GMAT Club

Ryan McGorman Reviews

Company: Veritas Prep


4.7 /5 Average Rating
Based on 15 reviews
June 29, 2019
rnweaver19

Joined: Jun 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V44

Huge Improvement Thanks to Ryan McGorman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Without Ryan's instruction, I would not have made the huge improvement that I did over the course of his 9-session class. The structure of his class was very well balanced, as we spent enough time both digging in on concepts and going through OG problems. I found Ryan to be particularly helpful when it came to the Verbal portion of the test. He was able to help me understand how to quickly and efficiently identify what a SC problem was testing, how to deconstruct a complex CR problem, and how to simplify and take away what was necessary from a complex Reading Comp passage. My Verbal score improved from a 35 before the course to a 44 on my first GMAT attempt. I also saw big improvement in my Quant score, going from a 41 before the course to a 46 on the exam. Highly recommend Ryan, thanks!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 05, 2019
Stephen96

Joined: Jan 05, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710

GMAT Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Ryan was a great instructor who made Saturday morning classes lively (not an easy thing to do) with his passion for helping students improve their GMAT scores and reach their potential. On my first practice test, I was in the 600 range and by the end Ryan helped me raise my score by more than one hundred points. His dedication and willingness to answer questions at any time through email or in class was most helpful. He is more than willing to spend time after class to help you understand a problem or explain a topic in more detail. I highly recommend Manhattan Prep.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 21, 2019
cosmonv

Joined: Jan 14, 2019

Posts: 12

Kudos: 13

Verified score:
750 Q48 V44

Great group class program

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

OVERALL: I recommend this class if you know what you need to work on and are looking for a group setting and if you're trying to get to high 600s-low 700s. If you're trying to get to high 700s, I would recommend a private tutor instead (once you are consistently getting high 600s), because you will not be hitting those less-frequently-tested subjects during this class.

RESULTS: I was getting about 630 on my practice exams (I was using Manhattan Prep practice exams which are notoriously harder than the actual exam). My first real exam I got a 710 and then I hired a private tutor from Manhattan Prep. I took the exam again and got a 720, but on my third time got a 750.

PREPARATION: I had done very minimal preparation work before signing up for this class. I had done a few online quizzes and quickly realized that I wasn't just going to be able to wing the GMAT exam. I signed up for this class and really committed to it - I went to every lesson and did all the homework, etc.

RESOURCES: The Manhattan Prep portal is very easy and straightforward to use. You can set up and take infinite quizzes online and even specify them to subjects you want to test. There's a page where you can analyze the problems you got wrong as well. They give you all the Manhattan Prep books which I found very useful for preparing for the exam - many forums recommend these books, but they are included when you sign up for a class. They also give you a GMAT scratch sheet (and special pen) which is VERY helpful for when you take the actual exam and they teach you how to set up your scratch work most efficiently (time is so crucial on the exam!). They also gave us a copy of mbaMission's Complete Start-to-Finish MBA guide which I found helpful for applying to school, particularly when I was trying to figure it all out.

COURSE SET UP: The class meets once a week for three hours, with a break around half time. We spent about half the time on quant and then half the time on verbal. We did not really spend any time on the writing section and limited time on IR. You have a significant amount of homework (this is where you work on IR). You will get as much from the class as you put into it, so you do really need to do the homework.

INSTRUCTOR: My instructor was very knowledgable and helpful. He made class fun as well - a three hour class can be rough especially after a full work day, but he made it enjoyable.

CLASSES: As this is a group setting, we obviously don't have time to go off on tangents to whatever any particular student's weakness is. However, I think we covered a lot of the basics - enough that you should be able to get a good score.

Read More

February 13, 2019
GMAT2020Taker

Joined: Dec 08, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Manhattan Prep in person course: A great place to start

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took my first diagnostic test back in Nov 2017 and scored a 520. I decided to do a 9 session in person class with Manhattan Prep every Saturday. Ryan was an awesome instructor and the class was very collaborative. He created a great learning environment, where my classmates and I strove to help each other understand tricky questions and materials. The course provided a great framework for my GMAT studying. However, I do think most people will need to study for several months or use other services to propell them to higher scores. After Manhattan Prep I scored a 640 & 670 respectively. It wasn't until I used tutoring and TTP that I was able to get to my target score (740).

Read More

January 16, 2019
aumnai

Joined: Jan 16, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q47 V42

600 to 720 score in 9 weeks!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I knew I would need a class in order to actually spend time working on the GMAT, and the class structure was extremely helpful. Ryan McGorman is the epitome of a teacher- you can tell he's been teaching the material for a long time, and has practical suggestions on how to improve your score. I honestly didn't hold out much hope for being able to improve my score enough from my initial practice test of score of 600 (or 510 on the one Manhattan Prep gave me!), and thought it would take at least three to six months. Miraculously, I had signed myself up for an exam the week following the end of my course (all of 8 weeks), and went into it expecting not to reach my target score of 730, and actually scored a 720!!! Turns out diligently doing all the work Manhattan Prep assigned, and attending class with Ryan actually works! I listened to his advice about moving on quickly from problems that weren't my strengths, and actually finished all sections of my exam with time to spare!

