GMAT Club

Hourly Consulting Reviews

Prep MBA
  • A Boutique Admissions Consultancy
  • Work One on One with a Harvard MBA
  • Industry Veteran/Harvard Lecturer
  • 10 Years of Results and References
  • No Junior Consultants or Contractors

5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 8 reviews
September 23, 2019
wbrandt13

Joined: Sep 23, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

NYU - First and Only Choice

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

When I first decided that I wanted to get my MBA, I knew I wanted to go to NYU. Initially, I wasn’t sure about using an admissions consultant. However, a former boss suggested that I reach out to Alex, so I decided to give it a shot. We set up an intro call and in only 20 minutes it was clear to me that he would make a huge difference. Rather than push a sales pitch, we spent most of the call going over my credentials (GMAT score, GPA, work experience, etc.) and discussing my chances at gaining acceptance to NYU. He was quite honest about everything, which is exactly what I needed. My undergraduate GPA was below average, and I wasn’t exactly sure what direction I wanted to take my career; however, he explained that with the right approach - I had a chance.

Over the next few weeks we discussed my career and he helped me craft a cohesive story within my application. He was able to help connect all of my previous experiences and clearly explain the importance of an MBA to achieving my goals. I’m convinced that this story is what got me in to NYU, and I never would have been able to do it without Alex’s help.

Throughout the whole process he worked with me directly and was always easy to contact, whether it was to answer a quick question or review an entire essay. He’s funny, easy to talk to, and clearly very smart. He knows exactly what he’s doing when it comes to understanding the business school application process. I would strongly recommend Alex to anyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 15, 2019
Jordang1987

Joined: Jul 15, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Accepted to MBA Program!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Upon researching several top ranked MBA admissions consulting services through Poets & Quants, Alex stood out among the rest as he is a graduate of the prestigious Harvard Business School, possesses nearly 15 years of experience, and resides in the same city as me. During a preliminary phone call, I grew to appreciate the independence, personability, and accessibility Alex had to offer through his Prep MBA service. I was comforted in knowing that throughout such an arduous process, I would be working directly with Alex and that I wouldn’t be passed down the hierarchy to a junior consultant.

Working with Alex proved to be a truly fantastic experience. I especially appreciated his quick response to my correspondence. His turnaround time on edits was also extremely fast, but never to the sacrifice of quality. He consistently maintained an objective point of view throughout and never hesitated to indicate my strengths and weaknesses. Given my strong GPA, but weak GMAT score, Alex helped me in developing a strong professional narrative that highlighted my individuality in my essays. Additionally, Alex was stellar in preparing me for my interviews. My actual MBA interviews were verbatim to what was covered in Alex’s in-person mock interview. Without his preparation, I would have otherwise found myself stumbling.

I would highly recommend Alex Leventhal to anyone applying for their MBA. He is sharp, thorough, and most importantly, he has his finger on the pulse of the graduate admissions landscape. Thanks to Alex, I found a greater sense of direction throughout the MBA application process. As a result, I got accepted into one program and waitlisted at another.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 29, 2019
mhtarbutton

Joined: May 29, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Alex Leventhal

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

As a finance undergraduate student pursuing a career in commercial real estate, I was connected with Alex Leventhal in hopes of being admitted into my dream graduate school, New York University. Alex and I spoke numerous times on the phone to dissect my academic and career goals. He helped me consolidate my thoughts into a well-structured essay that was personalized to my past experiences and future expectations. Alex always made the time and effort to connect with me and provide constructive feedback for my essay. He has an extensive knowledge of the business world and improved my overall application by meticulously reviewing every aspect of the application to ensure my success.

Alex is very passionate and diligent. He took the time to get to know me personally in order to better evaluate my career trajectory. His honesty and commitment to his business, Prep MBA, challenged me to work hard in pursuit of the outcome that I wanted. With Alex’s guidance, I confidently applied to NYU. My long-term goal was to live and work in commercial real estate in New York City so attending a graduate school in the city was integral. With the support from Alex, I was admitted to NYU’s Master of Science in Real Estate program with a concentration in Finance and Investments.

I enjoyed working with Alex and would recommend him to anyone who is seriously interested in pursuing a graduate career in business. I strongly believe he is best in the business, and his drive to provide his utmost support for me was unparalleled.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 30, 2017
abhid

Joined: Jul 26, 2014

Posts: 10

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
730 Q50 V39

Do yourself a favor - Choose Alex as your advisor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I contacted Alex after working with another admission consultant and receiving my first ding in R1. I was disheartened and was looking at someone to provide a fresh perspective on my profile. I called a number of admissions consultants, however was reluctant to accept any. That changed with Alex. Soon after our call I knew that he can help me and said Yes! He does not have a group of consultants working under him, but works individually with each client. I could tell that he was passionate about his service and honest in his assessment. I handed over a very difficult task to him – to help an Indian IT engineer, arguably the most over-represented applicant pool, with silver work experience (not golden) land a ticket in one of the top-MBAs in R2 admissions.

As I had limited time, I took hourly packages with Alex. However, he ended up becoming my mentor helping me in every stage of application process – school selection, profile assessment, essay ideas and edits, resume review, wait-list help, and most importantly interview prep.
His essay brainstorming and editing style is unique. End results of my essays, unlike my previous essays, were true, candid and confident reflection. They were well structured and much more engaging than my previous essays. His turnaround time surprised me! He was super flexible within my strict time-frames, and sometimes returned the edits on the same day. However, one area where I think I benefited the most was interview prep. He changed my presentation style from sounding like a robot to presenting like a confident and genuine professional. I could see a huge difference between my first R1 interview and my following two R2 interviews. I’m sure his interview advice is going help me throughout my career. I applied to 3 schools with him and got into 2, including one of my top choices – Michigan Ross.

I would highly recommend Alex Leventhal . No wonder he has been featured in Poets&Quants as one of the top-10 MBA consultants. While his Harvard MBA is definitely a good enough credential, his philosophy undergrad, I think, also helps him connect with his clients on a deeper level. He is an amazing advisor with whom I look forward to staying in touch.

Read More


4 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Prep MBA