GMAT Club

[Tests] Kaplan GMAT CATs Reviews

On-Demand With Video Explanations. Take a free, full-length, realistic practice test for the GMAT anytime, at your convenience. Receive a detailed score analysis, answers and explanations for up to 18 sample questions through video instruction by expert faculty. Start for Free

[Tests] Kaplan GMAT CATs Reviews

[Tests] Kaplan GMAT CATs Kaplan Quiz Bank
 $199  $99
Reviews
0
Average Rating
0
Buy Now
[Tests] Kaplan GMAT CATs Kaplan GMAT CAT's
 $45  $26
Reviews
9
Average Rating
4
Buy Now

Reviews:

9 Reviews
4.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
September 17, 2018
subhsngh0

Joined: Sep 15, 2018

Posts: 38

Kudos: 2

Verified score:
660 Q50 V29

Very relevant score

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took 2 kaplan CATs before and they showed score in line with my official GMAT score(660). I am preparing to get a better score to by taking remaining CATs which are showing improvement. The CATs adaptiveness is also very good, however, the verbal is tugher than the actual GMAT test. Though it really helps in identifying the weak spots in your preparation.In my case it was SC & RC, which had lower accuracy level.

I plan to go through the official guides and GMATclub forum 700 level questions to get to the desired score. The Kaplan mocks are god tools to be used before taking official GMAT Prep mocks and Final test as the mocks are limited.

Read More

September 10, 2018
alphak3nny001

Joined: Apr 03, 2018

Posts: 40

Kudos: 16

Verified score:
750 Q50 V41

Kaplan GMAT test review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

IMO kaplan tests are just OK. I found that the questions are not very similar to the original GMAT ones. ex. the SC are way shorter than you will find in the actual test. Because of this I was able to complete the verbal section 10 minutes before the time.
The quant section is not bad. Some questions are really tricky and the concepts are explained clearly in the solution.

I feel if you have the time then go for the test. I would not use this test in the final days of my preparation. There are many better test out there which are more worthwhile.

Read More

July 31, 2018
sudharshan931

Joined: Jul 22, 2018

Posts: 8

Kudos: 12

Verified score:
680 Q49 V32

Kaplan - Good last minute option, saved me on GMAT Day!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I ended up purchasing the Kaplan CATs last minute, just a week before. Exactly what I needed at the time! I was able to take 4 of the tests before the real D Day. The website is good, decent analytics and software wasn't cluttered. But explanations were brilliant! I made a note of my takeaways, re-read through my Kaplan study material and managed to keep track of my weak areas. Strongly suggest to use these test series, even better to start early. I'm not sure about retaking the CATs though, I don't know how many repeat questions would come up, so some clarity would be useful on that.

Read More

December 30, 2017
asthagupta

Joined: Sep 10, 2015

Posts: 67

Kudos: 54

Verified score:
700 Q49 V36

Kaplan Premier

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Kaplan Premier is an awesome book to start preparation with. This book have enough questions as well as the strategies to attack the question. This book helped me a lot in the verbal part and the best thing is that this comes with 5 free tests. The tests provide very good replica of you preparation. Many people argue that hose tests are not close to the real GMAT but at the end the real mark is +-20 of what you scored in the Kaplan tests so i believe we can rely on the same. Also the tests are very user friendly and the explanation of questions are very helpful.

Read More

August 10, 2017
Rahulj3113

Joined: Jul 05, 2013

Posts: 35

Kudos: 53

Verified score:
750 Q51 V39

Harder than needed

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I purchased 5 Kaplan Mock CATs back in 2016.

In parallel, I also practised with Manhattan, Veritas and official GMAT tests. Separately, I have given GMAT once before so I knew that level of actual exam. In the very first Kaplan mock itself I realised that it was much much harder than actual GMAT. Although the final score was normalised to match the difficulty level (i.e. I got the same score of 740 in Kaplan as I got in other tests) but I didn't see any value in practicing such hard questions. I didn't attempt any other Kaplan Mock CAT after that.

Read More

March 20, 2017
godot53

Joined: Mar 14, 2011

Posts: 141

Kudos: 148

Verified score:
760 Q50 V42

Good, but with certain limitations.

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

My original GMAT score is 720 ( Q50,V37). I beleive that Kaplan CATs are very representative of the actual GMAT - I scored consistently 700-740 in Kaplan CAT.
Quant: The software/algorithm first present you with medium level question, only after one can get 90% accuracy - it proceed to high level. When I took my ESR - i found the same. MGMAT bombards with 700-800 level problems once one did the first 3/4 questions correctly, and it keeps on doing the same.
Verbal: While the algorithm may be good - but some questions are very very tough. I scored 73 percentile in RC, but never able to get more than 50% accuracy in Kaplan RC. Some of the RC are so difficult that it just blows off my mind. Kaplan SC generally rely on one split - but I have seen that official question has always more than one split.
But, overall a great practice in comparison with other material in the market. I personally find Kaplan and Manhattan the best source other than official ones.

Read More

January 28, 2017
Nevernevergiveup

Joined: Sep 18, 2014

Posts: 1093

Kudos: 1538

Verified score:
Canceled

Good sectional scores but bloates overall score

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Kaplan CATs give very accurate sectional scores for both quant and verbal sections but the overall score looks bloated. The score easily shows high scores like 740 with small sectional scores which is not possible in reality. Quantitative sections tests the concepts in relatively simple manner but Reading Comprehension passages in kaplan tests are more difficult and robust. In overall, solutions provided for review are in an appropriate pattern and descriptive. Critical Reasoning questions are really good whereas Sentence correction questions need to improve. Also the question bank is really adaptive and user friendly in nature. Kaplan CATs give a good practice for an aspirant preparation.

Read More

February 15, 2016
sananoor

Joined: Jun 24, 2012

Posts: 365

Kudos: 242

Self-reported Score:
580 Q47 V23

Good

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by membership [?]

I have used Kaplan 5 tests that came along with Kaplan Premier 2015. Kaplan team seem to have significant experience with the test and weren't afraid to point out areas that they thought Kaplan put too much or too little weight on compared to the actual test. The quants parts are pretty much the same as given in GMATPreps tests but I think Kaplan's verbal questions are way harder than GMATPrep's, which are the real exam questions. Based on my experiences, my Kaplan scores were right in the middle of what I actually scored on the exam. So, from an overall score perspective, I feel like they are dead on. Also want to note, that I feel like Kaplan's exams were the most similar to the real GMAT!

Read More


1 Older and Non-Verified Review for [Tests] Kaplan GMAT CATs