GMAT Club

Anthony Ritz Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

Anthony is a full-time tutor with over eleven years of experience. He holds degrees in physics and applied mathematics from Georgia Tech and a law degree from Georgetown, and his test scores include a 99th percentile GMAT score (790), a 99th percentile LSAT score (176), a perfect score on the SAT (1600/1600), perfect scores on three SAT II exams (800/800), and perfect scores of 5 on numerous AP exams.


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 50 reviews
December 20, 2019
cmc2014

Joined: Oct 19, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V42

Anthony Ritz and Erika John are amazing!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Online

I took the live online course with Anthony Ritz and can't say enough good things about this class! Anthony is a great teacher who encouraged us to participate and made it easy to stay engaged through each 3 hour long class. He was always willing to spend more time on subjects/questions that students' didn't fully understand. I was hesitant to choose an online format because I generally do not enjoy or benefit from online courses, but am so glad I did! I learned so much and improved my score from 600 on practice tests to 710 on the real thing. My detailed breakdown is 42V, 46Q, 5.5 AWA, and 7 IR. I also took did a couple hours of private tutoring with Erika John after my course ended, and my quant score was greatly improved by the one-on-one format. She is an excellent teacher and she helped me come up with a sustainable study plan for the three weeks leading up to my test. Most importantly, she helped me overcome testing anxiety and build confidence going into test day. I can't say enough good things about Veritas Prep!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 07, 2020
santito

Joined: Jan 08, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q41 V40

Fantastic Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Online

The 6-week live online course with Anthony Ritz was fantastic and well worth the expense! The combination of prep-work for each class, in-class discussion and problems and subsequent homework sets really helped cover all the elements of a given section, from fundamentals to higher-level strategies for 700+ problems. His focus on building strong foundational skills and repeatable correct processes helped me develop healthy problem-solving habits that have made a huge difference in answering challenging problems quickly. Anthony loves teaching and really cares to help each student reach their best GMAT score evidenced by his attention to detail in class and his willingness to be a resource for extra help outside of class. I highly recommend this course.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 03, 2020
jhenschel10

Joined: Mar 03, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V41

You gotta go with Anthony Ritz!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Online

First things first, Anthony really knows his stuff. He was able to give me detailed reasonings for every question I had for him, regardless of the topic and if it was a Veritas question or not. Most GMAT tutors obviously know the GMAT at an extremely high level, but what really sets Anthony apart is how much he cares and his availability. Studying for the GMAT is a journey, and there is no one you'd rather have in your corner through that journey than Anthony. He was available via text, call or email regardless of the time (I had to get in touch early in the morning and late at night and he answered extremely quickly), and always was willing to give me the advice I needed to hear. Ultimately, if you're studying for the GMAT, you gotta go with Anthony!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 29, 2019
lukecres

Joined: Dec 29, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q39 V40

Veritas gives you the tools to run with it.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Online

The online-live 6-week prep course from Veritas is incredibly helpful. You can treat the course as a 0-1 relying on their fundamental lessons (called Skill-builders) to build your base or come prepared and be able to dive right into the strategies and techniques they'll teach (I recommend the latter).

Anthony Ritz from my session was fantastic. He does very well with mathematics and particularly bringing in outside knowledge in an easy to grasp storytelling format to drill down on a point or method. One of Anthony's strongest features is how much he cares about each student and delivering value for the overall class. His email-response time is fantastic and he really tries to make the group session feel as "individualized" as possible. Each lesson, Anthony can be caught saying "how are we feeling about this?", basically checking in and gauging where to lead the class next (again incredibly considerate of time).

Through Veritas and Anthony I was able to improve my score by 60 points and establish a great foundation for my next take. Overall, I am very satisfied with Veritas and Anthony.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 28, 2019
lisa0207

Joined: Feb 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
760 Q49 V44

Take the in-person course with Anthony!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

I took the Veritas Prep 6-week long in-person class in DC with Anthony Ritz and cannot imagine taking the GMAT without it! I ended up improving 110 points from my diagnostic test and scoring in the 99th percentile, and I am certain that I could not have made the same improvement self-studying. Anthony did an amazing job of teaching specific test-taking strategies that tangibly improved my performance on certain question types, and he managed to do it in as engaging of a manner as possible - the three hour classes definitely went by faster than any of my college lectures! I highly recommend taking a Veritas Prep course, especially if you are like me and need the discipline and strict timeline of a class to keep you on track - my total study time was only seven weeks and I can now focus on applications for the rest of the spring.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2018
kejoma312

Joined: May 23, 2017

Posts: 4

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
740 Q50 V41

You get what you put in - but worth every penny.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

I attended the in-person course at the Washington Hilton with Anthony Ritz.

