GMAT Club

ApplicantLab On-Demand Admissions Guidance Tool Reviews

Admissions is a tough game; we teach you how to win it. ApplicantLab is an on-demand series of interactive exercises that walk you through everything you need to craft a winning application. Created by an HBS grad with almost 15 years of experience, ApplicantLab takes admissions consultants’ tools and puts them in your hands. Learn more.
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
160
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 162 reviews
December 13, 2021
scbrown001

Joined: Sep 08, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q44 V45

Structure and sense-checking, great value

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

ApplicantLab's process, checklists, and advice empowers you to create your own best application. The insight that Maria brings is invaluable and helps sharpen your own unique personality in each application. I knew I wanted to apply to business school and believed I could drive the action myself as long as someone helped point me in the right direction. ApplicantLab's resources and analysis of admissions committees trends make it easy to emphasize the points that matter and spend time finding the school that you fit with best.

On top of that, the customer service/support from Maria and her team is unparalleled. When I was unsure of how to approach a recommender I sent a message to the support email and received a human, helpful response quickly.

I'm certain that my success in applications can be largely attributed to my preparation with applicantLab

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 04, 2022
divijavaddi

Joined: Aug 05, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great support, great value and great advice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I started applying for MBA's around two years ago and used both ApplicantLab and another very popular/well known MBA consulting service for the first year of applications and only used ApplicantLab for the second year (in which I was successful in getting a place). Here are my comments:
- The consultant I was working with (Carin Nelson) was very supportive and every piece of feedback she gave was very specific to me and my application. She was very responsive whenever I had ANY questions about anything which was very useful during stressful times.
- My mock interview with Carin was also the most effective/useful $500ish that I have ever spent with respect to MBA applications. During that 2 hour interview + feedback session I had with her, I learnt more about how to speak in interviews and how to present myself to interviewers than I had ever done during the 2 years that I had worked towards getting accepted into a top MBA programme.
- The other consulting service gave me a fish and ApplicantLab taught me how to fish. I guess my phrasing is cheesy but the way in which ApplicantLab is structured helped me learn how to take ownership of my application and gave me the skills required to present myself in the best way possible. The other consulting service polished my application and story, but I didn't come out that experience feeling as if I could tackle another MBA application-type situation if I was forced to face it once again.
- ApplicantLab's fees for the 1 year membership was less than half of the price charged by the other consulting service for an hour of their time

One caveat I really do have to mention is that with ApplicantLab, you need to have at least some sort of clarity on where you want to apply and what you want to do with your MBA. Perhaps other consultants might be able to help with that but I wouldn't know as I approached the other service after I had figured out my MBA story.

Overall, I think the title of this review summarises my impression of ApplicantLab really well: great support, great value and great advice.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 20, 2022
Kiln

Joined: Apr 12, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q40 V45

Excellent service!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

ApplicantLab was a life-saver! The user interface is easy to navigate. The videos are full of insight (and humourous!). In short, the advice is excellent. ApplicantLab helped me structure my thoughts, so that I could write the most impactful admissions essays that I could have hoped to. There is good advice on every little detail of what should (and should not!) go into the essays, so that you can really pack a punch into 500 words.
The section on advice for Interviews is excellent, too. Again, ApplicantLab guides you with insightful questions/prompts, and helps you structure your answers to a variety of potential interview questions.
The MBA admissions process is exhausting. I am glad I had ApplicantLab to support me. I am certain I would not have received an offer of admission without its help. Great value for money. I recommend their service whole heartedly!

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 19, 2022
blackbirdpie

Joined: Apr 19, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V44

Amazing value and quality guidance (M7 admit)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Applying to MBAs can feel like a second job at times with tons of ambiguity to navigate, but ApplicantLab takes so much of the stress away by bringing loads of transparency and structure to the process. I love how easy the platform is to use, and how it empowered me to approach my applications confidently at my own pace through its wealth of content, advice, and exercises to support every imaginable step and question you would encounter while applying.

I also engaged Carin and Maria's services for personalized essay feedback and interview prep - they are both amazing advisors who provided super honest and actionable feedback in a really personable way. My story definitely came out a lot stronger after their help.

For the price ApplicantLab is charging vs. other consultants, this really is a no brainer - I cannot recommend them enough.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 02, 2022
joutslay

Joined: Apr 01, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Everything an Serious MBA Applicant Needs

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

If you are serious about your MBA application, and if you are applying to a top business school, ApplicantLab provides everything a serious MBA applicant needs to create your best application. I can confidently say that ApplicantLab quite literally changed my life, as there was no way I would have gotten accepted to Chicago Booth without it.

When I started my MBA application process, I figured I would do it all independently. I thought I could "bootstrap" my way to a successful application. However, after struggling to craft a compelling narrative while writing my essays and drafting my resume, I researched consultant services. I loved the breadth of resources available on ApplicantLab and that I could work through the portal at my own pace. ApplicantLab helped me perfect my resume, design a compelling narrative for my essays, and prepare for my interviews.

