GMAT Club

Comprehensive School Packages Reviews

"Our work together will be intense and comprehensive. My school packages include what you need to be uber-prepared and maximize your chances. There are no surprise extra charges, and we will work together for as long as it takes. One Mock Interview Session is included in all school packages. Prep MBA is purely my business, so I don’t refer you to a junior consultant and then take a mark-up like most well-known referral firms."
- Alex Leventhal, Prep MBA Founder
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
60
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 60 reviews
August 10, 2019
cm801

Joined: Aug 10, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Alex Will Help You Craft Your Story.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

As an older applicant with a diverse background, and someone who knew little about business school admissions, I felt I needed to get a serious and experienced consultant to ensure my application is competitive.

I called several consulting firms for initial consultations and Alex stood out– he listened carefully and gave me very personalized and encouraging feedback. I could tell that he genuinely interested in me as a person and that proved extremely valuable for my application. He was also quite clear in his assessment of my chances and told me his view on the different business schools I had considered applying to.

Prep MBA is Alex’s firm – and you get to work with him, he does not have an army of junior consultants. Alex is very experienced, thoughtful and humorous – all of the calls I had with him were truly enjoyable (even the mock interview!). At the same time, working with him was very productive. He responded to my questions timely, even in the days before submission. I did a 2 school package and I got admitted to both schools – I could not have asked for a better outcome.
Alex will encourage you to think through your career plans. Do not underestimate the time and effort needed for this – but it is worth it. Alex helped me to make connections in my vita that I had not seen earlier. His input enabled me to craft a passionate and compelling application. Alex has an exceptional skill: He is able to carve out your story and write it down in your own words. I highly recommend Alex!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 13, 2019
Sowelu

Joined: Jan 09, 2008

Posts: 10

Kudos: 3

Verified score:
730 Q50 V38

Alex Will Help Tell Your Story - Excellent Consultant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As an older, non-traditional applicant and someone who knew very little about MBA program admissions process, I wanted to get help to ensure I put together the best application. I have done several free consultations and Alex stood out – he listened, didn't rush the call, and gave me more personalized feedback than other consultants. Alex recognized an opportunity to take seemingly random facts in my background and create a passionate and compelling application. I believe this is truly Alex's gift – helping bring out your story and express it in the best possible way.

Alex is definitely a strategist and will help identify and recommend how to best position your strengths and address your weaknesses. He will help clarify your career goals and express it in inspiring yet realistic way. With that said, you have to be ready for a lot of self-reflection and a lot of thought into who you are. Alex will not be a substitute for detail-oriented and tactical tasks and you will own your application, but you will get answers every step of the way. Alex is responsive to emails and has also provided plenty of phone call time.

I would recommend Alex to anyone, and especially to prospective students who may not have a traditional pre-MBA background. Alex offered his help to me when numerous other consultants did not want to put the extra effort in seeing beyond cookie-cutter check boxes. Many of those consultants advised me to target schools in the top 10-15 range.

Not only did I end up getting admitted to a few M7 programs, I received fellowships and significant tuition assistance. I could have not done this without Alex's guidance, help, and simply encouragement to push harder.

Read More

January 29, 2019
poolside

Joined: Jan 29, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V45

Best decision - Alex from Prep MBA

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Knowing that I had limited network resources to tap on regarding the MBA application process, it was essential that I selected the best admissions consultant who could personally guide me through the journey. I spent a considerable amount of time speaking to numerous consulting firms, and Alex stood out as he was specific in outlining his approach to my profile. I also wanted to work with a “single consultant” firm and amongst all, Alex brought in the most experience, which became clear during my application process.

Alex communicated openly and candidly as he brought me through a structured approach that he had developed for each of my applications. I appreciated how he challenged me to dig deep to craft my personal narrative and objectives, rather than providing ready-made answers that did not reflect my individuality. I am certain that it was through this process of rigorous discussion and feedback that many of his clients, including myself, were able to produce uniquely compelling and successful applications.

It is also worth mentioning that Alex made great effort to accommodate scheduling challenges, to the point of his own inconvenience. He was also an expert in pacing my rate of work while making sure that timelines were comfortably met. I worked with Alex on 4 schools in total, which was sufficient as I got into my furthest reach school: Stanford GSB.

