spend even more hours studying if you’re trying to fill knowledge gaps that others have already mastered.

The name EMPOWERgmat is apt because you will feel empowered as you proceed through the course. Rich has a particular way of motivating you during his video lessons. Max is also very good and I particularly like the way the Verbal training is laid out. Reading from a textbook and working practice problems is mandatory, but video lessons walk you through the ways that the test is designed to trick you. The GMAT is about separating those who are lazy and unwilling to perform the hard work necessary to achieve a high score, and those who are systematic, patient, and confident in their ability to parse through seemingly impossible questions. Even if you are faced with a question that is at the upper limit or on the outskirts of your ability, EMPOWERgmat will teach you exactly what to do with such questions.

The EMPOWERgmat website is not state-of-the-art, but it’s more than enough to get the job done. You’ll be spending the majority of your time on the modules that are already in place, giving you more than enough material to chew on as you prepare. Some people rely on trackers and tools and other ways to measure their progress and stay motivated. My singular motivation was the business school of my dreams and the career that awaits me on the other side of it. You can use EMPOWERgmat with confidence, knowing that regardless of your motivation and goals, their people, website, and methods will equip you with everything you need to succeed.

Read More

January 23, 2019
DisciplinedPrep

Joined: Jan 15, 2018

Posts: 343

Kudos: 326

Verified score:
720 Q50 V37

Undoubtedly THE BEST Quant & Verbal Online Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

On the first GMAT attempt, I received a 720 (Q50, V37) entirely because of EMPOWERgmat, to be honest. Had I maintained calm and composure during the test, I would have score higher.

Having enrolled in several leading GMAT courses, I found EMPOWERgmat extremely GMAT focused. The course is uniquely designed to get a 700+ score. Unlike other courses, EMPOWERgmat focuses on other neglected aspects of he test, such as the mental and psychological readiness of test takers. Rather than overwhelming test takers with bulky concepts, this course approaches GMAT with a sharp focus on getting a 700+ test score. Of course the course covers every concept in the most efficient and effective way, but it does so by keeping students highly engaged.

For clarity, my practice test scores were stuck at 670-680 for a long time. It was only after completing EMPOWERgmat online course that my practice score were always in the 710-770 range. It is the only course which offers a perfect balance between Verbal and Quant; any test taker looking for a single course which offers the best possible strategies and concepts must signup as a student as early as possible.

Pros.
- Excellent and Unique strategies in both Verbal and Quant sections.
- Highly engaging and interactive sessions.
- Huge repository of practice questions and solutions.
- Provides the best possible solution to official guide questions.
- Prepares test takers mentally and psychologically to face the test.
- Offers effective online support; every query is answered with detailed responses within 24 hours.
- Provides personal attention to every single student.
- Glitch free Online experience; the user interface is extremely efficient.

Cons
- To be extremely honest, there's NOTHING remotely bad about EMPOWERgmat course.

I highly recommend the course to everyone who is targeting a high score on the GMAT. Do not think twice before enrolling to this course; this course is worth every penny you pay.

Read More

January 22, 2019
tomburncity

Joined: May 12, 2018

Posts: 7

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
730 Q44 V46

600 to 730 with EmpowerGMAT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

After working my way through the Manhattan Foundation of GMAT Math book, I took my first official CAT and scored a 600 (Q32, V40). I started looking at online courses. Immediately, I realised that some of the big names were out of my price range (charging thousands of USD).

I wanted a course that would improve both my verbal and quant scores, and after a couple of trials settled on EmpowerGMAT. It turned out to be a great choice.

I really enjoyed the teaching style in the videos, especially Rich's quant lessons. One of the biggest advantages of the course is that it uses questions from the OG Guide with video explanations of those questions that are much better than those in the back of the book.

I completed 95% of the course in 2 months, and ended up getting a 730 in my first shot at the official test. My highest official practice CAT was 760, but I was fairly happy with my score.

I think the GMAT strategies in particular (like Triage and Test It) really provided the initial bump in my score. If you're looking for a quick improvement then I highly recommend Empower.

Read More

January 20, 2019
markymarc89

Joined: Jul 07, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 4

Verified score:
Canceled

Training to be Exam Smart & a GMAT Assassin

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I took the GMAT a total of 4 times over a period of 6 months.
In my first 3 attempts, I scored 680 consistently (1st: Q47,V36, 2nd: Q49,V33, 3rd: Q47,V38)
During my final attempt, I scored 740 (Q50, V41).

While preparing for my first GMAT attempt, in trying to save on preparation costs, I only utilised books and online adaptive tests, and both resources were by Princeton Review and mba.com. However, after completing my the first attempt, I felt that I did not have good time management and there were topics in which I had a weak understanding. Thus, I turned to GMAT club forums to find out about other resources that would better prepare me for the GMAT. It was through the forums and the regular GMAT club emails that I came across EMPOWERgmat.

