GMAT Club

myEssayReview Admissions Consulting Reviews

myEssayReview offers a dedicated, personalized, and affordable consulting service to B-School applicants. With three decades of experience as an English teacher in India and the US, Poonam Tandon, myEssayReview owner, founded this venture in 2011. Since then, Poonam has helped hundreds of students get accepted into their dream schools in the US ( Harvard , Stanford, MIT, Kellogg, Booth, Darden, Wharton, Haas, Duke, Columbia, Kelley, Emory, Tuck, Yale, Rice, UCLA, McCombs , GW, CMU, Foster, Georgia Tech, Mays, Purdue, UNC, and Wisconsin ), in Europe (LBS, HEC, INSEAD, IESE, Oxford, Cambridge, IE, Imperial, RSM, Warwick, Cranfield ,UCL, and Manchester ), in Canada ( Rotman, Schulich, Telfer, DeGroote, Ivey , and Ted Rogers), and in Asia (ISB, IIM, HKU, NUS, NUS, HKUST, and CEIBS).

A full-time consultant since 2011, Poonam works directly with each client , and to maintain the quality she is known for , she works with only 6 clients at a time. Though a majority of her clients are MBA applicants, she has also helped many students get accepted into undergraduate programs, specialized Master's programs and Ph.D. programs. Overall, Poonam has reviewed over 10,000 essays written by students from all over the world. Also, her students have won over $13,36800 in scholarships.

myEssayReview is a member of AIGAC (Association of International Graduate Admission Consultants) since 2012.

No matter where you are located, myEssayReview can help you create a stellar application that will earn you admission into your dream school. Learn more about myEssayReview.
myEssayReview Deal Page

myEssayReview Admissions Consulting Reviews

myEssayReview Multiple School Package
 $2199  $2099
Reviews
44
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed myEssayReview consultants

Poonam Tandon
Reviews
99
Average Rating
4.9

Reviews:

99 Reviews
4.9 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
September 25, 2019
CBS21

Joined: Sep 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted Into Columbia Business School! - Thanks Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Poonam helped me put the finishing touches on my essays, which gave me the engaging story I needed to earn a place at a coveted M7. While another consultant helped me get started crafting drafts of my essays, I wasn't satisfied with the final product. Poonam was recommended to me based on her creative writing style. After an in-depth Skype discussion to understand content and structure, Poonam began helping me edit and revise my essays to be more poignant and convincing. Her turnaround time was impressive and her edits always moved the ball forward. I would highly recommend her services for anyone struggling with their essay writing.

Read More

July 14, 2019
Username1738

Joined: May 03, 2019

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Fantastic Top- Tier Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I worked with Poonam on both my essay and my resume for the USC part time program and I was accepted with a scholarship. I had a very tight deadline so USC was the only school that I applied to and Poonam was absolutely amazing in helping me perfect both my essay and resume in less than 2 weeks.

She took the time to schedule two initial 45 minute video calls so she could truly understand me. She expects a lot out of her clients, which is what makes her so successful, and really pushed me on several occasions to think outside the box when drafting my story. Her greatest strength is her creativity and her ability to help you brainstorm to create a compelling story. My essay started off at 750-800 words and with Poonam's help, we got it to down to the 500 limit without losing any meaning. Poonam helped me create a masterpiece essay that I was proud of.

I was a little reluctant at first to also pay for the resume service but I'm so glad that I did because she completely transformed my resume by removing the industry jargon that Adcom has no interested in and pushed me to add the necessary content that Adcom wanted to see.

Her prices are very competitive given the amount of time that she puts into each service. I wholeheartedly recommend Poonam for anyone looking for an MBA consultant.

Read More

May 17, 2019
watermelonisme

Joined: May 17, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted into Chicago with a scholarship

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I wish to improve the quality of my graduate admission essays and increase my competence in graduate school applications. MER services provided a comprehensive package for me to achieve my goals.

The 1-hour skype session was extremely helpful, and Poonam was very professional and dedicated to her job. We went through every single detail in the resume and admission essays. It was efficient and useful to get verbal feedback. The discussion ended up being a 1 hour and 30 min skype session because of the large amount of content. I gained a lot from the session. Poonam sent me several resume templates before the first review, and they were very helpful. This gave me a better idea of the format, font, content to include in a formal resume.

For essays, Poonam gave me a lot of advice on how to effectively use stories to amplify my skills and experiences. The suggestions on the use of words and descriptions are very professional. My profile was much completer and more qualified after multiple edits. I enjoyed the tracking of changes on the content. It made a big difference when you are able to view the pre and post edits. Poonam was very good at guiding me to adjust my stories and the structures of the content to make the entire essay flow better. Poonam guided me to separate long paragraphs into multiple paragraphs, which helped the structure of the entire content to be clearer. The grammar was corrected or improved after the edits.

Poonam was very responsible and was able to revert within 48 hours and the responses were on point and detailed.

