GMAT Club

Your OWN review

Submit a Verified Review and get up to a $10 Amazon gift card

create
EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [105]
    Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
EMPOWERgmat Online Course [105]
    
EMPOWERgmat Promo
 Code
   The ULTIMATE GMAT Prep System
  • Stunningly effective methodology
  • Easy to use style built on exclusive secrets about how the GMAT really works
  • The world's largest GMAT training video library of clear and insightful instruction for EVERY single question in the course
  • Pacing & Triaging tactics
  • 1, 2, or 3 Month Study Plans
  • 2-6 Week Score Booster Plans for students stuck with other resources
Save $64 on EMPOWERgmat Courses + $250 bonus for GMAT Club members

REAL REVIEWS
YOU CAN TRUST

We read, verify and individually confirm each review

How we verify reviews

Step 1

Purchase Verification

We verify that the reviewer was a client by comparing the email address they provide with the company's database.

Step 2

Identity Verification

We verify the reviewer's identity through one of the following:

Official GMAT Score Report

GMAT Club Membership Term

School E-mail Address

Step 3

We manually process all reviews, and if a review does not meet any of the prior criteria, the review will not be posted.

Step 4

We pay $10 for each GMAT Course and Admission Consultant review only if we are certain it is a real review. If we cannot verify it, we won't issue a giftcard for it and we won't publish it.

GMAT Club requires that users verify their identity before posting a review.

GMAT Course Review
22 out of 24 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Racer87 13 11
Self-reported Score:

700

Q47

V39

Improvement:

90 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: EMPOWERgmat Online Course
Location: Online

Hello All,

I posted a similar version of this message back in October, but I am excited to see Empower as an official GMAT Club partner so I am re-posting my review of the course in hopes to help others think of alternative study options to reach their score potential!

Summary of my background:

Undergrad: Top 50 school on East Coast
Major: Communications (i.e. non quant or STEM)
Career: A few years in financial services and currently working in education management

Final GMAT Score (September 2014)
Total: 700
Quant: 47
Verbal: 39
IR: 6/8
AWA: 6/6

I literally studied for the GMAT for over a year. I originally signed up for a big test prep company (Manhattan GMAT) late in the summer of 2013 and took the full live course. I went to every session and tried to follow all the homework, but didn't feel like their course was the most appropriate learning technique for me. It was very formulaic and the concepts weren't breaking through for me. Nothing against my Manhattan instructor (he was excellent), I just felt like the group classes weren't the best learning environment for me as everyone in the class was at very different stages/ability levels at the time. In January of 2014 I scored a 600 on my first attempt (Q35, V37). Although not bad for a first attempt, I knew that this score wasn't really good enough to get into any of my dream schools in the top-15. While my verbal was in the 80%, my quant was really weak only in the 30th percentile range.

I took a month or two off and then started studying again in March. This time I tried to self-study and then use a professional "tutor" for some one-on-one instruction via Skype. Quant was my major weak area, and I tried to spend most of my time studying this section, but it seemed like I couldn't break through even with the tutors help. My approach to word problems was shaky and I didn't feel confident at all on DS. I took the exam for the 2nd time in June and scored a 610 (Q35 V38). I was devastated and started to think that a top GMAT score just wasn't in the cards for me.

Around the same time, I heard about EmpowerGMAT through a good friend of mine. She raved about the course so I decided to take the plunge and give it a shot as a sort of a last resort (I had already spent a lot of $$$ on GMAT Prep so I was very skeptical). I signed up in July 2014 and used Empower for approximately 3 months until I took my exam at the end of September 2014.

The Empower Quant modules literally changed everything for me! I finally started to understand how to approach and ATTACK problems. I finally got the idea that I needed to write everything on the pad and stop trying to do Math in my head.

