GMAT Club

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

The ULTIMATE GMAT Prep System
  • Stunningly effective methodology
  • Easy to use style built on exclusive secrets about how the GMAT really works
  • The world's largest GMAT training video library of clear and insightful instruction for EVERY single question in the course
  • Pacing & Triaging tactics
  • 1, 2, or 3 Month Study Plans
  • 2-6 Week Score Booster Plans for students stuck with other resources
Save $64 on EMPOWERgmat Courses + $250 bonus for GMAT Club members
EMPOWERgmat Deal Page

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

EMPOWERgmat Online Course
 $99  $85
Reviews
166
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Reviews:

166 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
December 03, 2019
kikimondra

Joined: Oct 20, 2019

Posts: 11

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
690 Q48 V37

580 to 690 in 3 WEEKS !!! Q36 to Q48

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I usually don't write reviews but for this result I just HAD TO.
In July this year, I started prepping with another platform and diligently studied my material for the following three months.
October came around and the date of my GMATapproached rapidly. I might have been over-confident, going into my first GMAT. During my mock exams, which I kept as close to reality as possible (no breaks, distraction or other) I scored in the high 600 and even hit a 700 once. I was aiming for mid 600. That being said, when I sat my first GMAT, I thought this was the easiest the test had ever been. I thought I was doing great and shining until I clicked "send essay" and stared at the 580 in front of me. I sat there and stared at my screen until the test instructor came around and asked me to leave the chair if I am done with my exam. I couldn't believe that after investing MY ENTIRE LIFE to the GMAT for three months, studying 7h per day and pushing aside other hobbies, meetings etc. I was only able to score 580. To me, it wasn't representative of the amount of work I put into this prep. Other than that, it wasn't even close to the minimum I needed to apply to my Master's.

I had three weeks until the last possible GMAT date if I wanted to retake. I knew I had to change my strategy, so I decided to try out different trials and then pick the one that I liked most. I decided to try out EmpowerGMAT.
The thing that got me hooked immediately, was their approach. Now, I do not have a math background. In fact, I studied culinary arts, sciences and restaurant management - yes, management, so there was a bit of biz in there, but needless to say, I wasn't forced to calculate around with integers, radicals or work problems for a good 5 years. And if, then surely not on paper but with a calculator.

I used Empower's score booster, their shortened program which immediately caught my eye as it is advertised as directed towards people who wrote the GMAT once already. It is all laid out clearly, with a step-by-step guide to follow so it leaves no room for guesswork. The whole course is structured in mini-videos and in-between exercises BUT THE BEST PART is that Empower, and Empower only makes use of the OG guides. I purchased them back in June, before even knowing which online study platform to use because I thought that I would surely need those books. During my three months with the previous platform I didn't touch the books at all, but in Empower's structure, you have built-in Quizzes of different difficulties for which you always use the OG guides. It means you're practising with the real deal only.

I studied hard, and I mean HARD, for the following three weeks, focusing mainly on math, and diligently went through all of the prep material.

Now, one important thing though: When I asked for advice in forums if an increase in three weeks would be possible, everybody said no. I was nearly discouraged. The ONLY reason why I managed to bump my quant from 36 to 48 was because of Rich's way of teaching math.

What I loved is that he cuts back on unnecessary stuff, teaches you the vital things only, AND MOST OF ALL he teaches you how to be thorough. I no longer guessed around in DS or answered based on what I thought was true based on some notes and calculations, but started following a strict way of figuring out what is right and wrong in DS and HAVING PROOF FOR IT written on my paper, so whenever I clicked on an answer I was dead-sure it was the right one.

You learn how to skip questions that aren't worth much, how to work diligently, in an organized matter and make sure that you know your answers based on EVIDENCE you have on your scratch paper. And even in cases where you aren't really sure, you learn how to triage your answers so you can eliminate some and make an educated guess from the remaining ones. Even that, as simple as it sounds, WORKS.

