GMAT Club

Veritas Prep Private Tutoring Reviews

Private Tutoring is perfect for students who seek individual attention on their GMAT studies. A great advantage of tutoring is that both the curriculum and schedule will be customized to fit your needs. An expert Veritas Prep tutor, all of whom have scored in the 99th percentile on an official GMAT exam, will help you to diagnose areas for improvement.

Save $100 + $250 bonus offer on any in-person or live online Veritas Prep GMAT course!
4.9 /5 Average Rating
5 star
45
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 48 reviews
January 17, 2020
BrandonAnderson

Joined: Jan 17, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
440 Q41 V12

Improvement 120 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Hailey Cusimano

Location Orlando, FL USA

During a time in which I struggled to find the right GMAT tutor, along with having spent two years and thousands of dollars into the test with no improvement in my score, I discovered Hailey Cusimano through a friend and in just five months, she is the sole individual responsible for helping me to increase my score over 120 points! Hailey is hands down the best tutor whom I’ve worked with in all of my time in academia! Hailey has helped me in unimaginable ways, leading to my increased performance on my second GMAT, and later acceptance into graduate school!

From the very first session, Hailey’s vast knowledge on the entire process of preparing for and taking the GMAT certainly became evident but what really stood out was her great concentration of knowledge and experience from what I could tell was built up through years of tutoring for the GMAT! Hailey has proved to be highly effective as my tutor as she not only
understands many of the pitfalls from a student’s perspective but also has a clear teaching style and focuses on sharing the most effective techniques for approaching various questions, along with great strategies for students to implement during their preparation and on test day too! I’ve found her step-by-step processes and techniques for solving problems to be highly effective, especially having been in a position previously where I was struggling on methods and processes for approaching different types of questions. She helped to clarify diverse sets of questions, including the more challenging Verbal and Quantitative ones.

Her dedication and strong passion for tutoring and helping students with what is arguably one of the (if not the) most challenging standardized tests is incredibly respected! She’s really interested in seeing her students such as myself continually improve! Hailey spent amble amounts of time monitoring my progress both inside and outside tutoring sessions and set up the platforms so that I could be successful! She also encouraged me to continue and power through unfamiliar and challenging questions despite some difficulties I faced. She was there along the entire process guiding me and checking in with me to ensure that I was as prepared as could be on test day! She even checked up on me the night prior to and on the morning of test day!

Her use of technology during in-person sessions was very helpful and allowed me to follow along with each and every concept and question during our review sessions! She also adapted to my learning style quickly into the sessions and utilized very effective approaches for me to understand the material while demonstrating her explanations in a visually helpful manner too!

Hailey also provided very valuable tips, many of which I would have likely never received strictly from a textbook/any other materials I used! Hailey knows the GMAT very well but also knows how to tailor her knowledge in ways that effectively help students such as myself to see the results we truly hope for! From her tutoring sessions to the resources she’s created, they were tremendously helpful and allowed me to better understand the questions to expect as well as the best strategies for approaching each section of the exam! I also gained a better understanding of which questions to devote the most time to, along with how to efficiently use my time in the months leading up to (and of course on the day of) the GMAT! With Hailey’s expertise, it enabled me to look at and approach questions from a completely different perspective with the ability to identify certain patterns and information that would normally go un-noticed!

Overall, Hailey more than exceeded my expectations! Her ability to work one-on-one in assisting me and answer my varying questions has been tremendously helpful and I truly wouldn’t have been able to do this without Hailey’s tutoring and support! From her knowledge, experience, and familiarity with the GMAT to the resources she’s developed, along with her great passion for helping students like me, Hailey is your tutor when it comes time to preparing for the GMAT! Hailey really goes to significant lengths to see students improve their scores considerably on the GMAT and is truly dedicated as an individual! I wouldn’t have gone with any other tutor for the GMAT and would recommend Hailey to anyone whether you’re just getting started or well into your studies and looking for some guidance and or improvement in your score!

Brandon Anderson

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 10, 2019
woleary

Joined: Oct 19, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V42

Top Flight Tutoring from Hailey Cusimano

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Hailey Cusimano

Location New York (Manhattan), NY USA

Working with Hailey was one of the biggest reasons that I was able to hit my target score on the GMAT. Each time I met with Hailey, she gave me the sense that she remembered my strengths and weaknesses intimately, which I really grew to appreciate. Her approach to working with students is positive, focused, patient, and nonjudgmental. Hailey is extremely adept at balancing strategic instruction with letting a student struggle through challenging problems and is capable of explaining both test-taking tactics and individual questions with no condescension whatsoever. When I started studying with Hailey, I had no study plan, no strategy for test day, and in hindsight, no hope of getting the score I wanted. Without her coaching and guidance, I simply would not have achieved my goals.

