GMAT Club

ApplicantLab On-Demand Admissions Guidance Tool Reviews

Admissions is a tough game; we teach you how to win it. ApplicantLab is an on-demand series of interactive exercises that walk you through everything you need to craft a winning application. Created by an HBS grad with almost 15 years of experience, ApplicantLab takes admissions consultants’ tools and puts them in your hands. Learn more.
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
127
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 128 reviews
July 31, 2020
CuriosAlpaca

Joined: May 27, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q48 V38

ApplicantLab helped me get into LBS

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

ApplicantLab is just the best tool out there! I needed help in preparing for my LBS interview and purchaed the tool, which I think is the perfect one-stop shop for MBA interview prep. The material is exhaustive and I'm sure I would have benefitted more had I bought access to the tool much earlier.

After going through the modules, I wanted to do some live prep. I booked a session with Maria, and I got a lot more out of the 90 mins that I thought I would - we deep dived into all the questions I needed help on and I also got a pulse check on my overall storyline for my long and short term goals.

Maria came thouroughly prepared for the session and knew my application inside out. She listens and provides tailored and actionable feedback. The overall prep experience injected the right dose of confidence which came across during my interview. My only regret is that not starting out with the product sooner prior to crafitng my essays. Highly recommend Maria and ApplicantLab!

Read More

January 05, 2021
Alexan677

Joined: Jan 05, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I am a white female with 7+ years of professional experience and was only willing to leave my job for very specific programs, so going into the application process I knew this was my last shot. This pressure initially pointed me towards the standard MBA consultant. I physically could not stomach the insane price tags that came with that one-on-one help, but luckily a friend of mine alerted me to ApplicantLab. I can not recommend this platform enough!!! ApplicantLab provided easy to use, step-by-step instructions to help me clearly define why I wanted the MBA. During essay writing, ApplicantLab helped me break down the questions to understand what the schools were asking. The best part though was that in the end, the essays sounded like ME! I got to keep my authentic voice, and didn't feel like I was "cheating" the system, but was also sure that I was presenting myself in a way that showcased my strengths. The platform exceeded my expectations by far!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 05, 2021
hassanesufally123

Joined: Aug 10, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Applicant Lab Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

To whom it may concern,

Hello! I am writing a review on my experience using Applicant Lab.

- The advice is school-specific and helped me craft my answers to each school differently while still being easy to use.

- Goes through what the ADCOM themselves are thinking when they read your application

- Maria is hilarious! The way she intersperses humour in between the advice is really good and keeps things interesting.

- The Lab gives you in-depth analysis as to what your strengths and your weakness are and how to leverage and explain them respectively.

- It goes through interview prep as well.

- Basically, it is an all-in-one admissions prep! With specific advice for each school.

- On top of this Maria and Carin reply back very fast and their advice is very good and consistent with what's in the lab. This extra support was extremely beneficial to me as it helped me craft my application more specifically!

- For someone like me who's an athlete applying to B-School they really helped frame my stories and brings the best ones to the forefront. I did not see this elsewhere!

Overall I would give it a 10/10, 5 stars, and my full approval! It's affordable and a great resource to get a third person's view on your application to B- School!

Thank you so much Maria and Carin!

Read More

December 29, 2020
hawaiirss

Joined: Dec 01, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q44 V37

INCREDIBLE INVESTMENT-T15 $$$!! (Low GMAT and Non-Traditional)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Prior to Applicant Lab, I was really insecure about my GMAT score and was not expecting to get into a top MBA program (or any scholarships).

Working with Carin has exceeded my own expectations: I was recently accepted to a Top MBA program where most of my tuition will be paid for (70%)! I don't think I'd have had the same results without Applicant Lab and here's why:

1) The information on Applicant Lab is incredibly thorough. You will understand what business schools are looking for in a very honest, straightforward/easily digestible way. Every question you have is probably answered somewhere in applicant lab. Resources are accessible 24/7-- super convenient when you're working a full-time job-- all for a few hundred bucks! You do not need to spend 10K on MBA application advice.. (in my opinion)

2) I got constructive advice from *Carin* which REALLY elevated the quality of my application and I felt SUPER confident submitting my application before the deadline. Carin is friendly but honest-- she pointed out ALL the weak parts of my app and suggested ways to improve them. With Carin's help I was also able to leverage my strengths/unique aspects of my story!

Having her guidance really saved me ALOT of time, effort and anxiety while writing my essays. I think my stress levels would've been much much higher without Applicant Lab and Carin's guidance.

Nothing but great things to say about Applicant Lab! Such an amazing resource with GREAT people behind it.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 22, 2020
scienzifique

Joined: Aug 21, 2019

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q50 V36

Amazing tool! Admitted to Yale SOM/ Kellogg/ HBS

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

I signed up for the Applicantlab services, not really sure what to expect. I researched multiple consulting services (the usual complimentary 30 minutes of 1:1 consulting) and prices were out of reach. Applicantlab seemed a safer bet in comparison and I am delighted with my choice. The resources are phenomenal, Maria walks you through each school and, believe me, EVERY POSSIBLE question you might have. The material is updated to include the latest application requirements and the detail level is amazing. The process is beautifully designed to let you efficiently brainstorm for your career vision, the resume, and organize your thoughts to draft your essay in a way that brings out the qualities every specific school looks for.
I also worked with Maria on my essay and interview prep. She's amazing and her advice is strong and honest!
I couldn't have hoped for a better outcome!