I cannot thank the Empower team enough. Rich made me love math (which has never happened in my life and Max made me discover the little details I was missing in my approach to verbal. Lyndsay was always quick to help and their platform is well built, self-explanatory and full of little surprise bits like motivational podcasts and extra study material as well as built-in reviews and Quizzes to strengthen all you've learnt so far.

CANNOT RECOMMEND ENOUGH and wish I would have found it earlier!

Read More

October 31, 2019
canadyj

Joined: Sep 25, 2019

Posts: 2

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
680 Q42 V40

Excellent course, would recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 180 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I scored a 500 on my first CAT...completely freaked me out and I started rethinking which schools I could even apply to. My goal was BYU, and their admitted students average a 680 on the GMAT. I found EMPOWERgmat and really enjoyed the format and structure from the 24 hour trial. I purchased a 3 month study program and it is the best money I've spent.

They give you a no-fluff, tactical approach to preparing for the GMAT. You learn all the fundamentals you need to answer every question, as well as tactics to answer the questions as efficiently as possible. They have a very solid understanding of how the GMAT works and share their knowledge with you over the course of the program so by the time test day rolls around, you are prepared to handle everything. They help you with pacing and knowing when to skip a question and when to put in the time to answer it correctly.

I took the GMAT after my 3 months of preparation concluded and scored a 680! Beyond thrilled, and I am certain it is due to EMPOWERgmat. I definitely put in lots of time, at least 3-4 hours a day for 3 months. But without EMPOWERgmat my studying would have been incoherent and inefficient. Strongly recommend EMPOWERgmat to anyone looking for a big score on the GMAT.

Read More

October 16, 2019
aru010

Joined: Nov 19, 2017

Posts: 12

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
700 Q48 V37

EmpowerGMAT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I took the GMAT a total of 2 times over a period of 16 months.
In my first attempt, I scored 590. It was extremely shocking and heartbreaking, but it made me realize that GMAT prep would involve consistent effort, persistence and a structure to it. I found this journey a little daunting since I had been out of touch with exams and studies for more than 8 years and a 9-5 full-time job didn’t make things any easier.
My first GMAT attempt was with minimal preparation. In trying to save costs and money, I mainly went through some easily available online resources. But after I got my score, I realized I had to spend some resources to get a good return. That’s when I decided to join EmpowerGMAT.
When I started with this course, it became easier for me to find my weaknesses and polish my strengths. I discovered, that GMAT concepts looked seemingly simple at first glance. It’s only when you start solving the questions (OG questions), you realize the number of mistakes you can do and how only regular practice can solve that issue. There were times, when I would stumble, find the questions too difficult, the concept too dreary or the prospect of lack of time to study too intimidating. But EmpowerGMAT really helped me there, as their videos course were very helpful and their strategy tips really helped me sail through. Also, it focusses on OG problems which were very helpful.
I completed the Empower GMAT material for quants and verbal and OG 18 by June. I felt much confident after going through these lessons.
Empower GMAT Quants
The quant section is very comprehensive and it tells all the important things that you need to know. The quant tips and strategies(Triage & TestIt) were very very helpful, especially the practical tips of cracking each question with triage. It comes in really handy when you are running short of time.

Empower GMAT Verbal
Unlike before, I had a stronger grasp on the OG questions and logic behind them. The verbal section was also helpful. It’s a focus on a strategy that really helped me. I liked the way CR box works, it helped me a lot during prep and actual exam.
Although they could have richer content on SC and CR. All in all, I think I was quite prepared and confident after taking this course. The empower PDF summary also comes in very helpful while revising, especially a week or a day before the real exam.

Eventually, I decided to take the GMAT again. I was quite nervous while booking the date in October, but realized I could not delay taking the test any longer. I went to the test center and took deep breaths to calm myself. After finishing, I thought the test went ok. I was waiting with bated breath to see my score and suddenly I see 700. I was happy with my result. It sure was a nice jump from 590 last time and I quite relieved.

Read More

October 12, 2019
mifpmelo

Joined: May 19, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
690 Q41 V42

From 560 to 690 with EMPOWERgmat

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

My GMAT journey started on October 2018.

