GMAT Club

Comprehensive School Packages Reviews

"Our work together will be intense and comprehensive. My school packages include what you need to be uber-prepared and maximize your chances. There are no surprise extra charges, and we will work together for as long as it takes. One Mock Interview Session is included in all school packages. Prep MBA is purely my business, so I don’t refer you to a junior consultant and then take a mark-up like most well-known referral firms."
- Alex Leventhal, Prep MBA Founder
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
80
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 80 reviews
March 31, 2021
sparmar1993

Joined: Mar 31, 2021

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted to UCLA Anderson!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As with most applicants, I spent a good amount of time looking for a consultant who would be able to help me navigate the daunting application process. Although my partner had chosen Alex as his MBA consultant and spoke highly of his services, I wanted to consider all my options before deciding on the best consultant for me. To be quite honest, I could have saved myself a lot of time if I had just taken his suggestion. Alex was the only individual to review my qualifications and provide an honest assessment of whether the schools I was applying to would not only be within reach, but also be a good cultural fit for me (which was something that was a major consideration for me when I was deciding where to apply).

He was the one who suggested that I apply to UCLA Anderson during the initial consultation as he felt that the school would align with what I was looking for. Going forward with his recommendation, I reached out to students and alumni and spent a great deal of time researching the school. As I collected more information, I could see why he suggested UCLA and began drafting my application. With his support, I was able to clearly define my post-MBA goals, understand how I wanted to contribute to the school community, and fine-tune the various components of the application. It was because of him that I was able to ensure that the admissions committee understood who I was and what I hoped to become after completing the program.

Without a doubt, I would recommend Alex to anyone who is looking for an MBA consultant who is honest, fair, and to the point. He knows how to emphasize your strengths and will work with you to address your weaknesses to ensure that they don’t detract from your application.

Ultimately, for anyone starting their MBA process, the applications can seem like an impossible task. However, with a consultant like Alex, they can be surmountable.

Read More

March 26, 2021
rjk12

Joined: Jul 04, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted to Tuck and Stern!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

In the midst of a mad rush to both up my GMAT score and begin crafting my application, I reached out to a number of consultants in late October targeting a Round 2 application. After having 3-4 calls, I was able to get in touch with Alex and schedule an introductory call. Instead of spending 20 minutes pitching me on his many success stories (and there are numerous), Alex took ~45 minutes to hear about my background, interests, and thoughts on what might be viable options for my path. What stuck out even more-so than the personalized approach Alex took from the initial call was his willingness and ability to address my candidacy holistically, quickly identifying key areas to focus on both highlighting or strengthening. Alex’s no-nonsense approach made him standout from other more sale-like consultation calls.
After getting started, it was clear that Alex was going to stay whole fully engaged throughout the application process. He spent countless hours over the next 2 months with me identifying aspects of my background that would make strong cornerstones for my essays, helping select strong people to write my recommendations, working through draft after draft fine-tuning my essays and other application mediums, and conducting mock interviews helping prepare me to respond strongly to frequently asked topics. When I thought to add another competitive program to my application group, I knew I wanted Alex’s assistance and updated my package from 3 schools to 4 schools.
With Alex’s guidance, I have been able to score acceptances to 2 of my top schools, and I am sure I could not have done it without him. By taking the time to get to know me, my background, my interests, and my overall candidacy, Alex was able to help me put my best foot forward. I would recommend Alex to anyone who is looking to make the most of what they have to offer and want to present themselves to their dream schools with those positive attributes! I truly believe he is the best person for the job.

Read More

March 23, 2021
2023Aspirant

Joined: Sep 14, 2009

Posts: 4

Kudos: 7

Verified score:
740 Q50 V40

Accepted to Darden

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I belong to an over represented demographic (Indian male). I also did not have any work experience with a strong brand name company. During my free consultation with Alex, I could see how engaged he would be. Given the fact that I’ve worked primarily for my family’s businesses, getting references is challenging and I loved how Alex was already brainstorming some great ideas in that regard during the free session.

I am a re-applicant. My previous consultant would nod to everything I’d say and never challenge my views, however bad they might’ve been. Alex, however, would not hesitate to challenge my ideas or hold his ground. Also, with Alex, you get to work with him – no juniors or English-trained associates. With my previous consultant, different people reviewed my resume, references, essays and conducted mock interviews. This approach doesn’t work – your consultant needs to know how your entire application is shaping up. Needless to say, this was a major reason I got nowhere in the previous cycle. With Alex, you get a highly trained pair of eyes to bring things together well.

Alex is very smart and connects the dots really well. At the very beginning, he made me fill out a questionnaire that focused on various aspects of my life and then spent 2-3 hours on call learning more about me. He really got to know me well (personal aspects and professional ones) and, all through the application process, I was always amazed at how he would pull out small snippets of my life that I myself had not thought of to answer application essays. He helped bring out my best side.