Read More

December 18, 2020
rish03

Joined: Mar 20, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
770 Q50 V46

Super helpful customized guidance for top business schools!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

To give some background before I start the review - I come from an overrepresented minority and have admits to 4 top business schools including 3 M7s.

For two (MIT Sloan,Ross) out of the four admits I have, my application was 100% based on the advice I got from Applicant Lab. And while I did work with an external consultant for the other two schools I have been admitted to, I can vouch that Applicant Lab was an invaluable source of guidance for me which I constantly referred to during the application process.

The guidance available at Applicant Lab for top business schools is beyond amazing! The guidance is provided through written prompts and some super engaging videos by Maria. The platform is well structured and helps you do the same with your application.

The insights that the lab provided for all stages of the application, be it on brainstorming goals, drafting your resume, selecting stories for your recommendation and structuring the essays were bang-on. Infact, there was insightful guidance available for short-answer application prompts which are often taken casually but can be tactically leveraged to demonstrate personality and differentiate yourself from a ton of applicants.

Moreover, Carin and Maria are always available to promptly respond to any additional questions that you may have.

I highly recommend Applicant Lab for anyone who is looking to start the strenuous MBA application journey on their own or looking for additional insights if working with a consultant. It's a micro-investment and totally worth it!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 17, 2020
zmcnally2023

Joined: Dec 17, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
770 Q49 V46

Fantastic Product - Highly Recommend to Anyone

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Maria has created a truly wonderful product! I only used ApplicantLab and did not pay for an expensive consultant and I was blown away! I was admitted at all four schools I applied to (HBS, Wharton, Booth, and Kellogg) and I'll be attending HBS starting next fall! The product is extremely easy to use, you can move at your own pace, and all the information is tailored to the specific school you are applying to. Maria's videos are super helpful and the modules that help you reflect on your own experiences are great ways of pulling out stories for your essays and interviews. The interview module really helped me prepare for the most common interview questions and made me feel confident going into my interviews. For only $300, you cannot beat this deal! I would have paid $1,000 for ApplicantLab!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 09, 2020
RenanBragion

Joined: Jun 01, 2020

Posts: 149

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
760 Q48 V46

Great, super helpful!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I was very skeptical at first because the idea of an on-demand service felt strange to me, but the Lab was the best investment I could have made. This is a self-guided system with tips and multiple videos by Maria. The videos are super helpful and, to me, served as a guide to help me write my application. She walks us in detail through all steps of the process, giving tips that were pivotal to my application, especially for the essays, resume and interview. In my case, I followed all advices from the ApplicantLab to craft my application and hired a consultant in my country to help me edit it and practice for interviews.

Read More

December 08, 2020
awl1989

Joined: Dec 08, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Booth, LBS Admit Very Happy with Applicant Lab!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

ApplicantLab was incredibly helpful for me.

Toward the end of the admissions process, I was totally stuck on my essays, and pretty close to giving up on my apps. I knew I needed guidance by the price tags of the traditional MBA consultants was discouraging, so I gave ApplicantLab a shot. I figured there was nothing to lose given it was a tiny fraction of the price.

I am so glad I did because the product was incredibly helpful. The interface is easy to use and really helps you organize your thinking. The school specific guidance was so useful for progressing my essays - and Maria's videos are all very engagement, information and at times hilarious. In addition, Maria was very prompt in responding to additional questions I sent throughout the process.

I recently was admitted to LBS and Booth and genuinely don't think I would have without ApplicantLab. Thank you Maria! I can't recommend ApplicantLab enough.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 17, 2020
gghhpp

Joined: Oct 17, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

HBS 2+2 Admit

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Maria is a critical part of my MBA application process. As a senior in college and someone from a normal family, I could not afford those overpriced consulting services online, and that was why I initially chose the Applicant Lab.

Honestly, this turned out to be one of the best investments I made during my application. As a matter of fact, I've tried some of those "free 30min consultations" at other places and none of those shed any new insights on what I have already known. The Applicant Lab, however, was so much more substantial. Like every other DIY process, how much you get out of it depends on how much you dedicate yourself to it. I took full advantage of all the resources in the lab (and there were A LOT) and learned so many insider tricks about the entire MBA application and how to present the best version of myself while still being honest. Frankly, I feel I'm a half consultant now after using the lab - I know so much about MBA app now after using the lab.

The DIY tool made me extremely confident about the lab so I went on to book the sanity check, and then the essay and interview session with Maria, which were even more helpful! She really is one of the best persons in this field.

I rarely write reviews but I felt that I had to this time, because I truly appreciate the help I got and everything Maria was doing with the Applicant Lab. As a college student with no income yet, I'd have been completely on my own without the lab, but again, with the lab, I don't think I need those expensive consultants anymore. Maria, I said it to you privately before but again thanks so much! And for future applicants, I highly recommend trying out the Lab. There is a free trial version with your GmatClub account and you will know what I mean after giving it a shot.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.