Based on the from a friend I started by following the Beat the GMAT's 60-Day Study Guide. As suggested in the plan, my initial approach was to learn the content through the OG, supplement it with the free GMAT Prep Now Videos available (free videos aren't available for every topic) and then solving topic-related problems from the OG. Unlike many people, my Verbal performance was already quite sound so I decide to start with Quant.

After 6 months of following this self-study approach, I realized that it wasn't really working for me - I was spending too much time and energy on raw math, memorizing formulas and trying to understand the OG's super mathy explanations but I didn't see much improvement in my performance, consistently scoring between 560 and 590 in every practice test I took.

That's when I decided to go for an online prep course and found EMPOWERgmat in one of the forums.

After completing the 3-day trial period, I ended up choosing this plan for several reasons:

1) I really enjoyed the instruction style - more than simply focusing on the questions, EMPOWERgmat gets you to use the most effective approach to get the right answers in the shortest amount of time

2) They use official problems but teach you how to solve them using EMPOWER tactics, which I found a lot more useful than the explanations on the OG

3) It is one of the most affordable programs out there but you can still customize it to your needs by choosing from one of the several study-plans available

I completed their 2-month study plan and finally took the GMAT on July 2019, scoring 690 (Q41 V42). I credit it all to EMPOWERgmat!

Their syllabus is based on a tactical approach and Rich and Max do a great job at preparing your for what GMAT really is - a critical reasoning test. Their videos are easy to follow and show you how to effectivelly solve both Quant and Verbal problems from all difficulty levels. Also, the course teaches you a valuable skill - how to triage the questions that are too hard to too weird and that would make you waste precious time and ultematelly hurt your score. Finally, the syllabus also includes a few podcasts that cover the physical and psychological tactics needed to become a true "GMAT assassin". I have always struggled with test day anxiety but after following their advice I arrived at the test center feeling calm and confident - I think that is crucial if you are looking for a high score.

Overall, I highly reccomend EMPOWERgmat to everyone who is looking for a strong and proven strategy to beat the GMAT. Studying for the GMAT is not easy, but if you take everything Rich and Max teach you to heart I promise the hard work will pay off!

Read More

October 06, 2019
ocelot22

Joined: Oct 16, 2011

Posts: 109

Kudos: 69

Self-reported Score:
650 Q42 V38
650 Q44 V36
570 Q31 V38
570 Q39 V41
640 Q38 V31

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Empower GMAT does an excellent job of providing you with an idea, of what kind of questions you need to be flawless on, and which questions you can afford to miss. Empower is one of the only courses that I have used, that emphasizes the kind of quick and dirty outside of the box thinking that you have to have in order to excel in quant. Rich goes out of his way to advise you on steps to take in your prep, and even talked with me about some highly personal issues that were preventing me from really focusing and getting my mind in the right place

My only criticism would be is that this course does not provide EVERYTHING you need. The course does tell you you will need an OG, but if you are aiming for a 700 plus score, you are going to need tons of resources for questions. If you try this course, please pair it not only with the OG, but also a really stout question pool like GMATCLUB quizzes and magoosh or egmat for verbal.

Read More

October 01, 2019
lucasruffel

Joined: Nov 10, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q47 V47

I recommend EMPOWERGMAT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

n 2018, after two months studying the Manhattan Books I scored a 710. Convinced I could do better, I registered to retake the GMAT after a twelve month hiatus. I explored the alternative options to Manhattan and narrowed in on EMPOWERGMAT, which I liked not only because it had a nicely outlined section dedicated for "those re-taking the GMAT" (i.e., me), but it also had a clear five-stage framework that I could closely follow as I approached test-day. After two months of studying the countless videos and questions available on the EMPOWERGMAT, I felt that I had a very strong grasp of all the basic techniques and more advanced techniques (e.g., Test It). In addition, the experts at EMPOWERGMAT truly understand how the test is structured and scored and as a result, can give you strong insights you won't get elsewhere. When I received my 750, I wasn't so much surprised as I was grateful for the GMAT Assassin that EMPOWERGMAT had made me. But all the techniques and tips related to the GMAT aside, what I was most impressed by was the personal touch EMPWOERGMAT offers in its communication with you. Not only are they timely in their responses, but they take the time to write emails in which it is clear they really want you to succeed but they understand where you are in your journey.

