GMAT Club

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

The ULTIMATE GMAT Prep System
  • Stunningly effective methodology
  • Easy to use style built on exclusive secrets about how the GMAT really works
  • The world's largest GMAT training video library of clear and insightful instruction for EVERY single question in the course
  • Pacing & Triaging tactics
  • 1, 2, or 3 Month Study Plans
  • 2-6 Week Score Booster Plans for students stuck with other resources
Save $64 on EMPOWERgmat Courses + $250 bonus for GMAT Club members
EMPOWERgmat Deal Page

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

EMPOWERgmat Online Course
 $99  $85
Reviews
160
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Reviews:

160 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
August 14, 2019
osanchez0105

Joined: Apr 24, 2019

Posts: 15

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
740 Q48 V42

GREAT COURSE TO KICK OFF YOUR GMAT PREP!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

The course is great to gain a basic to intermediate level of understanding. In my opinion it fails to inform us the importance of reinforcing conceptual knowledge. I recommend using this course and pairing it with MGMAT guides. Verbal resources are quite helpful in terms of strategy and understanding the different types of questions you will see on the GMAT. Moreover, the interface is visually appealing and and very organized. The OG is required to complete the course (as it should be) and the you are also given free access to all GMAT PREP CATS with a 3-months subscription. Great bang for your bucks nonetheless!

Read More

August 05, 2019
OscarNieves

Joined: Sep 16, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
690 Q46 V38

My experience with EMPOWERgmat

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

After graduating from college in the Spring of 2018, I knew that I wanted to get a master's degree from a top 20 business school. For that, taking the GMAT was a must. I purchased the official guide, read some basics about the test, and decided to take a practice test to see where I was and to try to structure a study plan accordingly. I scored 520 on my first practice test. I spent the following month practicing with questions from the official guide and took another practice test. This time I got a 610, which gave me very high hopes, given that I had improved by 90 points in just one month.

At that point, I kept solving problems from the official guide and also supplemented my studies with some YouTube videos and other online content. I took a 3rd practice test and got a 580, which was a little discouraging. Long story short, I kept studying with the OG and with some free online material for 3 months and took 3 practice tests during that time. While I felt that I had learned a lot, that knowledge wasn't translating into a higher score: I was stuck at 590-610.

One day I decided to look into GMAT prep courses and read reviews on the different forums. Most of the courses I was seeing were very expensive and I knew I just couldn’t afford to spend several thousand dollars on my prep at the moment. I stumbled upon EMPOWERgmat and was impressed with what I read about it. I used the 1-hour trial and emailed Rich, asking for advice on which plan was the most appropriate for me.

I bought the course and went through it in about 3 months. I took my first official GMAT and got a 670. I studied for an extra month and retook the test, getting a 690 (Q46 V38). Even though that score was a little under the 700 mark, I decided to keep it.

What makes this course great? Its practical approach. Instead of focusing on hard-to-explain, complicated ideas and methods, this course focuses on teaching you the easiest and most efficient way to get questions right. On the quantitative side, Rich shows you how to approach and solve problems in practical ways that keep the math simple, maximize your time, and limit your room for error. On the verbal side, Max shows you how to tackle the 3 type of verbal questions in the easiest way possible, again, without having to memorize any complex grammar rules or ideas. Also, you can always contact Rich for advice and trust that he will reply the same day with personalized insights. Overall, this course will teach you everything you need to crush the GMAT.

Once you buy the course, take what Rich and Max teach you to heart. Look to apply all the tactics and strategies, especially Triaging. Some of these ideas you will learn might seem weird and you will be tempted to avoid them. However, you should make it a point to use them every time an opportunity arises. In the end, you will see great results.

Read More

July 11, 2019
ChiraKaimook

Joined: Mar 20, 2019

Posts: 18

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
710 Q48 V38

EMPOWERgmat gave me good foundation and amazing encouragement

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I first started GMAT prep by myself, understanding that it is the same as other standardized test on Math and English, but oh my was I wrong on this.

My first score was 650 and had been flat at that level after 2 months of prep.

When decided to take an online class, I was looking for something more flexible, on-demand-like lesson that can give me the tactic and new way to approach GMAT. I was also looking for OG based class because I think the questions created by some Test Prep contains debatable correct choices esp. Verbal questions. I had only 2 more months to prep so I was looking for something that can boost my score fast.

EMPOWERgmat fits my needs. First it offers on-demand online class where I can work on at my pace. Second all of its classes are based on OG questions. Third it has amazing score guarantee, if my score doesn't improve, I will get one more month free access. Since I have exactly 2 months to prep, it was a good deal. Additional points for them is the price, I think they are one of the most reasonable price in the market right now. So all the kudos for them.

