GMAT Club

Prep MBA Admissions Consulting Reviews

A Boutique Admissions Consultancy
Work One on One with a Harvard MBA Industry Veteran/Harvard Lecturer.
10 Years of Results and References
No Junior Consultants or Contractors
Prep MBA Deal Page

Prep MBA Admissions Consulting Reviews

Prep MBA Comprehensive School Packages
$4450
Reviews
64
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Prep MBA consultants

Alex Leventhal
Reviews
76
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

75 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
December 23, 2019
DesireLive

Joined: Mar 18, 2014

Posts: 6

Kudos: 11

Verified score:
740 Q51 V39

Going to Wharton!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Having worked with another admissions consultant in the previous year and interviewed several admissions consulting firms, Alex’s service immediately stood out to me. Whereas other consultants mainly communicated via email, Alex took the time to set up several Skype calls, including an initial video call where we just chatted about our personal lives. We got to understand each other at a much deeper level than otherwise possible through a written form or a voice call. This depth of understanding played a vital role when drafting early versions of my essays, where Alex would offer suggestions on which of my personal stories might fit best, rather than just telling me to rewrite a section.

Alex was also very accommodating to my last minute requests and unique situation. I had a recommender who was unresponsive and sent Alex a draft of his recommendation the night before the deadline. Alex stayed up late into the night to review it and called me after to calm my nerves. I can’t imagine working with anyone else.

Given that I am an Asian male (over-represented group), I purchased the 5-school package to put my best foot forward. With Alex’s help I was able to do just that and was invited to interview at Wharton, Booth, and MIT. After that, Alex’s interview prep ultimately helped me convert all three interviews into admittance offers! I was quite surprised how many of the questions Alex asked in his mocks were in the real interviews. Overall, working with Alex was a pleasure. It is a no-brainer when it comes to recommending Alex, and I have to a friend. Beyond his technical expertise, Alex is funny and personable, everything you would want from an advisor and more!

Read More

January 30, 2020
eaq22

Joined: Jan 30, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Re-admitted to target school!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I came to Alex with a pretty unique situation. During a prior application cycle, I had applied and gotten accepted to my target school. Ultimately, I declined the admission’s offer to take a flier on a startup. Fast forward 18-months and my situation had changed, I was now ready to get my MBA. Further, given my industry and geographic preferences, the same target school was an obvious first choice (and this school ended up being the only application I submitted).

I reached out to Alex approximately 2-weeks prior to the application due date—which was obviously a very short turnaround. Although some consultants might up-charge this type of time crunch, Alex rose to the challenge without blinking an eye. He quickly read through my prior (successful application) and quickly dissected a plan of attack for my new, re-application. He brought a ton of experience and advice to strengthen my application. In particular, Alex helped with my essay’s strategy, while working within the context of my prior application to clearly articulate how my situation was different this time around.

He also demonstrated in-depth knowledge about my target school’s “self-identity” versus their peers—which was critical to my application articulating a very strong “why ABC school is the only option for me.” Given I had rejected my target’s prior acceptance 2-years earlier, I think this was critical to getting readmitted. School’s care a ton about yield and Alex was quick to focus in on this as a key for me. Alex really got to know me and my unique situation. Alex doesn’t take a cookie-cutter approach to his work. Instead, all his advice felt custom to my application which added a ton of value.

I think Alex’s help was critical to my application’s success—especially given my unique situation as a re-applicant. Whether you’re a first-time applicant or have a unique situation like I did, Alex brings a dynamic and experienced approach to get the job done.

Please note: For this review, I chose to not name the school I was accepted at given my application’s uniqueness as a formerly accepted re-applicant. Think US News #8-12 range in terms of ranking. That said, I have no doubt Alex can assist across any range of schools and application situations.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 24, 2020
anon3035

Joined: Oct 13, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Awesome Consultant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I cannot recommend Alex highly enough. As a re applicant and part of an over-represented demographic, Alex was instrumental to my acceptance at Columbia Business School. I met with him for the first time 8 months before I submitted my applications, and instead of sitting on my candidacy until the spring, he began to work with me right away. He took the time to get to know me, my background, and most importantly spent weeks helping me nail down my story. By the time I actually started writing, I was incredibly confident and secure in my career narrative, which made the application process much easier than the previous year.