Poonam, I highly appreciate your help on my resume and admission essays. It was a great pleasure working with you, and I have certainly learned a lot. I have received an offer from the University of Chicago with a 70% scholarship and I decided to take it. Apart from that, I have also received interviews from the University of Columbia and UCLA, but the final results are not out yet.

I would like to say thank you for all the help and time you have contributed in the application process! I am impressed by your commitment and professionalism.

I will recommend you to other friends or any other graduate school applicants for the high- quality service.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 04, 2019
checkinsaheli

Joined: Jan 25, 2014

Posts: 3

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
550 Q42 V24

Loved working with Poonam Mam, #Myessayreview

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I am an egmat student and I got to know about Poonam Mam from a free session via egmat. I instantly liked it, then I read a few more reviews about her and her dedication towards admission consulting. I wanted to work with her the day I got over with my GMAT.
After my GMAT, I contacted Poonam mam. She was on a work tour but nevertheless she replied to my email and said that she would have free session with me, the first thing when she comes back. I was still left with another attempt to my GMAT exam and was in a dilemma whether to start the application work. She kept her promise, she remembered me and set up a session with me. The session lasted well beyond the stipulated time. She was so very patient and heard my confusion, my various questions and tried to answer them all. She advised me to finish off with my exam and then concentrate on my applications as I could not have managed both. She never tried to persuade me to take her services instead gave me all knowledge she could impart about applications so that I take the best decisions. Not many consultants do such a thing!
She was so warm and honest
i decided that day that I will work her. We finally started working on my Oxford Application and LORs. She was so very punctual about the work she delivers, she was always before time, answered all queries over mail, our first essay drafting session was so useful: she explained each and everything we could put in the essay, all the changes she wanted me to make, the positives and negatives. I felt very confident about the final product. After I reworked the essay I could feel the difference. She was so detailed in her reviews that you would not have any doubts. The final product was crisp and perfect. I was very happy with my application from within. I joined her on a very short notice but even then she made sure I had my essays perfectly written and before time. I admire the fact that she is so organised. I am a very anxious person who is not very organised and very fussy about the products I need to make. Poonam mam was very patient, structured and knew the art of perfection. She was also worried about the sleepless nights I was spending for application and took out time to inquire about my health, advised me to take care and not be so stressed.
Though I did not make it to Oxford, I was very happy with my application and confident too.[I knew essays were not the reason I could not get in]. I got admits from a number of universities where I used the LORs edited by her.
Even now, when I mail her regarding which university to join, she promptly replies, gives suggestions and asks me for further queries .
Poonam mam is one of the best persons I have come across, along with the professionalism and commitment she is a wonderful person besides being the best consultant. I will work with her in future when needed and do recommend her services!

Read More

April 26, 2019
Avenger2019

Joined: Apr 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted into Chicago Booth’s EMBA program. Thanks, Poonam

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I needed help with organizing my ideas into a story with which I can make an impression in the Adcom’s mind. MER did exactly that.

1 hour skype session was helpful to discuss my resume and essay questions and how to highlight my background and experience in those essays that would help me stand out from the crowd. Poonam highlighted my areas that stood out and it helped me focus my thoughts on those aspects while writing the essays. Poonam helped me highlight my strengths in my essays and get all my thoughts in a proper story telling format that would paint a picture in the reader’s mind while reading the essays.

The resume review was very detailed, and I enjoyed how Poonam changed my career jargon terms in the resume to a lay man’s language. Her editing skills are absolutely awesome!! Throughout the process, she very promptly answered any queries/questions I had. Also, the turnarounds were very quick. Because of the pace of turnaround times, I literally completed my whole application in less than 10 days from scratch with a number of edits. I am happy to say that I am admitted to Chicago Booth’s Executive MBA program.

It was great working with Poonam, and I would recommend Poonam’s services for anyone hoping to get help with the MBA application package.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2019
GMCR

Joined: Apr 26, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

My experience with MER was great. I had initially brainstormed and written 10 pages of content. I then had to choose the best parts and condense those 10 pages into 500 and 750 word essays. A few days before the 1 hour skype call, I sent this 10 page document to Poonam. She reviewed it and had a better understanding of my story. During the skype call we went over which parts of those 10 pages would fit together to form a good story. We also discussed how we would be tackling different essays from different institutions. We then started working on essays from one school at a time. The turnaround was quick. I usually responded within a day and Poonam did the same. If she was unable to respond with the 24-48 hour period due to prior commitments, she let me know in advance. Poonam also did a great job in reducing the word count and bringing it within the limit. It was hard to decide which parts to cut, but we managed to keep most of it by changing the sentence structure. She also helped me with an optional essay to explain my education gap of a year and a half.
I ended up getting admitted to all the three schools on which we worked together (GW, University of Sydney, and DeGroote at McMaster University), getting scholarships from two (GW, Sydney). Overall, it was a great experience working with Poonam, and I would recommend her services to anyone looking for guidance and help getting their essays ready.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 26, 2019
zedyx101

Joined: Jul 19, 2016

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q49 V35

I started my application late and there was only about 3 weeks left before the first school's deadline. Poonam accepted my request although it was a very busy time for her. Throughout the 5 weeks that we worked on 3 schools applications, Poonam always delivered her edits within the promised time.

