GMAT Club

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

The ULTIMATE GMAT Prep System
  • Stunningly effective methodology
  • Easy to use style built on exclusive secrets about how the GMAT really works
  • The world's largest GMAT training video library of clear and insightful instruction for EVERY single question in the course
  • Pacing & Triaging tactics
  • 1, 2, or 3 Month Study Plans
  • 2-6 Week Score Booster Plans for students stuck with other resources
Save $64 on EMPOWERgmat Courses + $250 bonus for GMAT Club members
EMPOWERgmat Deal Page

EMPOWERgmat GMAT Course Reviews

EMPOWERgmat Online Course
 $99  $85
Reviews
164
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Reviews:

164 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
October 16, 2019
aru010

Joined: Nov 19, 2017

Posts: 12

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
700 Q48 V37

EmpowerGMAT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I took the GMAT a total of 2 times over a period of 16 months.
In my first attempt, I scored 590. It was extremely shocking and heartbreaking, but it made me realize that GMAT prep would involve consistent effort, persistence and a structure to it. I found this journey a little daunting since I had been out of touch with exams and studies for more than 8 years and a 9-5 full-time job didn’t make things any easier.
My first GMAT attempt was with minimal preparation. In trying to save costs and money, I mainly went through some easily available online resources. But after I got my score, I realized I had to spend some resources to get a good return. That’s when I decided to join EmpowerGMAT.
When I started with this course, it became easier for me to find my weaknesses and polish my strengths. I discovered, that GMAT concepts looked seemingly simple at first glance. It’s only when you start solving the questions (OG questions), you realize the number of mistakes you can do and how only regular practice can solve that issue. There were times, when I would stumble, find the questions too difficult, the concept too dreary or the prospect of lack of time to study too intimidating. But EmpowerGMAT really helped me there, as their videos course were very helpful and their strategy tips really helped me sail through. Also, it focusses on OG problems which were very helpful.
I completed the Empower GMAT material for quants and verbal and OG 18 by June. I felt much confident after going through these lessons.
Empower GMAT Quants
The quant section is very comprehensive and it tells all the important things that you need to know. The quant tips and strategies(Triage & TestIt) were very very helpful, especially the practical tips of cracking each question with triage. It comes in really handy when you are running short of time.

Empower GMAT Verbal
Unlike before, I had a stronger grasp on the OG questions and logic behind them. The verbal section was also helpful. It’s a focus on a strategy that really helped me. I liked the way CR box works, it helped me a lot during prep and actual exam.
Although they could have richer content on SC and CR. All in all, I think I was quite prepared and confident after taking this course. The empower PDF summary also comes in very helpful while revising, especially a week or a day before the real exam.

Eventually, I decided to take the GMAT again. I was quite nervous while booking the date in October, but realized I could not delay taking the test any longer. I went to the test center and took deep breaths to calm myself. After finishing, I thought the test went ok. I was waiting with bated breath to see my score and suddenly I see 700. I was happy with my result. It sure was a nice jump from 590 last time and I quite relieved.

Read More

October 12, 2019
mifpmelo

Joined: May 19, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
690 Q41 V42

From 560 to 690 with EMPOWERgmat

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

My GMAT journey started on October 2018.

Based on the from a friend I started by following the Beat the GMAT's 60-Day Study Guide. As suggested in the plan, my initial approach was to learn the content through the OG, supplement it with the free GMAT Prep Now Videos available (free videos aren't available for every topic) and then solving topic-related problems from the OG. Unlike many people, my Verbal performance was already quite sound so I decide to start with Quant.

After 6 months of following this self-study approach, I realized that it wasn't really working for me - I was spending too much time and energy on raw math, memorizing formulas and trying to understand the OG's super mathy explanations but I didn't see much improvement in my performance, consistently scoring between 560 and 590 in every practice test I took.

That's when I decided to go for an online prep course and found EMPOWERgmat in one of the forums.

After completing the 3-day trial period, I ended up choosing this plan for several reasons:

1) I really enjoyed the instruction style - more than simply focusing on the questions, EMPOWERgmat gets you to use the most effective approach to get the right answers in the shortest amount of time

2) They use official problems but teach you how to solve them using EMPOWER tactics, which I found a lot more useful than the explanations on the OG

3) It is one of the most affordable programs out there but you can still customize it to your needs by choosing from one of the several study-plans available

I completed their 2-month study plan and finally took the GMAT on July 2019, scoring 690 (Q41 V42). I credit it all to EMPOWERgmat!

