GMAT Club

Anthony Ritz Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep

Anthony is a full-time tutor with over eleven years of experience. He holds degrees in physics and applied mathematics from Georgia Tech and a law degree from Georgetown, and his test scores include a 99th percentile GMAT score (790), a 99th percentile LSAT score (176), a perfect score on the SAT (1600/1600), perfect scores on three SAT II exams (800/800), and perfect scores of 5 on numerous AP exams.


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 46 reviews
February 28, 2019
lisa0207

Joined: Feb 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
760 Q49 V44

Take the in-person course with Anthony!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

I took the Veritas Prep 6-week long in-person class in DC with Anthony Ritz and cannot imagine taking the GMAT without it! I ended up improving 110 points from my diagnostic test and scoring in the 99th percentile, and I am certain that I could not have made the same improvement self-studying. Anthony did an amazing job of teaching specific test-taking strategies that tangibly improved my performance on certain question types, and he managed to do it in as engaging of a manner as possible - the three hour classes definitely went by faster than any of my college lectures! I highly recommend taking a Veritas Prep course, especially if you are like me and need the discipline and strict timeline of a class to keep you on track - my total study time was only seven weeks and I can now focus on applications for the rest of the spring.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 08, 2018
kejoma312

Joined: May 23, 2017

Posts: 4

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
740 Q50 V41

You get what you put in - but worth every penny.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

I attended the in-person course at the Washington Hilton with Anthony Ritz.

The learning materials, practice problems, and computer adaptive practice exams are the best I've found, and I feel that the amount of time that I invested in them was worthwhile. Anthony Ritz is very adept at challenging assumptions that would've led me to a wrong answer and explaining the most effective approach to solving each type of problem.

As others have said, this will be your other job outside of your regular 9 to 5 for 6 weeks. Anyone who is considering taking this course should dedicate the time on nights and weekends in order to get the full benefit of the course.

Official GMAT practice score prior to course: 650
Final GMAT score after course: 740 (41V/50Q/6.0AWA/7IR)
Admitted to and matriculating at UC Berkeley Haas School of Business EWMBA program.

Read More

December 20, 2017
hfanaroff

Joined: Nov 22, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
530 Q32 V28

Veritas Prep very helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

I took the in-person Veritas class prep in Washington, DC with Anthony Ritz. The class was very helpful and I was able to learn a ton of information about the GMAT. The course is structured in a very friendly way that requires you to put in the time but also is very doable. When I first signed up I thought the 3 hours would seem like forever but it actually goes by very quickly. Anthony also does a fantastic job of keeping the information relevant and interesting. It is not easy to keep the GMAT material so entertaining but Anthony does a great job. I would highly recommend the in-person veritas prep class for anybody looking to begin their studying for the GMAT.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 30, 2017
srong

Joined: Jul 30, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q47 V40
720 Q48 V41

Wonderful Experience with Veritas Prep and Anthony Ritz

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 10 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

I'm very happy with my experience and investment in the Veritas Prep course. I especially appreciated that I could retake the course for free within a year. I took my first Veritas Prep course in 2015 with David Goldstein in Boston, and I scored a 710 on my first GMAT attempt. A year later, I retook the class with Anthony Ritz in Washington DC. Anthony was a fantastic teacher - very sharp and genuinely friendly. He kept classes entertaining and fast-paced with his quirky sense of humor, and he provided me with a tailored study plan since this was my second rodeo. I was able to pick up new strategies from Anthony, and I bumped my score up to 720 on my second attempt. The effort and investment certainly paid off - I'm starting at UCLA Anderson in a week. I would 100% recommend this course to everyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 16, 2017
nghatri

Joined: Jun 03, 2016

Posts: 6

Kudos: 11

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Anthony Ritz was critical to my GMAT success

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Vienna, VA USA

I highly, highly recommend Anthony as a tutor for your GMAT studies. I will explain why:

I started off my GMAT studies in September 2013. I took a six week course and practiced myself an additional two weeks, ending up with a 600. At that point, being a bit discouraged yet also realizing I need more than one year of work experience before my MBA, I paused my studies and waited until September 2015 to start up again.

I decided to self study again, which took me about four months, and ended up with a 650. I had one month to study again until I had to retake the exam for third time. That was when I contacted Anthony to come tutor me.

Anthony is not like other tutors that I've had in the past; he really knows how to challenge you to figure out the problems on your own before he steps in to help. When he does help, he doesn't just show you the problem and tell you to repeat those steps on the rest of the problems. He usually starts off by asking you if you have heard of a certain theorem or proof or something of that nature that is related to this specific problem. When he explains it to you, a million light bulbs will go off in your head. From that point on you will have much less difficulty tackling that type of problem. It was mind blowing for me that with one quick explanation he was able to show me how to do a specific type of problem at any difficulty level, even 700 and above.

He showed me that the quantitative section really is not that hard when you realize that all the questions are quite similar but are the same question just written down differently. Because of his tutoring, I was able to raise my quant score from a 38 to a 50 (in practice exams; got 49 on my final GMAT official exam).