Alex is a Harvard MBA, sure, but he’s also witty, friendly and constantly devoted to your quest. He was extremely encouraging, helped choose schools wisely, and when I did not get anywhere except 2 waitlists in round 1, kept encouraging me for round 2. I’d never considered Darden before. It was Alex who convinced me about how good Darden was and suggested applying there – I’m so glad he doesn’t give up and does his best to advice you on what’s good for you. So far, it’s the only school I’ve gotten into across 2 years of applying and he is the singular reason I have an admission offer.

I recommend strongly Alex. He is special and a great guide. You will be doing yourself a great favor by engaging him and giving your applications their biggest boost.

Read More

January 02, 2021
DanBx

Joined: Nov 02, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted to Wharton!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

As an European, I had little experience on the “how tos” and the key success factors of applying to top US MBA programs. I was therefore eager to find an admission consultant who could support me in the process. One thing that was really important to me was that I could trust the respective consultant not only to have contextual expertise, but to be easy to build a personal relationship with. After all, you are sharing deeply personal stories with the respective person throughout the application process.
After my initial call with Alex, I knew he was the right one. You could immediately sense that he cared and was passionate to see you succeed. But he was also honest and straightforward about my expectations and where my profile was strong/not so strong – as an example, he openly addressed the potential fallbacks of my current GMAT score or the limited number of current extracurriculars (given it was early in the process, we could also take action on those). Alex was open about the fact that his offering was slightly more expensive and also that response times might be a little slower, given he does not have a team of junior consultants. But what you get in return is a deeply personalized service, Alex’s full set of experience, and a creative, funny, and honest partner throughout your application process.
Working with Alex proved to be amazing. I only applied to three schools – Harvard, Stanford, and Wharton – of which I interviewed with 2. In the end, I got into Wharton and was waitlisted at HBS. While Alex officially only supported on Harvard and Stanford, I could use many of the tools (such as career goals) and even essay preparations for my application at Wharton.
I would recommend Alex in a heartbeat, and I already have to my former college friends planning to pursue an MBA. Not only did he play a massive role in my success of getting a MBA spot in the US, the whole process with him was super cool and a great reflection of my career, personal goals and ambitions. I feel strongly that Alex is uncommon as an advisor. He is sincere, funny, and often made me feel like I was his most important client.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 22, 2020
MBAapplicant1220

Joined: Dec 22, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V47

Accepted to M7!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Alex’s biggest value-add is his ability to draw out the uniqueness in each candidate. He starts the process by asking the candidate to fill out a detailed “Bio sheet”. Several times in the following months, while we worked on the applications, he would reference various details I had mentioned in the sheet - ones so small that even I had forgotten them! Alex spends a lot of time and energy preparing to work on the applications with the candidate, and throughout the process I felt assured that his advice/suggestions were personalized to showcase my strengths most effectively.

He also has incredible editing skills, and has a knack for trimming all the excess fat from written pieces without losing the essence. Through his interview prep sessions, he also coaches the candidate on how to be concise yet thorough and impactful, making the candidate very appealing to the AdCom.

Lastly, I immensely valued Alex’s work ethic throughout the process. He would tell me exactly when to expect a response and I always got a thoroughly reviewed piece back from him as planned!!

As someone who has not only helped candidates over multiple application cycles but has also been through the process himself, Alex realizes how stressful the process is. Beyond simply providing great advice on the application materials, Alex took the time to connect with me, helping me through stressful times. I am so glad that, after debating amongst multiple consultants, I chose to work with Alex - it would be difficult, if not impossible, to find a better guide and support through this life-changing process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
December 08, 2020
mgimel95

Joined: Mar 12, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted to NYU Stern!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was initially interested in Alex Leventhal’s consulting firm, PrepMBA, because it appeared to be one of only several firms that prioritized crafting a personalized approach to business school applications. I also liked that Alex didn’t have a cabal of junior associates working with his clients; Alex directly worked with each one himself. It was clear that Alex was personally vested in each of his clients’ success.

When I started with Alex, I could tell that he was focused on getting to know my story from my early childhood to the present. Through his detailed biosheet questionnaire and other supporting materials, we both got organized on what my strengths and weaknesses were.

As we had more meetings and the conversation moved to my resume and future career goals, I appreciated Alex’s help in thinking critically about my past accomplishments and the messaging I wanted to convey on my applications. We ended up brainstorming and refining my thoughts for many weeks before I began to write my essays, which gave me confidence as I wrote my essays and completed respective applications. Alex’s same honest, thoughtful approach carried over into interview prep as well. Throughout it all, Alex was always there to provide a deep dive into a portion of my application that needed substantial attention or a quick answer to an ad-hoc question. This all culminated in my acceptance to NYU Stern.

