GMAT Club

Prep MBA Admissions Consulting Reviews

A Boutique Admissions Consultancy
Work One on One with a Harvard MBA Industry Veteran/Harvard Lecturer.
10 Years of Results and References
No Junior Consultants or Contractors
Prep MBA Deal Page

Prep MBA Admissions Consulting Reviews

Prep MBA Comprehensive School Packages
$4450
Reviews
70
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Prep MBA consultants

Alex Leventhal
Reviews
82
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

81 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
December 23, 2019
DesireLive

Joined: Mar 18, 2014

Posts: 6

Kudos: 11

Verified score:
740 Q51 V39

Going to Wharton!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Having worked with another admissions consultant in the previous year and interviewed several admissions consulting firms, Alex’s service immediately stood out to me. Whereas other consultants mainly communicated via email, Alex took the time to set up several Skype calls, including an initial video call where we just chatted about our personal lives. We got to understand each other at a much deeper level than otherwise possible through a written form or a voice call. This depth of understanding played a vital role when drafting early versions of my essays, where Alex would offer suggestions on which of my personal stories might fit best, rather than just telling me to rewrite a section.

Alex was also very accommodating to my last minute requests and unique situation. I had a recommender who was unresponsive and sent Alex a draft of his recommendation the night before the deadline. Alex stayed up late into the night to review it and called me after to calm my nerves. I can’t imagine working with anyone else.

Given that I am an Asian male (over-represented group), I purchased the 5-school package to put my best foot forward. With Alex’s help I was able to do just that and was invited to interview at Wharton, Booth, and MIT. After that, Alex’s interview prep ultimately helped me convert all three interviews into admittance offers! I was quite surprised how many of the questions Alex asked in his mocks were in the real interviews. Overall, working with Alex was a pleasure. It is a no-brainer when it comes to recommending Alex, and I have to a friend. Beyond his technical expertise, Alex is funny and personable, everything you would want from an advisor and more!

Read More

April 01, 2020
keizra

Joined: Apr 01, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q50 V44

Accepted to HBS!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I am so glad I chose to work with Alex this year during my application process to HBS. I applied as a current medical student only to HBS for a dual MD/MBA. I had introductory calls with a number of consultants but ultimately chose Alex because he was personable, approachable, knowledgeable about HBS, and demonstrated a clear interest in me and my story from the introduction call onward.

Throughout the application cycle, he was a calming presence and helped me navigate the application process while quelling my anxiety. Whenever we embarked on a portion of the application, Alex always gave me space to brainstorm, soul search, and draft, before he provided feedback. This helped us get to know each other better, and also ensured that my vision and story guided my application. At the same time, when I was stuck with tons of ideas and no clear direction for my personal statement, he helped me come up with a creative essay approach that I am extremely proud of. I genuinely believe that this is the first personal statement I have written that truly gets across who I am as a person, and I have Alex to thank for that.

As a dual-degree applicant, I had to write an additional essay explaining my interest in the program. Alex was happy to dedicate time to helping me brainstorm, draft, and perfect that essay, despite it not being part of the typical application. I really felt like Alex was rooting for me, and had a vested interest in getting me into my dream business school. He was unafraid to give me direct feedback when I needed it, and ensured that I put my best foot forward in my application and interview. I would work with Alex again in a heartbeat!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 31, 2020
dmukherjee

Joined: Jun 04, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Alex is the best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was a re-applicant this year. Last year I had worked with Alex on an hourly basis, a couple of weeks before my applications were due. Alex was super helpful to go out of his way to help me put forward the best application possible. Last year - I got an interview call from Booth but could not convert it.

This year I worked with Alex on a comprehensive package for 1 school and worked on an hourly basis for a couple of other schools. I applied to 4 M7 schools and got an interview invite from 3 of them and offers from 2 (Kellogg and Booth).

Inputs from Alex were helpful to streamline my thoughts during the ideation phase - which eventually went a long way to put together a holistic package. He was very straight forward with his comments and would always call out the weaknesses/BS in my essays. He would also come up with ways to work on the weak aspects of the application. As an Indian applicant - coming from an over-represented pool of applicants - I benefited immensely while working with Alex as he would always strive to bring out the soft-skill aspects of my application.