Alex provides a great service as well. Unlike some of the other consultants that I looked into, Alex is a one man show, ensuring that he spends quality time with each and every applicant. He is incredibly honest and isn't afraid to tell you when you are below the mark in essay drafts, mock interview answers, or career goals. However, he ensures his feedback is clear and prompt. Multiple times, Alex would call me directly to chat about my essays to ensure that I understood his feedback to make the process more efficient. I was very impressed on how his recommendations, even those that seemed seemingly minor, would substantially elevate my essays and resume. My experience with Alex was entirely positive and a big reason for my business school application success!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 27, 2019
healthcareguy99

Joined: Dec 27, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q48 V42

Prep MBA Hourly Consulting / Interview Prep Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I would definitely recommend Alex's services to anyone applying to business school. His help in crafting my essays and preparing for my interview was critical in helping me get into HBS.

When I first connected with him over the summer as a Round 1 applicant, I could immediately tell that he really valued genuinely getting to know his clients. We ended up chatting for 40 minutes about my story. His feedback about the strengths and weaknesses of my application in that first conversation were super insightful and got me thinking critically about my own story and rationale for applying to business school. I ended up working with Alex on an hourly basis on my essays for my R1 applications and then did interview prep with him for my HBS interview.

In terms of essay prep, Alex helped me identify areas where I could stand out from the crowd and he helped me add significant depth to my application. I felt that he was able to do this because he had taken the time to get to know me. Alex's feedback is honest and he brings humor into an otherwise stressful process, which I really appreciated. Once I had gotten my interview to HBS, I did mock interview prep with Alex which was fantastic! We spent over an hour running through questions as Alex provided live feedback and ways for me to improve my answers. We strategized on answers to the common and uncommon questions that may surface during an interview. Ultimately, when I interviewed, I wasn't stressed and that was thanks to prepping with Alex.

If you're considering working with an admissions consultant for business school applications, look no further. I highly recommend you work with Alex!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 20, 2019
july2019mba

Joined: Oct 16, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V39

Got into my favorite school

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As a reapplicant competing in an over-represented demographic pool, I realized I needed some professional help to improve my chance of getting into a top MBA program. I talked with a few consulting firms, and Alex stood out in that he quickly analyzed my profile and provided his honest opinion. He focused on getting to know about me instead of selling a service. I did a four-school package and eventually got into my favorite MBA program with a scholarship. Alex has always been very straightforward and honest with me during the process: he would point out the weaknesses of my essay and provide very helpful advice. I would recommend him to all the applicants who want to get into a top MBA program.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 16, 2019
ExcitedForBSchool

Joined: Dec 16, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

HBS and GSB!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

At first I wasn’t sure about whether working with a consultant made sense for me, but Alex came highly recommended from a number of colleagues at my firm who had attended top business schools, so I set up a consultation and immediately recognized how valuable his input would be.

Before offering any advice, he made a concerted effort to understand my background, interests, and goals. As we moved into the more tactical parts of the process (brainstorming essay topics, thinking through potential recommenders, etc.), he would suggest incorporating parts of this context in a way that made my personal narrative more coherent and compelling.

Alex never farms work out to junior consultants. He committed his full focus to every session. And with Alex there is no sugarcoating – he offered honest and dispassionate opinions about how various aspects of my application would come across to AdCom members.

I was fortunate to get into my top two school choices, and Alex’s help was invaluable – he brought the best out of me at every stage of the process. I recommend him highly to anyone who is serious about applying to a top MBA program.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 23, 2019
wbrandt13

Joined: Sep 23, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

NYU - First and Only Choice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I first decided that I wanted to get my MBA, I knew I wanted to go to NYU. Initially, I wasn’t sure about using an admissions consultant. However, a former boss suggested that I reach out to Alex, so I decided to give it a shot. We set up an intro call and in only 20 minutes it was clear to me that he would make a huge difference. Rather than push a sales pitch, we spent most of the call going over my credentials (GMAT score, GPA, work experience, etc.) and discussing my chances at gaining acceptance to NYU. He was quite honest about everything, which is exactly what I needed. My undergraduate GPA was below average, and I wasn’t exactly sure what direction I wanted to take my career; however, he explained that with the right approach - I had a chance.

Over the next few weeks we discussed my career and he helped me craft a cohesive story within my application. He was able to help connect all of my previous experiences and clearly explain the importance of an MBA to achieving my goals. I’m convinced that this story is what got me in to NYU, and I never would have been able to do it without Alex’s help.