Read More

April 29, 2019
rtross

Joined: Apr 11, 2019

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
650 Q42 V37

A wonderful experience with a wonderful tutor!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Hailey Cusimano

Location Orlando, FL USA

Neither standardized tests nor private tutoring has ever been activities I have much enjoyed in the past. Standardized tests have always given me anxiety because no matter how much I study, I still feel unprepared come test today. Additionally, I had not had the best experiences with private tutoring in undergrad as I often felt that my tutors came off a bit condescending and were not invested in me to succeed; I was just another student.

Working with Hailey was the EXACT opposite experience. From day one I felt Hailey truly cared about my success and was invested in seeing me reach my goals. She helped me understand that the strategy behind the GMAT wasn't just memorizing material and that I needed to think critically about how to handle each question before me. Additionally, she helped me get my time management significantly under control!

When we first started out working she told me "to work smarter not harder," and all of our subsequent time together was her ensuring my practice followed that mindset. Working with Hailey was truly a wonderful experience!

Read More

April 11, 2019
Natalie2k

Joined: Sep 13, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Above & Beyond Test Prep Coaching

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Chris Kane

Location Atlanta (North), GA USA

I used Veritas' LIVE online program and had a great instructor and TA. They went above and beyond to answer my questions, keep us engaged and also create customized "training plans" for us to get ready for "race day." When I didn't do as well as I had hoped, they helped me analyze and draft a training plan to re-attack. I also utilized their 1on1 tutoring with Jeff Yin. He was amazing. Kind, professional and challenging. He encouraged me and also put together custom practice sets for me. I really liked his approach and enjoyed working with him. Like high performance sport, there are a lot of variables involved in preparing for test day. Jeff uses multiple approaches to prepare a student for success. I really appreciated his willingness to coach me.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
September 05, 2018
MGMTGuru

Joined: Sep 05, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q49 V42

Great Tutor at Veritas!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 50 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Ed Matthews

Location Los Angeles, CA USA

Ed is the man when it comes to tutoring. I had studied for the GMAT many hours and taken the exam a few times with some score improvements. However, I had reached a plateau in my studying and it seemed like nothing I did was improving my score meaningfully.

After working with Ed for 4+ hours over two sessions, some email exchanges on recapping the lesson, and a few phone calls on strategy, I was able to go from 700 to 750! Keep in mind, my first GMAT was a 610. He goes above and beyond to help get you the result you want. He will push you to think in new and novel ways in order to tackle the test. It is rare to be able to talk to somebody and then be able to apply a wholly new way of thinking about the test. I would have been happy with a 10 point improvement; Ed's tutoring help far exceeded my expectations.

If YOU are serious about getting a better GMAT score, go with Veritas and get Ed as a tutor after you get some lessons under your belt. Trust me I have tried several competitor courses before trying Veritas and they are the best.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 01, 2018
alanajkress

Joined: Aug 01, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
700 Q44 V41

Highly Recommend Tutor Ed Matthews

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement N/A

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Ed Matthews

Location Los Angeles, CA USA

I studied for the GMAT at the end of January and only had about 6 weeks to prepare as my decision to attend grad school was fairly last minute.

In a matter of weeks Ed got me to a point where I scored a 700 when I took the GMAT in mid March. He was very precise and clear when explaining topics and test taking strategies. He was always flexible and available to meet and willing to come to my house to work.

Overall it was a great experience and I ended up with a fantastic score in a very short period of time.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 18, 2019
gregoryjones997

I have a very important message for you.please reply back with this email for full details
gregoryjones997@yahoo.com

Thanks
Gregory Jones

July 25, 2018
MAVB

Joined: Jul 09, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q49 V38

Best Tutor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Ed Matthews

Location Los Angeles, CA USA

I have had 2 tutors from Veritas Prep and by far Matthew went above and beyond and improved my score. Not only was he accommodating with tutoring times, but he really took the time to ensure I was studying in the most efficient manner. He always came prepared and set a game plan for each week so we stayed on track with limited time before my test. I hadn't been in school for a very long time, yet Ed made me feel comfortable and pushed me to beyond my comforter level. He is by far not just someone who took the test and did well, but someone who understands the whole test and all items to help you succeed. Ed is the optimal GMAT coach has business school expertise and best of all made it fun. He made me love studying for the GMAT.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
June 27, 2018
JA2018

Joined: Jun 25, 2018

Posts: 7

Kudos: 14

Verified score:
720 Q48 V42

Veritas Prep-Huge Score Improvement

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 110 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Cliff Smith

Location Indianapolis, IN USA

Total improvement 610 to 720

I originally signed up for private tutoring with a different GMAT test prep company, but after extensive work with their materials and the tutor, my score was still very far from my target. I had chosen to try to get ahead of the process knowing I still had a couple years before I applied. So I decided after months of prep and no improvement to delay it.