Empower teaches you tactics of how to approach all types of problems to maximize efficiency on test day. Furthermore, it really goes into a lot of detail about question types and which ones really matter (in terms of your score) and which ones likely count for very little. This was huge for me as I was able to focus on the Quant topics that accounted for the highest point proportion and prioritize my studying time. This also gave me a much better idea of which questions I should be strategically eliminating on test day to remain on time as I always had a pacing problem on Quant as well. For the first time on Test Day, I was able to fully complete the Quant section without rushing to pick random answers at the end. I know this was huge in terms of my overall score on the section. As you can see I jumped from Q35 to Q47 in one exam which is a massive improvement.

The Verbal sections were very solid also. I was already pretty strong in this area, but I thought their SC framework helped me get sharper on identifying splits and errors. And they have a good fundamental approach to CR questions which I think is really valuable to those who may be struggling in that area of the test.

I knew from my practice that my scores would trend up but still wasn't expecting a 700 to be honest. I think that besides the actual tactical approach to the exam, I realized how important the mental aspect was. I started looking at the test as a challenge to attack! One of the best things Empower taught me is how to be MENTALLY FIT during the exam, ready to attack the test. I sat up straight, kept good posture, took my breaks, and did a few breathing exercises during the exam to keep me calm. To use Empower's line, I starting to think like an "assassin". I realized that although these small tricks may seem trivial, everything counts when you are trying to maximize your performance on a high-stakes exam such as the GMAT! As they say, luck is when preparation meets opportunity. I am a true believer of that after my GMAT journey.

I'm sharing my testimonial in hope that it convinces some of you to KEEP PUSHING and DON'T GIVE UP. I spent over a year studying for this exam and there were definite moments of serious self-doubt about whether I could do this (even though I have always done well in school). This exam for many is more about perseverance and dedication rather than luck and natural intelligence.

I hope you all continue to keep fighting on your journey and please consider using EMPOWER GMAT for your preparation (especially if you are someone like me who used other prep resources to no avail). EMPOWER was literally a GAME CHANGER for me and I know it can be for some others.

I applied to schools in the 2nd round this year and so far here are my results:

Yale (admitted with scholarship)
Michigan (admitted with scholarship)
Berkeley (admitted)
Kellogg (still TBD)

All the best in your journey!


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
10 out of 10 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Engr2012 2679 1632
Verified Score:

750

Q49

V44

Improvement:

100 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: EMPOWERgmat Online Course
Location: Online

I stumbled upon empowergmat via their 5 days for 5$ event that they had back in June 2015 and wanted to try the course out as I was looking for study tips and tricks to improve from my 690 in my 2nd GMAT attempt. I wanted to reach 730+ but had already exhausted all the available resources. I enrolled myself for the 5$ event and I was surprised to see the the depth and clarity in their verbal video tutorials by Max and the follow up questions not only cemented what you learned in theory but also taught you about the common traps. After the first day itself I enrolled myself for 1 month and as they provide a month to month billing (highly transparent and helpful for short term commitment that I was looking for!), it proved to the boost that I needed to push my score from 690 to 750 in 1 month.

Max's appraoch to CR completely changed my thought process and it made me more confident of dealing with 700+ level questions. The SC approach was straightforward without the use of unnecessary grammatical jargons. RC was taught with an eye out for achieving maximum accuracy while not going abvoe the average time per question.

Rich's test it and triage approaches in quant not only helped me in undertsanding the various time saving strategies, these also helped me in understanding the mind of the test maker at GMAC.

All these strategies worked wonders for me in the actual GMAT and I was able to clearly see why the incorrect answers were incorrect. Once i had this undertsanding, i was more confident with my answers.

I would definitely recommend EMPOWERGMAT to retakers who are looking at a highly compressed preparation schedule that will give them amazing results.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Great Product!
August 18 | 2017
reviewer identity verified by school email address
     By ariehdales 0 0
Self-reported Score:

720

Q44

V44

Improvement:

80 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: EMPOWERgmat Online Course
Location: Online

On my first GMAT I scored a 640 and was very concerned. After studying for a touch over 2 months with Empower's online course I took my official GMAT and scored a 720. I am very pleased with the product and believe it was instrumental in my success. Whether you are a native speaker of English or not the verbal was very straight-forward and the tactics for verbal allowed me to do exceptionally well. While I didn't score particularly well in the Quant section, it was a substantial improvement from where I started at. Whichever part you need help with, EMPOWERgmat can give you a boost. I was also pleased with the price point for the program as it didn't break the bank.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By namitasatija5 0 0
Verified Score:

710

Q51

V34

Improvement:

50 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: EMPOWERgmat Online Course
Location: Online

This is the best course available for anyone who is looking to start or boost his performance. There are multiple reasons for saying so

1) Gives great knowledge add to the existing information about GMAT.
2) Tells you exactly what you need to study.
3) Uses official stuff to practice (This is a great point, the more muscle you build on practicing the official stuff, the better your performance would be on the test day.)
4) Super simple approach to teach, can be understood by any one.
5) The most important thing is that these guys don't give you any anxiety, but rather tell you how to keep your calm on the test day.
6) Super sweet customer support gives you excellent inputs in an informal way, which is very effective esp for online courses.
7) Structured approach to learn, test and improve.
8) Brilliant mistake tracker application that helps you narrow down your weaknesses.

I did screw my AWA though so study more for that section! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By JimPayments 12 1
Verified Score:

690

Q50

V32

Improvement:

40 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: EMPOWERgmat Online Course
Location: Online

I wanted to share my experience with the Gmat preparaton, I hope this can serve to the community.

In my first attempt in the gmat I got 650 (Q50V27), my mother tongue is Spanish and I started learning English a little late. In my first attempt I studied the books of Manhattan, the Official Guide, and private classes; All this built my theoretical knowledge very well. My first simulations were in the 650 range, so a 650 on my first try was logical. After the test I felt a little worried because I knew I could do better, but I did not know how. I did well in SC, but I was slow to solve CR and RC.

In my second attempt I got 690 (Q50V32). After my first attempt I went to get help on the forums, and I found Rich's comments. Which at first seemed acidic to me, but now I have to accept that he was right. My preparation for the second attempt was with some more private lessons. I read a lot of "The Economist", I solved more official exercises. And I enrolled in his Empowergmat Verbal course. I have to admit that Empowergmat's approach gave me a better perspective to solve the exercises. I did some more simulations, which continued in the 650 range, but I felt more confident this time. Then I stopped performing simulations; and focused on speed and understanding the logic of the question, rather than understanding word for word exercises. I finally got 690 on my second attempt. This time, after the exam, I did not feel worried given I knew I could have had a better result and that it was basically with more practice. However in my schedule I had already decided to give the Gmat on that date.

I just have to thank the EmpowerGmat team, they certainly gave me confidence and a good approach to take the exam. This time the Gmat episode was finished and I have to continue with the following parts of the application.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By tuckdaddy 0 0
Self-reported Score:

740

Q47

V45

Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: EMPOWERgmat Online Course
Location: Online

I decided to take the GMAT for fun/sport after growing restless at my job as an attorney at a large US-based litigation firm. Without much direction or focus, my initial approach to GMAT prep was to review the official guide and tinker with some practice problems in my spare time. In hindsight, it's almost comical to think of how naive my initial approach was in so many respects. Here are a few notable challenges that I faced but wholly underestimated:

1) young attorneys at big law firms have almost zero spare time to study for the GMAT

2) first-time fathers that come home from work to crying infants have even less

3) lawyers don't do math

I don't specifically recall my score on the first GMAT practice test I attempted, only that is was abysmal. After taking that first practice test, Problem #3 became readily apparent. I hadn't taken a math class since high school, and it would be generous to say my skills were "rusty." Still, in light of problems #1 and #2, I continued to struggle through the Official Guide for a few weeks and showed up almost completely unprepared for an official GMAT in November 2016. Not surprisingly, I bombed the quant section, scoring an overall 680 (Q42 V41).