ApplicantLab was worth every penny. Going to business school has been my dream, and I am so thankful that ApplicantLab gave me the necessary tools to put together my very best application. In my view, ApplicantLab is the best business school consultant service in the industry.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 01, 2022
LobnaDawoud

Joined: Dec 23, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q47 V38

ApplicantLab is AMAZING! You don't want to miss out on it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

ApplicantLab offers very succinct, structured and comprehensive advice and guidance that were extremely helpful for me throughout my preparation phase. It was very easy to navigate the platform without getting bored or overwhelmed with information. There are a lot of videos that make the learning experience insightful and fun at the same time. Also, it helped me plan for my next steps and remain disciplined in my prep.

Incredible affordable, great value for money, and amazing service and support from the entire team.

Also, I found the essay review service quite helpful. Maria provided really helpful and candid feedback that helped push my essays to the next level and create the best version of my application. She was always there to answer questions in detail and always made time for me. Maria always pointed me in the right direction and I consider myself lucky to have worked with her. It was also fun interacting with Maria.

Couldn't recommend ApplicantLab enough!!! It helped me get into my dream school.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 29, 2022
sloppywasabi

Joined: Mar 08, 2022

Posts: 4

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
740 Q47 V45 (Online)

ApplicantLab - Highly Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I found ApplicantLab's services to be incredibly useful. As a career switcher from the public policy sector, I was unsure about how to optimally convey my past experience and need for an MBA to admissions committees. I used ApplicantLab's branding module and resume review services to construct an effective personal brand and "Why MBA?" story that helped me stand out from the pack. I also found ApplicantLab's school-specific essay advice to be very effective in tailoring my supplemental essays. The money that I spent on ApplicantLab has easily paid for itself in multiple acceptance and scholarship offers. I would highly recommend ApplicantLab to any MBA applicant, but especially self-directed career switchers who are curious about how to effectively communicate their "story" throughout the admissions process.

Read More

March 28, 2022
Claire22

Joined: Mar 28, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V39

Don't miss out on Applicant Lab, it got me into Yale

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

How did I get to know the applicant lab? As a round 2 applicant, I was struggling to put together my essays, resumes. Around December, I was watching one youtube video on GMAT Club where Maria talked about the MBA resume and it immediately caught my attention by how much insight she provided for the admission process. Thanks to her 15 years of working experience in this field.

As an online platform, I wasn't 100% sure if it would be reliable. So I started out with the free trial and made use of the free sections, gauging whether I should subscribe to the full service. And I did! Because it was so helpful and insightful and completely changed how I viewed my profile and application strategy.

Thinking back, I wish I had watched the youtube video sooner so I can use the applicant lab sooner before my submission. But even only using it about 1 month before the submission deadline, I had, fortunately, got admitted to Yale.

For those more interested in specifically what I found most helpful, here are some general take-aways
1- Maria knows every single detail of the admission process and she shared it in great detail in the applicant lab. From how to structure your stories, shining a light on your achievements and making you stand out, to how to address your shortcoming e.g. lack of formal leadership experiences. I am extremely grateful for this portion because with her advice and objective view I was able to see positives in my profile and be more confident to sell them to the AO.

Second, what's great about it is also once you paid for it, you can access it anytime, anywhere. No need to schedule any appointment and all the information you need is readily available.

Lastly, don't think that because this is an online platform and you're left alone after payment. Carin and Maria actually handle queries you have and they are so responsive and thorough in their response that you feel like they are not just trying to get the most $$ from you but rather really trying to maximize your chances of success.

Overall, I had a great experience using the applicant lab and I have already recommended it to my friends who are also planning to apply for an MBA, same to any one of you who are planning for an MBA. Get Applicant Lab, try it out, and your chances of getting the offer you want would surely increase.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 04, 2022
dachshundlover237

Joined: Feb 04, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

SO helpful! Do not sleep on ApplicantLab

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Love ApplicantLab. It provided all the information I needed to put together a great application. I loved Maria's guidance and videos! The school specific information when crafting essays and interviews were particularly helpful as well. I was considering using another more expensive consultant but after a recommendation for ApplicantLab I'm so glad I used this!

Also for unique questions I reached out to ApplicantLab - I'm dealing with a situation where I am considering multiple schools but also contemplating taking a promotion in another city and Maria answered in 1 DAY! She is so helpful and kind and love her service offerings.

the MBA application process can feel daunting at times so you don't want to add another thing you spend money on to add to your list before you drop a ton of money on tuition. But this is WORTH IT - do not sleep on ApplicantLab, it truly was a lifesaver for me.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 26, 2022
smx

Joined: Jan 13, 2022

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

ApplicantLab is Extremely Helpful during my Application Process

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Application Lab is extremely helpful during my MBA application process. I came from a nontraditional background and was not too familiar with the MBA application process. A friend of mine recommended me the website. After I sign-up I thought it was the best decision.

What I like about this website it’s how comprehensive it is for each step of the way. It took a extremely structured approach and have a detailed breakdowns for each stage.

I really like the recorded videos. Those are helpful because I can always playback for the episodes that I thought were helpful. And they’re very easy to digest. I would not be able to get into my dream school without the application Lab. I would love to think Maria for her effort to bring us an affordable solution to the MBA Application.

Read More

verify-zero-posts
This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.