Their syllabus is based on a tactical approach and Rich and Max do a great job at preparing your for what GMAT really is - a critical reasoning test. Their videos are easy to follow and show you how to effectivelly solve both Quant and Verbal problems from all difficulty levels. Also, the course teaches you a valuable skill - how to triage the questions that are too hard to too weird and that would make you waste precious time and ultematelly hurt your score. Finally, the syllabus also includes a few podcasts that cover the physical and psychological tactics needed to become a true "GMAT assassin". I have always struggled with test day anxiety but after following their advice I arrived at the test center feeling calm and confident - I think that is crucial if you are looking for a high score.

Overall, I highly reccomend EMPOWERgmat to everyone who is looking for a strong and proven strategy to beat the GMAT. Studying for the GMAT is not easy, but if you take everything Rich and Max teach you to heart I promise the hard work will pay off!

Read More

October 06, 2019
ocelot22

Joined: Oct 16, 2011

Posts: 107

Kudos: 66

Self-reported Score:
650 Q42 V38
650 Q44 V36
570 Q31 V38
570 Q39 V41
640 Q38 V31

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Empower GMAT does an excellent job of providing you with an idea, of what kind of questions you need to be flawless on, and which questions you can afford to miss. Empower is one of the only courses that I have used, that emphasizes the kind of quick and dirty outside of the box thinking that you have to have in order to excel in quant. Rich goes out of his way to advise you on steps to take in your prep, and even talked with me about some highly personal issues that were preventing me from really focusing and getting my mind in the right place

My only criticism would be is that this course does not provide EVERYTHING you need. The course does tell you you will need an OG, but if you are aiming for a 700 plus score, you are going to need tons of resources for questions. If you try this course, please pair it not only with the OG, but also a really stout question pool like GMATCLUB quizzes and magoosh or egmat for verbal.

Read More

October 01, 2019
lucasruffel

Joined: Nov 10, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q47 V47

I recommend EMPOWERGMAT

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

n 2018, after two months studying the Manhattan Books I scored a 710. Convinced I could do better, I registered to retake the GMAT after a twelve month hiatus. I explored the alternative options to Manhattan and narrowed in on EMPOWERGMAT, which I liked not only because it had a nicely outlined section dedicated for "those re-taking the GMAT" (i.e., me), but it also had a clear five-stage framework that I could closely follow as I approached test-day. After two months of studying the countless videos and questions available on the EMPOWERGMAT, I felt that I had a very strong grasp of all the basic techniques and more advanced techniques (e.g., Test It). In addition, the experts at EMPOWERGMAT truly understand how the test is structured and scored and as a result, can give you strong insights you won't get elsewhere. When I received my 750, I wasn't so much surprised as I was grateful for the GMAT Assassin that EMPOWERGMAT had made me. But all the techniques and tips related to the GMAT aside, what I was most impressed by was the personal touch EMPWOERGMAT offers in its communication with you. Not only are they timely in their responses, but they take the time to write emails in which it is clear they really want you to succeed but they understand where you are in your journey.

I would just add that I never write product reviews, and the fact that I am here writing this demonstrates my strong endorsement of EMPOWERGMAT for anyone looking to re-take (or first take) the GMAT.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 14, 2019
osanchez0105

Joined: Apr 24, 2019

Posts: 15

Kudos: 6

Self-reported Score:
740 Q48 V42

GREAT COURSE TO KICK OFF YOUR GMAT PREP!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

The course is great to gain a basic to intermediate level of understanding. In my opinion it fails to inform us the importance of reinforcing conceptual knowledge. I recommend using this course and pairing it with MGMAT guides. Verbal resources are quite helpful in terms of strategy and understanding the different types of questions you will see on the GMAT. Moreover, the interface is visually appealing and and very organized. The OG is required to complete the course (as it should be) and the you are also given free access to all GMAT PREP CATS with a 3-months subscription. Great bang for your bucks nonetheless!

Read More

August 05, 2019
OscarNieves

Joined: Sep 16, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
690 Q46 V38

My experience with EMPOWERgmat

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

After graduating from college in the Spring of 2018, I knew that I wanted to get a master's degree from a top 20 business school. For that, taking the GMAT was a must. I purchased the official guide, read some basics about the test, and decided to take a practice test to see where I was and to try to structure a study plan accordingly. I scored 520 on my first practice test. I spent the following month practicing with questions from the official guide and took another practice test. This time I got a 610, which gave me very high hopes, given that I had improved by 90 points in just one month.

