GMAT Club

Maria Wich-Vila Reviews

Company: ApplicantLab


5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 149 reviews
August 03, 2022
kgsin

Joined: Jul 07, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44 (Online)

Very amazing service

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

You DEFINITELY want to get this tool for your MBA applications. Trust me. During my time applying for B-School, I reached out to >25 students/alums of the M7, and at least 3 people brought up ApplicantLab as their singlemost helpful resource for ace-ing their applications and interviews. I decided to get it for myself, and there were so many helpful tips and tricks I couldn't even believe how affordable the service was, considering what I was getting out of it. Seriously. There were tons of school-specific information which really made my applications a lot more targeted, and thanks to ApplicantLab, I received 2 offers - one from HSW and another from another M7 school. There is even tips for choosing schools and potential scholarship discussions in the tool. I had a proper admissions consultant on the side (paying 10x++ the amount), and I definitely got way more value from this tool. I promise you. This tool is definitely going to be worth every cent.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 30, 2022
VirajA

Joined: Jan 30, 2020

Posts: 5

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38 (Online)

Great help at a reasonable fee

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Applicant lab is a great tool for someone who is looking for essay advice but does not want to put a hole in their wallets for the same. I have been using Applicant Lab for some time now, and the advice that Maria gives is just top notch. Even though it is priced on the lower end compared to others, there is nothing that Maria has left out in terms of essay, resume , recommendations and interview advice. It is very convenient since everything that one needs for their applications is provided in one place. I highly recommend this to everyone preparing for their applications.

Read More

July 25, 2022
buenosano

Joined: Jul 25, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Game-changing!! Admitted with scholarship into top school!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Maria for reviewing my CV and MBA "narrative". As an engineer with a low GPA and relatively little work experience, I initially found the application process ENORMOUSLY daunting.

Maria distilled mountains of wisdom through her rich experience in the domain down into (1) fun, digestible and straightforward videos, (2) an easy-to-use and insightful platform, and (3) tremendously helpful 1-1s. Every possible question/concern you might have throughout the application process, from timelines to exactly what to write in a networking email, has been built into the platform and Maria's videos. In combination with 1-1s with her/her team, not a single stone is left unturned. Seriously.

ApplicantLab is game-changing and life-changing. The honest and insightful advice Maria gives via the platform not only touches on exactly how to get into MBA, but also takes you through a realistic journey of self-reflection that will serve you well now even while starting your MBA journey. Also, a review cannot be complete without mentioning the EXTREMELY helpful 1-1s with Maria and/or her team -- they are not only detailed and astoundingly responsive, but EXCEEDINGLY generous with their time and critique. Maria completely revamped my resume, helped me figure out which programs would be a best fit, and asked the right questions that not only shaped my MBA application, but my career goals.

I'm certain beyond a doubt that I would not have been admitted into a top program, let alone with a scholarship, without ApplicantLab -- and I don't think any traditional consulting service could have worked this miracle, not to mention at a FRACTION of the cost. Give this platform a try; you won't regret it!!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 25, 2022
cmlpeterson

Joined: Jul 25, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q42 V34 (Online)

640 GMAT and I got into Harvard 2+2 with ApplicantLab!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I decided to apply to deferred MBA programs during the fall semester of my senior year in college and utilized ApplicantLab’s platform to guide me through the application process the following semester. I had a 640 GMAT (taken only once) and got into Harvard Business School’s 2+2 Program for the Class of 2022.

3 Reasons I HIGHLY RECOMMEND ApplicantLab:
1. ApplicantLab was founded by a HBS MBA who went through the application process herself.
I found that many other consulting companies were created by people who don’t have an MBA and thought it was a little weird that people are consulting on a process they haven’t gone through themselves. As I went through the guidance videos on ApplicantLab’s platform, many times Maria (the founder) would mention what she and her peers went through in the application process (what worked, what didn’t work) and I found this information very valuable as I was thinking about what I wanted to include in my application. Her videos are also funny and she encourages the listener many times to step back and not look at the process so seriously. It felt like a very authentic and engaging way to learn the in’s and out’s of the process.
2. The platform is simple and affordable.
The platform is super easy to use and very very affordable compared to many of the consulting services out there. In my opinion, when it comes to more than 60% of the application, I didn’t need personalized consulting. There is a lot of general admissions consulting advice that I found incredibly useful and found that I was able to easily apply it to my life and my application. I think paying thousands of $ for a personal admissions consultant is not necessary at all and ApplicantLab has the program set up to allow you to get the general admissions advice, and then provides a space that forces you to make those connections and to write them down right next to it (this became very helpful later when writing essays and thinking about the application as a whole).
3. There’s an option to purchase extra personalized consulting specific to your needs.
Lastly, in any of the other areas where you feel like you need a more personalized look or a “Sanity Check” leading up to the deadline, ApplicantLab provides that option and integrates everything you’ve already done on their platform to make it easier to take EVERYTHING you’ve written under consideration when someone looks at your profile and gives suggestions. I took advantage of this leading up to my application deadline and found it incredibly useful. My reviewer took all of my answers in my general ApplicantLab platform + my resume and gave me great advice and an outside perspective.

I have and will continue recommending ApplicantLab’s platform to all my fellow peers interested in business school in the future. I could not be more grateful for ApplicantLab and I’m super excited to attend HBS!! :)

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 21, 2022
IBtoTech

Joined: Dec 29, 2021

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q49 V42

ApplicantLab got me into HBS 2+2

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As a student applying to deferred programs, I was hesitant to use ApplicantLab as it seemed expensive (a real 1-1 consultant was way out of my budget). I decided to bite the bullet however and it was the best decision I made for my applications. I only applied to 3 schools but the amount of school-specific knowledge and advice in ApplicantLab was crazy - if you are applying to more schools then I can only imagine it will be of even more value to you. I was interviewed at all 3 of the schools - I’m convinced this would not have been the case if I did not follow the essay advice on the Lab.