I would highly recommend Alex and his services to any MBA applicant, and have already spoken highly of him to several of my friends who are considering applying in the near future. He is diligent, hard-working, very kind, and genuinely cares about helping his clients achieve their goals. I could not be happier that I worked with him.

Read More

December 08, 2020
WhirlingTexas24

Joined: Dec 08, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V45

Accepted to Booth!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Alex’s services played a huge role in my acceptance to Booth! After checking out a number of consultants, I chose Alex because of his personalized approach and his honesty in assessing my odds at different programs, especially during this tougher COVID cycle. What truly differentiates Alex from other consultants is how comprehensive and rigorous his methods are. The breadth of support that Alex provided surprised me and alleviated a lot of stress. For example he spent significant time helping me tailor communications to recommenders and coaching me on body language and vocal tonality for my video essays and interviews.

One key area where Alex was able to provide invaluable guidance was in helping my differentiate myself as an Indian American applicant in consulting, a highly overrepresented pool. Alex starts his process by getting to know you as well as possible by having you fill out a bio sheet and interviewing you. Therefore, when I reached roadblocks later on, he knew my story and background well and was able to point out examples that portrayed me in a unique and positive light.

As a result of working with Alex, not only was I accepted to one of my top choices, I also received significant scholarship. I thought working with Alex was really enjoyable and helpful, and I would recommend him to anyone hoping to put their best foot forward in their MBA application journey!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 19, 2020
MBACandidateDone

Joined: Aug 13, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Columbia MBA Acceptance

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I would not have gotten in my first choice MBA without his help!
Alex was able to help me brainstorm ideas, revise my essays many times until they are perfect, and finally deliver an outstanding MBA application. The MBA application process can be very stressful. Alex has patiently helped me identifying my target schools, deciding an ideal score for the standardized tests, identifying the right people for recommendation letters, brainstorming & revising essays, communicating with the Admissions Team, and finally submitting the application. Alex has been very transparent and supportive at every step.

What makes him stand out is his dedication to his craft, responsiveness, interpersonal skills, and honesty. Highly recommend him!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 09, 2020
UX6T8sMRZ

Joined: Jul 09, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Accepted at Columbia!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I picked Alex as my consultant after talking to a few others because of his personal approach—other companies would have had me work with junior consultants.

I found Alex’s service to be helpful in all aspects of the admissions process, but especially the essays. His approach to writing the essays helped elucidate this tricky part of the admissions process. He was not satisfied until I crafted the strongest personal story I could, even though it took almost a dozen iterations of ideas. If your essay is not as good as it can possibly be, he will be direct in telling you so and recommending what you can do to improve it.

He has a fast response time and spends as much time as is necessary to perfect the application. For one school, I was working right up until the deadline and he still was able to provide feedback on my essays the day of.

Alex’s no-nonsense approach greatly improved my admissions prospects and I would recommend him without hesitation. I’ve found that he genuinely cares about and invests in the success of his clients.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
July 01, 2020
pyepye123

Joined: May 10, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q48 V36

Accepted!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I had called around a couple of consulting firms and worked with another consultant prior to working with Alex. The difference is night and day! First of all, Alex is the owner and sole consultant for Prep MBA – if you sign up with Prep MBA, you are guaranteed to work with Alex, a Harvard MBA grad. Second, Alex will give you direct and honest answers. After our initial conversation, he quickly identified some critical issues about my profile (work gaps, GPA, age, etc.) and how to address each of the problems from the point of view of the admin team. Third, Alex’s creativity and sense of essay structure are beyond impressive; I was always amazed at how we were able to turn a 1000-word draft into an articulate 500 words essay. Finally, I am extremely impressed by his knowledge of various details of the MBA schools and he was able to identify a group of school that fits my career aspirations.

After the initial conversation and assessment with Alex, I decided to rethink my application strategy completely, even though I had previously worked with another consultant. I only had a month to complete my application prior to final deadlines, and Alex was able to accommodate such a rushed schedule. With his help, I was able to get into Tepper and McDonough, both with scholarships. Looking back, I believe that his advice on how to tailor my essay to the admission committee was the main reason I was accepted. The devil is in the detail, and Alex was very meticulous – he really helped me with the tones of my essays and worked with me to find the right words to express my goals concisely. Additionally, Alex was able to provide me with different samples that fit with my career aspirations. These samples were extremely useful when I was trying to find the right flow and structure for my essay drafts.

I highly recommend Alex Leventhal and Prep MBA. If you are honest with him and follow his advice, know that he will provide you with the clearest path to your dream school!

Read More


28 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Prep MBA