GMAT Club

Isaac Puglia Reviews

Company: Manhattan Prep GMAT


4.9 /5 Average Rating
Based on 16 reviews
August 03, 2017
cguarini3

Joined: Jun 25, 2015

Posts: 9

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
690 Q44 V40

Perseverance Pays Off!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took a Manhattan GMAT prep course during June/July 2016. Isaac Puglia was my teacher - phenomenal instruction and tips to pass the exam. My first practice exam I took I received a 530 . . . extremely low I know, but it was the first exam of it's type that I ever took.
Fast forward through the course, Isaac's teachings, Manhattan GMAT's material (especially the Navigator website offered) and taking the GMAT a few more times. My first official score reported was 610, a sizable increase from where I started. However, this would not be sufficient for the schools I wanted to apply.
I began to rethink my target schools and where I thought I could attend. I retook the GMAT, receiving a 600. Slightly worse and still little disappointed with my score. I decided to apply for a part-time program at UCLA.
In an effort to boost my candidacy, I looked at my splits, and scheduled a meeting with an MGMAT test adviser (very helpful, and I recommend taking advantage of this when offered). Then I hit the verbal books; purchased a verbal book, and did hundreds of practice problems in a span of 2 weeks. I retook the GMAT amidst the application process after being wait-listed by the program.
I achieved my highest score yet, barely missing the vaunted 700 club; receiving a 690. I was extremely pleased (however, slightly sad that I couldn't repeat my quant. score - which would've put me in the 700+ club) , accepted to UCLA shortly after and will be attending the program Fall 2017.
I would not have known where to begin when studying for the GMAT exam originally, The direction, accountability, and ability to reach Isaac anytime allowed me to succeed.

Read More

July 20, 2017
etitizer

Joined: Jul 20, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q47 V40

MPrep w/ Isaac Puglia

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had Isaac Puglia as my instructor for Manhattan Prep (GMAT) and I can't rave enough about the course and specifically Isaac as an instructor. I started MPrep in mid-March and was able to reach my goal - 700! which was more than a 100 point increase from my initial practice scores- in four months simply by following Isaac's instructions. I was initially hesitant to take a course as I thought I could simply buy a GMAT book and learn the material on my own but I can honestly say that would have been impossible. Such a huge part of the test is timing which means you need to be able to identify markers and question types relatively quickly to have a decent shot at completing the test. Isaac did a great job pointing out markers and providing frameworks for how to complete different types of quant questions which I found to be crucial during the test. I highly recommend Isaac as a GMAT instructor.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 05, 2017
spenceranderson6

Joined: Mar 05, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q47 V47

Excellent Course - highly recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had a fabulous experience in Isaac's class. I was very crammed on timing (class ending 9/11; test on 9/16; application due 9/21) and Isaac was super helpful in answering my questions after class to make sure that I had the best possible plan in place for achieving those goals.

I also really appreciated the studying tips that he gave us in addition to the basic material. For example, we would start classes by reviewing what we had learned in our studying over the past week and would end class by writing down our big takeaways from that class. Isaac also encouraged us to do this in our own studying sessions at home, all of which had the effect of constantly reinforcing what we were learning.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 09, 2017
whunnewell

Joined: Jan 09, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q45 V45

Great Course - Highly Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had a great GMAT prep experience with Manhattan. The course was very effectively organized, and Isaac was a great instructor. If you stay on top of the assigned weekly work and practice the strategies on your own, you will be on track to dramatically improve your score. I went up by 100 points from my first practice test to the actual exam. I then refined my prep for another 2 weeks and raised my score by an additional 20 points. The Manhattan method is very effective if you subscribe to it and put in the time. And I can't say enough good things about Isaac as an instructor. He is very thoughtful and clear in explaining concepts -- extremely willing to help.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 20, 2016
nrseger

Joined: Nov 18, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V42

Highly Recommend // Isaac

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I would highly recommend Isaac's class at Manhattan Prep. He has a methodical way about teaching the class that resulted in me reaching my highest potential in an efficient manner.