The aspects of the EMPOWERgmat that helped me the most are listed below:

1. Improved my Time Management

The GMAT is not just about getting questions right; it is about getting the 'easier' questions right within a time limit. EMPOWERgmat helped me understand the value of each question type, especially for the Quans section. In having a better feel of the type of questions that would help me score well, I was better able to prioritise my time during the exam.
Besides understanding the value of question types, the course taught me quick tricks to shorten my math calculations as well as how to exploit the format of the GMAT. For instance, the concept of testing values from the answer options helped to save me time from calculating long, arduous mental sums.

2. Provided Good Training to Strengthen Foundational Knowledge

EMPOWERgmat teaches you the fundamental concepts needed for the various sections in the GMAT. It does so with easy-to-follow videos and guided examples. It also structures your learning process and helps you to keep track of the progress you make.

3. Provided Tips on how to be a GMAT Assassin (stuff beyond the content)

Something that I valued the most from EMPOWERgmat were the tips given beyond the content of the actual GMAT. It provided tips on how to psychologically prepare yourself for test day. I continued to hone these skills with each GMAT attempt. Furthermore, the staff at EMPOWERgmat are highly supportive. After each GMAT attempt, they checked on how I did, offered a free extension to my EMPOWERgmat subscription, and helped me to analyse my weaknesses after I bought the Enhanced Report.

These helped to provide me with realistic training and it better prepared me for the actual GMAT.

Read More

January 10, 2019
gmatconqueror2018

Joined: Nov 01, 2018

Posts: 74

Kudos: 12

Self-reported Score:
690 Q48 V35

EMPOWERgmat Course Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Earning a 560 (35 Q 32 V 5 IR 6 AWA) in late October was a gut punch after studying with the Princeton Review online course for 3 months. I wanted to call it quits before I read about EMPOWERgmat. I heard the course was especially popular for those who were looking to re-take the test. I knew my issues were more so strategy based than concept based. EMPOWERgmat was a fantastic choice because of the people who work there. The support team always responded to my questions and was always there providing guidance to me. As for the content of the course, Rich(Quant) and Max(Verbal) both do an excellent job explaining the makeup of the test and how to best MAXIMIZE your total score because some people do not know that certain questions on the GMAT aren't worth many points. Rather than spending 20 minutes trying to figure out some wacky multi-shape geometry problem, I learned to triage the question and move on to more gettable questions that DO greatly impact your score. For $99/month, the total score booster plan was great because the syllabus is organized in a way that allows you to build on the skills you learn. Strategy and mental makeup in my opinion are even more important than actual knowledge of the content. While the course absolutely prepares you to succeed on the content of the test, the strategies and tips you learn are essential to getting a higher score. Had I not stumbled a bit in the Verbal section this time, my score may have well been into the 700's. Overall, I highly recommend enrolling in the EMPOWERgmat course for anybody who is looking to maximize their GMAT score .

Read More

December 06, 2018
RSGuardian

Joined: Dec 06, 2018

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V41

From 0 knowledge about the test to GMAT Assassin in 2 weeks

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

As the title suggests, I took the GMAT just two weeks after learning what this test is all about. And on my first try, I beat the GMAT with a score of 720. So yes, this is possible, but I would advise against trying this at home. Those were two weeks of very intense studying for 10+ hours a day. Not many people can afford to spare this much time on prepping and have the resilience to study for this long.

On my first day of prepping I took a "cold call" practice test and scored 660 on it. Everything after that can be considered an improvement of this score. My initial verbal score was significantly higher than my quant score, so I focused first and foremost on improving my quant results.

I spent the next four days revising high school algebra and geometry, which I had completely forgotten at the time. Then came the time to choose a GMAT course. I took free trials of several different courses and evaluated them during my fifth day.

In the end, I chose EMPOWERgmat for several reasons. Not only was it one of the most affordable courses on the web, but it also focused on really beating the GMAT, not just studying for it. Moreover, something about how Rich explains things, his charisma, really clicked with me.

Unlike other courses, EMPOWERgmat doesn't just prepare you for the questions but tries to use every trick in the book to help you get the right answers effectively and efficiently. For the quant section this mainly revolves around three Empower tactics: Test It, Test The Answers, and Triage. These tactics are very simple, yet extremely helpful for saving time on the test.

After 8 more days of preparation with EMPOWERgmat, I felt confident enough to take the real test and wasn’t disappointed with the result. I became the GMAT Assassin that Rich and Max promised I’d be.

Read More


13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for EMPOWERgmat