Two years later I decided it was time to try again, this time I signed up for private tutoring with Cliff at Veritas. What a difference this made. Their materials were much more direct and focused on how to "think like the test maker" - essentially how to play their game. Veritas' materials are centered on the logic behind the test. They teach/refresh you on the core knowledge you need then have you take a more holistic approach. No need to memorize extensive grammar colloquialisms or obscure formulas. The sentence correction section was by far my worst area the first time around, I could write well, but never enjoyed grammar. As soon as Veritas had me look at it from a logical standpoint it was like something clicked, it almost turned into a game. That subsection of my score (broken out separate from CR and RC by my ESR) jumped up to a 45. Overall my verbal section improved from a 31 to a 42 (with CR 44, RC 38) and the second half of the section I did not miss a single question.

Cliff was a calming presence that did not let me discount my ability to achieve the score I wanted. Even when I told him I had a 610, after already studying with another company, and I was aiming for above 700. He showed me tips and tricks beyond the books and online videos. He provided additional strategies on how to approach the problems that were very helpful. But most of all he felt like someone in my corner reminding me to keep pushing for the score I wanted.

My tips: do all of the skill builders, even in areas you are familiar with. They highlight shortcuts/different ways to solve that will increase your speed so you can use your time on harder questions. Watch the on demand videos but also make sure to read the books they provide. The videos are a good summary, but the books go into more detail and really expose common questions with several approaches. Its also helpful to go back through them a second time once you've "learned" all of the material. On my actual test I saw several questions that looked like they were directly out of the books I studied from with the numbers replaced, so on those questions I could smile and move forward in a very short period of time. Finally, make sure you take an OG practice test (or several), there are a few subtle nuances between how some of the questions are written particularly for CR. Veritas will give you the foundation you need, you'll just approach some problems over prepared when the answer is much simpler than what you've seen with your study material.

Highly recommend!

Read More

February 07, 2018
kevo1001

Joined: Oct 10, 2013

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
530 Q43 V20

Improvement 50 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Mark Robinson

Location Houston, TX USA

A little background of where I was coming from before I met Mark: A year prior, I had gone through numerous classes (in-class, online), drained hours of studying, and learned other people’s methods, giving me a good grasp of concepts however, I was plateauing, specifically in verbal. ( V35, V36, V34, V30, V35….) My math has always been strong (47-49) but something subtle behind the way I was approaching verbal was setting me back.
Mark taught me how to look at verbal like math by “decoding the matrix” and after taking 10 hours with him, I suddenly clicked. I feel that Mark’s approach to teaching not only helped me look at the GMAT in a different light, but also helped by relating it to my everyday life, making it not as dull and monotonous to study. Mark is very energetic and very personable. He really dug in deep with my weaknesses and accessed how I approached the problems. Some things that he taught me are even applicable outside the GMAT.
As mentioned, after I tried many resources and tutors, Mark was the one that finally unlocked my testing to V40. Highly recommend Mark Alan Robinson for private tutoring!

Tutor: Mark Alan Robinson
Company: Veritas Prep
Type: Private tutoring
Location: Houston Area
Time: January-February 2018

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
August 17, 2017
Virtuoso7

Joined: May 10, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 1

Great experience working with Devin Jones!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 120 Points

Course Veritas Prep Private Tutoring

Instructor Devin Jones

Location Moscow, Russia

I highly recommend working with Devin Jones from Veritas. He is not only an extremely smart individual (I dare that he can solve any question that you through at him within 2 minutes!) but also an exceptionally gifted instructor. Throughout the sessions I have never felt bored - we started with the basics and gradually progressed towards advanced concepts. Devin continuously challenged me with fascinating quant and verbal questions and the sessions were fun (primarily due to his great personality) and useful. If you are shooting for a high score, definitely do work with Devin! You will be amazed how much he can bring to the table on both sections (verbal & quant). In the end, I scored 710 on the real test, quite an improvement from my initial 590 on the practice test in just 2 months!

Read More


25 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Veritas Prep