Similarly on the verbal section, he helped me raise my score from a 27 to a 41. This allowed me to get an overall score of 740, way better than the 650 I was able to achieve via self studying. I attribute 95% of my score increase to the lessons that Anthony taught me. Without him, I'm not sure I would've been able to break the 700 barrier. The money I spent to tutor with him was one of the best spent dollars for my future, bar none.

Thank you Anthony for all your help. I really owe you one.

Read More

September 07, 2016
johnsokr

Joined: Sep 07, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q46 V46

Increased score by 100+ points; Teacher very available for help

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 130 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

Had a great experience w/ Veritas Prep and ended up gaining more than 100 points on my score. Anthony was always available to help with specific questions, and helped to tailor the course to the needs of the class. Couldn't have asked for a better experience and was well worth the time and effort. I came in struggling with the quantitative section, but was able to make up significant ground while also gaining in the qualitative score. The online answer guides and ability to take more tests through the program were a huge help while I was reviewing and studying for the exam, and I've used the guide to help me better understand b-school options. Veritas put me in a good position to succeed, and I ended up doing better on the test than expected as a result of its methods.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 29, 2016
cmt5d

Joined: Jun 03, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V40

Worth your time - and money!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

I took the Veritas prep course with Anthony Ritz at the Washington Hilton in DC. Prior to taking the class, I spent a few months studying on my own out of Princeton Review and a couple of other books/online resources. To be fair, I was not very diligent about studying and did not abide by a strict study schedule. I worked my way through the materials I did have and purchased the 7 pack of practice tests from Veritas. After studying off and on for a few months, but feeling like I had a good foundation, I took one of the Veritas practice tests and scored a disappointing 590. I soon realized that if I was going to commit to the process, I would need to buckle down and take a class that would give me a rigid structure and the test-taking strategy I was not gaining by studying on my own. Following the recommendation of a friend, I purchased the Veritas 6 week class.

Veritas' online resources are incredibly helpful and robust. There are skills, drills, and problems to accompany each in class lecture. Additionally, there are online lectures that follow the same material, so if you miss a class or want to review a portion that proved particularly challenging, these videos were great to watch over again.

Going into the class, I was particularly weak on quant and, while I did the verbal lessons and attended all classes, my focus was on practicing quant as I neared my test date. The previously purchased Veritas tests were helpful for this, as I could just take quant sections if I did not have enough time for a full practice test. Still, my advice to others is to take the full practice tests as many times as you possibly can. I ended up scoring as high as the 99th percentile in some of my practice tests where I only took the quant section. I think this led me to have a slightly inflated sense of confidence, as I did not achieve these scores in a full practice test but still held high expectations when the test date rolled around.

All in all, I am happy with my results and I know I would not have achieved my score had it not been for Anthony and the Veritas class. Of course, it's on you to keep up with the work and utilize the resources provided, but I think Veritas gave me all the tools I needed to do well!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 20, 2016
udirosenhand

Joined: Jun 01, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V42

Top notch course and instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 160 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

If you're looking to get in proper GMAT shape, look no further than Veritas and Anthony.

My first practice test: 590
Seven weeks later...
First official GMAT: 750

Veritas has an outstanding understanding of the test and it provides excellent tools to communicate that understanding. From the insightful and mindset-preparing introductory note to the numerous practice tests (including helpful answer explanations), the curriculum is simply spot on.

More importantly, I found Anthony's take on the class to be incredibly valuable. His ability to reinforce core concepts efficiently is masterful, weaving important GMAT skills in and out of lessons with memorable examples.

For GMAT students in DC, the decision is simple. Choose Veritas and Anthony

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 07, 2016
mwidge

Joined: Dec 01, 2015

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V42

Great Prep Class - Awesome Instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location Washington, DC USA

The class was very thorough, starting from math basics that we learned in high school which many of us have forgotten. From there it built on those foundations and covered every possible topic/question that the GMAT could cover. In addition to ensuring that the quant and verbal basics were drilled into our minds, Veritas as well as Anthony gave us a very solid strategy of attacking each section and type of question (which really helps on the time aspect). It was a very intense class with lots of homework, but paid off in the end in getting me the score I wanted and needed to be a competitive applicant (above 700).

The hotel where our classes were held shifted our schedule and room around a lot, which led to a lot of confusion. On the final day, this actually resulted in a couple of us not being able to find the correct room and missing a class. Anthony took time out of his own schedule the following week to privately come and teach us that lesson, which was very nice of him.

Read More

May 03, 2016
Cameron562

Joined: May 03, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
560 Q35 V31

Worth the price of admission

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep In-Person Full Course

Instructor Anthony Ritz

Location DC Area, DC USA

After one week in Andy's class I had already met my official score on two consecutive practice tests. The biggest proponent of the class was the comfort and confidence Andy provided regardless of the level of problems. He aided me to somewhat enjoy the grind of studying. Moreover, I valued the time of class prep as the more classes I went too, the more I increased my awareness of traps, strategies, and answer anticipation. I was skeptical of taking the class live in person, but it was worth my time. I would of finished the class had not for an unforeseen personal matter, but the classes I did attend were incredibly helpful and worth the price of admission.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

28 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Anthony Ritz