Since the first video consulting session, she gave me a lot of recommendations on how to improve my resume. She paid attention to details and provide helpful suggestions to make my resume look less technical. Her questionnaires helped me to brainstorm all my past achievements and goals that later greatly helped me when I wrote essays.

Due to the very tight deadline, we didn’t have much time to discuss the content of the essays before I wrote the first drafts. However, Poonam did a wonderful job in organizing the essays and cutting unnecessary words or sentences to fit my essays within the word count. When some points were not clear, she would ask questions and helped me to better convey my thoughts.

I highly recommend Poonam’s service to other prospective candidates.

Read More

April 08, 2019
iue232

Joined: Apr 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Authentic Guidance

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After reading Poonam’s profile and testimonials, I was sure that Poonam would guide me to retain a personal touch in the essays and help portray ‘me’. I did not feel that MER is very commercially focused, rather a service that ensures proper guidance and genuine support during the tedious yet thrilling application process. I got a clear understanding of the work function methodology of MER that helped us to set appropriate expectations, areas of improvement, understanding the application from the viewpoint of ad-com. The most exciting part was connecting the dots to build a story flow.

Poonam had a very good understanding of my profile; this was evident from her suggestions during the editing process. She asked questions whenever she felt something was vague. Her manner of editing the stories while adhering to the key components in the challenging word limit keeps the message intact. The structure was logical and helped me understand the flow. Actually, Poonam’s suggestion for organizing the essays helped me learn this technique, which I have started applying to my professional work emails – the lengthy ones. I remember during one school’s essay editing process, she separated paragraphs, and that made the essay more comprehensible. For all essays, the sentence structure was crisp, and punctuations positioning were sensible. This was also very helpful during the resume preparation.

Poonam is very prompt in answering any queries and followed up if I missed any of the ongoing points of suggestion/discussion during the editing process. Poonam was very professional in turnarounds. She sent all edits within two days’ period as promised.

I am happy to say that I have received an admit offer from one of the top 20 US B-schools, and I have accepted it. Thanks, Poonam, for your guidance. Yes, I would definitely recommend MER to any of my friends looking for an admission consultant to help with their MS/MBA application process.

Read More

April 07, 2019
dennis10093

Joined: Sep 25, 2018

Posts: 4

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
580 Q44 V26
690 Q48 V35

Best MBA admissions service w/o burning your savings

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Poonam is hands down the best MBA consultant I have ever come across. She doesn't sugar code anything - she will give it to you straight, which is what you need and why you are paying for a consultant. The initial Skype session was very information, provided helpful advice for my essays and answered questions about the application process. She also knows a lot about the programs I was applying to, which made my essays stand out even more. I particularly liked the initial questionnaire, which asked just about everything about my life. It forced me to write and helped me understand my own story, which helped a lot when during the actual essay-writing process. In addition to the normal editing (sentence structure, grammar, punctuation), Poonam restructured my essays to make them flow better, tried to make them stay on topic by deleting unnecessary sentences, and asked questions to make my essays more complete.

Read More

March 31, 2019
said1920

Joined: Jan 17, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Accepted at Said!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

The reason why I signed up for the MER services is because I needed help in building my essay narratives and guidance throughout the MBA application process. The service is also recommended by many previous applicants based on online reviews and it is the most budget-friendly service out of all MBA consultants.

The one hour skype session we had was helpful especially for the initial application process. It helped me pick the suitable schools and gave me information on how to manage my expectation for the schools that I am applying to. In addition, it helped me find weak spots that I need to work on for my application such as employment gap and career switch. Poonam really took her time in understanding the stories. She has a keen eye in choosing the best stories to be presented to the admission committee. She also provided both good and bad critics on many parts of my essays throughout the editing process.

Poonam feedbacks helped me in terms of giving me a sense of how good/bad my stories are. The structure of the edited essay was definitely better. Poonam was able to re-organize sentences (or even paragraphs in some cases) to make my story more coherent. I think the editing skills were very good. She was able to reduce many redundancies on my essays and allow me to include more points in my essay.

Poonam answers queries within 1-2 days as promised. The response time for edits is as promised, which is about 1-2 days. However, if it is beyond that timeframe, it must have been caused by technical issue, so if you have not heard from her beyond 3 days, you should follow her up and she will kindly explain the reason for delay.

Overall, it has been a pleasant experience. She is very resourceful and always replies in a timely manner. Yes, I will recommend the services to prospective applicants. I am looking forward to join Oxford SAID MBA program in Fall.

Read More


37 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for myEssayReview