GMAT Club

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

The ULTIMATE GMAT Prep System
  • Stunningly effective methodology
  • Easy to use style built on exclusive secrets about how the GMAT really works
  • The world's largest GMAT training video library of clear and insightful instruction for EVERY single question in the course
  • Pacing & Triaging tactics
  • 1, 2, or 3 Month Study Plans
  • 2-6 Week Score Booster Plans for students stuck with other resources
Save $64 on EMPOWERgmat Courses + $250 bonus for GMAT Club members
EMPOWERgmat Deal Page

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

EMPOWERgmat Online Course
 $99  $85
Reviews
185
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now

Reviews:

185 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
May 11, 2020
blacktoe18

Joined: Mar 10, 2020

Posts: 3

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41

Improvement 130 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Well, not usually the kind to do reviews, but this time round I felt it important to give the EMPOWERgmat team their due credit.

To be honest, I initially chose EMPOWERgmat due to their competitive price, saw other more 'established' courses that cost a good few hundred bucks or even >$1k. And for me, the course has been nothing but great, with their very competitive pricing making it even more valuable. I had all of what, ~7 weeks to prepare; and in this period thanks to covid-19 I was stuck at home having to juggle working in the busiest period my company has ever been, taking care of my newborn, and study. My first official Mock score was 600, and looking back the odds really did seem stacked against me. I absolutely needed a course that helped me gain the points with maximum efficiency. And that's exactly what EMPOWERgmat provided.

No long-winded focus on complicated formulas or math solutions, no dilly-dallying on crazy grammar rules, but just clear, simple, effective methods to get those points. And I believe that is what most candidates want. The nuggets of tips that they drop throughout were also extremely useful - not gonna divulge anything here but they helped me approach the exam with a different mindset that made the task feel much easier and manageable.

Couldn't have managed this without EMPOWERgmat, and i'm grateful I enrolled here. if you have any doubts, they have a 1 month 'trial' which won't set you back much, i tried, and didn't look back. I'm not sure if this course will 'guarantee' you getting >750, but I wasn't targeting that, i wanted a ~730 score which is already the avg score of the top US MBAs and this course certainly helped me a great extent to achieving that.

Kudos to the Max, Rich and the team!

Read More

August 04, 2020
KritiG

Joined: Jun 08, 2019

Posts: 10

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
730 Q49 V42

My Journey from 620 to 740!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I have been an actively practising on the GMAT club for more than a year but little did I know I would be sharing my success story on the forum some day!

Like any other GMAT aspirant, I started my preparation back in Sept'19 by understanding the exam structure and by laying the basic foundation. While I used MGMAT and OGs for my preparation, I only managed to score a 620 in my first attempt.

Fast forward to 3 months - I chanced upon EmpoweGMAT's score improvement course and decided to sign up for it. I knew I had built the foundation and needed to strategize my preparation with a solid plan. That's where EmpowerGMAT’s course came into the picture. I learnt some great tips (especially for RC and SC) and could comfortably incorporate them in my practice. I remember being so comfortable with the questions and the format that the actual exam seemed like a breeze. Throughout the exam I wondered if I was incorrectly answering the previous answers or if I was well-prepared to handle all the curve balls.

Apart from the course, I was also pleasantly surprised by Rich's constant feedback on my progress - the best advice that helped my case was to gauge my progress using the EmpowerGMAT's performance tracker after each mock test. It is simply not enough to take the mock test - one needs to analyze and improve on the weak areas and further bolster the strong areas. The performance tracker also helped me identify some easy wins, which I worked upon on the days leading to the actual exam.

While I do stress on the importance on self-study, it always helps to seek advice from an expert who can help optimize your performance.

Read More

July 29, 2020
juliads

Joined: Mar 21, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q47 V40 (Online)

700 Score with EMPOWER gmat Tactics

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I had used a different GMAT online course that helped me with an overview of the content, but it didn't help much with strategy on test day. EMPOWERgmat helped me SO much with my approach to questions and with pacing. It was all thanks to the tactics they teach you to set up your notes, read questions at the right pace, etc. The biggest difference I saw between EMPOWERgmat and the other course was the acknowledgement that some questions might not be worth your time depending on what your goal is score-wise. Having that knowledge unlocked so much time for me to improve my quant score by 11 points.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 25, 2020
michelleyoon32

Joined: Apr 24, 2020

Posts: 4

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q50 V38 (Online)

Value exceeds cost

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

The design of the modules, tactics introduced, and the use of OG have contributed to the success of this product.

