It is currently 23 Sep 2017, 05:58

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Close

Request Expert Reply

Confirm Cancel

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 02 Aug 2006
Posts: 115

Kudos [?]: 136 [0], given: 3

Location: Mumbai
Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 07 Oct 2008, 10:12
00:00
A
B
C
D
E

Difficulty:

(N/A)

Question Stats:

0% (00:00) correct 0% (00:00) wrong based on 4 sessions

HideShow timer Statistics

Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in 886 did not mean that he also won the loyalty of its citizens: the invading Danes were well aware of this weakness and used it to their advantage in 893.
(A) Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in 886 did not mean that he
(B) The fact that King Alfred had occupied and fortified London in 886 did not mean that he had
(C) Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in 886, it did not mean he
(D) The fact that King Alfred occupied and fortified London in 886, it did not mean that he
(E) Just because King Alfred had occupied and fortified London in 886, it did not mean he

Kudos [?]: 136 [0], given: 3

Director
Director
avatar
Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 803

Kudos [?]: 82 [0], given: 0

Re: SC-Just because [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 07 Oct 2008, 10:14
A

B is a close second, but i dont think we use past perfect here and I think we need the contrast that "just because" offers

Kudos [?]: 82 [0], given: 0

Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 541

Kudos [?]: 68 [0], given: 92

WE 1: Investment Banking - 6yrs
Re: SC-Just because [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 07 Oct 2008, 11:17
C,D,E - pronoun it is wrong

A & B

B - sounds passive, I cant spot error except for 2 "had", which I dont know if its an error.

A for me

Kudos [?]: 68 [0], given: 92

1 KUDOS received
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 18

Kudos [?]: 53 [1], given: 0

Re: SC-Just because [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 09 Oct 2008, 03:32
1
This post received
KUDOS
Correct option is (B)

we need had as there are two incidents happened on 883 & 893.

Kudos [?]: 53 [1], given: 0

Senior Manager
Senior Manager
avatar
Joined: 31 Jul 2008
Posts: 294

Kudos [?]: 54 [0], given: 0

Re: SC-Just because [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 09 Oct 2008, 13:15
past perfect wont be required here as 2 different years (886 and 893) are used.

Kudos [?]: 54 [0], given: 0

Retired Moderator
User avatar
Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 964

Kudos [?]: 285 [0], given: 5

Re: SC-Just because [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 09 Oct 2008, 15:58

Kudos [?]: 285 [0], given: 5

Director
Director
avatar
Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 803

Kudos [?]: 82 [0], given: 0

Re: SC-Just because [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 09 Oct 2008, 16:56
bigfernhead wrote:



looks like there is no OA on either thread. Anyone have the OA?

Kudos [?]: 82 [0], given: 0

Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 02 Aug 2006
Posts: 115

Kudos [?]: 136 [0], given: 3

Location: Mumbai
Re: SC-Just because [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 10 Oct 2008, 10:04
OA is B

Kudos [?]: 136 [0], given: 3

VP
VP
User avatar
Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1033

Kudos [?]: 689 [0], given: 1

Re: SC-Just because [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 10 Oct 2008, 11:51
What is wrong in A ? "Just because" is not correct usage ?
_________________

"You have to find it. No one else can find it for you." - Bjorn Borg

Kudos [?]: 689 [0], given: 1

Re: SC-Just because   [#permalink] 10 Oct 2008, 11:51
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in tarek99 3 21 Jan 2008, 13:14
Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in GMATBLACKBELT 6 14 Nov 2007, 18:09
Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in baggio 11 22 Mar 2009, 05:08
Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in x2suresh 9 05 Apr 2012, 09:48
Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in businessm 5 17 Jul 2008, 13:42
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Just because King Alfred occupied and fortified London in

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  


cron

GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group | Emoji artwork provided by EmojiOne

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.