I cannot recommend this product enough. If you are willing to go through the Lab and learn and follow the advice, ApplicantLab is 1000% worth it.

Read More

July 18, 2022
BSMIFWTHEGMAT

Joined: Jun 26, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q48 V45

Great, Cheap Service offering Premium Advice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was admitted to an M7 with a weak profile and interviewed at at every other school I applied to (other M7s) using this service as my only guideline to writing my application. I was able to craft a great story using the essay and application advice in here as well as Maria and her team's feedback after emailing her a couple of times. They offer specific advice for different backgrounds and different MBA goals - you will be able to relate to this advice regardless of your background or how strong you are as an applicant. Maria has considered all angles when putting this together.

If you can't afford a consultant (or consider one unnecessary), try this out, its a great way to put together your apps efficiently for a reasonable price point.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 20, 2022
Kiln

Joined: Apr 12, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q40 V45

Excellent service!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

ApplicantLab was a life-saver! The user interface is easy to navigate. The videos are full of insight (and humourous!). In short, the advice is excellent. ApplicantLab helped me structure my thoughts, so that I could write the most impactful admissions essays that I could have hoped to. There is good advice on every little detail of what should (and should not!) go into the essays, so that you can really pack a punch into 500 words.
The section on advice for Interviews is excellent, too. Again, ApplicantLab guides you with insightful questions/prompts, and helps you structure your answers to a variety of potential interview questions.
The MBA admissions process is exhausting. I am glad I had ApplicantLab to support me. I am certain I would not have received an offer of admission without its help. Great value for money. I recommend their service whole heartedly!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 02, 2022
joutslay

Joined: Apr 01, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Everything an Serious MBA Applicant Needs

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

If you are serious about your MBA application, and if you are applying to a top business school, ApplicantLab provides everything a serious MBA applicant needs to create your best application. I can confidently say that ApplicantLab quite literally changed my life, as there was no way I would have gotten accepted to Chicago Booth without it.

When I started my MBA application process, I figured I would do it all independently. I thought I could "bootstrap" my way to a successful application. However, after struggling to craft a compelling narrative while writing my essays and drafting my resume, I researched consultant services. I loved the breadth of resources available on ApplicantLab and that I could work through the portal at my own pace. ApplicantLab helped me perfect my resume, design a compelling narrative for my essays, and prepare for my interviews.

ApplicantLab was worth every penny. Going to business school has been my dream, and I am so thankful that ApplicantLab gave me the necessary tools to put together my very best application. In my view, ApplicantLab is the best business school consultant service in the industry.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 01, 2022
LobnaDawoud

Joined: Dec 23, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q47 V38

ApplicantLab is AMAZING! You don't want to miss out on it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

ApplicantLab offers very succinct, structured and comprehensive advice and guidance that were extremely helpful for me throughout my preparation phase. It was very easy to navigate the platform without getting bored or overwhelmed with information. There are a lot of videos that make the learning experience insightful and fun at the same time. Also, it helped me plan for my next steps and remain disciplined in my prep.

Incredible affordable, great value for money, and amazing service and support from the entire team.

Also, I found the essay review service quite helpful. Maria provided really helpful and candid feedback that helped push my essays to the next level and create the best version of my application. She was always there to answer questions in detail and always made time for me. Maria always pointed me in the right direction and I consider myself lucky to have worked with her. It was also fun interacting with Maria.

Couldn't recommend ApplicantLab enough!!! It helped me get into my dream school.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 28, 2022
Claire22

Joined: Mar 28, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V39

Don't miss out on Applicant Lab, it got me into Yale

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

How did I get to know the applicant lab? As a round 2 applicant, I was struggling to put together my essays, resumes. Around December, I was watching one youtube video on GMAT Club where Maria talked about the MBA resume and it immediately caught my attention by how much insight she provided for the admission process. Thanks to her 15 years of working experience in this field.

As an online platform, I wasn't 100% sure if it would be reliable. So I started out with the free trial and made use of the free sections, gauging whether I should subscribe to the full service. And I did! Because it was so helpful and insightful and completely changed how I viewed my profile and application strategy.

Thinking back, I wish I had watched the youtube video sooner so I can use the applicant lab sooner before my submission. But even only using it about 1 month before the submission deadline, I had, fortunately, got admitted to Yale.

For those more interested in specifically what I found most helpful, here are some general take-aways
1- Maria knows every single detail of the admission process and she shared it in great detail in the applicant lab. From how to structure your stories, shining a light on your achievements and making you stand out, to how to address your shortcoming e.g. lack of formal leadership experiences. I am extremely grateful for this portion because with her advice and objective view I was able to see positives in my profile and be more confident to sell them to the AO.

Second, what's great about it is also once you paid for it, you can access it anytime, anywhere. No need to schedule any appointment and all the information you need is readily available.

Lastly, don't think that because this is an online platform and you're left alone after payment. Carin and Maria actually handle queries you have and they are so responsive and thorough in their response that you feel like they are not just trying to get the most $$ from you but rather really trying to maximize your chances of success.

Overall, I had a great experience using the applicant lab and I have already recommended it to my friends who are also planning to apply for an MBA, same to any one of you who are planning for an MBA. Get Applicant Lab, try it out, and your chances of getting the offer you want would surely increase.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.