I unreservedly and wholeheartedly recommend Alex as the top choice for anyone looking for an admissions consultant, and serious about giving themselves the best chance of getting accepted at their schools of choice.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 09, 2019
veritasvirtus82

Joined: Feb 01, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Prep MBA - Alex

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

When I first spoke with Alex in what feels like eons ago, my first impression was that he was a thoughtful and incredibly sharp guy. He gave me great feedback and made astute observations of my candidacy right from the very beginning. Most importantly, he was honest – and I was looking for someone who wasn’t afraid to give me some “tough love” but also willing to commend me in the areas where I did good.

This was mentioned in other posts but bears repeating: Alex is the one that you will work with. This is invaluable, especially in an already opaque industry where some admissions consultants build up their workforce in the pursuit of scale and not quality. Alex approaches the MBA application process with the same rigor I would expect the schools to use in their classes. He put a lot of time into getting to know me personally and through our conversations, I was better able to understand myself. Alex’s pre-application process was extremely useful when I started writing my essays and preparing for my interviews as we had a framework to use for each and every part of the application.

For me, Alex’s greatest contribution as my consultant was his ability to help me drill down on my career purpose. I had some issues in the beginning articulating exactly what I wanted to do but my conversations with Alex and the feedback I got helped crystallize my story. He was able to take seemingly disparate parts of my work experience and extracurriculars and tailor them to each MBA program, using examples from past applications and his knowledge of the school. He meticulously went through my essays with a fine-tooth comb; we must have gone through multiple revisions and drafts for each essay. The turnaround for the edits and feedback was always within 24-48 hours. The mock interview was also a great help to me – I am not a great interviewee and Alex helped put my unease to rest by giving me useful tips and walking me through each one of my responses to provide advice on how best to approach the question. I think he is the reason I felt so confident coming out of my interviews with some of the m7 schools. Thanks to his help across all areas of my application, I will now be attending one of the top MBA programs in the country.

Lastly, Alex is fantastic to work with. He has a good heart and obviously wants his clients to succeed. He is generous with his time (he offered to help me do a mock interview for a school that wasn’t part of my package) and he genuinely wants to get to know you. Part of the value of a consultant is to have someone who can truly understand your underlying motivations almost as well (if not better) as you do. That can only happen with a large investment in the person and Alex is willing to make that sacrifice for you.

Read More

December 26, 2018
zdepasquale

Joined: Dec 26, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q48 V41

As a young applicant coming directly out of undergraduate studies at UVA, I knew how difficult it would be to achieve my goal of securing admission into a top MBA program. Working with Alex proved to be an invaluable experience. He took the time to understand my full history – academically, athletically, and personally – and was able to help me find new ways to approach my application and tell my story in the most compelling way possible. What truly set him apart was his ability to help me tailor my resume and essays to the cultures of the programs I applied for. Alex truly makes a personal investment in each of his clients, which made working with him all the more productive and enjoyable. Thanks to Alex’s help, I’m proud to be a part of UVA Darden’s Future Year Scholars Program and will begin business school in 2020.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 19, 2018
Pschool

Joined: Jan 22, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted to HBS and Wharton

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Alex came highly recommended to me by several of my more senior colleagues who had found success in applying to business school. Having recently completed the MBA application process with Alex, I find it easy to see why! I really believe that working with Alex allowed me to put together the best MBA application possible. I ended up getting into HBS, which was my top choice.

One of the best parts about working with Alex is that he runs all of Prep MBA (i.e. no junior consultants). As such, he gave personal attention to each of my applications and he built a deep understanding of my unique profile and the major selling points of my application; I never felt bucketed by my industry / undergraduate education. This in-depth knowledge proved especially valuable as Alex helped me brainstorm ideas for essays and prepare for interviews. I’m sure Alex has plenty of other clients, but I never felt neglected.