By only using questions from the OG, I was only exposed to the official language of the exam. At the end of my study, for the Verbal section, I was so familiar with the logic of the test makers that I almost knew what would be the right answer. It has trained a habit of analyzing questions.

EMPOWER only focuses on the most important factors to achieve a high GMAT score, which bring so much efficiency. I did not spend a lot of time on GMAT prep, but got a smooth learning experience to let me tackle the exam.

Read More

July 23, 2020
scrajwar

Joined: Jan 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q47 V38

Perfect tool for self paced Verbal prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I had little less than a month for improving my verbal score - especially the CR and RC section where my scoring was inconsistent. I needed a self paced course and after taking up Empower GMAT's I would suggest the same for anyone in the same position.
The biggest highlights are
1. Each section is divided as per the type and you can evaluate your weakness accordingly.
2. You can skip sections for a quick prep
3. 24-hour trial period to look around and get a feeler for the whole course.
4. Monthly plans also available so no unnecessary commitments

Using the tricks provided by Rich in verbal I saw my confidence increase while handling various types and I was able to condition myself to work them as needed.

Read More

July 21, 2020
DaX1100

Joined: Feb 17, 2020

Posts: 14

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
640 Q41 V37

Great course, great support, great impact!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 180 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I started my GMAT journey with the OG Guide and a brute force method. After one month "trial and error" with OG questions, I started the first diagnosis test and scored 460. This result was shocking!

After this result, I continued with MGMAT books. Next to 50+ stressful corp job, it is not a piece of cake to follow such a book heavy approach. After some research in this forum I decided to purchase the 3 months course provided by EMPOWERgmat.

If you are looking for a course, that will not only refresh your (lost) quantitative skills, but also teach you the little tricks this course is amazing. Furthermore, it will also prepare you from a mental perspective with plenty of podcasts.

One amazing thing is the support! I just checked my gmail ana saw that I exchanged around 50 emails with Rich (the CEO of EMPOWERgmat). Rich had a look on every single CAT results and commented on almost all questions that I did wrong and most importantly: WHY I chose the wrong answer!

I felt very well prepared for test day. I scored 640 in total with V37 and (unfortunately) Q(41). I actually reached a level to score 47 on quant during my practice CATs. Therefore, I can say that I was a little disappointed when I saw the low quant score on test day. I must have done some stupid mistakes during the real GMAT that led to this reduction. For sure, this can not be traced back to the course itself. If I was to invest more time into the preperation, I am quite confident that I would be able to score into the 700s. My limitation was the "time-budget" due to my quite stressful job.

I found the quantiative part of the course better than the verbal part. Being a non-native speaker, I was forced to do a lot of practice in order to handle the RC and SC part properly. The course itself teaches you very useful tactics. The "outside practise" combined with the content of the verbal part of empowergmat worked well for me.

I cannot comment on IR and AWA. The business school I applied for was interested in the total GMAT score only.

Read More

July 10, 2020
svcab16

Joined: Apr 30, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q48 V38

Comprehensive course to tweak your GMAT strategy

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

EMPOWERgmat took me from a 590 in my diagnostic test to a 700.

Below are the following reasons why:

1. The structure and pricing of the course allowed me to stick with it for as long as I needed. The test tricks for Quant and the note-taking structure for Verbal are easy to commit to memory and became second nature even after long breaks. The course also provides reviewers and short quizzes I could quickly refer to.

2. The strength of this course is in how it taught me to view the test as a strategy game. When it finally clicked that the test was almost like business, in which you need to quickly assess what questions are high ROI and what you could let go of, the test became a lot easier and I gained confidence knowing that I didn’t need to know everything (just that I needed a game plan on how to tackle what came my way, which EMPOWERgmat taught me).

3. Lastly, the team genuinely cares about you and your success. I took the GMAT a mere month ago and scored a 660. It’s not a bad score but after my focused work over lockdown, I was downtrodden. I then received an e-mail from EMPOWERgmat asking me how it went. I laid out my experience and Rich and the team personally addressed each of my weaknesses (including test day jitters), my score report, and advised me on what to focus on. I took their advice to heart and got the 700 two weeks later.