Finally, I benefited immensely from the mock interviews with Alex. He helped me become more aware of my body language and also helped me to tweak my stories so that they were easier to connect with. I would wholeheartedly recommend Alex to all the applicants who are aspiring to get into M7. It’s worth every penny!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 29, 2020
Kapernicus

Joined: Mar 28, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q44 V42

Non-Traditional Applicant Admitted to McCombs!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As a non-traditional applicant without a business background, I was initially unsure about the value of an admissions consultant. After reaching out to multiple firms and speaking with multiple advisors, I started to get the feeling that these firms were intent on processing me through their system. They felt impersonal and uninvested in me as a person.
Finally, after reading through a GMAT club review, I reached out to Alex. Speaking with Alex was the absolute opposite experience in every way. On the very first call, he took time to get to know as much about me as possible in a very natural and human way. Without judgment, he was realistic about my chances and what my target schools should be. It was easy to see from the start that Alex would be as invested as I was in the outcome of my application process.
Working with Alex will make your entire application process easier, and I especially recommend him if you are a non-traditional applicant. He outlines a roadmap from the very beginning of each step in the process. I had a sort of vague idea about what I wanted to get out of my education, and he helped me to refine my vision and communicate it in clear and certain terms. He was very responsive to emails and calls, and was available to talk through the ambiguities of the process regularly.
My most prominent memory during the process was when I looked back at an essay I had recently submitted. I remember reading the essay and thinking, ‘This person sounds so interesting and amazing, I can’t believe it is about me!’. I was surprised not because the essay was untrue, but because of how wonderful it sounded. Alex was able to take the stories and qualities that I had communicated to him, and he refined them into better, more exciting versions. He helped me to craft a narrative around myself that I am certain I could not have done alone.
If you are reading this and are still on the fence about hiring a consultant, take this as your sign to call Alex. It’s a free call, and I promise you, it’s worth it.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 27, 2020
lcjuliahkhk

Joined: Mar 27, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q50 V39

Admitted to Wharton, Booth ($), Kellogg and Yale ($)!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I heard about Alex through my friend’s referral and decided to work with him after the first skype meeting. Back then, I still knew very little about the MBA application process, had no idea where to start from, and meanwhile had to deal with an already challenging full-time job with long working hours. Being highly experienced, knowledgeable, thoughtful and patient, Alex really helped me navigate the whole journey with more ease and confidence. The result speaks a ton - I applied to as many as seven schools in the second round (was surprised that I actually made it!) and got admitted to four of them!

What I find most valuable about working with Alex is that, he never tried to use a formula when helping me craft my application, but always offered me tailored advice based on my own experiences. He guided me to think from different perspectives, dig deeper in my stories and connect the dots in the most natural way. Instead of following a rigid timeline, he made sure that we were spending sufficient amount of time to think through and put together the best story, and I really appreciate this flexibility which comes from his experience.

I benefitted a lot from the mock interview sessions as well. Alex was super sharp at identifying my issues and focused on improving my delivery through practicing on the spot. This worked really well, and I could see my confidence and efficiency of delivery building up massively after a few mock sessions, and reaching a peak during my actual interviews.

It’s been a pleasant experience working with Alex and I would definitely recommend him from the bottom of my heart. He always emphasised to me that this journey can be tiring, but with a lot of fun as well – and looking back, I can’t agree with him more!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 26, 2020
chenpeilu0430

Joined: Apr 28, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V38

Got into Wharton, Haas ($), and Kellogg ($)!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Strongly recommend Alex to anyone looking for an MBA consultant! Really glad I went with him from a friend referral. He is simply amazing, knowing what he is doing. I am very happy with my results, exceeding my expectations. I applied to a few schools in R1, but did not go well. Alex kept encouraging me and told me to stay positive, and my R2 applications turned out great: got into Haas and Kellogg both with sizable scholarships, and also my top choice, Wharton!
Throughout the process, Alex was really helpful in crafting my story and finding the themes/unique aspects from my experience. He is candid and sharp, great storyteller with grasp of each school’s essays. He is great to work with, very efficient – quick turnaround and high quality. I tend to procrastinate sometimes, but Alex always helped me meet the deadlines. I also benefitted much from mock interviews with Alex, both individual and the group interview for Wharton. He gave very personalized feedback that made me much more comfortable going into the interviews.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 03, 2020
michaelkhoffmann

Joined: Mar 03, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Dual Admit

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

What an easy recommendation, I had a great experience…Alex helped me get into both HBS and the GSB; working with him was a pleasure. In a market where most of his competitors are volume shops or bounce you between a team of junior consultants, Alex is high-touch and high EQ. I’ve personally recommended Alex to close to a dozen peers who, in turn, have each done the same. He really drove me to dig deep on my essays and properly represent my background and values. His insights really helped my passion transcend the written format and shine. Thanks Alex!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 30, 2020
eaq22

Joined: Jan 30, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Re-admitted to target school!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I came to Alex with a pretty unique situation. During a prior application cycle, I had applied and gotten accepted to my target school. Ultimately, I declined the admission’s offer to take a flier on a startup. Fast forward 18-months and my situation had changed, I was now ready to get my MBA. Further, given my industry and geographic preferences, the same target school was an obvious first choice (and this school ended up being the only application I submitted).