The learning materials, practice problems, and computer adaptive practice exams are the best I've found, and I feel that the amount of time that I invested in them was worthwhile. Anthony Ritz is very adept at challenging assumptions that would've led me to a wrong answer and explaining the most effective approach to solving each type of problem.

As others have said, this will be your other job outside of your regular 9 to 5 for 6 weeks. Anyone who is considering taking this course should dedicate the time on nights and weekends in order to get the full benefit of the course.

Official GMAT practice score prior to course: 650
Final GMAT score after course: 740 (41V/50Q/6.0AWA/7IR)
Admitted to and matriculating at UC Berkeley Haas School of Business EWMBA program.

Read More

December 20, 2017
hfanaroff

Joined: Nov 22, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
530 Q32 V28

Veritas Prep very helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

I took the in-person Veritas class prep in Washington, DC with Anthony Ritz. The class was very helpful and I was able to learn a ton of information about the GMAT. The course is structured in a very friendly way that requires you to put in the time but also is very doable. When I first signed up I thought the 3 hours would seem like forever but it actually goes by very quickly. Anthony also does a fantastic job of keeping the information relevant and interesting. It is not easy to keep the GMAT material so entertaining but Anthony does a great job. I would highly recommend the in-person veritas prep class for anybody looking to begin their studying for the GMAT.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 30, 2017
srong

Joined: Jul 30, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V40
720 Q48 V41

Wonderful Experience with Veritas Prep and Anthony Ritz

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 10 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

I'm very happy with my experience and investment in the Veritas Prep course. I especially appreciated that I could retake the course for free within a year. I took my first Veritas Prep course in 2015 with David Goldstein in Boston, and I scored a 710 on my first GMAT attempt. A year later, I retook the class with Anthony Ritz in Washington DC. Anthony was a fantastic teacher - very sharp and genuinely friendly. He kept classes entertaining and fast-paced with his quirky sense of humor, and he provided me with a tailored study plan since this was my second rodeo. I was able to pick up new strategies from Anthony, and I bumped my score up to 720 on my second attempt. The effort and investment certainly paid off - I'm starting at UCLA Anderson in a week. I would 100% recommend this course to everyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 16, 2017
nghatri

Joined: Jun 03, 2016

Posts: 6

Kudos: 11

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Anthony Ritz was critical to my GMAT success

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Vienna, VA USA

I highly, highly recommend Anthony as a tutor for your GMAT studies. I will explain why:

I started off my GMAT studies in September 2013. I took a six week course and practiced myself an additional two weeks, ending up with a 600. At that point, being a bit discouraged yet also realizing I need more than one year of work experience before my MBA, I paused my studies and waited until September 2015 to start up again.

I decided to self study again, which took me about four months, and ended up with a 650. I had one month to study again until I had to retake the exam for third time. That was when I contacted Anthony to come tutor me.

Anthony is not like other tutors that I've had in the past; he really knows how to challenge you to figure out the problems on your own before he steps in to help. When he does help, he doesn't just show you the problem and tell you to repeat those steps on the rest of the problems. He usually starts off by asking you if you have heard of a certain theorem or proof or something of that nature that is related to this specific problem. When he explains it to you, a million light bulbs will go off in your head. From that point on you will have much less difficulty tackling that type of problem. It was mind blowing for me that with one quick explanation he was able to show me how to do a specific type of problem at any difficulty level, even 700 and above.

He showed me that the quantitative section really is not that hard when you realize that all the questions are quite similar but are the same question just written down differently. Because of his tutoring, I was able to raise my quant score from a 38 to a 50 (in practice exams; got 49 on my final GMAT official exam).

Similarly on the verbal section, he helped me raise my score from a 27 to a 41. This allowed me to get an overall score of 740, way better than the 650 I was able to achieve via self studying. I attribute 95% of my score increase to the lessons that Anthony taught me. Without him, I'm not sure I would've been able to break the 700 barrier. The money I spent to tutor with him was one of the best spent dollars for my future, bar none.

Thank you Anthony for all your help. I really owe you one.

Read More

September 07, 2016
johnsokr

Joined: Sep 07, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q46 V46

Increased score by 100+ points; Teacher very available for help

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

Had a great experience w/ Veritas Prep and ended up gaining more than 100 points on my score. Anthony was always available to help with specific questions, and helped to tailor the course to the needs of the class. Couldn't have asked for a better experience and was well worth the time and effort. I came in struggling with the quantitative section, but was able to make up significant ground while also gaining in the qualitative score. The online answer guides and ability to take more tests through the program were a huge help while I was reviewing and studying for the exam, and I've used the guide to help me better understand b-school options. Veritas put me in a good position to succeed, and I ended up doing better on the test than expected as a result of its methods.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

28 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Anthony Ritz