Alex’s experience (HBS MBA and consultant since 2005) also proved to be very useful. Across the MBA forums, there is a lot of conflicting information on the application process and it was helpful to have someone with multiple years of real experience to cut through the BS and help you focus on what really matters. Alex has an informed view on the top business schools and he gives straightforward information on what they are looking for. Additionally, when you work with Alex, you also get the benefit of guidance based on his long history as a consultant. Alex provides extremely helpful examples from past clients that cover a wide range of scenarios to help you frame your thinking.

With that said, my favorite part about working with Alex was that he really pushed me to go the extra mile. When drafting my resume and essays there were many times when I thought, “this looks great, this has to be the final draft,” but Alex would continue to push me to improve every bullet point and every sentence. No detail was too small to avoid attention. Alex pushed me to maximize every aspect of my application - which is critical in today’s hyper-competitive MBA application process.

Alex was excellent resource throughout the entire process and I would highly recommend him to anyone I know planning to apply to an MBA program.

Read More

June 29, 2018
ychen

Joined: Mar 29, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Alex is the best!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I spoke with over 10 consultants before choosing, and I decided on Alex because of his experience and genuine care for my success. During our initial call, he was the only consultant that took the time to ask me about my background and helped me generate some great essay ideas. His HBS background and industry expertise make him the best consultant not only for HBS but also for any other business school.
Alex’s greatest strength is his creativity. He has the ability to pick out the perfect story from topics that other consultants would brush off. In my case, I came in with a few ideas I wanted to write about, but Alex encouraged me to list all possible topics. He pushed me to explore a topic that I wrote down briefly at the end of the list, and we ended up using it as my HBS 2+2 essay. Alex has the ability to take underappreciated life experiences and turn them into compelling stories.
Alex also really cares about all his clients. He willingly used my mock interview for another M7 school that I did not use his services for, which helped me get on the waitlist.
Alex was meticulous about every step in the process, from interviews to letters of recommendation to the application form itself. He definitely makes you feel like his only client. I would definitely hire Alex again!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 08, 2018
dbd257

Joined: May 22, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Highly Recommended!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My journey to being accepted to business school was a long one, involving reapplications, waitlists, and a lot of nervous waiting. Alex guided me every step of the way, from connecting the dots in my professional experience to define my career purpose, mining my personal experience (including my childhood) to create compelling essay material, and overcoming the introverted side of my personality to put forth an engaging admissions interview. In addition, he was equipped to handle the less typical aspects of my specific situation, which included reapplication and waitlist processes. Lastly, Alex is a good-hearted person who honestly does care about his clients, which I believe helps to create a more personal application that is truly reflective of the person underneath the applicant. I would not have been able to get into my dream school, Stanford GSB, without Alex, and I highly recommend him to anyone considering applying to business school.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 09, 2018
Heathdahl

Joined: Apr 30, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q47 V34

Personal Attention, Professional, and Responsive!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I am so glad that I decided to hire Alex and his services for my MBA application process. Because I was studying for the GMAT and completing the application at the same time, it was extremely important that I stayed on track and was well paced for the short term deadline. Alex was flexible with my schedule and very responsive to my emails. He also helped to shape a clear story for why I was seeking an MBA from my background and personal experiences - I think this was a pivotal part in my application that would not have been as strong without his coaching. Even though I had a lower than average GPA and okay GMAT score, I felt confident about the quality in my essays and resume and the content in my application. I only applied to one school and was accepted with a scholarship in their most selective round.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 07, 2018
lfcl30

Joined: Apr 07, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Very responsive + Honest Feedback

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had the experience of working with other admission consultants before I worked with Alex, and I can tell you that the level of personalized attention I got from Alex is not something other consultants provide. The other consultant I worked with was not the most responsive. When I emailed her, she would take various days to get back to me. I never felt she took the process as seriously as I did. With Alex it was a different story. He always tried to respond within the same day, and if he could not get back to me in 24 hours he would let me know when could I expect a new version of my essays. He also provided valuable advice in choosing between my recommenders. His interview prep helped me feel confident and ready for my interview. Additionally, he identified my areas of weakness so that I could improve on them before my interview. With my essays he provided direct and honest feedback indicating the gaps in my stories, but also suggesting a complete rewrite of the essays when necessary. Thanks to his guidance I was fortunately admitted to MIT Sloan, despite having a low GPA.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

29 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Prep MBA