I would just add that I never write product reviews, and the fact that I am here writing this demonstrates my strong endorsement of EMPOWERGMAT for anyone looking to re-take (or first take) the GMAT.

Read More

August 14, 2019
osanchez0105

Joined: Apr 24, 2019

Posts: 15

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
740 Q48 V42

GREAT COURSE TO KICK OFF YOUR GMAT PREP!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

The course is great to gain a basic to intermediate level of understanding. In my opinion it fails to inform us the importance of reinforcing conceptual knowledge. I recommend using this course and pairing it with MGMAT guides. Verbal resources are quite helpful in terms of strategy and understanding the different types of questions you will see on the GMAT. Moreover, the interface is visually appealing and and very organized. The OG is required to complete the course (as it should be) and the you are also given free access to all GMAT PREP CATS with a 3-months subscription. Great bang for your bucks nonetheless!

Read More

August 05, 2019
OscarNieves

Joined: Sep 16, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
690 Q46 V38

My experience with EMPOWERgmat

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

After graduating from college in the Spring of 2018, I knew that I wanted to get a master's degree from a top 20 business school. For that, taking the GMAT was a must. I purchased the official guide, read some basics about the test, and decided to take a practice test to see where I was and to try to structure a study plan accordingly. I scored 520 on my first practice test. I spent the following month practicing with questions from the official guide and took another practice test. This time I got a 610, which gave me very high hopes, given that I had improved by 90 points in just one month.

At that point, I kept solving problems from the official guide and also supplemented my studies with some YouTube videos and other online content. I took a 3rd practice test and got a 580, which was a little discouraging. Long story short, I kept studying with the OG and with some free online material for 3 months and took 3 practice tests during that time. While I felt that I had learned a lot, that knowledge wasn't translating into a higher score: I was stuck at 590-610.

One day I decided to look into GMAT prep courses and read reviews on the different forums. Most of the courses I was seeing were very expensive and I knew I just couldn’t afford to spend several thousand dollars on my prep at the moment. I stumbled upon EMPOWERgmat and was impressed with what I read about it. I used the 1-hour trial and emailed Rich, asking for advice on which plan was the most appropriate for me.

I bought the course and went through it in about 3 months. I took my first official GMAT and got a 670. I studied for an extra month and retook the test, getting a 690 (Q46 V38). Even though that score was a little under the 700 mark, I decided to keep it.

What makes this course great? Its practical approach. Instead of focusing on hard-to-explain, complicated ideas and methods, this course focuses on teaching you the easiest and most efficient way to get questions right. On the quantitative side, Rich shows you how to approach and solve problems in practical ways that keep the math simple, maximize your time, and limit your room for error. On the verbal side, Max shows you how to tackle the 3 type of verbal questions in the easiest way possible, again, without having to memorize any complex grammar rules or ideas. Also, you can always contact Rich for advice and trust that he will reply the same day with personalized insights. Overall, this course will teach you everything you need to crush the GMAT.

Once you buy the course, take what Rich and Max teach you to heart. Look to apply all the tactics and strategies, especially Triaging. Some of these ideas you will learn might seem weird and you will be tempted to avoid them. However, you should make it a point to use them every time an opportunity arises. In the end, you will see great results.

Read More

July 11, 2019
ChiraKaimook

Joined: Mar 20, 2019

Posts: 17

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
710 Q48 V38

EMPOWERgmat gave me good foundation and amazing encouragement

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I first started GMAT prep by myself, understanding that it is the same as other standardized test on Math and English, but oh my was I wrong on this.

My first score was 650 and had been flat at that level after 2 months of prep.