Throughout the whole process he worked with me directly and was always easy to contact, whether it was to answer a quick question or review an entire essay. He’s funny, easy to talk to, and clearly very smart. He knows exactly what he’s doing when it comes to understanding the business school application process. I would strongly recommend Alex to anyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 10, 2019
cm801

Joined: Aug 10, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Alex Will Help You Craft Your Story.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

As an older applicant with a diverse background, and someone who knew little about business school admissions, I felt I needed to get a serious and experienced consultant to ensure my application is competitive.

I called several consulting firms for initial consultations and Alex stood out– he listened carefully and gave me very personalized and encouraging feedback. I could tell that he genuinely interested in me as a person and that proved extremely valuable for my application. He was also quite clear in his assessment of my chances and told me his view on the different business schools I had considered applying to.

Prep MBA is Alex’s firm – and you get to work with him, he does not have an army of junior consultants. Alex is very experienced, thoughtful and humorous – all of the calls I had with him were truly enjoyable (even the mock interview!). At the same time, working with him was very productive. He responded to my questions timely, even in the days before submission. I did a 2 school package and I got admitted to both schools – I could not have asked for a better outcome.
Alex will encourage you to think through your career plans. Do not underestimate the time and effort needed for this – but it is worth it. Alex helped me to make connections in my vita that I had not seen earlier. His input enabled me to craft a passionate and compelling application. Alex has an exceptional skill: He is able to carve out your story and write it down in your own words. I highly recommend Alex!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 15, 2019
Jordang1987

Joined: Jul 15, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Accepted to MBA Program!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Upon researching several top ranked MBA admissions consulting services through Poets & Quants, Alex stood out among the rest as he is a graduate of the prestigious Harvard Business School, possesses nearly 15 years of experience, and resides in the same city as me. During a preliminary phone call, I grew to appreciate the independence, personability, and accessibility Alex had to offer through his Prep MBA service. I was comforted in knowing that throughout such an arduous process, I would be working directly with Alex and that I wouldn’t be passed down the hierarchy to a junior consultant.

Working with Alex proved to be a truly fantastic experience. I especially appreciated his quick response to my correspondence. His turnaround time on edits was also extremely fast, but never to the sacrifice of quality. He consistently maintained an objective point of view throughout and never hesitated to indicate my strengths and weaknesses. Given my strong GPA, but weak GMAT score, Alex helped me in developing a strong professional narrative that highlighted my individuality in my essays. Additionally, Alex was stellar in preparing me for my interviews. My actual MBA interviews were verbatim to what was covered in Alex’s in-person mock interview. Without his preparation, I would have otherwise found myself stumbling.

I would highly recommend Alex Leventhal to anyone applying for their MBA. He is sharp, thorough, and most importantly, he has his finger on the pulse of the graduate admissions landscape. Thanks to Alex, I found a greater sense of direction throughout the MBA application process. As a result, I got accepted into one program and waitlisted at another.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 29, 2019
mhtarbutton

Joined: May 29, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Alex Leventhal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

As a finance undergraduate student pursuing a career in commercial real estate, I was connected with Alex Leventhal in hopes of being admitted into my dream graduate school, New York University. Alex and I spoke numerous times on the phone to dissect my academic and career goals. He helped me consolidate my thoughts into a well-structured essay that was personalized to my past experiences and future expectations. Alex always made the time and effort to connect with me and provide constructive feedback for my essay. He has an extensive knowledge of the business world and improved my overall application by meticulously reviewing every aspect of the application to ensure my success.

Alex is very passionate and diligent. He took the time to get to know me personally in order to better evaluate my career trajectory. His honesty and commitment to his business, Prep MBA, challenged me to work hard in pursuit of the outcome that I wanted. With Alex’s guidance, I confidently applied to NYU. My long-term goal was to live and work in commercial real estate in New York City so attending a graduate school in the city was integral. With the support from Alex, I was admitted to NYU’s Master of Science in Real Estate program with a concentration in Finance and Investments.

I enjoyed working with Alex and would recommend him to anyone who is seriously interested in pursuing a graduate career in business. I strongly believe he is best in the business, and his drive to provide his utmost support for me was unparalleled.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

34 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Prep MBA