I subscribed to Isaac's process and scored above the goal I had set for myself. He was responsive whenever I had questions outside of class and provided helpful feedback when I was struggling in certain areas.

Isaac was patient with each person in the class yet gave personal attention to everyone inside and outside of class. He provided study materials and additional practice tests when necessary. He also spent time with me reviewing my past exams and areas of improvement.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 20, 2016
lim713

Joined: Dec 20, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V41

10/10 Would Recommend!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Isaac was a great teacher and the course materials from Manhattan Prep were very informative and useful. During the class session, Isaac was able to clearly identify and describe several strategies needed to tackle 700 level questions. He was accommodating to people of all skill levels, and had the best teaching attitude I have seen to date. Whether it was Verbal, Quant, IR or AWA, Isaac was able to help every student out according to his or her own abilities. I would recommend that anyone in Northern California take Isaac's class. If you are not in Northern California I would still definitely recommend Manhattan Prep for all your GMAT prep needs.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 08, 2016
blangner1

Joined: Oct 18, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q48 V44

Well Worth the Cost, Time, and Effort

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Taking a Manhattan Prep GMAT course is the best decision I've made thus far in my MBA journey. Isaac is a fantastic teacher and truly understands the needs of each student and strives to help everyone achieve their desired score. In about 3 months I went from 550 on my first practice test to 750 on test day.

I can't overstate how much the class and Isaac helped my GMAT score. Isaac was helpful with everything from test strategies and techniques to motivation and study tips. He is sharp and engaging and always explains problems in multiple ways so that each student can find the technique that works best for him or her.

Thanks, Isaac!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 15, 2016
laraol

Joined: Sep 15, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V41

Excellent, thorough, and lots of opportunities for bonuses!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As someone who hadn't thought about grammar or geometry since high school, I really needed a refresher. Manhattan GMAT gives the appropriate structure and great teaching (take Isaac's class!). One thing I'd say is to do ALL the work. None of it should be optional.
The online tools and course materials were extremely thorough. The most useful tool was the ability to analyze your test results by question difficulty and topic - really helped me target my weakenesses. I also felt the class prepared me mentally for the test - not just content.
The post-course assessment was also extremely helpful in determining my plan to take the test based on my previous exams. I felt discouraged because I hadn't broken past 670 on any diagnostic, but my instructor encouraged me to keep studying and I ended up getting a solid score on test day.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 23, 2016
Virginiahmiller

Joined: Aug 23, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V44

Well structured and effective!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I highly recommend the 9-week Manhattan Prep course. Isaac was an incredible instructor, structuring a course that iteratively built-up different skills in a totally manageable yet appropriately challenging way. The class involved a lot of actual problem solving as well which was great and helped drive home the lessons. The only downside to any of these classes is having a room full of people with varying strengths and skill sets. That said, Isaac was willing to dedicate extra time after class and during breaks to answering specific questions, and he took the time to recommend alternative study strategies to those looking for more focus in one area.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 03, 2016
tbctaylor1

Joined: Aug 03, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q49 V40

Great Experience with Manhattan

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My GMAT study experience with Isaac Puglia and the Manhattan Prep Course materials was fantastic. In addition to refreshing myself on long forgotten quantitative and verbal materials, Isaac was able to help me create a test taking strategy that proved to be very beneficial as I achieved my goal score. From my time with Isaac, I learned that reaching your target GMAT score was about more than simply memorizing the materials and method for each style of problem. Instead, you must also strategically work your way through the test in order to properly allocate time and mental resources for challenging problems at the end of each section. I was able to learn tricks that allowed me to speed through average difficulty problems and bank myself more time to finish each section strong. Isaac was very engaging throughout the process and I would highly recommend his services and the Manhattan program as a whole to any potential GMAT test takers.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.