Obviously, courses and test prep are not one-size-fits all. I padded my GMAT prep with Manhattan Prep guides for conceptual knowledge and Veritas Prep tests for practice. But ultimately, it is EMPOWERgmat that provided me the strategic tools to tackle this monster of a test and helped me power through. I highly recommend the course for self-starters looking for a bang for their buck.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 15, 2020
mharris1193

Joined: Jan 14, 2020

Posts: 4

Kudos: 3

Self-reported Score:
680 Q45 V38

EmpowerGMAT Gave me the boost I needed!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

When I started my GMAT journey, I completed an initial diagnostic exam and scored 480. With plans to attend a top 25 school, I knew I would have to score at least 680 to be competitive. After studying for 6 months using the Economist GMAT Tutor, I scored a 600 on my first official GMAT. In search of a miracle pill, I subscribed to Empower GMAT and after 12 weeks of additional practice, I scored 680 on my second GMAT, the "Online GMAT" in April.

Why Empower GMAT?
Strategy Focused: Max and rich alert you to the questions you should be skipping, the tactics to employ when you need to guess (triage), and Verbal / Quant shortcuts to deploy when you're running close on time. After my Economist GMAT course, I felt that I had a solid understanding of the material, but I was not maximizing my time efficiently. Max and Rich focus a lot of their lessons on test-taking STRATEGY to ensure you're not wasting time, a huge bonus for people like me who experience pacing issues.

Official GMAT Guide: Max and Rich ONLY present you with official guide questions. I cannot stress how important this is. I've completed practice problems from around the internet, but the official guide questions are closest to the actual test-day experience. Because of my daily practice with official guide questions, I felt more confident and better prepared on test day.

Video Explanations: After each timed-quiz and throughout each lesson, Max and Rich provide detailed explanations for each practice question. They tell you which tactics are most efficient, what to include on your notepad, and whether the question is even worth your time. This last fact helped me identify which questions on the actual GMAT I could "dump" without major penalty, a huge bonus that only Max and Rich provided.

Stellar Verbal Tactics: After using Empower GMAT, my verbal score improved from 30 to 38, a fairly huge jump in only 12 weeks. I found the Empower tactics for verbal far superior that what I received from the Economist GMAT.

What can be improved?
Review of Basic Math / Grammar Concepts: Max and Rich provide a review of all the math and grammar concepts you need to know to be proficient at GMAT, but it's strictly a review. For me, it was just what I was looking for, because I already felt comfortable with content. But users that feel they need additional practice on their mathematics or grammar foundation may be disappointed.

Final Thoughts -- I started my GMAT journey 10 months and 200 points ago. I am truly grateful for all the tactics that Max and Rich provided to help me reach my GMAT goals. It's an excellent course if you're looking for that strategic edge to push your score just a little further, but if you're expecting a refresher course on foundational math or grammar concepts, you should consider alternatives.

Read More

May 14, 2020
Josegutimen

Joined: Oct 23, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
570 Q35 V34

Very thorough

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

The EMPOWERgmat course is very complete. Overall, I was very pleased with the EMPOWER tactics, in specific the tools the give you to get through the Quant and Verbal sections.
Their Test It method is very powerful to get through problems with variables in the Quant section. It was also really helpful to understand that not all problems on the GMAT are worth the time it takes to answer them. For this issue, the Triage solution was also very helpful.
In the Verbal section, they helped me develop a clear understanding of how to get through the different Reading Comprehension, Sentence Correction and Critical reasoning questions.
The insight provied in the course regarding the importance of Verbal was crucial for me. In the end, the Verbal section was the strongest for me, and being able to identify each type of question within setions of the Verbal, was very helpful.
Although there is a ton of content, not all of it is relevant. I believe a better way to organize the progress of the course would be helpful.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 02, 2020
dvnielng

Joined: Jul 15, 2019

Posts: 28

Kudos: 7

Self-reported Score:
730 Q49 V40

GMAT smoke and mirrors

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Course has terrible content - old platform, with numerous mistakes in the grammar/solutions. I brought this up with the owner Rich Cohen, who acknowledged and persistantly denied my request for a refund

The syllabus is a chaotic mess of pointless anecdotal clippings and poorly laid out exercises

Avoid this test provider at all cost. Reviews are all inflated and overzealous, exaggerated and in many cases I believe completely fake. Many better test providers out there, if you read deeper into gmatclub/forums online you will too find out the truth about empowergmat

Avoid Empowergmat at all COSTS. Owner Rich Cohen has been a complete hassle to deal with also. AVOID

Read More


13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for EMPOWERgmat