I reached out to Alex approximately 2-weeks prior to the application due date—which was obviously a very short turnaround. Although some consultants might up-charge this type of time crunch, Alex rose to the challenge without blinking an eye. He quickly read through my prior (successful application) and quickly dissected a plan of attack for my new, re-application. He brought a ton of experience and advice to strengthen my application. In particular, Alex helped with my essay’s strategy, while working within the context of my prior application to clearly articulate how my situation was different this time around.

He also demonstrated in-depth knowledge about my target school’s “self-identity” versus their peers—which was critical to my application articulating a very strong “why ABC school is the only option for me.” Given I had rejected my target’s prior acceptance 2-years earlier, I think this was critical to getting readmitted. School’s care a ton about yield and Alex was quick to focus in on this as a key for me. Alex really got to know me and my unique situation. Alex doesn’t take a cookie-cutter approach to his work. Instead, all his advice felt custom to my application which added a ton of value.

I think Alex’s help was critical to my application’s success—especially given my unique situation as a re-applicant. Whether you’re a first-time applicant or have a unique situation like I did, Alex brings a dynamic and experienced approach to get the job done.

Please note: For this review, I chose to not name the school I was accepted at given my application’s uniqueness as a formerly accepted re-applicant. Think US News #8-12 range in terms of ranking. That said, I have no doubt Alex can assist across any range of schools and application situations.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 24, 2020
anon3035

Joined: Oct 13, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Awesome Consultant!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I cannot recommend Alex highly enough. As a re applicant and part of an over-represented demographic, Alex was instrumental to my acceptance at Columbia Business School. I met with him for the first time 8 months before I submitted my applications, and instead of sitting on my candidacy until the spring, he began to work with me right away. He took the time to get to know me, my background, and most importantly spent weeks helping me nail down my story. By the time I actually started writing, I was incredibly confident and secure in my career narrative, which made the application process much easier than the previous year.

Alex provides a great service as well. Unlike some of the other consultants that I looked into, Alex is a one man show, ensuring that he spends quality time with each and every applicant. He is incredibly honest and isn't afraid to tell you when you are below the mark in essay drafts, mock interview answers, or career goals. However, he ensures his feedback is clear and prompt. Multiple times, Alex would call me directly to chat about my essays to ensure that I understood his feedback to make the process more efficient. I was very impressed on how his recommendations, even those that seemed seemingly minor, would substantially elevate my essays and resume. My experience with Alex was entirely positive and a big reason for my business school application success!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 27, 2019
healthcareguy99

Joined: Dec 27, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q48 V42

Prep MBA Hourly Consulting / Interview Prep Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I would definitely recommend Alex's services to anyone applying to business school. His help in crafting my essays and preparing for my interview was critical in helping me get into HBS.

When I first connected with him over the summer as a Round 1 applicant, I could immediately tell that he really valued genuinely getting to know his clients. We ended up chatting for 40 minutes about my story. His feedback about the strengths and weaknesses of my application in that first conversation were super insightful and got me thinking critically about my own story and rationale for applying to business school. I ended up working with Alex on an hourly basis on my essays for my R1 applications and then did interview prep with him for my HBS interview.

In terms of essay prep, Alex helped me identify areas where I could stand out from the crowd and he helped me add significant depth to my application. I felt that he was able to do this because he had taken the time to get to know me. Alex's feedback is honest and he brings humor into an otherwise stressful process, which I really appreciated. Once I had gotten my interview to HBS, I did mock interview prep with Alex which was fantastic! We spent over an hour running through questions as Alex provided live feedback and ways for me to improve my answers. We strategized on answers to the common and uncommon questions that may surface during an interview. Ultimately, when I interviewed, I wasn't stressed and that was thanks to prepping with Alex.

If you're considering working with an admissions consultant for business school applications, look no further. I highly recommend you work with Alex!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

33 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Prep MBA