When decided to take an online class, I was looking for something more flexible, on-demand-like lesson that can give me the tactic and new way to approach GMAT. I was also looking for OG based class because I think the questions created by some Test Prep contains debatable correct choices esp. Verbal questions. I had only 2 more months to prep so I was looking for something that can boost my score fast.

EMPOWERgmat fits my needs. First it offers on-demand online class where I can work on at my pace. Second all of its classes are based on OG questions. Third it has amazing score guarantee, if my score doesn't improve, I will get one more month free access. Since I have exactly 2 months to prep, it was a good deal. Additional points for them is the price, I think they are one of the most reasonable price in the market right now. So all the kudos for them.

I particularly liked the Quant section taught by Rich. His tactic indeed works. They are straightforward yet smart. He emphasized on the thinking principle and the right mindset to have going through Quant section. I prefer this to some fancy tactic that only works on some questions and only take up space on my brain, making me nervous which tactic to use when seeing the question.

Another part I liked about EMPOWERgmat is the encouragement and support.

After 1 month into their course, I thought I was ready. I took the GMAT again and I was feeling confidence throughout the test. But I was too confident. I went through the test on auto-pilot mode, couldn't remember any questions up to this day. I ended up with 660 and extremely low moral afterwards.

I emailed Rich and EMPOWERgmat advisor team. Their response emails gave me so much motivation. They offered to look into my error log and ESR, pinpointing where I went wrong and how I can improve. One month free access was also given to me as they promised.

I followed their suggestions and sat in the test again 2 weeks later. I scored 710.

For something that I think they can improve is the Verbal section. At least for me, I think the Verbal lesson is not as systematic as the Quant's. I found myself coming back to GMATClub discussion and expert reply for more clarity on several questions. My pain point was CR and I found VeritasPrep YouTube video to be more systematic and it helped me grasping the CR logic better.

Nonetheless, Max's tactic on note taking was really good and it gave me good discipline during the test. SC 5-second scan was also what I followed religiously and scored much better on SC.

All in all, thank you to everyone at EMPOWERgmat! You guy rocks!

Read More

July 02, 2019
learner311

Joined: Jul 07, 2018

Posts: 10

Kudos: 14

Verified score:
710 Q45 V41

660 to 710: EMPOWERgmat

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

It was in August of 2018 when I started my initial preparation for GMAT. As recommended by most of
the fellow test takers, I followed the OG for practising and Manhattan Guides for strengthening my
concepts. With this preparation, I scheduled my GMAT for the month of November. Though I was able
to tackle most of the questions in the official mocks, I felt I was mostly short of time owing to the tough
questions. This became the reason why in the Official Test I could not finish the Quant section on time
and the screen timed out before I could submit the last answer. I scored a 660(Q43,V38) and bought the
ESR to analyze what went wrong. The analysis told me that I needed to work on a few key tactics to
solve the tricky set on the test. That's when I decided to go for an online prep course.
While searching for online courses, I found that most of them offered good amount of detail in
concepts. But since I was looking for a more strategy-based approach to attack the GMAT, I couldn't
convince myself to invest in such a course. This ended when I found EMPOWERgmat on one of the
GMAT forums and signed up of a trial after reading about their strategy-based course to "Assassin the
GMAT". I went through the syllabus of the course and some of its content and took their one-month
subscription. And this became the point where I got the edge I was looking for. This course not only
taught me some great tactics to deal with few typical questions on the test, but also helped me identify
the type of questions that could be triaged or skipped on the test so that I could save time for the ones
that can be solved in time. The verbal part of the course also played a huge role by helping me use some
very interesting strategies for comprehension. As a result of practising these tactics and following Rich’s
podcasts for easing the test anxiety, I was able to hit a 710(Q45, V41) on my retake.
I would recommend this course to any test taker who wants to strengthen his/her preparation by adding
some very effective strategies to it. Also, they always have these amazing offers, which make them value
for money. EMPOWERgmat rocks.

Read More


13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for EMPOWERgmat