After my first disappointing attempt, I gave up on the GMAT for several months following the birth of my first child. After some reflection, I assessed my weaknesses and decided to attempt the GMAT again in May 2017. At this point, I had even less spare time for study, but I had a sense of what the GMAT expected. Even though I only reviewed the official guide in preparation for my first GMAT, the questions hit me directly between the eyes. There were very few surprises. I struggled with timing and content on the quant section so much so that I was unable to complete the last several questions. It became painfully obvious that I needed to modify my approach if I wanted to score over 700 on the GMAT. I needed to have an analytical framework for the questions that kept hitting me right between the eyes on the GMAT. As any self-respecting millennial would do, I turned to google for the counsel and searched for of a complete test prep program that could provide me with a defined study plan, strategy tips, and an overview of basic quant skills.

If you're reading this, you likely already know that many test prep programs claim sole possession of the "700+ Secret Formula." Full disclosure: I was first drawn to the EMPOWERgmat primarily because it offered a free 1-hour trial. Price and fear of commitment were my primary motivators. I didn't have time for a classroom prep setting, and I didn't want to pay for any online program without trying it first. So I enrolled in the free 1-hour trial offered by EMPOWER and immediately I was hooked. The quant instructor, Rich, who refers to himself as a GMAT assassin, narrates each of the lessons with on-screen instruction. Rich loves the GMAT and I love him for it! Or maybe Rich hates the GMAT so much that he has dedicated his life to training others to assassinate it. Either way, his enthusiasm is infectious. For the first time since beginning my GMAT prep, I was actually having fun and approaching my study as a sport (#goals).

Rich's fundamental outlook toward the GMAT quant section is that you don't have to be a math major to beat the GMAT. "OK, Rich, I'm listening." (See Problem #3.) Instead, Rich proposes a pragmatic approach to each type of GMAT problem that is more based on logic than on being a human calculator. (Very encouraging for the non-human-calculators among us.) Rich's instructional videos are full of tips, strategies, and nuggets of wisdom for each topic in the GMAT quant section. My favorite nuggets are those related to convoluted story problems. Rich dissects the story problems and diagrams the moving parts, making them easily digestible. At the risk of sounding like a total nerd/fanboy, some of Rich's diagrams are so elegant that they're worthy of framing!

I followed the EMPOWERgmat program as prescribed. Within a month, I was confident in my approach to every conceivable GMAT quant problem. I took the GMAT again in July 2017 and scored 740. My quant score jumped from 42 to 47. Q47 is certainly not in the human calculator range, but it represented a substantial improvement for me, especially given my limited spare-time budget.

**The EMPOWER program also offers a complete menu of verbal, IR, and AWA instruction, but, to be fair, I didn't necessarily utilize all of that content. The verbal content I did utilize was presented in a user friendly format just like the quant. I'm sure the verbal content on EMPOWER is great, but I dedicated the majority of my study to the quant section.

In sum, I would recommend EMPOWERgmat to any would-be GMAT assassins. I did all of my study in one month after work and on weekends while juggling a new baby. It cost me less than 100 bucks. Can't beat that! Here are my improvement numbers as a testimony to the strengths of the program:

NOVEMBER 2016: total 680 (Q42 V41) (IR 7.0; AWA 6.0)

JULY 2017: total 740 (Q47 V45) (IR 8.0; AWA 6.0)

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Lucy Phuong 165 66
Verified Score:

640

Q50

V25

Improvement:

70 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: EMPOWERgmat Online Course
Location: Online

As a non-native speaker, honestly I didn't think of Empower GMAT as the best choice when I considered which course to take. Then the 70-point guarantee of the course draw my attention. Although at the end of the course, I am not qualified for the score policy, I was still happy to “absorb” so many valuable lessons that the course delivered. I chose to gradually study each lesson, adopt suggested strategies if necessary and practice as much as possible in 1-month duration. You know what, I used to think that I don’t need to study Quant, because my Q score was pretty cool already. However, applying 2 methods of Rich, I could finish the Quant session with 15 minutes remained and my accuracy level stayed the same. Regarding Verbal, I love the way Max explained in details every OG questions and built the habit of identifying what type of errors in each wrong options. I cannot describe how I am proud of myself when I applied that habit to every single question, I was able to find out which option is tempting and to explain why that tempting one is just a runner-up.
Last but not least, thank you, Brian and Tom, for your assistance emails whenever I had concerns, from technical problems to academic and strategic questions.
Thank you! :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By mbablahblah 0 0
Verified Score:

690

Q46

V38

Improvement:

100 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: EMPOWERgmat Online Course
Location: Online

At the last possible moment this year I decided that this was the year to apply for an MBA program. I started vigorously studying MGMAT prep books and doing GMAT club practice tests at the end of March. I was beyond frustrated when in a month I made little progress (520-580).