I'm debating whether or not to invest time in a second exam (as they recommend since most exam takers score better on the second one), or to move on to my applications as I'm quite happy with my current score. :) Thanks Ryan McGorman and Manhattan Prep!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 04, 2019
DAMatthews

Joined: Sep 14, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
690 Q40 V44

Excellent Progress Made in Ryan McGorman's Course

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

I participated in the MPrep 9 week course in Manhattan with instructor Ryan McGorman. I really enjoyed our weekly sessions with Ryan as he was not only smart and funny but a talented teacher. The course was an excellent starting point for me in my GMAT prep. My verbal was naturally higher than my quant, but both needed plenty of refining. Ryan did an excellent job laying the groundwork for me to gain a better understand and ability with the material and really helped me boost my verbal score as well as help me figure out what areas of my quant needed the most work. The improvement on quant came largely from self-study of the Mprep material simply because the number of repetitions I needed to really understand the material would not have been possible in a class setting, but I learned some great tricks and tips. Very worthwhile class and a great instructor.

Read More

December 26, 2018
JasonTiendo898

Joined: Jun 21, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q42 V38

Private Tutoring with Ryan McGorman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After struggling to improve my GMAT score on my own, I decided to try private tutoring sessions with Ryan. Ryan helped me make great strides towards hitting my goal score by breaking down problems and material to their core. While I knew nearly all of the content in the Manhattan Prep guidebooks I couldn't seem to apply all of the information to problems until Ryan came along. Ryan has an uncanny ability to make GMAT material, which can often be dry and boring, fun and engaging. He also helped put certain problems into a context that I could more easily understand by drawing relevant analogies or even employing certain voices and characters in problems to more easily illustrate what was going on in a problem. In doing so, Ryan created several eye-opening moments for me. My favorite quality about Ryan is how he challenges you in tutoring sessions. Even if I got a question right, Ryan would force me to explain WHY it was right and other answer choices were wrong. It sounds simple, but being able to articulate why exactly certain answer choices are wrong can be tough but super rewarding. By painfully going through that exercise with Ryan, I started to recognize certain patterns and traps in problems, particularly on CR. In only a few sessions Ryan helped me raise my overall GMAT score by 60 points. Ryan is extremely smart, patient, understanding, entertaining, and can help anybody improve their score on the GMAT. If anybody is considering taking a 9-week M. Prep course or Private Tutoring, I fully endorse Ryan and his teaching abilities. Ryan will do everything in his power to help you reach or surpass your target score and will make the whole process fun and insightful.

Read More

September 27, 2018
bhs125

Joined: Aug 15, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q45 V44

Ryan was great!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Great course - focused on efficiency and strategies, rather than extraneous content. Everything I learned was very useful during the actual test. Ryan, in particular, was an awesome teacher. He was very blunt, and direct; and I even found it helpful (weirdly) to approach questions with his emphatic voice/intonations, as well as his helpful analogies. There was an optimal balance of quant vs. verbal content, and the strategies were very helpful, particularly in time management/on the quant section. Additionally, the 1-on-1 assessment during the course to help focus my strengths/weaknesses did wonders for my score. There were only 2 minor negative aspects with the curriculum: 1. Limited practice tests (more personal preference – I study best through excessive repetition, so I wanted more than 6) and 2. Slightly too much IR focus in the homework assignments.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 20, 2018
DevinDoyle

Joined: May 06, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V41

Ryan McGorman's class is VERY helpful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

To say I know what you're all going through is an understatement. Try this: I went to acting conservatory for undergrad and held low-level administrative jobs that required almost no quantitative skills whatsoever. I literally had not taken a math class in over 10 years, and when I did, I was a C student. With this background, I was very intimidated to broach data sufficiency and rate problems. Proud and poor, I resented having to invest in a prep course, but had I not, I honestly can say I would've given up on the MBA.

Enter Ryan McGorman's Manhattan Prep GMAT course. This guy gets it. He's the smart & trenchant older brother you never had, and displayed a real knack for phrasing material in a way that was conducive to my difficult learning style. He doesn't just deeply understand the material, but has a skill I rarely see in teachers: the ability to simultaneously package lessons as both useful and expansive. In other words, I never felt like I was "just" learning test-taking technique for concepts I didn't get, nor did I feel I was finally grasping a concept in a way I could never spit back in 2 minutes on the GMAT. I was learning both sides of the spectrum, slowly but surely. Ryan's got that balance down pat. He was born to teach the GMAT.

Practice Test: 570
Actual Test: 710

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 13, 2018
wrosen

Joined: Aug 13, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q43 V40

Ryan McGorman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had already been working with a tutor before meeting with Ryan, and decided to make a switch after making very little improvement and receiving a less than desirable first score. I can say quite positively that I would not have received the 720 without Ryan. All GMAT tutors know the material and can explain it, but that is not what made the difference for me. Ryan was able to pin-point my weaknesses in quant almost immediately, and was able to explain critical concepts in a palatable way. Most importantly, he did not allow me to stay in my comfort zone. He did not just explain a concept and ensure that I could repeat it back to him, but insisted that I be able to explain the reasons why it made sense. Even though it was sometimes painful, he made sure I learned these critical concepts forward and backward. I would (and have) recommend Ryan to anyone who needs an extra push and personal attention. I am extremely grateful for Ryan's help and could not speak highly enough of his talent as a tutor.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

1 Older and Non-Verified Review for Ryan McGorman