I particularly liked the Quant section taught by Rich. His tactic indeed works. They are straightforward yet smart. He emphasized on the thinking principle and the right mindset to have going through Quant section. I prefer this to some fancy tactic that only works on some questions and only take up space on my brain, making me nervous which tactic to use when seeing the question.

Another part I liked about EMPOWERgmat is the encouragement and support.

After 1 month into their course, I thought I was ready. I took the GMAT again and I was feeling confidence throughout the test. But I was too confident. I went through the test on auto-pilot mode, couldn't remember any questions up to this day. I ended up with 660 and extremely low moral afterwards.

I emailed Rich and EMPOWERgmat advisor team. Their response emails gave me so much motivation. They offered to look into my error log and ESR, pinpointing where I went wrong and how I can improve. One month free access was also given to me as they promised.

I followed their suggestions and sat in the test again 2 weeks later. I scored 710.

For something that I think they can improve is the Verbal section. At least for me, I think the Verbal lesson is not as systematic as the Quant's. I found myself coming back to GMATClub discussion and expert reply for more clarity on several questions. My pain point was CR and I found VeritasPrep YouTube video to be more systematic and it helped me grasping the CR logic better.

Nonetheless, Max's tactic on note taking was really good and it gave me good discipline during the test. SC 5-second scan was also what I followed religiously and scored much better on SC.

All in all, thank you to everyone at EMPOWERgmat! You guy rocks!

Read More

July 02, 2019
learner311

Joined: Jul 07, 2018

Posts: 7

Kudos: 12

Verified score:
710 Q45 V41

660 to 710: EMPOWERgmat

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

It was in August of 2018 when I started my initial preparation for GMAT. As recommended by most of
the fellow test takers, I followed the OG for practising and Manhattan Guides for strengthening my
concepts. With this preparation, I scheduled my GMAT for the month of November. Though I was able
to tackle most of the questions in the official mocks, I felt I was mostly short of time owing to the tough
questions. This became the reason why in the Official Test I could not finish the Quant section on time
and the screen timed out before I could submit the last answer. I scored a 660(Q43,V38) and bought the
ESR to analyze what went wrong. The analysis told me that I needed to work on a few key tactics to
solve the tricky set on the test. That's when I decided to go for an online prep course.
While searching for online courses, I found that most of them offered good amount of detail in
concepts. But since I was looking for a more strategy-based approach to attack the GMAT, I couldn't
convince myself to invest in such a course. This ended when I found EMPOWERgmat on one of the
GMAT forums and signed up of a trial after reading about their strategy-based course to "Assassin the
GMAT". I went through the syllabus of the course and some of its content and took their one-month
subscription. And this became the point where I got the edge I was looking for. This course not only
taught me some great tactics to deal with few typical questions on the test, but also helped me identify
the type of questions that could be triaged or skipped on the test so that I could save time for the ones
that can be solved in time. The verbal part of the course also played a huge role by helping me use some
very interesting strategies for comprehension. As a result of practising these tactics and following Rich’s
podcasts for easing the test anxiety, I was able to hit a 710(Q45, V41) on my retake.
I would recommend this course to any test taker who wants to strengthen his/her preparation by adding
some very effective strategies to it. Also, they always have these amazing offers, which make them value
for money. EMPOWERgmat rocks.

Read More

June 10, 2019
ailyinsky

Joined: Mar 12, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

empowerGMAT - affordable, thorough test prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Based on a recommendation from a friend, I used empowerGMAT when preparing for my GMAT. I purchased the 3 month subscriptions(including practice tests) and completed the 2 month recommended syllabus. I found the empower videos to be incredibly helpful and the way the course was structured truly built foundational capabilities before advancing on - helping you to understand how the questions work before reviewing the math equations and concepts. The videos were interactive and often provided multiple ways of solving the problem - much more thorough than what I believe you can get from other programs out there. After getting a 640 on my first practice test, I got a 710 on the GMAT and did not take it more than once. I definitely credit my success to the empower program!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 14, 2019
cjordanksu8

Joined: Oct 05, 2018

Posts: 6

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q41 V44

Stuck at 650 practice for 6 months. 700 (Q41 V44) on test day.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

EMPOWERGmat was just the course I needed in order to push my score to the coveted 700+ range. I began studying in October 2018 with Magoosh videos , MGMAT quant books, and OG practice questions. After 6 months of studying with those methods I simply wasn't improving. My practice tests were scoring 630-650 before and were stuck at 650 even after 6 months of studying. I posted on the forum about my struggle and what might be a better method and Rich, the quant instructor from EMPOWER responded with ideas that were helpful. Ultimately, I am so grateful that I posted on the forum and heeded his advice because EMPOWERGmat was perfect for my mindset and for honing the skills to a fine point.