While the MGMAT books provided a much-needed base of information, they weren't helping me do more with less... Quant was a struggle. I tried math revolution... basically a waste of time. Listening to 30 hours of quant video's doesn't help anyone.

Verbal was rough too... Reading MGMATs "bible" twice was necessary, but painful. Within a week of the empower tactics I was from 40th percentile to 90th, it somehow just came to me. I surprised even myself the first time.

After a bit of focus, I got myself into the mid 600's. I decided it was time to focus and take a one month plan. With a vacation and applications due 6 weeks after I got back, it was now or next year. After reading positive reviews on your plan I decided to try it, for $95 why not.

Well, the results are in, after a few fumbles and a slight mistake on timing I finished with a 690 Q46 V 38 this morning. I missed the last two questions on both Q and V so do feel like I left points on the table. However, I'm within my schools 80% range (Tuck, Darden, HBS)...

I do plan to retake the GMAT with an aim for a 720 in three weeks and feel confident that the EmpowerGMAT resources will get me there. (taking this weekend off first!)

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By Gnpth 873 1282
Self-reported Score:

680

Q47

V34

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: EMPOWERgmat Online Course
Location: Online

I have been using Empowergmat for last 20 days. I did not use the quant part since I use only GMATclub test for Quant. For verbal, I needed a new strategy and approach. So i thought I will sign up for EmpowerGMAT. The big difference i noticed as follows.

1. SC- Strategy is different. 5 Sec scan to see the answer choices to check or guess the error type. And then reading the sentence. It really helps. Though it takes longer to do the scan. But it is really helpful.
2. RC- the ladder approach is really helpful. We can get the tone as well the summary of each paragraphs. The key is it helps to read with rights goals for each passage.

3. CR- The Boil It down and the missing info details are the one I like. It is really forces to write down the info before I read the answer choices. It is really helping a lot. Build a CR box to write these 2 info really makes to dive deep into the argument.

I also liked the guessing strategy- Triaging for tougher problems and for time constraints to get maximum out of the guessing.

Overall- Good for Verbal. But I cannot rate Quant- Since I did not use it, even though it is part of the offering.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by school email address
     By mtnginger 11 6
Self-reported Score:

750

Q48

V44

Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: EMPOWERgmat Online Course
Location: Online

After combing through almost every prep company on Gmat Club and using up each ones free trial I still wasn't very convinced any of them would work for me. Then I read a few reviews on EmpowerGmat, it seemed like they weren't as well known as other companies but after seeing all the useful posts by Rich I signed up for the 24 hours free trial and loved it.

I purchased the 3 month access plus both GmatPrep packs. I was consistently scoring well in Verbal but my quant scores were keeping me from breaking 700. I began by just doing the lessons in order for the first modual but after getting through Algerbra and SC I moved all my focus on quant lessons. The videos by Rich and especially the step by step video solutions really helped solidify the concepts for me. I was one of the ones who knew how to do a quant problem but I couldn't consistently do them the Gmat way in under 2 minutes. Rich's videos especially the ones were he shows multiple approaches to the same problem really helped me hone in on shortcuts and made me stop overthinking. In the end I went from a Q43 from my self study first attempt to a Q48 allowing me to break the 700 barrier and end with a 750.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]



13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for EMPOWERgmat
EMPOWERgmat Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
86 points
International Student Score Improvement
78 points
Verbal
92%
Quant
98%
Save Up To $314
on EMPOWERgmat
+ 43% off of first month
+ $250 bonus
Get EMPOWERgmat Promo Code