At that point, I kept solving problems from the official guide and also supplemented my studies with some YouTube videos and other online content. I took a 3rd practice test and got a 580, which was a little discouraging. Long story short, I kept studying with the OG and with some free online material for 3 months and took 3 practice tests during that time. While I felt that I had learned a lot, that knowledge wasn't translating into a higher score: I was stuck at 590-610.

One day I decided to look into GMAT prep courses and read reviews on the different forums. Most of the courses I was seeing were very expensive and I knew I just couldn’t afford to spend several thousand dollars on my prep at the moment. I stumbled upon EMPOWERgmat and was impressed with what I read about it. I used the 1-hour trial and emailed Rich, asking for advice on which plan was the most appropriate for me.

I bought the course and went through it in about 3 months. I took my first official GMAT and got a 670. I studied for an extra month and retook the test, getting a 690 (Q46 V38). Even though that score was a little under the 700 mark, I decided to keep it.

What makes this course great? Its practical approach. Instead of focusing on hard-to-explain, complicated ideas and methods, this course focuses on teaching you the easiest and most efficient way to get questions right. On the quantitative side, Rich shows you how to approach and solve problems in practical ways that keep the math simple, maximize your time, and limit your room for error. On the verbal side, Max shows you how to tackle the 3 type of verbal questions in the easiest way possible, again, without having to memorize any complex grammar rules or ideas. Also, you can always contact Rich for advice and trust that he will reply the same day with personalized insights. Overall, this course will teach you everything you need to crush the GMAT.

Once you buy the course, take what Rich and Max teach you to heart. Look to apply all the tactics and strategies, especially Triaging. Some of these ideas you will learn might seem weird and you will be tempted to avoid them. However, you should make it a point to use them every time an opportunity arises. In the end, you will see great results.

Read More

July 11, 2019
ChiraKaimook

Joined: Mar 20, 2019

Posts: 17

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
710 Q48 V38

EMPOWERgmat gave me good foundation and amazing encouragement

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

I first started GMAT prep by myself, understanding that it is the same as other standardized test on Math and English, but oh my was I wrong on this.

My first score was 650 and had been flat at that level after 2 months of prep.

When decided to take an online class, I was looking for something more flexible, on-demand-like lesson that can give me the tactic and new way to approach GMAT. I was also looking for OG based class because I think the questions created by some Test Prep contains debatable correct choices esp. Verbal questions. I had only 2 more months to prep so I was looking for something that can boost my score fast.

EMPOWERgmat fits my needs. First it offers on-demand online class where I can work on at my pace. Second all of its classes are based on OG questions. Third it has amazing score guarantee, if my score doesn't improve, I will get one more month free access. Since I have exactly 2 months to prep, it was a good deal. Additional points for them is the price, I think they are one of the most reasonable price in the market right now. So all the kudos for them.

I particularly liked the Quant section taught by Rich. His tactic indeed works. They are straightforward yet smart. He emphasized on the thinking principle and the right mindset to have going through Quant section. I prefer this to some fancy tactic that only works on some questions and only take up space on my brain, making me nervous which tactic to use when seeing the question.

Another part I liked about EMPOWERgmat is the encouragement and support.

After 1 month into their course, I thought I was ready. I took the GMAT again and I was feeling confidence throughout the test. But I was too confident. I went through the test on auto-pilot mode, couldn't remember any questions up to this day. I ended up with 660 and extremely low moral afterwards.

I emailed Rich and EMPOWERgmat advisor team. Their response emails gave me so much motivation. They offered to look into my error log and ESR, pinpointing where I went wrong and how I can improve. One month free access was also given to me as they promised.

I followed their suggestions and sat in the test again 2 weeks later. I scored 710.

For something that I think they can improve is the Verbal section. At least for me, I think the Verbal lesson is not as systematic as the Quant's. I found myself coming back to GMATClub discussion and expert reply for more clarity on several questions. My pain point was CR and I found VeritasPrep YouTube video to be more systematic and it helped me grasping the CR logic better.

Nonetheless, Max's tactic on note taking was really good and it gave me good discipline during the test. SC 5-second scan was also what I followed religiously and scored much better on SC.

All in all, thank you to everyone at EMPOWERgmat! You guy rocks!