In regard to quant studies, like many people I was always good at math but not necessarily the logic behind the math. I could solve a problem but didn't always know why I could solve a problem. Other resources I used spent a great deal of time on the raw math, memorizing formulas, preparing for every scenario, and it just wasn't working for me. EMPOWER on the other hand teaches the distinction that the GMAT isn't about raw math, but rather the logic behind the math ie critical thinking. The videos Rich provided, especially those walking through OG practice questions were invaluable. Also, the strategies involved in the EMPOWER method are not necessarily unique to the course, but, from my experience, the clarity with which they are discussed and the breadth of problems they are useful for was far greater than other resources.

Verbal was a strong point of mine before EMPOWER, but I still had fine tuning to do. Once again, EMPOWER succeeded in teaching how to approach the test tactically and logically rather than just with memorization or brute force. The strategies applied to the verbal portion were superior to other resources I used and, although there isn't one thing that specifically sticks out, the verbal teaching as a whole was incredibly useful in making that leap necessary to reach 700.

Altogether, EMPOWERGmat suited my way of thinking and taught me how to approach the GMAT not as just a list of formulas, grammar rules, etc, but rather as exactly what it is, a critical thinking test. My final practice test was a 740 and although I didn't reach that level on test day (influenza A will do that to you) my 700 score more than fulfills the score needed for my online MBA.

Thanks to the entire EMPOWERGmat team, and thank you to Rich and Max specifically!

Read More

March 27, 2019
rvolutionamoeba

Joined: Dec 16, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q45 V42

Underwhelmed with a small score improvement

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 20 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I signed up for Empower after reading so many positive reviews on GMAT Club and seeing so many reviewers write about their big score improvements. After scoring a 640 (Q35, V42) on my first GMAC practice test with zero prep, I figured dedicating two months of consistent study with such a highly-rated course would definitely make my target score of 700 achievable, especially since my verbal was already pretty strong.

I studied diligently for two months, waking up early during the week to study for ~1.5 hours before work while my brain was still fresh, studying for a few hours on weekends, taking and reviewing the practice CATs in the ways recommended by Empower, and not treating the modules as boxes to check but instead really trying to absorb and understand the content.

I definitely picked up some helpful test-taking tactics and by the time I took the official test had done and reviewed hundreds of official questions. But when I took my first official exam, I was deeply disappointed to score a 660 (Q39, V41) -- a mere 20-point improvement over my initial CAT despite hours and hours of studying. Although I'm sure test-day anxiety played a role, I honestly walked out of the test feeling as though I had been underprepared. For one, the distribution of questions on the official GMAT wasn't at all consistent with what Empower lays out in the course (granted--that could have been an unlucky fluke). And, it was only after switching to Target Test Prep that I came to appreciate how--and I'm writing primarily about the quant section here--it felt as though Empower's emphasis on test-taking tactics (Test It, Test The Answers, Triage, etc.) came at the expense of drilling and really solidifying fundamentals.

In fairness, Empower does organize its content based on different categories for both quant (inequalities, ratios, geometry, etc.) and verbal (sentence correction, reading comprehension, critical reasoning). But in my opinion, the Empower approach of 1) watching one or two videos explaining a given topic and then 2) taking a few quizzes composed of official questions related to that topic, ultimately made mastery elusive. And again, I'm writing this as someone who really bought into and fully invested in the Empower approach, not as someone who only half-committed.

I ended up switching to Target Test Prep, taking an official exam again three weeks after my first one, and scoring a 710 (Q45, V42). I do think I felt less nervous, which certainly helped. But I also think TTP's diagnostic test, which helped me identify my weakest areas so I could optimize what I spent my time studying/practicing, was a big reason I ended up crossing the 700 threshold with a 6-point jump in my quant score from official GMAT #1 to official GMAT #2.

Although Empower pitches itself as teaching you all the tricks to score a 700+, in my opinion its tactics-focus left me underprepared to reach my full potential. Which isn't to say it doesn't work for many others (I trust all the positive reviews), it just wasn't the best course for me as someone who required more of a ground-up review of the math concepts tested on the GMAT. I also personally found Rich's and Max's style and tone to be a little grating.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 16, 2019
NWSL

Joined: Aug 23, 2017

Posts: 10

Kudos: 9

Verified score:
730 Q49 V41

Amazing Service!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I signed up for EmpowerGMAT 3 months. I completed the course within 6 weeks. But in my very next attempt I was unable to improve my score much. But that was all on me as I panicked in the exam.I contacted EmpowerGMAT and wanted to discuss what I should change. I have no experience with other prep companies, but I was amazed to see the advice I could get from EMPOWERgmatRichC himself. Rich was prompt in his responses and help me address my issues with more than 20 emails back and forth. I honestly did not expect such a service and so thankful to Rich and his team (specially Stacy).