Read More

July 02, 2019
learner311

Joined: Jul 07, 2018

Posts: 7

Kudos: 12

Verified score:
710 Q45 V41

660 to 710: EMPOWERgmat

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

It was in August of 2018 when I started my initial preparation for GMAT. As recommended by most of
the fellow test takers, I followed the OG for practising and Manhattan Guides for strengthening my
concepts. With this preparation, I scheduled my GMAT for the month of November. Though I was able
to tackle most of the questions in the official mocks, I felt I was mostly short of time owing to the tough
questions. This became the reason why in the Official Test I could not finish the Quant section on time
and the screen timed out before I could submit the last answer. I scored a 660(Q43,V38) and bought the
ESR to analyze what went wrong. The analysis told me that I needed to work on a few key tactics to
solve the tricky set on the test. That's when I decided to go for an online prep course.
While searching for online courses, I found that most of them offered good amount of detail in
concepts. But since I was looking for a more strategy-based approach to attack the GMAT, I couldn't
convince myself to invest in such a course. This ended when I found EMPOWERgmat on one of the
GMAT forums and signed up of a trial after reading about their strategy-based course to "Assassin the
GMAT". I went through the syllabus of the course and some of its content and took their one-month
subscription. And this became the point where I got the edge I was looking for. This course not only
taught me some great tactics to deal with few typical questions on the test, but also helped me identify
the type of questions that could be triaged or skipped on the test so that I could save time for the ones
that can be solved in time. The verbal part of the course also played a huge role by helping me use some
very interesting strategies for comprehension. As a result of practising these tactics and following Rich’s
podcasts for easing the test anxiety, I was able to hit a 710(Q45, V41) on my retake.
I would recommend this course to any test taker who wants to strengthen his/her preparation by adding
some very effective strategies to it. Also, they always have these amazing offers, which make them value
for money. EMPOWERgmat rocks.

Read More

June 10, 2019
ailyinsky

Joined: Mar 12, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

empowerGMAT - affordable, thorough test prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 70 Points

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

Based on a recommendation from a friend, I used empowerGMAT when preparing for my GMAT. I purchased the 3 month subscriptions(including practice tests) and completed the 2 month recommended syllabus. I found the empower videos to be incredibly helpful and the way the course was structured truly built foundational capabilities before advancing on - helping you to understand how the questions work before reviewing the math equations and concepts. The videos were interactive and often provided multiple ways of solving the problem - much more thorough than what I believe you can get from other programs out there. After getting a 640 on my first practice test, I got a 710 on the GMAT and did not take it more than once. I definitely credit my success to the empower program!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 14, 2019
cjordanksu8

Joined: Oct 05, 2018

Posts: 6

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q41 V44

Stuck at 650 practice for 6 months. 700 (Q41 V44) on test day.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course EMPOWERgmat Online Course

Location Online

EMPOWERGmat was just the course I needed in order to push my score to the coveted 700+ range. I began studying in October 2018 with Magoosh videos , MGMAT quant books, and OG practice questions. After 6 months of studying with those methods I simply wasn't improving. My practice tests were scoring 630-650 before and were stuck at 650 even after 6 months of studying. I posted on the forum about my struggle and what might be a better method and Rich, the quant instructor from EMPOWER responded with ideas that were helpful. Ultimately, I am so grateful that I posted on the forum and heeded his advice because EMPOWERGmat was perfect for my mindset and for honing the skills to a fine point.

In regard to quant studies, like many people I was always good at math but not necessarily the logic behind the math. I could solve a problem but didn't always know why I could solve a problem. Other resources I used spent a great deal of time on the raw math, memorizing formulas, preparing for every scenario, and it just wasn't working for me. EMPOWER on the other hand teaches the distinction that the GMAT isn't about raw math, but rather the logic behind the math ie critical thinking. The videos Rich provided, especially those walking through OG practice questions were invaluable. Also, the strategies involved in the EMPOWER method are not necessarily unique to the course, but, from my experience, the clarity with which they are discussed and the breadth of problems they are useful for was far greater than other resources.

Verbal was a strong point of mine before EMPOWER, but I still had fine tuning to do. Once again, EMPOWER succeeded in teaching how to approach the test tactically and logically rather than just with memorization or brute force. The strategies applied to the verbal portion were superior to other resources I used and, although there isn't one thing that specifically sticks out, the verbal teaching as a whole was incredibly useful in making that leap necessary to reach 700.

Altogether, EMPOWERGmat suited my way of thinking and taught me how to approach the GMAT not as just a list of formulas, grammar rules, etc, but rather as exactly what it is, a critical thinking test. My final practice test was a 740 and although I didn't reach that level on test day (influenza A will do that to you) my 700 score more than fulfills the score needed for my online MBA.

Thanks to the entire EMPOWERGmat team, and thank you to Rich and Max specifically!

Read More


13 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for EMPOWERgmat