I took my official exam last week and scored 730 (Q49, V41) :)

In summary what helped me the most were the strategies such as testing the answers, picking numbers (Test It!) and most importantly avoid spending too much time on tough questions in Quant and just guess (Triage) some questions.

I wouldn't have been able to know of any of these strategies if not for EmpowerGMAT. Considering these Strategies plus amazing service, I highly recommend Empower GMAT.

Read More

February 08, 2019
descendents1

Joined: Aug 05, 2018

Posts: 5

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
690 Q45 V40

EMPOWERgmat helped me to get 690

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I decided to purchase an EMPOWERgmat subscription because I was hitting a wall with my studying. I had taken a few practice tests from a different company and found that I was scoring below 600, even after weeks of studying. A few posts on reddit kept pushing me to use a subscription service, and based on the experiences people had written about, I had a feeling that EMPOWERgmat would be right for me. I was 100% correct about that. Even though I barely missed the mark of a 700 by getting a 690, this was a high enough score to meet my original goals. I also had a lot of challenges along the way, and I’m proud of this accomplishment considering my circumstances.

EMPOWERgmat gives you the tools and allows you to develop the skills you need to get 700+ on the GMAT. Plain and simple. If you put the work in over 3 months, consistently studying about 2 hours a day and about 4 on weekends, I’d say that would be sufficient to get to your goal, assuming you have a starting point similar to mine. Whether you already have a high baseline (>600), or you’re struggling with your practice tests (<600), EMPOWERgmat will give you the building blocks necessary to achieve your desired score. It will take you longer, however, to recover from your initial score to get to your desired score. You can expect to spend even more hours studying if you’re trying to fill knowledge gaps that others have already mastered.

The name EMPOWERgmat is apt because you will feel empowered as you proceed through the course. Rich has a particular way of motivating you during his video lessons. Max is also very good and I particularly like the way the Verbal training is laid out. Reading from a textbook and working practice problems is mandatory, but video lessons walk you through the ways that the test is designed to trick you. The GMAT is about separating those who are lazy and unwilling to perform the hard work necessary to achieve a high score, and those who are systematic, patient, and confident in their ability to parse through seemingly impossible questions. Even if you are faced with a question that is at the upper limit or on the outskirts of your ability, EMPOWERgmat will teach you exactly what to do with such questions.

The EMPOWERgmat website is not state-of-the-art, but it’s more than enough to get the job done. You’ll be spending the majority of your time on the modules that are already in place, giving you more than enough material to chew on as you prepare. Some people rely on trackers and tools and other ways to measure their progress and stay motivated. My singular motivation was the business school of my dreams and the career that awaits me on the other side of it. You can use EMPOWERgmat with confidence, knowing that regardless of your motivation and goals, their people, website, and methods will equip you with everything you need to succeed.

Read More

January 23, 2019
DisciplinedPrep

Joined: Jan 15, 2018

Posts: 511

Kudos: 501

Verified score:
720 Q50 V37

Undoubtedly THE BEST Quant & Verbal Online Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

On the first GMAT attempt, I received a 720 (Q50, V37) entirely because of EMPOWERgmat, to be honest. Had I maintained calm and composure during the test, I would have score higher.

Having enrolled in several leading GMAT courses, I found EMPOWERgmat extremely GMAT focused. The course is uniquely designed to get a 700+ score. Unlike other courses, EMPOWERgmat focuses on other neglected aspects of he test, such as the mental and psychological readiness of test takers. Rather than overwhelming test takers with bulky concepts, this course approaches GMAT with a sharp focus on getting a 700+ test score. Of course the course covers every concept in the most efficient and effective way, but it does so by keeping students highly engaged.

For clarity, my practice test scores were stuck at 670-680 for a long time. It was only after completing EMPOWERgmat online course that my practice score were always in the 710-770 range. It is the only course which offers a perfect balance between Verbal and Quant; any test taker looking for a single course which offers the best possible strategies and concepts must signup as a student as early as possible.

Pros.
- Excellent and Unique strategies in both Verbal and Quant sections.
- Highly engaging and interactive sessions.
- Huge repository of practice questions and solutions.
- Provides the best possible solution to official guide questions.
- Prepares test takers mentally and psychologically to face the test.
- Offers effective online support; every query is answered with detailed responses within 24 hours.
- Provides personal attention to every single student.
- Glitch free Online experience; the user interface is extremely efficient.

Cons
- To be extremely honest, there's NOTHING remotely bad about EMPOWERgmat course.

I highly recommend the course to everyone who is targeting a high score on the GMAT. Do not think twice before enrolling to this course; this course is worth every penny you pay.

Read More

July 31, 2019
GraceA

Is it advisable to prep with just the empower gmat and having an high score is guaranteed ?


13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for EMPOWERgmat